Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Model: EUADSL23C-0
SKU: 8360098
UPC: 789286806536
Connect the computers in your home with this speedy DSL router with USB and Ethernet connections. The expansion port allows you to add modular units that connect VoIP phones, A/V components and more (not included).
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
57% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
8 out of 14
)
Customer Reviews for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem
Review 1 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

I could not use this modem

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ADCLS
from Texas
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Did not come with installation CD
The modem did not come with an installation CD; therefore the technician who installed my DSL was unable to use it. Moreover, I thought I was purchasing a combination modem/router. I ended up having to buy the modem from my DSL provider AND a router to set up my network. Very disappointing; wasted $75.00 on a product I can neither use nor sell back without an installation CD.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
13out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Good for gateway only!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: shniggens
from Aurora, CO
on 12/28/2010
What's great about it: It terminates DSL.
What's not so great: Everything else.
I received a M1000 from Qwest when I signed up for DSL. The router I had behind it finally croaked, so I figured I would just get the W1000 wireless adapter and convert this unit into my WAN/LAN device to save space. BIG MISTAKE!!!!!!
The folks at Actiontec really out-clevered themselves when they designed the program behind this "router". The interface is supposed to be robust, flashy, and intuitive for the novice user all at once (think Windows Vista). The result is clunky, buggy, and counterinuitive.
Upon connecting devices wirelessly to the Actiontec, I was unable to ping between ANY LAN devices. They all connected to the router, and the internet, but they were unable to see each other. OK, so the firewall settings must be turned on. Nope, firewall set to NAT only. I turned the firewall to "Low", and I could ping! Now I can't VPN!!! It went on like this for awhile testing various precanned firewall settings, and I have never managed to get my LAN devices communicating.
Here's what their horrible support staff had to say (once I finally go them to respond) -
"LOW\MEDIUM\HIGH\CUSTOM. These settings do NOT protect your LAN computers from hacking attempts.These settings allow you to select from a pre-programmed list of programs and applications what services you want to DENY or ALLOW your computers to access or use. This is more like a Parental Control settings instead of a protection setting.Leave your firewall to OFF for Voice. The unit even does a preprogrammed QoS for Voice if you leave it set to OFF and no one can hack your computers.LOW\MEDIUM\HIGH\CUSTOM levels don't protect you but do block some services. They also disable port forwarding and DMZ Hosting so that your kids cannot by pass the restrictions you're placing on their Internet connections.OFF blocks everyone from coming into your network. You must use the Applications to open ports on this level if you WANT someone to connect to your LAN network computers. Port forwarding is useless however if the firewall level is set to LOW\MEDIUM\HIGH or CUSTOM"
What?
My advice, use this as your DSL modem, and buy a Linksys for your internal routing. DO NOT buy the W1000, and expect to have a nice, compact LAN?WAN device for your home network!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Installation couldn't have been easier

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ngc55101
from St Paul, MN
on 05/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performs as advertised and installation was a snap
What's not so great: Nothing
Purchased this unit to replace an old MSN DSL1000 modem that had failed. Setup and configuration took less time than it took to drive to the store. Using with an older Linksys wireless router and had no compatibility issues.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

GREAT EASY TO USE!!!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RT1
from west plains mo
on 02/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: VERY EASY SET UP
What's not so great: NOTHINGS
THIS IS A GREAT MODEM EASY TO SET UP AND IT WORKS WITH WINDOWS 7 !!!! I DID BUY A NETGEAR BUT IT WAS JUNK! SO IF YOU WANT THE BEST AT A GOOD PRICE BUY ACTIONTEC
I would recommend this to a friend!
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Not worth the money bought on 7/18/09

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: doctorhrdware
from Chicago
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: No longer working. Not able to log into the modem via network cable.
What's not so great: Died, but before it died the DSL speed when down to 2.37k per second.
Was not worth the money. I am glad I had a netgear DSL modem/router. Otherwise I would have no DSL while the Actiontec has to be sent out for repair. I will never buy another Actiontec product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Better than a Motorola MSTATEA

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MikeSfeedback
from San Jose
on 11/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Much Better than Motorola MSTATEA
What's not so great: Nothing
I read the Quick Start Guide. 1 & 2 Configure took 5 min.
No isheus at all.
I run Vista Home Premium on a Gateway GT5648E AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ 3.0GHz w/4Gig Ram.
I had a Motorola givin to me for signing up with ATT/Yahoo free is not always the best the Motorola went bad had to be replaced under warrenty then dieded again. ( The First Install was on Nov 30th 2007)
Was told by ATT/Yahoo,
"We don't send them out any more to many problems with them."
I noted that both Motorola units ( Small Silver Box ) got HOT to the touch and were NOT as fast as the Actiontec GT724R. I also have a Netgear WGR614 v7 Wireless Router hooked up and have experanced better proformance from the old laptop too. (A Dell 800mhz 500gig Ram)
Recap: Motorola 1 a year for 2 years Not Good in my book.
Actiontech Installed wonderfull, works even better. It don't even get warm to the touch. If it last longer than 2 years I will let you know. If it don't I will let you know.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

much better that what ATT supplies.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fjn95959
from california
on 10/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fits my location, easy setup,reasonable price.
What's not so great: It does drop the connection to the internet on occasion, but so did ATT's
I bought this unit to replace a brand new unit that I bought from ATT. The Actiontec was easy to set up and configure. I did read the instruction, but just to get familiar with the unit. I have 2 Dell desktops running Win XP Pro and a brand new Dell Laptop running Vista Home Premium. IT DOES WORK WITH VISTA..... The unit does drop the connection on occasion, but it isn/t
really a problem. About half of the dropped connections are ATT's problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

save your sanity

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bob666
from saint louis, mo
on 06/05/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: everything
Our 2-wire ATT died and we replaced it with the Actiontec to save $20. What a joke. Set up wasn't bad, but over the 13 days we have had it, it goes down around 5 times a day, every day.
WHEN it stays online, it's fine. Decent speed on two wireless laptops and two wired, one pc, one Mac and a Wii.
Unfortunately, it drops the connection frequently. Each time, it reconnects by turning it off for 30 seconds, then turning it back on and waiting 60 seconds before restarting browsers.
Bottom Line ~ Frustrating, unreliable connection, frequent drops.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Horrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JZSquared
from Colorado
on 01/06/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Not Much
What's not so great: Pretty Much Everything Else
I've had to have this modem replaced twice because it would begin to constantly drop my internet connection. I use Qwest DSL, and everytime I called them about my internet connection being dropped, they told me that it was due to this modem. So now I'm on my third Actiontec M1000 modem, let's hope that this one lasts longer than six months this time. Be careful with these things, because they burn out fast. My Motorola SURFboard cable modem was extremely more reliable than this. And I never had a problem with the Netgear router that I used with it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Actiontec M1000

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Kansas City
on 09/18/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: None
What's not so great: Great
Decided to try something else after my second Speedstream 4100 in two years got cranky. The M1000 works GREAT with my ATT/Yahoo ISP after about ten minutes setup time (I decided to read the instructions for a change).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

tried sevel modems this worked the best

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gimpor33
on 04/20/2008
What's great about it: easy set up, fast set up, works with VISTA!
What's not so great: a little big
I talked with people at another store and they told me certain routers would work but they never did work with vista. I called all the tech people and they could not figure it out. I took it back and went to Best Buy they suggested this modem and I plug it in. I needed to get my password from tech support but after that it took about 5 minutes and everything still works great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Good Purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: huskeyman
from Michigan
on 04/10/2008
What's great about it: Easy Set-up, good design, works great with my AirPort
What's not so great: None
Purchased with advice from att/yahoo tech person. My six year old Speedstream modem took a dump and they recommended this modem. Purchased at Best-Buy and was up an running within 10 minutes on my MacBook Pro. Everything was automatic--just plug and play. On my three-year old Imac, I had to change the settings to work with DHCP instead of PPPoE, because, unlike the MacBook Pro, the Imac did not make the change automatically. Still, there was nothing difficult about the set-up and my AirPort Extreme Base Stations functions very well with this modem. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Horrible Modem/Router

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: sgddsdfs
on 02/11/2008
What's great about it: Nice router design
What's not so great: Slow, hard to set up, low range, doesn't work wireless with Vista
Bought this router wanting to just use one thing for my DSL and router. Looked great. The setup was ok. After I got it all set up, I tried with 2 computers, one with Windows XP the other with Vista. XP worked ok for me wired and wireless, Vista on the other hand did not work wireless. I tried to go into the other room with the XP and suddenly got low range. This modem/router is pure garbage, not worth the money at all...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Actiontec M1000 Modular DSL Router/ Modem

Great Deal!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Btwice
on 01/23/2008
What's great about it: Slim design. Really easy set up.
What's not so great: None really.
I just followed the quick set up directions, and I was up and running in about 15 minutes. The modem works great. I used it to replace my Westell that I had originally purchased through Bellsouth. I still have Bellsouth DSL and this modem works well with the service. I haven't tried out the wireless part of it yet, but I bought it with the intentions of getting a laptop soon. This way I could use my laptop and desktop with one modem. I really am pleased with the product and the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.