Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Model: ANT1251
SKU: 8280843
UPC: 079000334859
Eliminate static from your TV life with this amplified antenna that boosts signal power for improved picture quality.
Average Customer Rating:
3.557 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(894 Reviews) 894
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 894 reviews
5 stars
246
4 stars
316
3 stars
137
2 stars
80
1 star
115
72% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
643 out of 894
)
Customer Reviews for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna
Review 61 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Good but not great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Soakee
from Greenville, SC
on 12/13/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Reception
I bought one of these thinking that an amplified antenna would provide a better picture and pull more channels than a cheaper model. While it did pull 5-6 channels, the picture quality on all was very pixellated and jerky. If you can stand a blocky, jerky picture and static sound, get one of these. Otherwise, look at something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 62 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Not awesome

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: TBone5587
from Traverse City, Mi
on 11/29/2013
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The Color?
What's not so great: Reception
I had bought a very cheap antenna when I lived in the city from a discount store. After I moved out to the country, I found I needed a stronger one. I bought one model below this one, but it couldn't get me the channel I wanted. I was told when I bought it that the next model higher, (this one) would work without question. A couple days later, I returned the mid range one and bought this one, only to find out that it could only get me one channel, no matter which direction I faced it or the external antenna configuration. I returned it 2 days later, went back to my original $15 "batwing" antenna, added some coaxial cable to it and I now get more channels than both of the amplified ones combined!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2703509507
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 63 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

I was able to pick up 60 channels indoors with it.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jomanjo24
from denver, co
on 10/15/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good reception
What's not so great: Large antennas don't look great inside
I was able to pick up 60 channels with the antenna placed inside my house. It was much more capable than other antenna's I've tried in the past.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2712844781
My Best Buy number: 2712844781
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 64 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Get one for Emergencies!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sunnywfb
from St. Louis, MO
on 10/13/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very Easy to set-up and use.
What's not so great: Have to adjust occasionally.
Bought this to use for an emergency situation. (Cable line down). Had to get something for my elderly mother to be able to watch TV for a couple days. Reception on her HD TV was better with this antenna than with her digital cable. Set-up was super fast (15 Minutes). Worked so well I'm getting another for emergencies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0410433573
My Best Buy number: 0410433573
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 65 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

works well if very close to window

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: robine14
from New York, NY
on 08/18/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Cable is too short, it works very well if next to a window.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2496692486
My Best Buy number: 2496692486
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 66 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Better reception with dollar store purchase

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: AverageGuy44
from Lansing, MI
on 07/14/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Didn't get any more channels.
Got less channels with this one then cheap $5 one from the dollar store I purchased a few years back that I was trying to upgrade.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2185829872
My Best Buy number: 2185829872
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 67 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Very reasonable price for the pic quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FreeTVviewer
from San Jose, CA
on 06/27/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It catches all the local channels much easier than the cheap ones. I guess the fact that it is amplified helps a lot!
What's not so great: Some channels will disappear randomly. One day you'll have them, but another day you won't
Bottom of the line. If you are paying some cable company for their basic package cuz you think it is the only way to watch HDTV, you are wrong. YOu can get most of the channels in HD quality for free using this beautiful antenna. I used to struggle with a 5-dollar antenna for the longest time until I got cable and paid so much money for it to know that this reasonably-priced antenna can get the same job done for free :) I can't be happier about this!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0066597308
My Best Buy number: 0066597308
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 68 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Helped get reception for weak signals

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BuddyNWI
from Munster, IN
on 02/23/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, helps get weak stations to come in
What's not so great: Price
I live in NW Indiana and had trouble getting a couple over the air stations to come in. I do not have an antenna on my roof and was using a simple rabbit ears for over the air stations. The regular antenna had trouble but this amplified antenna helped get reception on the lower signal strength broadcast stations. Easy set up. A little pricey but I waited for it to go on sale.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 69 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Awesome substitute for cable/dish

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sau686
from San Antonio, TX
on 02/08/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality
What's not so great: Axial cable is a little short
You get un-compressed 1080p HD signal straight from the station. I have compared its picture quality with DIRECTV and I was blown away by the difference. Mine catches NBC, CBS, ION TV, FOX, CW and many more. I bought a bigger dish but this one was absolutely great so I returned the bigger one. Built in amplifier gives crisp signal. I have 3 HDTV's attached to it by a splitter. I was tired of DIRECTV crazy this fee and that fee, 10 dollars for HD. Here you get HD for free.
I also tried a flat 360 antenna but this one works better because of the rabbit ears, you can adjust those for even more channels.
If you like watching local channels, get this. Do not pay 20 dollars for basic channels to cable. I am bill free now. Free TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 70 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Good value for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: reviewer1501
from Pennsylvania
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy set up. Less than 5 minutes.
What's not so great: Out of area channels have weak or no signal in bad weather
Provides HD quality viewing with my HDTV without having a subscription to a cable company.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 71 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Great price, Great value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Greenwood, In
on 01/28/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Recieving 30 channels without cable
What's not so great: -
works great, just moving around to get the most channels. 30 channels without cable...love it!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 72 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Picks up all over air HD signals.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: iheartgadgets
from Brooklyn, NY
on 01/23/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good value/ease of set up
Easy to set up. Picks up all over air HD signals. Easy to adjust, when needed. A solid buy if you're sick of cable or dish monthly gouging and don't need every channel under the sun. I get all network and local stations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 73 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Good VHF reception

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DavidBinKy
from Louisville, KY
on 12/09/2012
I bought a Terk FDTV2A indoor antenna a few days ago. It would not receive the only local channel broadcasting in VHF. I took it back and bought this unit since its gain was so much greater than the Terk. It received the VHF channel clearly...and also picked up a few others that the Terk did not receive (same position, pointing approximately 310 degrees). This one is a keeper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 74 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

no difference in reception

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Shandale
from Noblesville, IN
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It makes an initial connection for new tvs
What's not so great: It gets in the way and the cords are short
At 1st my new digital tv wouldn't get a station. Then I hooked up the amp and got almost all of them. BUT, when I UNhooked it, I still had all of my stations -2. When I hooked it back up my reception was no better than it was without the amp and those 2 stations never came back EVEN at different locations with the house.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 75 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

great for any flat screen

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mytv11
from durham,nc
on 01/09/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price
What's not so great: that my husband didnt pay for it darn!!!
was greatly surprised at how many more channels we get with this product would recomend
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 76 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Great improvement in reception.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Two2
from Midlothian, VA
on 10/16/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It does what I was told it would do.
Reception improvement was noted immediately when power booster was plugged in and turned on.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 77 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Great for non digital tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LKChangirl
on 10/14/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of assembly
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
I have one older tv with a converter box. I had a different antenna that 'buzzed', this antenna works perfectly and no buzzing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 78 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

So far so good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: OldCarGuy
from Tulsa, OK
on 07/20/2011
What's great about it: easy set up picks up local channels
What's not so great: It needs to be near a window.
Works fine. Need to adjust ears ever so often. Was surprised at how many channels it picked up. I would spend the extra 25 dollars and get the amplified RCA anntenna. We have it upstairs and it seems to pick up about 14 more channels
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 79 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Worked well when needed

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: hhawk
from New Orleans
on 03/16/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of assembly
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: easy set up. could take anywhere
What's not so great: fragile, hard to get good reception
Product was real easy to set up. Picked up majority of the HD channels, Had to constantly adjust the reception. after a few months the antenna broke
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 80 for RCA - Amplified Indoor Off-Air HDTV Antenna

Requires constant tuning

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: HiFiGuyinWI
from Milwaukee, WI
on 04/07/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of assembly
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Durablility.
What's not so great: Unable to enhance reception.
Signals change constantly and this antenna requires constant retuning. Sometimes I can't get any picture at all and I live in the city just miles from the TV stations! It's a glorified piece of aluminum foil.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 45 next>>