Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Model: SETUP-BACKUP
SKU: 8359652
UPC: 400083596528
Let an Agent take the hassle out of setting up a new computer and bringing your data along for the ride. When setting up your computer, a Geek Squad® Agent will: Physically set up one PC or Mac computer system, including the computer plus monitor, keyboard, mouse and speakers Organize wires and cables with your cable ties (ties not included) Install one new software application (software not included) Install one peripheral or external device (device not included) Configure your new computer to access your existing Internet account and one existing e-mail account Test your computer to make sure it is functioning properly Note: Setup excludes moving or removing an existing computer system. When performing a one-time data backup or transfer, an Agent will: Back up or transfer your computer data to another medium (e.g., CD or DVD, internal or external hard drive, network-attached storage or another computer) Import the data into an installed program or location (when performing a data transfer) Note: File transfer includes up to 9.4GB of data; larger amounts of data can be accommodated for an additional charge. Applications cannot be transferred. Agents can provide a CD or DVD from a Best Buy store for backup, and are authorized to use an external hard drive from a store for on-site data backup assistance. Excludes nontransferable applications and programs. Data backup/transfer service excludes recovering any lost data; in such a situation, please visit a Geek Squad precinct inside any Best Buy store. Online Service Order Details When you order this service online, you will receive a shipping confirmation email when we validate your purchase. We'll call you within 72 hours of this confirmation to schedule your appointment. For your convenience, we'll also provide you with contact information on a confirmation card mailed to your home. Services have a 30-day labor warranty, but are not returnable after the services have been performed. See Terms & Conditions for more details. To cancel or reschedule your appointment, please call 1 800 GEEK SQUAD (1-800-433-5778). Note: If you have also ordered a new desktop or laptop computer, be sure to reschedule your appointment if you are notified of a product backorder or delivery delay. Questions? Call us toll free at 1 800 GEEK SQUAD (1-800-433-5778). See more Geek Squad services available for order online.
Average Customer Rating:
2.778 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
9
50% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
9 out of 18
)
Customer Reviews for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer
Review 1 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Read the Small Print on the Work Order -

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ruby1029
from Mansfield Texas
on 03/16/2011
What's not so great: Nothing great about the service and/or management and/or stand behind what they tell you
Although you expect the Geek people to back up your data - and that's what you brought your computer in for - and that's what you are paying for - when they are "confused" and whatever - and it doesn't get backed up - THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE. Read the legal language on your work order. So - even though you tell them verbally at least 4x that the Quickbooks program on your lap top is not backed up -- and you purchase a backup just for the purpose of them backing it up - before they work on your computer -- and even though you tell them "should I go home back it up and then bring it back" -- no no -- we will back it up - don't worry. BUT when the company file is not backed up for some unknown reason - which they cannot explain - and you explain this is going to cause $$$$ in time and expense to recreate the company file -- you don't even get an apology from the tech that worked on it - or the manager -- instead you are reminded that the work order says they are not responsible for data that does not get backed up. Very unreliable service -- I will never step foot in Best Buy again - and I would certainly recommend any one I know to certainly not trust their computer and their data to the Geek Squad.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+43points
50out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Increased Hassle X 10

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MjayM
from Westland, MI
on 02/04/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Timeliness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Thoroughness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: One or two people were nice.
What's not so great: Biggest waste of money ever.
This has to be one of the worst experiences I have had since computers were invented. The guy who came wiped out 6 of my programs without consulting me because they didn't work with Windows 7. He just left a note and said I needed to buy all new programs. The first call to Geek was frustrating. The installer never returns my calls. Then after a negative review someone called and was very pleasent and helpful. He listened well and promised that someone would came back quickly and set everything straight, including installing the new programs I bought and finding my data (which I have never found yet). NO ONE EVER CALLED AGAIN. The next time I was in the Westland store I talked with Rich, the Manager. He listened and was pleasent and promised he would look into it and someone would come and set things right. THAT WAS 5 DAYS AGO AND NO ONE HAS EVER CALLED SINCE. BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY EVER.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+58points
61out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

bad service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Bruce76
from Minnesota
on 01/23/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Timeliness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Thoroughness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: friendly service
What's not so great: but prize is way to over
got problem with my wireless on laptop it say not connect or broking because the wireless light turn off bring back to best buy ask out they help me turn wireless light on they trying to connect wireless at best buy then my laptop say the internet connect but wireless not connect ask the prize to fixed it say $200 they rip off so i just bring my laptop home to see i can connect internet or not its connect i know a little bit of computer so i want to see how much they charged $200? you rip off
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
19out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Good service if you don't know much

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BrianMD
from Baltimore, MD
on 05/11/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Timeliness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Thoroughness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Knowledgable agent
What's not so great: Didn't do much I couldn't have done
Great help if you know little about computers. I thought they could transfer applications, but only copied data, and used my external drive because I had so much data. I purchased a laptop, so set up was really nothing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
25out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

What an incredible waste of $$!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MSHeltsley
from Greendale, WI
on 04/07/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Timeliness
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Thoroughness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing good about this service (or lack thereof!)
What's not so great: The experience was highly disappointing. I will NEVER seek Geek Squad help again.
I purchased the in-home cpu set up and data transfer to reduce the "down time" associated with setting up a new system. The agent seemed knowledgeable but he didn't have the right equipment with him and he left me with what he said was defective equipment after doing half of what I thought he would do. Another agent was sent out 2 days later and basically came to the same conclusion that my printer was defective.
I spent about an hour on the phone with the KODAK helpdesk and was able to get my printer working. I think the Geek squad agents should know the things the mfr had me do to avoid leaving a customer sitting with what they think is bad equipment. He also said I had 20Gb of data which was incorrect – there was 16.
The package I purchased was supposed to include email set up of one mailbox - he didn't do that either - he told me to call my provider to get the codes for the mail setup. I can't believe he didn't know the codes since I have one of the more popular services in this area. (I knew the codes and set them up myself.) Since I ended up doing things they should have done , I called to negotiate an adjustment or credit for the services they didn't provide. I was told that there would be no credit - even when I spoke to a "supervisor."
I told the supervisor they “bought” $260 worth of the worst advertising they will ever buy and I intend to keep my promise. I have already told at least 25 people about my experience. If you still choose to use their services, be sure to check to make sure you get what you expected and also read the paperwork the agent prepares very carefully. I found out he put incorrect information in the report he provided after completing the job. My fault for not reading it carefully - big mistake! He said my printer "worked great"!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+99points
105out of 111found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Computer set-up

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Bill11250
from Croydon PA
on 03/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Timeliness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Thoroughness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great deal
What's not so great: oing to store for a credit
The squad hook up everything fine. Idon't understand why everytheing was done on line but when it comes to a credit on my charge I have to go to the store. They could not transfer any data from the old computer so I'm entitled to a credit and was told to go to the nearest store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
10out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Thank God for Geek Squad!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kelleigh
from Kansas City, KS
on 02/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Timeliness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Thoroughness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Data Transfer, Email transfer & set-up, computer configuration/clean up
What's not so great: Pricey, but well worth the money!
My husband and I finally bought a new desktop computer after 8 years! Since our new computer had Windows 7 OS/64, we had to buy all new software because none of my old applications were compatible (old software install discs from Windows XP version 2002, Office 2002, tax software, antivirus software, digital camera software, picture editing software, etc.). We also bought a portable external HD for back up purposes and the Acronis Back Up and Recovery software to go with it. At the store I had so many questions about how I could save all of my files, emails, pictures, music, etc.? What software would work with all my old files, how do I protect my computer on the internet, how do I back up my files? -- Geek Squad answered every question, made software purchase suggestions, hardware purchase suggestions and said that they could set it all up, install the software and transfer all the old data, and re-set up our email accounts -- all in the convenience of my home!
This was the best $350.00 we ever spent! The technician was professional, knowlegeable, and above all patient. He set up an entire desktop system (HD, monitor, all-in-one printer), an external HD (configured it for weekly back-ups), a digital camera, configured/optimized the operating system, installed and configured MS Office 2007, Kapersky Internet Security software, Acronis Back Up & Recovery Software, Adobe Reader, Kodak Easy Share software and even re-set up my Sony Walkman MP3 player and re-downloaded my Napster-to-Go software! It only took the technician 2 hours! He partitioned our HD-one side for my husband and one side for me and configured our Internet Email accounts to sync with MS Outlook. When he was done, he took the time to show us how everything worked! We can not say enough good things about our experience.
My advice - rely on the professionals, it is well worth the money! Geek Squad does it all, just ASK - it may cost extra, but it is worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
32out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Unacceptable delay

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Zebedee
from Naples, FL
on 02/05/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Timeliness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It seems like a good idea to add set up to purchase
What's not so great: Waiting over 2 weeks after delivery for an appointment
I purchased a laptop for my elderly father. As I was out of town and unable to set it up for him I also purchased the Geek Squad set up. We were unable to set up a Geek Squad appointment until the laptop arrived. Once the laptop arrived we called Geek Squad and the first available appointment was 16 days later. I ended up using a local computer company who were more timely, much cheaper, did an excellent job and were far easier to deal with
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+35points
37out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Horrible Experience

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: clontarf
from Napa, CA
on 01/20/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Timeliness
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Thoroughness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
I purchased a system on behalf of my mother and included the Geek Squad set-up and data transfer.
The "Agent" arrived at 10:00am and after 15 minutes informed my mother that by law he was due a 15 minute break.....
He then attempted to charge her $70 for a wireless router, something she already had.
He said he could not accomplish the data transfer, a primary reason for this service, as he had forgot his data transfer cable.
He admonished her for purchasing a large screen as the laptop already had one.
After 1.5 hours he announced he was leaving because Best Buy did not pay overtime, but he would return the next day. Accomplished very little.
Later in the day another "Agent" showed up unannounced and completed the installation. But still did not transfer data from the old to the new computer or set-up the e-mail.
Very poor service.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+30points
34out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Onsite installation was great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CBell
from Fairfield, Ca
on 01/10/2010
What's great about it: Easy setup and great customer service
After set up of the new computer with Microsoft 7 I found out my phone was not compatible and no new software was available. Geeksquad did not give up until they found a way for my phone to comunicate with my PC. I rely heavily on my phone. Thank You Geeksquad
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
13out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

On-Site Computer Set-Up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FSJ
from De Leon Springs, FL
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Timeliness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Thoroughness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to Use
Everything works and I did not have to hassle with data transfer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
6out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Data transfer nightmare

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RWS
from CT
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Timeliness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Thoroughness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The computer set up went well
What's not so great: The data tranfer and scheduling were terrible
I bought the computer set up and in-home data transfer online for $249 when I ordered my HP laptop. It took 3 phone calsl including long holds, transfers to the wrong extensions, and dropprd calls before I was connected to someone who could set up the appointment. There were no available appointments for 2 weeks. That agent set up the appointment but coded it incorrectly so that the Geek Squad agent was not prepared to do the in-home data transfer. Instead of rescheduling he told me to go to the store. I had to take both computers in and leave them overnight. When I brought them home I couldn't access the files. I had to return to the store and have the job completely redone (this after paying for in-home service). Every part of the process was difficult, including contacting the store.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

WORST SERVICE EVER

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: GemQuality2
from NC
on 01/05/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Friendliness of Agent(s)
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Timeliness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Thoroughness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: I am still having problems with the comptuer etc.
I ordered the DELUXE set up from GEEK SQUAD ... set up a NEW computer and transfer files from old computer. They have been here two times, three men ... two at one time ... and still have computer problems. I would NEVER recommend using them. It isn't that they don't try, surely they do, but I am still having comptuer problems.. and since I am not computer savy needed some knowlegeable help ... this didn't seem to be it. I still have a DATE for them to return. THEREFORE am hopeful. ADD to this, I have taken the computer TO THE STORE two different times ... something I was not suppose to have to do, since I ordered IN HOME service.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

There are still many unresolved problems.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: unhappyjim
from clearwater,Fl.
on 11/10/2009
We thought that paying over $200.00 1/3 the cost of the computer that we would get our new computer downloaded with every thing that was in our old computer . Not only we not get all we wanted out of the old computer we now have many problems with the system and new problems continue to pop up.
We were we only paid for a couple of hours of Geek service not the complete and through down load we thought we paid for.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Helpful

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FunkyFish120
from Pittsburgh,Pa
on 07/02/2009
What's great about it: No hassle, easy, stress free
What's not so great: Nothing
Geek Squad people are great at what they do. They know exactly how to do their job. I would reccommend Geek Squad to anyone who dooesn't know how to set up a computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Great start, but limit follow through

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: fourcharacters
from Seattle, WA
on 04/28/2009
What's great about it: New computer clean-up was great.
What's not so great: When computer died (soon after purchase) Geek squad did no clean-up on new system install.
When we bought a new laptop the Geek Squad did a great job of cleaning up all of the garbage applications that are packaged with the Windows operating system. The machine ran great for awhile, but soon the hard drive failed. The Geek Squad sent the laptop in to the manufacturer which replaced the hard drive and reinstalled Windows with all of its garbage apps. However, the Geek Squad did not clean it up the second time, and I am having a miserable time trying to reinstall all of the apps that I had originally installed without too much effort. I have ended up spending way too much time to get back to square 1, and am not there yet.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

Fantastic Work

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dnelson
from Maryland
on 10/20/2008
My computer died and I brought it in to the geek squad. They backed up my information to a disc and had my hard drive up and running in no time. Fantastic work!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Geek Squad® On-Site PC Hookup & Data Backup or Transfer

You Want To Be Happy? Do This!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HibbingGuy
from Minneapolis, MN
on 02/26/2008
What's great about it: Cleans off all the "free" junk before you use it.
What's not so great: Have it done in the store!
Your computer will be much happier out of the box when they set it up instead of you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
15out of 25found this review helpful.