Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Model: ANT1251
SKU: 8280843
UPC: 079000334859
Eliminate static from your TV life with this amplified antenna that boosts signal power for improved picture quality.
Average Customer Rating:
3.535 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(793 Reviews) 793
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 793 reviews
5 stars
217
4 stars
275
3 stars
124
2 stars
69
1 star
108
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
563 out of 793
)
Customer Reviews for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna
Review 61 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Helped get reception for weak signals

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BuddyNWI
from Munster, IN
on 02/23/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, helps get weak stations to come in
What's not so great: Price
I live in NW Indiana and had trouble getting a couple over the air stations to come in. I do not have an antenna on my roof and was using a simple rabbit ears for over the air stations. The regular antenna had trouble but this amplified antenna helped get reception on the lower signal strength broadcast stations. Easy set up. A little pricey but I waited for it to go on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Awesome substitute for cable/dish

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sau686
from San Antonio, TX
on 02/08/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Axial cable is a little short
You get un-compressed 1080p HD signal straight from the station. I have compared its picture quality with DIRECTV and I was blown away by the difference. Mine catches NBC, CBS, ION TV, FOX, CW and many more. I bought a bigger dish but this one was absolutely great so I returned the bigger one. Built in amplifier gives crisp signal. I have 3 HDTV's attached to it by a splitter. I was tired of DIRECTV crazy this fee and that fee, 10 dollars for HD. Here you get HD for free.
I also tried a flat 360 antenna but this one works better because of the rabbit ears, you can adjust those for even more channels.
If you like watching local channels, get this. Do not pay 20 dollars for basic channels to cable. I am bill free now. Free TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 63 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Good value for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: reviewer1501
from Pennsylvania
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up. Less than 5 minutes.
What's not so great: Out of area channels have weak or no signal in bad weather
Provides HD quality viewing with my HDTV without having a subscription to a cable company.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Great price, Great value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Greenwood, In
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Recieving 30 channels without cable
What's not so great: -
works great, just moving around to get the most channels. 30 channels without cable...love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 65 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Picks up all over air HD signals.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: iheartgadgets
from Brooklyn, NY
on 01/23/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good value/ease of set up
Easy to set up. Picks up all over air HD signals. Easy to adjust, when needed. A solid buy if you're sick of cable or dish monthly gouging and don't need every channel under the sun. I get all network and local stations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 66 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Good VHF reception

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DavidBinKy
from Louisville, KY
on 12/09/2012
I bought a Terk FDTV2A indoor antenna a few days ago. It would not receive the only local channel broadcasting in VHF. I took it back and bought this unit since its gain was so much greater than the Terk. It received the VHF channel clearly...and also picked up a few others that the Terk did not receive (same position, pointing approximately 310 degrees). This one is a keeper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 67 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

no difference in reception

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Shandale
from Noblesville, IN
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It makes an initial connection for new tvs
What's not so great: It gets in the way and the cords are short
At 1st my new digital tv wouldn't get a station. Then I hooked up the amp and got almost all of them. BUT, when I UNhooked it, I still had all of my stations -2. When I hooked it back up my reception was no better than it was without the amp and those 2 stations never came back EVEN at different locations with the house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 68 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

great for any flat screen

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mytv11
from durham,nc
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: that my husband didnt pay for it darn!!!
was greatly surprised at how many more channels we get with this product would recomend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 69 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Great improvement in reception.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Two2
from Midlothian, VA
on 10/16/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It does what I was told it would do.
Reception improvement was noted immediately when power booster was plugged in and turned on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Great for non digital tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LKChangirl
on 10/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I have one older tv with a converter box. I had a different antenna that 'buzzed', this antenna works perfectly and no buzzing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

So far so good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: OldCarGuy
from Tulsa, OK
on 07/20/2011
What's great about it: easy set up picks up local channels
What's not so great: It needs to be near a window.
Works fine. Need to adjust ears ever so often. Was surprised at how many channels it picked up. I would spend the extra 25 dollars and get the amplified RCA anntenna. We have it upstairs and it seems to pick up about 14 more channels
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 72 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Worked well when needed

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: hhawk
from New Orleans
on 03/16/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: easy set up. could take anywhere
What's not so great: fragile, hard to get good reception
Product was real easy to set up. Picked up majority of the HD channels, Had to constantly adjust the reception. after a few months the antenna broke
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 73 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Requires constant tuning

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HiFiGuyinWI
from Milwaukee, WI
on 04/07/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Durablility.
What's not so great: Unable to enhance reception.
Signals change constantly and this antenna requires constant retuning. Sometimes I can't get any picture at all and I live in the city just miles from the TV stations! It's a glorified piece of aluminum foil.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 74 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Need to be careful

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: H8RR
from Denver Colorado
on 05/17/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Works
What's not so great: coaxial cable way too long
Here's the deal-when channels 7 and 9 went to VHF from UHF, my ANT111 became completely worthless. Channels 7 and nine completely disappeared, and I suspect the same will happen when 12,6, and 4 go vhf later this year.
When I plugged this antenna into my TV and rescanned, I got 27 digital channels, BUT 9 and 7 still didn't really work. I tried adjusting the gain controls, moving the rabbit ears, nothing worked. Then I tried moving the antenna itself around, and that worked ONLY for one station at a time. One position worked for one channel, but not the other channels. I would have to move the antenna every time I changed the channel.
Well, that seemed silly, so I planned on putting the thing back in the box, changed to channel 12, and called it a night. After about ten minutes watching something I didn't care about on PBS, I decided to try one more thing: I coiled the coax that came out of the antenna onto itself, moved the antenna so that I could get channel seven, and sat down on the couch. For some reason, coiling the antenna cable up worked, and all channels came in perfectly.
Not sure why this worked, but it did. If you buy this antenna, keep the cable coiled up, put the antenna anywhere but directly behind your tv, and you should be good to go (that is, if you live in Aurora, Colorado...)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 75 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Mid Range Antenna - Talking Quality

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: AcesWild
from Wisconsin
on 07/21/2008
What's great about it: Great Picture... When It Comes In
What's not so great: Fuzzy Alot
I bought this antenna hoping for something that would work well in a closed indoor environment away from the windows. At first, it worked okay but now the quality seems to be dipping. I turned up the gain boost or whatever that knob is and it came in a little better, but it demands constant readjustment. When the picture comes in, it's clear and perfect; compares to cable. But what threw me was the fact that it worked better when I hooked it up to my computer rather than my TV... Shouldn't be anything wrong with my TV, it's a year old, nice flatscreen from RCA as well and that is a quality tube right there. It just goes to show that even though a brand might have really done something well, that doesn't mean they're cut out for the other departments. Overall, not a bad antenna. I don't watch much TV, but when I do, the major networks come in super clear. If you want more than that though (not counting the crystal clear religious channels, which I get 3 of), then you probably should invest in some quality, reliable rabbit ear antennas.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 76 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Steaming Pile of S@&t!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Irritated111
from Los Angeles
on 06/11/2008
What's great about it: Z E R O !!!
What's not so great: pick one, any one!
I live in Los Angeles, and this piece of c r a p could not even pick up the local stations much less the HDTV broadcast. Between the time I spent to buy it and the time I will spend to return...2 hours I will never get back!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 77 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Rabbit ears are better

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 20toolate
from Lansing, MI
on 04/01/2008
Hooked this up, adjusted it, and received worse reception than I did with non-amplified rabbit ears. Took back for a refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 78 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Good Enough

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: zimpox
from charlotte, nc
on 02/12/2008
What's great about it: Inexpensive, Works
What's not so great: No Wall Mount
I'm not sure if you paid more if you would get a better product but for the price this one works just fine
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 79 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

A little overpriced, worked right out of the box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CarlBill
from Reynoldsburg, Ohio
on 08/02/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: no complaints
What's not so great: no complaints
During the power outage this summer we hooked up a generator. Power was out to the cable company but we got network high-definition programming crystal clear with this antenna.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 80 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Exactly what I was after!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: justdandee
from hilton head sc
on 07/29/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of assembly, reception, sturdy construction
What's not so great: nada!
We gave up cable over a year ago for a number of reasons. One of which the cable almost always went out when it rained heavily. Truthfully I missed being able to watch network TV and the Olympics gave me one more reason to purchase antenna. After researching on fcc.com and reading reviews I selected this antenna.
Within 30 mins of attaching the antenna I had 13 channels which included all three network channels, two pbs stations and a few channels not available on cable. Two of the network stations are HD and about 30 miles from my house. The third is 40 miles away and needed a little tweaking of the rabbit ears to keep the station from blacking out. And today the weather today has been heavy rain and thunderstorms.
I live in a neighborhood with trees and two story houses and placed the antenna eight feet away from the TV and about five feet off the floor.
The antenna has a switch to turn off the amplifier and without the amplifier I have zero receptions. Very glad I spent the extra $20 on the amplified antenna. Absolutely love the fact that I am still free of the cable company and can get the three networks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 40 next>>