Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Model: iM600
SKU: 8267564
UPC: 021986800910
Share your favorite iPod music with your friends when you use these portable speakers. The composite video output makes it easy to watch your videos on your TV. Take an in-depth product tour.
Average Customer Rating:
4.502 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(267 Reviews) 255
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 267 reviews
5 stars
177
4 stars
69
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
8
94% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
250 out of 267
)
Customer Reviews for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players
Review 1 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Nice sound, until it broke within 48 hours

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: davidrs
on 08/22/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: When it works it has nice sound, but it does not work for long
What's not so great: iPod connector is fragile--mine ceased working
While this item sounds good when it works, my comment is simple: the iPod dock itself is fragile. My iPod Classic 120 could no longer connect with the unit after only two days of gentle use within the home. It should also be noted that the remote does not operate the iPod menu system, only volume, power, and moving from track to track, as well as pause. I returned it and will not replace it--if it happened on one, it is likely to happen on another.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Not Much of a Product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BamaMike59
from Georgia
on 08/19/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Decent Sound
What's not so great: Functionality
After 2 of this product I decided to forget it. The speaker grid on the first one began pulling away from the unit and on the second one the ipod mount would not work unless you propped something underneath it to give it a lift. It had an ok sound and it had a lithium ion battery that had pretty good life but the unit was just a little too fragile.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

excellent little speaker for the $

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ncdee
from north carolina
on 07/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: super easy to use, lightweight
What's not so great: remote is lacking
I am overall very pleased with this speaker. Its easy to move around, has a little place i back to store the remote......however, the remote dosen't have a little wheel to access playlists and such. That is the only thing I'm not crazy about. It sounds good, probably not a good as the Bose, but I mean, its half as much. For the price, I think this is a great little speaker.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

save up some coin for the Bose dock

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Senotfed
from Wilmington, DE
on 07/09/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: it's $150, lightweight
What's not so great: the sound is weak
i purchased this, this afternoon, excited to get it home charge it up and see how it sounds. Not all Best Buys have the set up for you to listen to their products in the store so you pretty much have to rely on taking it home and checking it out. not so thrilled with it. I'm a big fan of Pandora.com, Pandora sounds amazing on my existing Bose Sound Dock, the Altec portable system was lightweight which is great, the price was right but the sound is not there. My plan is to return it tomorrow and purchase the Bose portable sound dock. I've had one since 2004 and I use it every day. It has totally paid for itself. It's just not as portable as I'd like it to be, nor rechargeable. I hope this helps.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Best Product In It's Class

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mbrush
from Atlanta, GA
on 05/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Mids/Highs, Portable, Rechargeable, FM Tuner
What's not so great: Bass, FM Quality, Dock
As with many here, I wanted the Bose system, which sounded amazing in the store. However, I just couldn't shell out $350 for an iPod speaker.
This system sounded the best of all the units in the listening station, in terms of clarity and audio quality. However, the bass was lower than the JBL units, but they are by no means portable. So, the decision was pretty simple, given the rechargeable battery, the sound quality, and the FM tuner.
Impression From Home: Sound quality and bass is much better at home w/out the excess noise. However, bass is less than ideal. The ESS enabled does help w/ that. Overall, sound quality is very good, as long as source material isn't heavy on the base. Power is much better than the store listening experience suggested. Love how portable the unit is. FM tuner is a great aspect, though it does seem to have static, even on stations that are high-power signals. One observation is that any lateral movement of our iTouch will kill the signal to the unit. Also, the iTouch sits off of the surface of the unit, so you have to be very light w/ your touch. I am thinking about adding some kind of small bumper or pad for it to rest against.
Overall, I believe that this is the best unit in it's range, based upon sound quality and features....well worth the $200 saving from the Bose portable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Best value for your money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: brooklyntia1
from Brooklyn, New York
on 05/03/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Everything
I recently purchased it and I love. I can use it while I am indoors or outdoors. The sound quality is GREAT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Possibly best of not a lot of great options.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: davevp
on 04/07/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Portability, battery, volume, looks, charges ipod touch (new ESS version)
What's not so great: No case, poor bass at moderate volume.
It's a sleek and "just possibly small enough to throw in the suitcase without taking up too much room" package. Wanted something for camping, the beach, business trips to Hawaii (tired of listening to the tinny clock radio in the hotel), and office. I read the reviews and bought based on that, but cannot agree on the bass on this unit. Disappointing bass performance. The little Logitech Pure Fi speaker system I initially bought had better bass, but poor battery life and not enough volume for the outdoors. A trade off with the Altec with volume for bass I guess, but wish they'd of done a bit better on the bass. Sorry folks, but this don't compare to the Bose. Then again at 1/3 the price it can't be expected to. Plus, the Bose is bigger, heavier, and not as nice for airplane travel.
At the price, I won't be crushed if this thing gets damaged in travel or camping. Definately a consideration in selecting this over the Bose.
The should have had a travel case included with this system. Will have to try and find one.
Remote could use a menu feature so you can get back to your playlists like many of the other ipod portable speaker systems, but I can get past it. Not a huge deal.
Ipod touch users, the newer "ESS" (extended sound system) version will charge your ipod. The older version with the "SFX" button will not. Make sure you see the "ESS" symbol on the box and button on the unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

DOES NOT HAVE COMPOSIT VIDEO OUTPUT

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Ryan10811
from Washington Dc
on 04/06/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: slim design, great for travel
What's not so great: it says it has a video output jack, but it does not!
Altec lansing apparently changed its design specs without notifying any of its retailers because after receiving one of these from another retailer i noticed it did NOT have the composite video output jack, so i returned it. I then went to best buy to find an alternative and saw this same model on the shelf, the display unit HAD the composite output so i was excited and purchased one from bestbuy only to return home and find that it to was missing the video output jack... it even has a little space where it is supposed to be but i guess atlec wanted to save a few bucks! i promptly returned it because the video jack is what i wanted it for in the first place! so this is NOT recommended for anyone needing a video jack!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Wow! This was better than I could of ever hoped

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: eld315
from Chicago
on 03/25/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Tiny on the outside, but fills the entire room with crystal clear sound, very high quality!
What's not so great: Nothing
Snap! Everyone listen up! This is the best MP3 stereo. Small, compact, crystal clear sound! I had purchased an Ihome prior, what a mistake, this is the real thing. I even tested it up against the pricey Bose system, I couldn't tell a difference at all. Plus, it has a rechargeable battery, so you can take it with you. Also has an FM tuner if your so inclined.
I'm very happy with this purchase, which is so rare these days, but I can't say a bad thing about it. It is a little pricey, but once you get it home and listen to it, you would of paid more for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Sounds quality is awesome and better then most

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bokat02
from Louisiana
on 03/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sound quality is awesome; appearance is very nice and easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing bad to complain about
I am very satisfied with my purchase. It is very affordable and the sound quality is really nice! I listened to others before I purchased this one and I find this one sounds the best. I do not find that the bose is any better and recommend this particular Altec. I however did listen to the new altec's and I found the sound quality to be terrible. I could be picky and complain about some of the cons but what's the point? This product overall is great and I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Not the best

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: timer
from Texas
on 02/14/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Cradle, radio reception, distortion
I wanted a speaker to use in the garage, but did not want to spend the money for a Bose (I have one for inside and it is great). I chose this becasue of the reviews. The sound is good, but does not match the Bose. At high volumes, it is distorted, but works fine at reduced volumes.
I wanted a radio as well. I am disappointed with this. It picks up only the strongest stations and cannot even get the station I have no trouble receiving on my portable radio. Kind of useless, which is disappointing. I knew it did not have AM, but I wish it did. I don't why this could not have been included.
The cradle is tenuous, occasionally making poor connection. You think there is an ipod problem, but it turns out to be the connection. The ipod sort of just sits atop the connector and doesn't plug into it securely.
If you want remarkable sound, save up for a Bose. If you want acceptable to good sound for the price, I recommend this item.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Great Portable Speaker System for ipod

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dorgard
from North Carolina
on 02/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: sound quality is great for a small system
What's not so great: ipod hard to remove if using adapter,I dont use one & fine
This little system has a great sound for its size compared to other systems and price very reasonable. I was looking for a small portable system to use outdoors at pool or beach, love the portability of this unit with hours of play without recharging. Great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Very satisfied

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tcek
from missouri
on 01/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: excellent sound including bass. Sound remains clear at high volume
What's not so great: scratches easily, iPOD cradle is difficult to remove once inserted
The sound delivered from this unit is very good. The bass lows are excellent for a unit of this size. Sound is crisp and far from tinny sounding. I like the auxillary ports in back. I use it in a large office and the sound is clear even when turned up. i listened to and researched other units and for the money this is a great value. the internal lithium rechargable batteries are great too. mimuses include a plastic case that is easy to scratch. Be sure you know which included Ipod crable to put in the unit because once in, it is very difficult to remove."
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Very good system for your buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sonny912008
from Taylor, Mi
on 12/28/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, sound, use, fm radio, remote, battery life
What's not so great: antenna, sometimes hard to get a good signal
I purchased this item with the nano4g for my wife for xmas. Was concerned about what the quality would be like (over the Bose), staying within my budget, I went with Altec. So far so good, a great buy. (she uses this thing in our kitchen all the time, another plus is I got her to ditch that ancient little am/fm radio)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Great compact iPod compatible speaker system!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Champ198
from Lebanon TN
on 12/26/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound is amazing, easy to use, sounds better than higher priced units.
What's not so great: Price is a tad high but worth it for the sound quality.
The unit sounds great. I wanted to get an iPod compatible speaker system with an FM radio for my kid. The remote is compact and easy to use. It has 4 FM presets. Radio picks up well. Did I mention how great the sound is on the ESS setting? It cranks up loud and clear - no distortion. It looks like the rest of the cheap iPod docks out there but it rivals much higher end units on sound. I paid $129.99 with it on sale at Best Buy (Xmas 2008). I'm sure you can find it cheaper in the future. Definitely a good unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Great iPod system, but not for iPhone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Troyce
from College Station, TX
on 12/14/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great sound
What's not so great: not iPhone compatable
I wanted a speaker dock for my ipod that also contained FM radio. This one works great. Wonderful sound for listening to my ipod in the living room, charges the ipod for me, and even works as a portable which was handy at the beach. The remote is minimal and could be better, but can at least turn it on and off and handle sound control. It folds up nicely for travelling. The ONLY complaint I have is after I bought my iPhone, I found out that it will not charge the iPhone. It still plays very nicely, but won't recharge it. So it will still be used heavily at home with all my other ipods (classic and Touch) but I'll get another model for the office.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Great speakers

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Matz22
from california
on 10/31/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the sound quality is great
What's not so great: the reception for the radio isn't the greatest
These speakers were great! The sound quality is good, and the battery life span is long. The only downside is that remote can't control the ipod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Good Product, but be careful

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mattmt
from Lumberton, TX
on 10/28/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good sound and easy to work. Has a good sound for the size and the price. Also like the fact that it is portable.
What's not so great: Won't charge new i-pod.
I bought this several months ago and love it! I had a 3rd generation nano i-pod, it got broken, so I bought the new Nano. This dock will still play my music but it won't charge the new i-pod. Still a great value and sound just wish it would work will all the i-pods.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Love This!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: heyck
from Minneapolis Metro
on 10/20/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Compact, great sound, easy to use, FM Radio
This has been a favorite purchase. Love the compact size and great sound. Unexpected plus is the FM radio. It was between this and the Bose unit. Came down to my budget, and went with the Altec. No regrets. Excellent value for the money. Totally recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Altec Lansing inMotion Portable Speakers for Apple® iPod™ and Most MP3 Players

Great choice!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rsac
from Norman, OK
on 10/14/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great sound, portability
What's not so great: Needs a travel bag/case
The sound quality on this little system is excellent. It's nice carrying it from room to room since it stays charged a long time. The only thing that sounded better was the much more expenseive Bose. This was top in its class.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>