Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Him

Customer Reviews for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Model: DX-AP100
SKU: 8424387
UPC: 600603113611
Easily connect your Apple® notebook to your TV, monitor or projector to view photos, watch movies and give presentations.
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 24 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
16
29% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 24
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter
Review 1 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

**DO NOT BUY THIS ADAPTER, IT DOES NOT WORK**

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: steelers6champs
on 11/08/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Absolutely nothing.
What's not so great: Everything. Causes frustration. Waste of time and money.
I foolishly bought this Dynex adapter instead of the Apple. I tried everything possible to make it work with my 08 13" Macbook, but to no avail as IT DID NOTHING and DID NOT WORK AT ALL, and therefore is nothing more than a frustrating waste of time and money. I returned this piece of plastic then did what I first should have (and what I hope readers of this will do) and purchased Apple adapter. After doing this, the Dynex adapter was all the more disappointing in that, after doing nothing more than pluging it in, the Apple adapter worked so well easily! It is unbelievable and unforgivable for Dynex to produce and sell this product that, as reported by almost every purchaser, does not work.....In Short: Learn from me, refrain from even considering to buy the Dynex adapter, buy the Apple adapter, and life is good!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Would be great if it worked

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Macgirl09
from Winona, MN
on 08/21/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It seems simple.
What's not so great: It isn't working
I was given this a a gift. I'm not able to get it to work. After reading the rest of these reviews I'm not sure if it isn't working because I don't have the right cables or if it is because I have a 13" Mac book made in 2009. If it is not compatible with my computer, Is there anything else I can use to hook up my computer to my TV?
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Bought It Today - It works...plug and play

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mrepass
from Blacksburg, Va
on 08/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works
What's not so great: Best Buy Does Not Carry The Apple Brand
I was skeptical after reading these reviews but I needed this type of product today and did not have time to order the one from Apple. It worked no problem. It may go out tomorrow but it works today.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Does not work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Fkranich23
from Spring City, PA
on 07/16/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: it doesnt work well at all
Do not was your money. this think doesn't work well at all. its very hard to getting working and when it does start working its very hazy and fuzy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bakerse14
from stafford, va
on 03/20/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plug N' Play, Good price
I just got this on Thursday for March Madness. All I had to do was plug in the S-cable to my TV and to the adaptor and then plug in the adaptor to my Mac. My Mac picked up the signal right away and the picture was great. I was able to watch the entire game without an issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

dynex mini dvi video adapter

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: macpro10
from liverpool new york
on 02/19/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: nothing
For everyone that has said it does not work you are not using it correctly, the reason for it not to work for any of you is because its not just a plug and play type of device. You need to go into System Pref>Displays>Detect displays
So for all of you that were not going to buy this because of these reviews think again . If you know how to operate it , it will work. Best Buy would not sell a product that is absolutely useless to everyone who buys it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Works great on 2007 Macbook

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bubukane
from Michigan
on 12/30/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: plugged in and worked, cheaper than name brand
What's not so great: nothing
Mid-2007 Macbook core 2 duo 2.16 ghz with intel graphics. Plug and play, same build quality as Apple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

DOES NOT WORK

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: secret25
from New York, NY
on 09/06/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It was cheaper than the Apple version, but since it doesn't work, I'm paying double what I should have.
What's not so great: Doesn't work at all with my MacBook, bought in mid 2008. Simply doesn't recognize it.
This adapter doesn't work at all. Tried it on two separate brand new TVs and it didn't work on either. I know it's not my computer's fault because I used a friend's Apple one and it worked perfectly.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Didn't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CapitolDome
from Washington, DC
on 08/20/2009
What's great about it: Slightly cheaper than the Apple version
What's not so great: It doesn't work.
I have not been able to make this product work, not matter what cable I use.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Don't buy this!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pedda
from Bar Harbor, ME
on 08/14/2009
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: It doesn't work at all
If you value buying products that work, don't waste your money on this. I tried everything to make this adapter work. I even went so far as to call Apple Care and my extremely knowledgeable techy friend. When no one had any more suggestion I went on this website to find I was not the only person with this problem. I tried the suggestion of the only person on this site who was able to get it to work. Still I had no luck, so I purchased the same adapter from Apple for a mere $3 more. It worked right away. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT BEST BUY WOULD CONTINUE TO SELL A PRODUCT SO MANY PEOPL HAVE FOUND TO BE FAULTY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Not so hot

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Rayy
from Dothan, AL
on 08/10/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Should be easy to use, good price
What's not so great: incompatible, doesn't work
This product has easy setup but did not work at all, no audio or video. I should have done my research before I purchased. The online Apple store says itself that their own Mini-DVI to Video adaptor is incompatible with 13" MacBooks from early and mid 2009. Well, I have a 13" Macbook from mid 2009, so I am going to give the product the benefit of the doubt and assume that it is functional, just not with my Mac. This may be the issue many other reviewers have had, I am uncertain. But reviewers should include which Mac they are using the product with so that we could identify if this is the problem.
I'm off to purchase the manufacturer branded mini-dvi to VGA adaptor, which is compatible with 13" macbooks from early and mid 2009, for use with a VGA to S-video/composite adaptor, which will then connect to the necessary cables. This should solve my troubles, and may help some of you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Worst waste of time in my life.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Waite Park
on 07/21/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing, Maybe Cost If it Worked
What's not so great: Does NOT Work.
Do not listen to the few people on here that claim to have ways to make it work, it will not! This is the worst product Ive ever came across and it should not even be sold. I have never written a review about anything ever, but this piece ... forced me to create an account to write this reviews to protect others.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Didn't Work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MacMusicGuy
from Alabama
on 06/25/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Horrible quality - didn't work
Wish I had read the reviews online, I bought it in the store on an impulse. Tried on my tv and my camcorder, neither would get an adequate signal from either the composite port or the s-video. Will now try the apple branded product. Stay away from this one !!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Does not work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Chris79TN
from TN
on 05/16/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Good solution and price
What's not so great: It doesn't work whatsoever
I wish I had paid more attention to the other reviews. This product does not work with my 13" MacBook. This should be a simple set up and I tried a number of different start up and connection sequences with no success. I will be returning this to the store tomorrow and purchase the Apple product. This was a good price but the product simply does not work as advertised.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

3rd try is not a charm

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: pyrodlx
from pyrodlx
on 02/17/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It was cheaper than the mfg's, nice plug and play concept, relatively compact design.
What's not so great: Doesn't work
Kudos to those of you who have ones that work. However, connecting to 13" MacBook and simply can't get image to appear on LCD TV, rear projection TV, or regular CRT television. I have attempted to use S-Video, Yellow RCA, and combination of both. First one purchased didn't even put out a picture. Returned because I thought it was defective and the new one barely displays an image. However it just scrolls across the screen like old B&W, VHF/UHF TVs.
Before this one, I had purchased the mini-DVI to DVI adapter and have not had any troubles. Too bad they don't have one that converts to HDMI.
My recommendation is to pay the extra bucks for Apple's official adapter.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Great product, easy to use, believe the hype.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ZeroZero
from New York, NY
on 01/16/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works perfectly the first time you try it with little to no effort.
What's not so great: Doesn't magically transmit video feed when simply placed near laptop and TV. Have tried wiggling, to no avail.
On a 13" Macbook purchased Februrary 2008:
Step 1: Plug adapter into mini DVI output on Macbook
Step 2: Plug s-video or yellow video cable into adapter (I used the yellow cable)
Step 3: Plug s-video or yellow video cable (whichver used in step 2) into TV
Step 4: There is no step 4. It's already working at this point. That's how simple this entire process is. Flip through the video channels on your TV and if one of them is not displaying a feed from your computer, your TV is probably broken.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

DOES NOT WORK

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JacksonG
from Gibsonia, PA
on 01/12/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
It does not work with my 13" MacBook. I tried everything. I searched some websites and blogs for help and they all said this brand will not work on Apple computers.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Works Perfectly and Easily

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: maths887
from Cincinnati,OH
on 01/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very simple to set up
To those who think it does not work, I have no idea what they are doing to mess up the simply process. I attached this cord to my 13" MacBook and connected it to an S-Video cord that went straight into either my Westinghouse flat screen or Samsung flat screen television (I tried both). I changed the television to the SVideo setting and it worked perfectly on both televisions without anything needed to be done on the MacBook - it adjusts automatically with the cords connected.
I really do not know what the other customers have done incorrectly, because the process is very very simply and I HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone looking for an easy way to connect their MacBook to a television. You will need an S-Video cord or yellow TV/video cord in addition to this cord for it to work, though.
Great product! Works perfectly!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Never worked

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Jessica85
from Columbia, Mo
on 12/11/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: it's a nice idea, but never worked.
What's not so great: Does not do what it is supposed to!!!!
Like many of the other people who bought this, I was never able to get it to work on my TV. I had bought both a new panasonic flat screen and a new macbook (not the brand new macbook series though), and I bought this cable so that I could use my TV as big monitor. My bf has a macbook pro and a DVI-HDMI connector, and he has no problem displaying his computer screen on our TV. I've literally tried everything, including readying other reviews from those people who were able to get it to work and looking at online blogs to try to figure it out. I have finally given up!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex™ Mini DVI-to-Video Adapter

Waste of time

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: kroyp
on 08/11/2008
What's great about it: cheap
What's not so great: does not work
I bought a s-video came with this and had the red white yellow at home. so tried the two different cables on two different tvs and never worked. It was a waste of my gas to go get it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>