Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Model: RF-G1146
SKU: 8315496
UPC: 600603111778
Integrate your speakers to your receiver or amplifier with these 24K gold-plated banana plugs. Use them as connectors between speaker wire and component inputs or outputs to maintain signal transfer and help avoid short circuits and corrosion.
Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
13 out of 14
)
Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs
Review 1 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Perfect banana plugs

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Iloveeletronics
from Manitowoc, WI
on 04/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up.
What's not so great: N/A
Unscrew. Insert wire. Spread wire. Re-screw together. What's not to like?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Great value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hlper
on 03/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Half the money of Monster equivalent
What's not so great: Fairly limited in size of wire accepted
All of my connections are Monster, bought at employee discount years ago. I was looking for better connectors for 12 gauge Monster speaker wire, and was thinking monster connectors. However these looked good and cost half as much so I bought a package of 4.
I think the Monster design might be a little better and accept a larger diameter wire, but the quality seems comparable. To the person who said these will work with 8, and possibly heavier gauge wire I just want to say that 12 was a very snug fit, which was great for me. I don’t think you could fit anything heavier in there than that. Now I just need four more sets to finish the ends on my 5 channel setup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Easy to install banana clips

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GetMoreSunshine
from Wayne Co., OH
on 02/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy for a home-audio novice to set up
What's not so great: pictures in the guide could be a little clearer
Push cable through the housing, bend wire ends down, screw plug into the housing. That's it. Using 16-gauge Rocketfish wire, works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Great Connectors

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ron63
from VA
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Connecting speakers is easier with banana plugs.
If you system is equipped to handle banana plugs, I would recommend Rockfish connectors. Makes connecting speakers a breeze, especially in tight working areas.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Great quality from Rocketfish

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: montanawayz1983
from Orlando, FL
on 06/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and Quality
What's not so great: none
I usually buy monster products when it come to AV accessories but let me tell you that rocketfish makes some quality comparable products. These banana plugs are great priced and do the same great job as the much expensive monster brand ones. I have bought from both brands and I am very impress with all the rocketfish products, from their HDMI cables to their banana plugs and speaker wire.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Excellent budget banana plugs.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: D3v1l
from Yokota AB, Japan
on 06/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent budget banana plugs.
What's not so great: Can be difficult to connect with larger gauge speaker cable.
I received these in the mail a month ago, and was plenty impressed with the boost of sound quality. While it wasnt terribly significant, the clarity came out of my system. I am using a 14 guage speaker cable, and I can see how these would be a problem if you were using a 10 gauge, a heavier gauge wire that has more strands. But if you were a true audiophile that has spared no expense for their home theater, you would be buying Monster brand plugs rather than rocketfish. If you are a true audiophile and you have spared no expense and decided to save a dollar or two by buying cheap plugs, stop whining and return them to spend the extra dollars for Monster, this product is great for entry level to midrange knowledge of home theater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Not so good

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JoeHIFI
from Philadelphia, PA
on 04/22/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Everything else
I have used the Monster branded banana plugs before in the past and thought that all plugs where the same so I decided to save some cash and purchase the Rocketfish plugs. It took forever to get these Rocketfish plugs installed onto my speaker wire. You have to screw the tops of these plugs down onto the wire and there is little to no room for the wire. The wiring I was using was the Monster XPHP-CI100. I can see why fellow posters say to use this product only with a thin guage wire.
If you have thick cables don’t waste your time with this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

pretty slick connectors

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Raul
from Orlando, FL
on 02/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: really hold on to the wire
What's not so great: won't accept 12 gauge or bi-wire
I like these connectors a lot. I used them for my center channel. I could not use them for my main speakers since I am bi-wiring them and the wire would not fit. I would definitely recommend them though.....they will work for majority of speaker wire and they make for a nice, clean professional looking connection.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Great banana plugs!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bigred7078
from Missouri
on 09/04/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: cheap, easy to use, do their job!
What's not so great: doesnt fit a large gauge wire. 14 awg is pushing what it can accept
These are some great banana plugs! Jus t strip your speaker wire, place the wire into the twisted apart banana plug, then fold the wire over and place cap back on plug. Creates a very tight secure connection with binding post. Very convenient especially for the back of a receiver!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Just as good as Monster Cable version

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PCTakeDown
from Texarkana, Texas
on 06/21/2008
What's great about it: easy to install
What's not so great: none
These will make your home theater setup go A LOT easier and quicker. You can also save a few bucks if you get these instead of the Monster Cable version.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

excellent banana

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nickname50
from brunswick, ohio
on 05/19/2008
What's great about it: easy hook up, accepts large wire guage
What's not so great: none so far
i was having a heck of a time finding an 8 guage banana plug so i stopped in a BB not expecting to find anything and boy was i wrong. these will work at least to 6 and maybe to 4 guage. i bought an open package for $10 and they work awesome. now that i got the first set for $10 a second for $15 just seems hard to do. again great product, easy to install, and works exactly as expected. i will be buying another pair. go rocketfish!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Makes life soo much easier

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: acurateshot
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: Everything
These plugs will make your life soo much easier instead of having to hassle with twisting the wire and screwing them into the back of a surround receiver. All you need to do is simply run your wire through the plug and then boom, your ready to go. I would definitely recommend these to anyone looking for an easy way to set up a new or existing surround receiver
Simply Awesome
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Great little product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Malice101
from San Dimas, Ca
on 03/07/2008
What's great about it: Super simple, Does what it's supposed to
What's not so great: None
If you have a newer receiver with knob/screw type connectors these will make your life easier. Always hated trying to finagle getting wire into these type of connectors (why they did away with the spring type clips, I don't know. Maybe to sell handy little doo-dads like these I guess).
The two piece construction and method of assy is very simple and works like a charm. Once attached to the wire it's just like a good ol' RCA jack. No more headaches when you want to rearrange your system or initial setup. Well worth the cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rocketfish™ Speaker Cable Gold-Plated Banana Plugs

Great Plug

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SirXavier
from Hartford, CT
on 02/04/2008
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: simple to use, great construction
What's not so great: none
Picked these up for a surround system to make life easier installing all the wires. These plugs were easy to assemble and install. Similar to the Monster, but less expensive. Two part construction that fans out speaker wire. This should provide greater surface contact of the wires which results in improved signal transfer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.