Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Model: 010-00656-10
SKU: 8337579
UPC: 753759072230
Let this portable GPS receiver guide you to your destinations with an easy-to-use touch screen, turn-by-turn directions and a voice guidance system. Learn more about the Garmin nuvi 200W. (Flash demo)
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 100 reviews
5 stars
53
4 stars
30
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
3
89% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
89 out of 100
)
Customer Reviews for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS
Review 81 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Good for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: True19
from Southern California
on 12/07/2007
What's great about it: Big screen makes it easier to touch, thin and can fit anywhere
What's not so great: Takes a LONG time to find the satellite unless you're moving.
This is good for the price. It does the job. I was reading reviews before and someone said the suction isn't very good. I think it's great. I've had mine for about a month. It doesn't announce the streets by name which is fine for me because I can read the screen. They have a model higher which is another $50 bucks and it will announce the streets by name. Another reviewer said that the voice wasn't clear. I think it's extremely clear. It can also get very loud. If you're going too fast and you're relying only on the voice prompts, you might miss your turn because it won't give you that much notice, but you can push a button to view your next turns at anytime. There is a phone book inside which locates the nearest whatevers that you request. It's pretty smart although sometimes it can't locate the satellite. It will literally take like 10 minutes if it find it at all---while you're stopped. If you are moving it will locate it almost right away. The problem with that is that you may have already made a wrong turn! But it will re-route you the right way. Somtimes if you're on a freeway and there's a street underneath it that runs parallel the Nuvi might think you're on the street instead of the freeway and try to reroute you. But eventually, it'll figure it out. It has some fun features in it, such as location finders, world clock, calculator, unit/currency converter, and you can store photos as well. It's good for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Fine for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Satire
from Northern California
on 12/02/2007
What's great about it: Easy view screen
What's not so great: Keyboard is not QWERTY
How difficult could it be to offer a QWERTY keyboard? Inputting addresses is a pain without this feature. So far of all the GPS devices I've tried (and that's several), none match the factory installed device in the Acura RL. That system is perfect.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Expensive junk

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 11/26/2007
What's great about it: compact,battery life
What's not so great: expensive, no tts
It died after 13 months after i purchased it. Now i dont have any warranty coverage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Had many glitches

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Headwords
from Los Angeles
on 11/18/2007
What's great about it: Thin and compact
What's not so great: Could not find easy places and voice prompt is not clear
I have recently moved to the LA area and when first here had gps from 2 different rental companies. 1 was a Garmin and the 2nd was Magellen from Hertz.
Once my car arrived decided to get a Garmin as it was highly reccommended. This unit at times takes a while to find a satelite connection. It can not find the local Ikea which is only 7 miles away and the local Costco takes me to a goodwill.
When giving directions on a freeway it only says take a left or right and stay left or right. Problem is on ramps where one needs to be aware it prompts too late for the speed I am going and I find I am in the wrong lane.
You have to look at the screen to see what street you are making a turn on which takes away the meaning of the voice prompt.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

great unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mailman
from oklahoma city
on 11/15/2007
What's great about it: thin and esy to use
What's not so great: no battery indicator when charging or using the unit
this is a really great unit. the gps can be used right out of the box. the touch screen is easy to use. i have only had it for a few days and there doesn't seem to anthing really bad to say about ithe unit itself. the voice commands are loud and understandable. the screen fades a little in sunlight, but still able to be read. the one draw back is that if you want to charge the unit in your home, you have the buy the optional usb cable or ac charger. i can't understand why garmin would not include these in the box. it will charge with the dc adapter, but that does not do a lot of good if you want to only use the battery while you are driving. i would highly reccomment this gps for the price and screen size.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Very Good Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dewman
from Greensboro,NC
on 11/04/2007
What's great about it: Very User Friendly
This is my 1st GPS I bought it cause I drive a truck for a living and it takes me right to my stops there is a few glitches but nothing terrible that you can't figure out..
I will never buy nothing else but a Garmin I recommend this GPS very highly...Very User Friendly..
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

GARMIN ROCKS!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dines
on 10/27/2007
What's great about it: thin, widescreen, fast and very useful!
What's not so great: takes awhile to find a satellite signal sometimes
its my first time having a gps and i heard that Garmin is the best gps and they're right. its so convenient that i dont need to print directions from mapquest. its features are great! u can avoid highways and direct u to local instead. u can add pictures and save addresses to ur favorite.i love this product. Once again EXCELLENT service from bestbuy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Much better than the Magellan roadmate 760

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Williebeamin
from MD
on 10/12/2007
What's great about it: MP3 storage
What's not so great: suction doesn't work very well
This GPS is awesome I had a magellan roadmate which I paid 760 for which didn't work in NYC of all place and it didn't have as many specail features nad it would loss signal and freeze often this is MUCH MUCH MUCH better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Freedom

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JustLooking
from St Paul, Minnesota
on 10/11/2007
What's great about it: Never wrong
What's not so great: Cannot suggest parts of the route
This product literately made it possible for my wife to drive. We had moved and new nothing of the town we lived in. With the Garmin she feels safe going to places she has not been to. We also took a 1000 mile trip and never looked at a map. We ended up in the parking lot of the Hotel we wanted to stay at. I cannot even guess how much time it has saved do to never getting lost. I recommend this to all my family and friends. I have gone with three of them to best buy to get theirs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Great technology!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RealEstateGuru
from Evansville, Indiana
on 10/07/2007
What's great about it: Small, but with a big screen.
What's not so great: Every once in awhile it can't find the "satellite" but then within about 30 seconds, it connects.
We just bought this and found it to be extremely helpful and detailed. It has been right on...even in Branson, MO with all the hills, etc.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Most Fantastic Product I Ever Bought

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bobco
from Grand Haven, MI
on 10/07/2007
What's great about it: Fantastic for Travel
What's not so great: Need to get the flat GPS for carrying during travel
The Garmin GPS Nuvi is fantastic. The flat size is better than the original since it can slip into computer bags for travel. Knowing exactly when you're getting home is a great feature. Has so much on it I don't know what to do with it. One of the best electronic devices I've ever bought. Wouldn't know what to do without it in my travels on a weekly basis.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Great buy!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SkyJam2
from N.J.
on 10/01/2007
What's great about it: Accuracy
What's not so great: Instruction Booklet
I recently bought a Garmin nuvi 200W, and for thoughs of us who are directionally challenged, it's a handy travel tool to have. It does exactly as advertised with the right amount of extras to help you in your travels.
When testing it, i purposely made a few wrong turns to test its accuracy and its recalculation speed. Both were right on! It recalculated to put me back on course in a matter of seconds!
I think the instruction booklet could have been a little more detailed but, other than that, it's a great travel giude to have and certainly one that i would recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Good Product

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ajsdx
on 09/25/2007
After having used the Nuvi 200 a few times, I'm pretty pleased with it. It takes you to where you need to go, although I've found that the instructions are a little bit less precise than some other models. Also, it doesn't come with all the bells and whistles, although that might be a positive because those things make the machine more complicated, whereas this one is very intuitive and easy to use. A must have for people who get lost easily!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Garmin is GRRRREAT!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: klondon
on 09/17/2007
I love my garmin portable GPS. Its sleek, and easy to use. I go evreywhere with it. It's especially great on out of town trips. Garmin tech support is awesome and the updates are frequent and easy to do. It's so much more than just a GPS, it's a travel assistant. I highly recommend this one or any Garmin product if you are looking for GPS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Good Product

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: nica
from Tampa, FL
on 09/14/2007
very handy and easy to use. very durable. i take it where ever i go and it never seems to break. great tool for the working man.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Good Navigation Unit

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ptown27
from Houston, TX
on 09/12/2007
Much better unit than the TomTom. Had to trade in the TomTom as it would take you to the wrong location.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Second GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DRIDE
from Ridgeland, MS
on 09/09/2007
1st GPS was a Garmin. Second GPS is a Garmin. I will use this to travel anywhere in the US. Guided me to my destination in Oak Brook, IL (Turn by Turn). This made traveling in unknown territory a Cake Walk!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

GREAT for travel

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 09/09/2007
I recently traveled from my home in Oregon to NJ, NY and Connecticut. All I had to do is plug the Nuvi into my rental car and I was ready to find the various locations on my list. It was especially helpful at night; no map to read and no written directions to follow. This device helped me arrive at various destinations safe and stress free.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

Garmin - Top Product technology...used by Military

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mrzippy
from Salinas, CA
on 08/27/2007
Researh is key to buying any product. If available, play with it before buying and get the help from the sales people to show you the options...if they can.
I did with this one and the research showed me that this particular model only did what I wanted...to direct me to where I want to go. No MP3/audio books option, blue tooth, or any other extra stuff; except the picture viewer...that was a nice plus.
I like that the Garmin website offers down loadable info and updates for this their models.
A nice product for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Garmin nuvi 200W GPS

so so

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: swamper777
from Germany
on 08/11/2007
garmin nuvi - overpriced compared to features available with the competition. Disappointed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5