Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Model: SESSION MUS
SKU: 8437159
UPC: 612391851118
Lay down vocals and compose instrumental jams right on your computer with this recording system that features a USB microphone and Session recording software with 260+ instrument presets, 20 audio effects and simultaneous track recording capability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.303 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
29 out of 33
)
Customer Reviews for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software
Review 1 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Great Mic for this price range

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PauloXP
from Weston, FL
on 06/11/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Craftsmanship
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Quality of sound you can generate with this device
What's not so great: Having to connect speakers into the Mic to hear your recordings
This is exactly the microphone I was looking for. I am an Instructional Developer with recent projects requiring the recording of narrated content by myself.
I recorded CD-quality narration and used Adobe Soundbooth to remove the background noise - it resulted in a high-quality narration. The sound quality you get by recording with this microphone is not the best of course, but it will do for almost all projects that will not require a professionally-equipped recording studio.
I installed the drivers in my Windows Vista 64-bit computer, and connected the microphone to one of the USB ports without any issues. It works beautifully. There is only one thing the manufacturer overlooked in the design of the microphone - one needs to connect the speakers to the microphone to be able to hear what you just recorded (while the microphone is connected to the computer).
However, for the price range and software included, this is the best option I have seen around.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Amazing What A Good Mic Will Do!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: steve3927
from Oklahoma
on 05/03/2009
What's great about it: Quality of construction, recording clarity
What's not so great: Hard to tighten on mic stand
I've been trying to record vocals with cheaper headset mics and just wasn't getting the quality I needed. They also make popping and cracking noises as you move your head.
I finally decided to get a stand mic and saw this at bestbuy.com. After reading the reviews of the other mics I settled on this one and was amazed at the clarity of the recording which also reduces any wind noise when you are close up to the mic.
I did not install the software that came with it and my Windows XP computer and Magix software recognized it immediately and allowed me to record directly into that software. (I may install the software later for the included sound bytes.)
The mic is heavy in your hand and even the stand is metal and not plastic like some other stands. To avoid tipping if you lean the mic toward you, place the stand with the longer leg under the mic. It is slightly inconvenient that you have to plug your headset into the mic to hear accompaniments and you can't hear what you record until you are finished but I was already dealing with that. You can simply re-record if you don't like what you hear.
Well worth the slightly over 100 bucks with tax!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Very Good Microphone for musical Recording

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DLGINC
from Cincinnati, OH
on 04/28/2009
What's great about it: Quality, Ease of use, comes with a mini stand
What's not so great: when plugged into the usb, you must put headphones/speakers into headphone jack on microphone to hear audio.
first off YES you can use other software with this, you DO NOT NEED to use this software bundled. i used sony ACID, Audacity, Nero, and Fruitloops and they all worked perfectly. mind you this was on Windows XP, but im sure its the same with vista.
any way, Tremendous quality of the microphone, i noticed a huge difference in volume and clarity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

SOUNDS GREAT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Radioguy42
from Garnet Valley, PA
on 03/14/2009
What's great about it: When I record my voice its crystal clear with very little background fuzz
What's not so great: Nothing, it works great!!
I use this mostly for recording VO for radio commercials and it works great. I don't really use the program it came with it because I have my own audio editing software. If you are planning to do a podcast or start doing voice over work, this is a good mic to start off with. GET THIS MIC!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Great software an mic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LocoVillen
from South lake tahoe ca
on 02/18/2009
What's great about it: the micorphone is really good an clan for siging or rapping
What's not so great: theres not bad about this
this is one of the best micorphones out there if you like to rap or sing you should buy it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

UNBELIEVABLE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: maskara
from bellevue wa
on 01/31/2009
What's great about it: QUALITY, PRICE
What's not so great: NOT AT ALL
BEFORE BUYING THIS, I'VE TRIED BUYING AUDIO INTERFACES, AND THE OTHER USB CONDENSER MICROPHONES FROM SAMSOSN AND ALESIS, BUT I ALWAYS ENDED UP RETURNING THE PRODUCTS. MANY OF THEM HAD TOO LOW VOLUME,... IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND A RIGHT VOLUME ADJUSTMENT
BUT THIS THING REALLY WORKS GREAT
IT'S EASY, CLEAR, AND IT HAS VERY GOOD QUALITY
I'LL SAY IT'S BETTER THAN AUDIO KONTROL 1 + SM58 (WHICH I ENDED UP SELLING) IN TERMS OF EASE OF USE AND THE QUALITY OF THE SOUND
I'LL RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WHO WOULD LIKE TO RECORD VOCAL MUSIC.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Well...I don't know...I can't use it!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: mrmike1965
from Louisville, KY
on 01/28/2009
What's great about it: Indifferent
What's not so great: Tech Support
I'd love to let you know how it was, but I have an error message while installing. I left an e-mail on their tech support website, which I was supposed to hear back from withing 12 to 24 hours. I haven't heard anything in almost two days. I tried their phone tech support. First, they deter you from using it by giving a non-toll free number, then they leave you on hold with no music and just occasional messages telling you that you should try the on-line tech support site. I've been on hold now for 36 minutes. Little do they know that I have free long distance and will hold out as long as needed.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Great mic at a great price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: leeya
from LA
on 01/27/2009
What's great about it: sounds clear
I finally bought this product today. The reviews were helpful and so far so good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Almost studio quality

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ProducerP
from 401
on 01/24/2009
What's great about it: Clear recording, easy to use, sound card
What's not so great: the whole headphone into the mic thing, stand is easily knocked over, software.
I found the mic to be a very convenient way to record without braking the bank on studio time or on more expensive studio recording equipment. It records near as clear as a studio would...if you recorded with it in a sound proof room or box you probably wouldnt be able to tell the difference.
Software wise..i personally dont even use session with it. alot of people mentioned how you can't use it unless you use session and at first glance this is true but there are ways around that. Therefor i did find those ways. Using it with other software it is amazing and works beautiful.
Headphone....to hear what you are recording in real time you must plug headphones into the microphone wich is a pain. I myself most of the time dont bother and simply record...and listen if i dont like it, i record over.
Soundcard...what i found to be very useful was the soundcard...being that it has a soundcard of sorts...im not even sure as to the details..BUT on my laptop i dont have a great soundcard(s) so at times when needing to do complicated sound proccessing i cannot...but when plugging in the mic it opens up another card...so even if i am not using the mic plugging it in allows me to use the soundcard...great feature if u ask me.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Awesome Microphone!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LilB6593
from St. Louis, MO
on 01/14/2009
What's great about it: Great quality, affordable, software is decent as well
What's not so great: Only can use software w/ mic, when mic is plugged in you need headphones in mic
To describe this microphone, I would use one world...amazing. The quality is near the quality of a studio recording microphone, and the microphone does not require a power supply or any cords other than a USB. A must have for any aspiring artist!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Simple and effective

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: norsketech
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/02/2009
What's great about it: Full range sound, plug-n-play with Vista
What's not so great: stand is a bit tipsy, lacking simple recording adjustment software
I needed a USB mic to record training videos on my Vista PC. My old Blue Snowball USB mic wasn't vista compatible, so I jumped on this one.
For the same $ this mic blows the Snowball away. Much better sound overall and vista compatible. I am totally satisfied.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Excellent USB microphone for the right price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: KnuxTE
on 12/20/2008
What's great about it: Excellent sound quality. Very durable. Easy set up. Good price.
What's not so great: The software is indeed cumbersome and tedious.
I bought 2 days ago for 100 bucks plus tax and I have to say it was a smart move. This is such a great microphone! There is minimal noise in the background and it pretty much cancels out any noise. The only problem is the software that it came with. Just use Audacity or any other recording program.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Great microphone for the price!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: iGAT
on 11/17/2008
What's great about it: Fantastic clarity, easy setup on your computer, convenient
What's not so great: Software that comes with it, no instructions to put together, needs headphones
This microphone is absolutely fantastic. It has perfect clarity; great for recording music or for me - singing. Even if you just need to talk to people and you need great speech, it's got it all. It's quick and easy to install on your computer and doesn't take up a lot of space.
Now for the bads - the software is just horrible. It makes the microphone sound absolutely horrendous. The audio that comes with it pre-installed is just way too much (2GB of music). There's no instructions to put together the microphone however it's pretty easy to figure out. Also, you can't hear anything unless you have headphones put into its built-in slot.
I recommend getting rid of the software and using the microphone for recordings with a free software called Audacity.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Durable; good starter mic

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 5irishones
on 09/26/2008
What's great about it: Very durable...I've dropped it a couple of times and it's still going strong!
What's not so great: Software is very cumbersome; software doesn't work w/o the Mic being plugged in, and mic won't work w/o this software.
I finally had to contact the company to have them send a DVD that had a software version that wasn't corrupt after attempting to install two different ones from Best Buy. I've gotta say, though, that the support was wonderful.
I'm an aspiring V.O. artist, and this is great for practice; but you export to MP3; only WMA or WAV, which are huge file sizes.
This is a great starter mic, good quality for a great price. Sounds almost as good as some of the studio mics i've used (not quite of course.)
Unfortunately, like many M-Audio packages, the software works only when the Mic is plugged in, and the mic only works with this software, at least the instructions tell me that. I'll be upgrading soon, but for the money, I highly recommend this unit for anyone starting out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

AMAZING

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: luvthismic
on 09/10/2008
What's great about it: Awesome sound quality, inexpensive, perfect
What's not so great: Software sucks and takes forever to install
This microphone is so amazing. You might want to use a different software though, Session can be really confusing, and latency occurs unless you have a mic. Also, the mic requires headphones if you want to listened to what you've recorded since you need to plug them into the mic itself. These aren't included, but any kind of headphone works. Overall, the micophone itself is so good. Everyone who has anything to do with recording music or voices should get this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Great to begin with

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Erod707
from Vallejo,Ca
on 09/08/2008
What's great about it: Affordable, Easy to use
What's not so great: NOT VISTA 64 Bit compatible.
I owned the product for 5 months now and its great. No problems EXCEPT that its not 64 bit compatible with vista.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

the best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DarkOne
from Jacksonville,FL
on 08/10/2008
What's great about it: excellent audio
Its is a very good item to buy especially if u like singing or rapping...very cool item to buy
Question? do i need filter or the thing in front of the mic to protect from my mouth from spitting on the mic? Help.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brent435
from Las Vegas,NV
on 07/20/2008
What's great about it: Great sound quality,good figure,they should have more of this in every BestBuy stores
What's not so great: none
I got one 2 weeks ago for myself.It was terrific and no problems.Good vocals,I would recommend this product and buying another one
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

Great buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: musicchick12
on 07/20/2008
What's great about it: cheaper than other equipment
What's not so great: can be confusing
I bought this about a month ago to record myself singing and playing guitar. I've been very impressed with the quality the mic provides. It is great because of the USB hookup, providing for simple, inexpensive equipment, whereas getting a digital mixer is going to run you hundreds of dollars plus the additional equipment.
The software can be a bit confusing at first, but with a little time, you can get used to it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for M-Audio Producer USB Microphone with Session Recording Software

No Complaints

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrPerfect5
on 07/09/2008
What's great about it: Very good quality
What's not so great: none
Gosh i love this item. I've hasd it for a while now and its still giving me that high quality feel like its still brand new. With me being an aspiring musician, this item is a must have. I recommend this to anyone who feels greatly about music. It's just one of those "must have items".
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>