Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Model: AVIC-D3
SKU: 8242458
UPC: 012562844169
This in-dash navigation system helps you arrive at your destination without going through the hassle of reading and folding maps. You can also watch DVDs or jam to CDs, radio or Satellite Radio (tuner, antenna and subscription required).
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 32 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
32 out of 32
)
Customer Reviews for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen
Review 1 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Excellent purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: lisa1976
from DFW
on 06/06/2008
What's great about it: Easy to use, easy to read screen, XM Traffic
What's not so great: Clock is small
I purchased this unit last week and it was well worth the money! I have a Ford Explorer 2006 and the unit looks factory- Very nice! Easy to use! the screen is easy to read! I have no issue with the nav disk being in- I highly suggest the IPOD cable! I never again need to use a CD! The bluetooth is a very nice feature! Excellent investment!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

WORTH IT!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: avic
on 05/12/2008
What's great about it: can navigate, play music at the same time, interacting with IPOD and Bluetooth is easier than ever!
What's not so great: need divx converter to watch movies,clock is small, navigation is kinda slow
It was the best car DVD unit ever!
Navigation, Movie, Music and IPOD and especially bluetooth function is absolutely convenient and user friendly.
However, when I take out the navigation DVD, it sometimes does not provide accurate scale.
When you want to watch some movies that you had downloaded, you need to make sure to convert them to divx file, or else it won't play.
actually, i own ford explorer 2002. although site says it does not fit, professonal installer makes it happen.
Anywayz. It looks perfect now, looks just like OEM and we are very satisfied with the unit.
I will definitely recommend it to my friends!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Outstanding

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rob92
from Chicago, IL
on 05/05/2008
What's great about it: Very easy to use. Love the navigation system
What's not so great: Takes a little time to load up
The website told me that this model would not fit in my 2006 Ford Explorer but the installers at Best Buy installed it and it looks like it was part of the original factory system. I installed the back-up camera for my fiance. I also installed the I-Pod attachment to this Nav. system so I just use the screen to control everything.
This was really worth the money. System looks and sounds great. Can't say enough good things about this system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SuperMegaAwesome
from Wisconsin
on 05/02/2008
What's great about it: Accurate Navigation, Ipod controls, sounds great
What's not so great: Have to leave navi. discs in to use it
I've had the avic D3 in my 2003 F150 for about a week now. The navigation works great, but you have to keep the disc in if you want to use it...in other words, you can't play a CD and have navigation at the same time. I just have my ipod hooked up so i don't need to use the cd player anyway. The on screen ipod controls are awesome, and there are to many features to list.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Nav system works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EJCDCC2002
on 05/02/2008
What's great about it: Looks factory installed, Works great
What's not so great: More to install than regular head unit, get installation from store
The unit is great, it does everything I need it to do. The display is bright and clear. I would get it installed by a professional though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great Purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Matthewk
from La Coste, TX
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: Great price, load with lots of stuff
What's not so great: not very big screen
colorful screen, great GPS, great sounding music from it, plays DVDs, good size of memory
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Awesome product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: anna0778
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: good
What's not so great: none
I like it. I like the screen and options. I used ot have a garmin. Great for traveling
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Most useful purchase ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MJRCPI
from New Jersey
on 04/29/2008
What's great about it: easy to use touchscreen
What's not so great: had to read manual to get full benefit of all features
I do sales estimates. I program my gps with all the estimates i am gong to do for the day.It's great how it guides me from one estimate to the next. It's so much easier than using maps. Saves me time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great Device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Vito
from California
on 04/21/2008
What's great about it: Multi Functional
What's not so great: requires a few extras
The Device looks good and works great. I love that it can do EVERYTHING. Beware: If you want Blue tooth, you will need to buy an adapter. Same with Satelite radio and a few other features. You will also need to buy the remote control seperately.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Awesome!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: snizzor
from wichita, ks
on 04/20/2008
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Good navigation, iPod hookup, add-on capabilities
What's not so great: Have to have navigation DVD in the drive
Overall, I would say this is a good unit. The only downside is that you have to keep the navigation DVD-ROM in the unit whenever you want to view any detailed maps. I had an iPod connector installed, so I just keep that hooked up, so I don't have to mess with CD's anyway. This unit does read a variety of file types, so that comes in handy as well. Additionally, I like this unit for the fact that it has a factory look when installed properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Big Price, But Great Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Homskillet
from Fayetteville, NC
on 03/23/2008
What's great about it: Great CD/DVD/GPS receiver, & other nic, nacks!
What's not so great: Big $$ for Ipod, Rear cam, & Bluetooth kits to install!
This is a great tool, for you light truck lovers (F150) out their! Even on this web-site it says you can't install this system in a Ford F150, thats untrue folks. I own a ford 2007 F150, & the auto installers @ BestBuy put in in just fine. This Pioneer system is a great tool for the ON The GO, type! Bluetooth, for the phone that never stops ringin'. Rear cam for SUV's on the work site, and for you music lovers out their, just 4 letters-IPOD! Just remember the nic, naks are $$ to add on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

you have to get this system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrsTee1986
from BALTIMORE
on 03/17/2008
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
I LOVE THIS THING, I HATED HAVING TO BUY MAPS ALL THE TIME JUST TO FIND MY WAY WHEN I WAS GOING PLACES WITH MY FAMILY. I LOVE ALL OF THE FEATURES, IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A GREAT SYSTEM PLEASE CONSIDER THIS ONE. I KNOW IT LOOKS EXPENSIVE BUT TRUST ME IT IS WELL WORTH THE PURCHASE.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great System

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: laurido92
from San Antonio, TX
on 03/08/2008
What's great about it: Excellent Features
I bought this system to replace my factory radio and it's great. Love the Navgation and all the extra features that come with it. It sounds great!! I replaced the factory speakers because they couldn't handle the power from the radio. I would definately recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good system at a very good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

One-stop Shop

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jay601
from Nashville, TN
on 02/23/2008
What's great about it: Features, convenience
What's not so great: Price!
I bought this for my wife's SUV and she loves it! It is very convenient to use and has awesome features. The navigation and back-up camera are easy to use. My wife hates to read and has learned to use it by simply messing with it. I got her the i-pod cable and it only made usage even easier. I am going to get her the Bluetooth adapter next since she hates Bluetooth earpieces. I also liked the ability to change the illumination colors on the unit so that I could match the unit to her factory illumination colors. The D3 looks stock! I am going to be buying a truck for myself soon and am going to put a D3 in it as well. Definately a good buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Best Purchase Ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Havehill, MA
on 02/22/2008
What's great about it: It has everything that you need in one. Phone, GPS, DVD, Rear Camera amd etc...
What's not so great: I should have gotten it sonner...
I am From Brazil and one of the best thing that a ever heard here in the U.S. is that the streets are organized. However, I don't think so. I had about 4 GPS before a got this one and none of them had all-in-one. My Pioneer In-Dash Satellite GPS did. It is very easy to use.
Also, "YOU CAN FIND YOUR DESTINATION BY PHONE NUMBER." In additional, you can have Bluetooth on it. Because you all talk a lot on telephone and it is against the law in my state, I have my phone connected via bluetooth ( as soon as turn the engine on it automatic connect my phone to my car and when I get to my destination it disconnect automatically.
BLUETOOTH QUALITY. The best over, Best my mother just come to visit me once a year, I talk to her while I am driving and she always ask me if I am at home. She never notice that I am in my car connected to my bluetooth, isn't great?
As I said before, I owned many GPS and it is the only that my family owen now. It IS EVERY PERSON IN MY FAMILY (up to 15 people).
There are many GPS system that cost less than this Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen, but will have to spend a lots of money with the additional accessories that it offers.
Alex
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great with Ipod

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Hagaandaz
from Minneapolis, MN
on 02/15/2008
What's great about it: Controlls Ipod, Touch Screen, Good Picture
What's not so great: Hard to read in sunlight / Price
The D3 is a great all in one unit (stereo/GPS/Ipod ready/DVD) if you have the room for a double din stereo you can't go wrong. Don't try to install this on your own unless you are confident and have prior experience.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great stereo but horrible nav

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: FF750
from Yuma, AZ
on 01/07/2008
What's great about it: Good value, works well with Ipod, changeable screen colors
What's not so great: Nav mediocre versus other systems, only 1 drive
I bought this to replace the stock stereo in my 2005 Pathfinder. I've wanted an AVIC for some time after first experiencing GPS with the factory Xanavi system in my other car, an Infiniti G35.
My first impression with the unit had been very favorable with it's excellent ipod connectivity (good because one drive means you can't play CDs and use GPS unless you store the route), DVD playback, and great interface. The changeable backlight color feature in particular was great for keeping things looking integrated since having a stereo with a different color from your car's dashboard lighting can make things look pretty awkward.
I was disappointed however to find the GPS to be rather mediocre. As I mentioned I have a factory GPS unit in my other car and I also used a Garmin Nuvi in this car before getting this unit so I'm very familiar with GPS. Compared to the other systems this one makes more frequent errors in routing, gives more vague directions, and takes noticeably longer to reroute - even compared to my Infiniti's system which is also DVD based. It also seems to have an inferior POI database, and is far more awkward to use for a vicinity search. For example, try doing a vicinity search for "Pizza Hut" and it will give you all nearby entries (22 when I used it) but doesn't rank them in terms of nearness or even display the distance (both my other units did that). The routing is the most annoying part though - it told me to turn right instead of left while headed to Firebird Raceway and kept telling me to turn around and head back to I-5's bumper-to-bumper traffic even after activating the "Avoid Freeway" option. And that's just two examples.
This unit's saving grace is that it's a good value versus other integrated reciever/GPS units so I would still recommend it. The GPS is just okay but it works fine most of the time. I'd bring along a map and guidebook as a backup plan though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Real good and cheap

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gotitnow
from San Bruno, California
on 12/31/2007
Pioneer - In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready/CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver, wonder full cheap compare with other brands for first 6 months is very good after that color of the DVD lose but every thing look OK. I may let them rate at 5 stars to invite more people going to this product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

One for me, one for my wife!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Savannah, Ga
on 12/24/2007
What's great about it: Nav system/ sound
What's not so great: DVD required for mapping routes- no internal HDD
I installed this in my Ford Ranger; so impressed that I will be buying another one for my wife's Ford Freestyle. The nav system is so accurate and provides detail mapping down to .1 of a mile. It verbally guides you at the same time provides detail of the turn or intersection on the screen. You can create routes by shortest distance or fastest route. If you miss a turn or purposely ignore it, it will automatically reroute for you. The sound quality of this device is awesome. I couldn’t believe how different music sounds on this. I installed the XM tuner (GEX-P920XM); the AVIC give me complete control of XM, presets – by category and channels, save songs or artists which will let you know when that song or artist is playing on any channel, etc. Simply put, I love this thing; it’s like a toy to me every time I get into my truck. If your trying to decide between a nav/ sound system...consider this system- it does both simultaneously.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Pioneer GPS Navigation

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Peachesm
from Washington DC metro area
on 12/11/2007
GPS navigation is very good. I have Ipod and XM radio adapters installed. Very clear display, sounds wonderful. Have no problems with the XM radio display. DVD plays very well. One negative thing i have seen so far is that the navigation gets off whenever the weather is bad. I dont think this has to do with the navigation system itself. Vicinity search feature is also wonderful beause i can search for different points of interest in the vicinity. The only thing i have not installed yet is the blue tooth adapter, i would definitely recommend this system to others!! Good price and makes any vehicle look more updated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>