Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Model: AVIC-D3
SKU: 8242458
UPC: 012562844169
This in-dash navigation system helps you arrive at your destination without going through the hassle of reading and folding maps. You can also watch DVDs or jam to CDs, radio or Satellite Radio (tuner, antenna and subscription required).
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 32 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
32 out of 32
)
Customer Reviews for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen
Review 21 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great Unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jpatt
from Atlanta
on 10/06/2007
What's great about it: Navigation, Bluetooth, XM, IPOD
What's not so great: No Hard Drive, DVD Drive is loud, Can be distracting when driving
Wow, what an upgrade over a stock GM Radio. The navi is great. The bluetooth makes my life so much easier even though I had to download some extra software on my Windows Mobile phone to use it. And I love the integraged XM.
My only complaints are the DVD drive makes a noticeable noise and there is no hard drive. If you do not have the nav disc in, you can not update points of interest and you lost all those nice XM channel logos.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

the best of best buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DrifTeR
from jerzzy
on 09/27/2007
What's great about it: can use i-pod
What's not so great: have to take out navi disc to put cd in
This unit is amazing !!!!! It is worth every penny!~!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

The Best!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bestbuylover
from Florida
on 09/17/2007
This is one of the coolest things for people that like entertainment, and is horrible with directions. The Navigation is so cool, realistic, and 3-D. Watching movies are also great, not while you're driving but on your free time. The 6 inch touch screen is so great aswell. This is an all around great product, worth every penny!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Cheap, good and easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dbonnguyen
from San Francisco California
on 09/17/2007
This product so good easy to use and I already save couple thousand dollars if I buy follow up the new car, because I have every thing like the new car in dealer, I only spend 1200.00 including back up camera extra AV for other DVD CD MP3 MP4 CDRW and I don't need to take out GPS DVD when I driving while listen and GPS in active
Thanks Pioneer product Navigation tough screen 6.1 inches
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

This is by far the best for what I paid!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Joshnmo
from Miramar, FL
on 09/09/2007
I bought this about six months ago, PM to CC, with a coupon, and then ANOTHER PM! I ended up paying about $700.00 for the unit.
Get the BT adapter.
Get the iPod control.
Maps are pretty good, I will probably by the update DVD from Pioneer, but it's $250.00 maybe cheaper on elsewhere.
This is great multifunction head unit! Don't buy a little hand held unit that you can't see!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: overfly
from Farmington, MI
on 09/09/2007
This nav unit is worth every penny. Great maps and directions. I would recommend getting NavTraffic with it - saved me some serious traffic headches more than once. Great sound from the tuner as well.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Awesome product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: anna0778
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: good
What's not so great: none
I like it. I like the screen and options. I used ot have a garmin. Great for traveling
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Awesome!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: snizzor
from wichita, ks
on 04/20/2008
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Good navigation, iPod hookup, add-on capabilities
What's not so great: Have to have navigation DVD in the drive
Overall, I would say this is a good unit. The only downside is that you have to keep the navigation DVD-ROM in the unit whenever you want to view any detailed maps. I had an iPod connector installed, so I just keep that hooked up, so I don't have to mess with CD's anyway. This unit does read a variety of file types, so that comes in handy as well. Additionally, I like this unit for the fact that it has a factory look when installed properly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Big Price, But Great Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Homskillet
from Fayetteville, NC
on 03/23/2008
What's great about it: Great CD/DVD/GPS receiver, & other nic, nacks!
What's not so great: Big $$ for Ipod, Rear cam, & Bluetooth kits to install!
This is a great tool, for you light truck lovers (F150) out their! Even on this web-site it says you can't install this system in a Ford F150, thats untrue folks. I own a ford 2007 F150, & the auto installers @ BestBuy put in in just fine. This Pioneer system is a great tool for the ON The GO, type! Bluetooth, for the phone that never stops ringin'. Rear cam for SUV's on the work site, and for you music lovers out their, just 4 letters-IPOD! Just remember the nic, naks are $$ to add on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Pioneer GPS Navigation

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Peachesm
from Washington DC metro area
on 12/11/2007
GPS navigation is very good. I have Ipod and XM radio adapters installed. Very clear display, sounds wonderful. Have no problems with the XM radio display. DVD plays very well. One negative thing i have seen so far is that the navigation gets off whenever the weather is bad. I dont think this has to do with the navigation system itself. Vicinity search feature is also wonderful beause i can search for different points of interest in the vicinity. The only thing i have not installed yet is the blue tooth adapter, i would definitely recommend this system to others!! Good price and makes any vehicle look more updated.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great Buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jim2007
on 10/24/2007
What's great about it: Accurate Navigation system, good price, great multimedia functions
What's not so great: DVD Navigation, one disc slot, sirius display is poor
I just had this unit installed and I have been extremely satisfied with this unit especially for the price. The navigation is accurate and so is the voice guided routing. Ipod functionality is great, could be better, but is easy to use. I have a sirius tuner installed, sound quality is good, but the display for the channel, song, artist etc is a one line display, kind of poor for a unit that has a 6in screen. Lots of search options for the navigation, tons of point-of-interests. I wish the clock was bigger on the display, and I wish that there was a little more customization although there is already a lot available. Definitely get the install unless you are familiar with navigation installs. I also wish that this unit had a stealth screen to hide the unit. I do not like the fact that the disc slot is basically reserved for the navigation, you can still use the NAV without the disc, but is severely limited in its functionality. Video playback is good too, but not what I intended this unit to be used for, it has options for a rear video output. I decided against the bluetooth for now, the BT unit is a bit pricey, but would recommend the rear-view camera. All-in-all, this unit is awesome compared to other units in this price range.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Pioneer In-Dash Satellite Radio-Ready CD/DVD Player/GPS Receiver w/ 6.1" Touch Screen

Great stereo but horrible nav

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: FF750
from Yuma, AZ
on 01/07/2008
What's great about it: Good value, works well with Ipod, changeable screen colors
What's not so great: Nav mediocre versus other systems, only 1 drive
I bought this to replace the stock stereo in my 2005 Pathfinder. I've wanted an AVIC for some time after first experiencing GPS with the factory Xanavi system in my other car, an Infiniti G35.
My first impression with the unit had been very favorable with it's excellent ipod connectivity (good because one drive means you can't play CDs and use GPS unless you store the route), DVD playback, and great interface. The changeable backlight color feature in particular was great for keeping things looking integrated since having a stereo with a different color from your car's dashboard lighting can make things look pretty awkward.
I was disappointed however to find the GPS to be rather mediocre. As I mentioned I have a factory GPS unit in my other car and I also used a Garmin Nuvi in this car before getting this unit so I'm very familiar with GPS. Compared to the other systems this one makes more frequent errors in routing, gives more vague directions, and takes noticeably longer to reroute - even compared to my Infiniti's system which is also DVD based. It also seems to have an inferior POI database, and is far more awkward to use for a vicinity search. For example, try doing a vicinity search for "Pizza Hut" and it will give you all nearby entries (22 when I used it) but doesn't rank them in terms of nearness or even display the distance (both my other units did that). The routing is the most annoying part though - it told me to turn right instead of left while headed to Firebird Raceway and kept telling me to turn around and head back to I-5's bumper-to-bumper traffic even after activating the "Avoid Freeway" option. And that's just two examples.
This unit's saving grace is that it's a good value versus other integrated reciever/GPS units so I would still recommend it. The GPS is just okay but it works fine most of the time. I'd bring along a map and guidebook as a backup plan though.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2