Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Him

Customer Reviews for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Model: SP-U35/320
SKU: 8443366
UPC: 705487167405
Back up your important music, video, photos and other data with ease using this sleek, slim-profile 320GB external hard drive. USB 2.0 connectivity and a 7200-rpm drive speed for ultrafast, reliable data transfer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.383 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 47 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
43 out of 47
)
Customer Reviews for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue
Review 1 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Solid Entry Level Device

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 71Percent
on 11/14/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Plenty of Space, Affordable, Stylish
What's not so great: A bit large
I've had this storage device for about 3 months. I backed up all my media files and documents and I've had no problems. Its a good external drive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great Storage; Cheap Price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NitrocideSX
on 10/10/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Everything; Installation; Storage; Price
What's not so great: None
I bought this while it was on a Christmas sale sometime around early January of 2008. This hard drive has never had a single error and performs awesomely. I have put 150 GB on it and it has kept every little piece of info, big or small. Very fast transfers and it auto-installs itself. This is definitely the product for someone looking for a bunch of storage at a cheap price. I would reccomend it to a friend for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Deceptive looks

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Nara
from NY
on 09/29/2008
I bought a simpletech external blue hard drive of 320 GB.
This product looked sleek and good but I was sadly mistaken. I loaded about 27GB initially and then used the unit after 3 months and it never worked.The interface card was substandard and had failed.The SATA drive is not compatible with IDE and could not be used as an additional drive in my computer without investing more money.I borrowed a startech sata drive enclosure kit from my friend and was lucky to get my data out but that is the only satisfaction.The whole drive is a mess and I would never think of buying anything from simpletech nor recommend this to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Worst Purchase Ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Spud9000
from Lincoln, NE
on 09/24/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Cool blue light for awhile...
What's not so great: Broke 90 days after purchase
Don't buy this one. If I could give this a perfect zero I would. 90 days after purchase, just enough time to put tons of pictures and documents on it, the drive crashed and I was told it would cost lots of money to retrieve data.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Solid Buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: drhaz006
on 09/15/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plenty of memory, meets expectations for a external HD
What's not so great: Physically large
A quality external hard drive. Good bang for your buck. Fulfills all expectations I have for an external hard drive - at home and at work.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Very Nice

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AAnimated
from Tucson, AZ
on 07/22/2008
What's great about it: Sleek Design, Fast Transfers, Lots of Storage
What's not so great: Bulky, Somewhat Noisy
In my field of work I do a lot of computer projects that require very large files. This hard drive has served me well for backing up and transporting these files quickly and securely. I have been using mine for over six months and I am still impressed with its functionality.
It requires an alternate power source, so I need to make sure that there is an outlet nearby, but I actually prefer this over drawing power from the USB because it keeps more ports open and allows for faster speeds due to its higher power supply.
The only drawback that I have is the size. Because I carry mine everywhere, a smaller model may have been better for portability, but I also feel that it is very durable because of its size, which is a plus. On a more minor note, it gets smudged with fingerprints easily.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Workhorse, albeit clunky

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DJMoody
from SC
on 07/01/2008
What's great about it: quick, simple to setup, inexpensive
What's not so great: Slightly large
Simpletech's hard drive will perform on an equal footing with any other in the market. It's simple to use (you can treat it just like a huge flashdrive if thats what you want), it doesn't get too hot, and it looks pretty good while doing it.
The only MINOR problem i have is its size. Before buying, i recommend taking 2 regular dvd cases and stacking them on top of eachother. Is this too big for you? If it is, i recommend shelling out a few more dollars for the more minuscule version.
This size ended up working well for me, and I enjoy the extra security the drive gives me. I would recommend this to anyone, just make sure you got somewhere on your desk to put it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great Product for Off Brand

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JeffMCTS
from Chantilly, VA
on 05/30/2008
What's great about it: Price, Size, Ease of Use, Rugged
What's not so great: None at this point
Purchased this drive about 3 months ago on sale for under $100. For me it has been very durable (not usually a word associated with harddrives) as I carry in my backpack and it goes everywhere I do. I use it more for additional storage with my laptop and not really for backup purposes. I now need to get 1TB to use as a stay-at-home backup for my machines and externals...probably 2TB. For me it has been a great product and I would definitely recommend it (and have) to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Nice drive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JohnJuan
from Cedar Rapids, IA
on 05/15/2008
What's great about it: inexpensive, good capacity, fast transfer, ac power
What's not so great: a little big
I got this yesterday, and I immediately atarted transferring files. It transfers files just as fast as I would expect it would to another location on the internal hard drive. Being as thin as it is, it shouldn't be hard to transport in a laptop case, even though it is pretty long compared to other drives. I wanted the AC power, because I saw that other drives took 2 usb ports, and I only have 3 on my laptop. Overall, this works really well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

great drive for storage

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SamD62
from Millville, NJ
on 05/03/2008
What's great about it: fast and easy setup
I bought this drive to store all my music, video and data files. It is quick easy to set up . does not take much room on the desk and is stylish to boot. The price was great. I forgot to say it is fast too. Now I can download more music and movies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great Hard drive for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BBY833past
on 04/27/2008
What's great about it: Great capacity, great price, and durable
What's not so great: Blinking light indicator is annoying
I have had this hard drive for six months and still have not had one trouble with it. The only problem is the capacity light indicator at the top if you have it on, it never stops blinking. That could drive you insane, but besides that... great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great FOr multimedia

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Technolojic
on 04/23/2008
What's great about it: 7200-rpm drive speed, Plug and go.
What's not so great: ac power supply.
I bought this product to back up my multi media files for my business as my laptop was quickly running out of hard drive. I Moved over 100 GB in less than 20 minutes not to bad. The thing is big but sleek so it’s not too much of an eye sore. I use it for my photos and music along with a lot of video and everything plays off of it just great. It has a one touch back up button but I haven’t used this so I can’t comment on it but that too is a nice feature. I would recommend this for anyone looking to free up their computers hard drive. Did I mention it runs quiet and for the price what more could you ask for?
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

very good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: burtnernie
from logan, utah
on 04/21/2008
What's great about it: cheap
What's not so great: not usb powerd, big
Great product for the price. If you are on a tight budget buy it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great Space for the Price$

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GeeDee67
from Corona, CA
on 04/15/2008
What's great about it: A whole lot of Space for da Price, Quiet & Super Fast!
What's not so great: A Bit Bigger than I thought, Runs a bit Hot & Not USB Powered plus not to keen of this Color.
I bought this because of the Price and with my Reward Zone Discount and Certificates it was practically Free. This Drive is Fast, Quiet & easy to use and has a neat look, except for this particular color. I thought it was or can be competely Powered by the USB and Not need an AC Adapter but No Worries, Great none the less. It is also a bit larger than I thought but you can't the price with a stick. I use this for the home so I don't need that much space plus I have another External Hard Drive just for my Desktop but this is for my Laptop. I would totally recommend this to my Family & Friends.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AceEli
from Waukesha WI
on 03/11/2008
What's great about it: Easy Installation; Small, Simple Design
What's not so great: A Bit Slow
I bought this unit to replace another brand that had failed. I use this drive primarily for backup, and for this it's perfect. Installation was very easy; plug in the USB and the power, and you're ready to go. XP recognized the drive immediately. I didn't install the software that came with the unit and can't comment on that. So far, I've done both backups and recoveries using the MS backup utility with no apparent problems. I have the drive properties set up for no caching, so I can turn the unit off and on without having to use the hardware removal routine.
The unit seems slower that the one it replaced, but since I use it for unattended backups, that's not a huge drawback. The spinning blue light when the unit is operating is a bit obtrusive, so I have the unit tucked under a shelf where I can't see it.
All-in-all, the product works as advertised and I think this was a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Died after 35 days

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: McButton
from Illinois
on 03/06/2008
What's great about it: It's very blue.
What's not so great: A little bigger than desired, but not bad.
This thing started right up out of the box. The one touch backup isn't difficult to figure out, but I'd rather save as I go instead of trust that. It's a tad difficult to extract single files from the backup, because they all save as a backup file, not individually. It also seems to be trying to save or do ...something... every time I delete or do any random thing on the main PC, eventhough I don't have it set to backup. ...I just thought that was odd.
So, I had it hooked up to my computer for 35 days. I transferred 2 files to it. I unplugged it, plugged it back in, and it wouldn't turn back on. I tried a new adapter, and it was dead. Best Buy offered 30 days only, so I called Simpletech. They offered to send me a new power adapter for free, or go to the website to get a repair number to send it in. I did that and waited for 3 days for confirmation. I called back and they had nothing on record, but the rep emailed me everything I'd need and instructed me on how to send it back. I had to pay shipping, but they assured me that they just replace the products, and I'd have it back within a week. It's a good thing I keep backups of my backups, because trusting your info to one device is foolish. Nobody pays or even tries to get your info back out of a dead machine. :(
Anyway, this thing has great reviews all over, so I am willing to give them another try. I'm glad their replacement policy is so good. I need another, and am thinking of getting a Black Cherry mini 320 Simpletech, because of the great reviews again! Everyone seems to hate the MyBooks and love these and Seagate. The Seagates just seem a bit too odd shaped for what I want. Oh well. I have a QUE 80 gig that has lasted 6 years, but they don't make those anymore. Good luck to anyone that is as frustrated as I am about buying electronics and reading these reviews! I hope this drive works out for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

High quality drive at a bargain price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: littleditka58
from The Hawkeye State
on 03/01/2008
What's great about it: Easy installation and operation
What's not so great: None
Purchased this unit about two months ago, and I couldn't be happier. You simply hook it up, and it's ready to go. I got it on sale for less that $90, and to get 320 GB at that price, it is an exceptional value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great product - Easy to use

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Erika85
from Weatherford, TX
on 02/16/2008
What's great about it: Worked like a dream right out of the box
What's not so great: None
I was able to use this right out of the box. Hooked it up to my computer and within seconds I was moving items from my hard drive on my lap top to this portable extrenal hard drive. It moved files fast. I have over 1700 songs which I was able to move in less than 15 minutes along with a ton of Excel spreadsheets, PowerPoint presentations, and Word documents for work. I also moved about 300 pics at the same time. It was that fast. I highly recomend this product. The only drawback is that it might be a bit larger than some would like but since I do not plan on travelling with this size was not a problem and the price point was great as well. I caught it on sale in store which was awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

SimpleTech 320 GB

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: OmaTech
from Omaha, NE
on 02/14/2008
What's great about it: Price, speed (7200 rpm), software
What's not so great: No cons since it satisfied my requirements for external storage.
Purchased the 320 GB drive from BestBuy after receiving the 160 GB travel size for the holidays. Main reason was BestBuys price. For the same money (plus a dollar or two), I was able to get an external drive with twice the storage and it was 7200 rpms vs 5400. So far so good. I use the drive mainly for backups and downloads for Unix (Solaris, Linux, family tree stuff). My plan it to look at SimpleTechs 500 GB to 1 TB offerings and hopefully BestBuy will have the competitive edge.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SimpleTech - 320GB External Hard Drive - Blue

Great product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kershyzf
from Kearney, NE
on 02/13/2008
What's great about it: Good amount of storage, fast
What's not so great: non
Great external harddrive. I have a western digital MyBook too and its not a bad machine too but i really like this one. It is very fast and transfers files, music, pictures etc at great speeds. I just bought this a couple weeks ago and backed up over 115 GB and it took less than an hour to transfer everything over from one external harddrive to this one. I know of some that would take over 3 hours with that much transfering. I would highly recommend this product to anybody who wants to back up just a little amount or a lot for the money you pay for it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>