Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Model: 620-750TMBB
SKU: 8480636
UPC: 090729300574
Ensure your camera or camcorder remains stable for those important photo and video shoots with this heavy-duty tripod/monopod that extends up to 72" and supports up to 11 lbs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.604 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 48 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
8
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
37 out of 48
)
Customer Reviews for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod
Review 1 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Height adjustment was selling feature

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FirstTimeCruiser
from Dallas, TX
on 07/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Storage
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy to use; extends to great height; different uses
Bought this for my husband; I use more than he does. I'm only 5'1" and this definitely helps shooting above crowds. Love that tripod to monopod ease/change.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Great tripod for dslr's

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Milkster
from Wyandotte, Michigan
on 04/04/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Storage
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 1) Price; 2) total height adjustment; 3) Monopod
What's not so great: Pretty heavy
I purchased this tripod for taking still pictures at wedding events. It has great height and a very useful monopod. I've used it for taking bird pictures outdoors.
It's very easy to adjust and the head rotates smoothly
I have found it to be pretty heavy to carry very far, but its very stable and it adjusts to any terrain.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Great for professional photos.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ljimages
from Westminster, Colorado
on 03/23/2012
What's great about it: Structure and easy of use.
What's not so great: Does not come with a travel bag.
Great build, heavy duty, easy to control. It has had a lot of use.
Monopod is wonderful.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Great for the price.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Boomicer
from Texas
on 03/22/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Storage
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Best features for the price.
What's not so great: Not smooth leg extension.
I needed two things, a tall tripod with smooth panning. This has it. Compared to BestBuy's carbon fiber Rocketfish, this one kicks butt at 7" taller, $60 cheaper, with two bubble levelers, and with a center mechanism that gives same angle opening of all legs (non of which the Rocketfish has). It's little heavy and awkward for carrying around, doesn't come with a carrying bag, and extending the legs could be smoother, but for using it primarily in a studio, as I am, it's fine. I use a folding camping chair bag as a carrying case (the perfect size and shape) when taking it with me. I haven't had any of the troubles others are reporting. Excellent value. I did a lot of searching and hands on reviewing before buying this. You won't find another with these features without paying much more. Just treat it gently, and you've got a great tripod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Don't waste your money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: tfvideographer
from Idaho
on 02/18/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Storage
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: easy conversion to a monopod
What's not so great: very poor quality head
This tripod has been used twice, and will be thrown away. The mounting plate does not hold tightly in the base, allowing the camera to wobble with every touch, creating unprofessional footage. And when extending the tripod neck even 4 inches, the wobble becomes so great that we are afraid it will not support our equipment. The pan works fine, but tilt is stiff and very noisy. Definitely not fluid enough for a video shoot. The tilt and pan locks do not actually lock this tripod down, so good luck getting a steady shot. You may be fine using this tripod with a mini camera, but definitely not with a 4 pound video camera or a DSLR with any kind of lens attached.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Very Stable tripod

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jz787
from Orange County NY
on 02/18/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Storage
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It does what a tripod is supposed to do.
This tripod is very easy to adjust and is stable at all heights. Solid and smooth panning. So good I bought two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Its a "this will do" try-pod

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Apple Valley
on 02/16/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Storage
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: versatility
What's not so great: build quality
I am not completely convinced that this is the best tripod for the money..
The build quality lacks in the worst possible places; the quick release takes some getting used to and its not the most sturdy (I do not trust it completely with my D5100). The mounting head has a tendency of coming loose.
However, I do like the smooth rotating head side to side, up and down can be a little sticky. Converting the tripod into a monopod takes only a few seconds.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Dissapointment

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Noracn22
from Colorado
on 02/01/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Storage
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
I bought this tripod on my way to an engagement photo shoot. I had forgot my good tripod at home and needed something to fill the place in the bind. The shoot was less than 1 hour and by the time I had finished there were two broken parts! First, one of the feet cracked and fell off. Then one of the legs completely fell off! It seriously looked like it had been through the wars and I had used it for a total of about 20 mins! I returned to Best Buy immediately after the shoot and they refunded my money. I don't leave bad reviews, period. But, after this experience I would not recommend buying this specific equipment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Level indicator is not accurate

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MLJN
from E-Town
on 01/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Storage
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Sturdy and stable
What's not so great: Eyeball bubble level indicator is inaccurate
The tripod is sturdy and the gimbal is smooth enough for casual "home" use. The "eyeball" bubble level indicator on the top of one of the three legs is highly inaccurate and is, therefore, useless.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Stout Tripod for your photography needs

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kamuizot
from North Carolina
on 01/02/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Storage
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Solidly constructed
What's not so great: The monopod feature is difficult to adjust.
This tripod has a versatile set of features which allow me to keep my camera steady under a variety of circumstances. The release clips at the legs are large and easy to manipulate. The tightening knobs on the tripod head are also easy to grip and use. Overall I have been pay with the strength and general construction of the tripod.
There are two aspects of this tripod I would criticize however. At the base of the tripod head, where the center pole connects to the head of the tripod, the pan axis can be tightened down so that the camera cannot move from left and right. However, the connection between the head and the pole are loose to the point that any amount of pressure to move the camera left or right will move the camera despite of the fact that you have locked the head in place. If a person continued to turn the camera the whole head would unscrew from the pole. The solution, of course, is not to do this, but it I am absent minded and I often try to move the camera horizontally even when the tripod is tightened down. The whole head will turn regardless whether I have it locked or not. Over time this is going to wear the connection out.
The other aspect I would criticize is the built in mono pod leg releases. When solidly tightened they are difficult to adjust. One link will release while I am trying to loosen another. It is difficult to readjust the length on the fly. Again the solution is to have patience and move with more deliberate attention to what I am doing. I know how I am, and it is likely that I will continue to struggle to move quickly from one height to another quicker than the design of the monopod will allow.
Overall I am very happy and would recommend this tripod to those that want to take photographs and videos beyond the candid family photo.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Leg clamps break

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Boston151
from Boston
on 12/29/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Storage
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Sturdy
What's not so great: Leg clamps
I found that after a short period of time 2 of the leg clamps don't work anymore. Too bad because it's a good sturdy tripod although a little heavy to be lugging around to sites.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

No more earthquake videos

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GeekatSAT
from San Antonio, TX
on 11/17/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Storage
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Will go above must heads
What's not so great: feels average quality
A more steady shoot on my Videos... NICE.
Ligth but bulky.
This tripod will go above must crowds.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Poor Quality!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Z3NN
from South San Francisco
on 11/01/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Storage
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's not so great: Poor build quality!
Bought less than 5 months ago, limited use and now the panning handle has snapped clean off and from reading reviews on other sites it is apparent that this is a common fault! Also the quick release plate sits loosely in it's fitting, so there is an issue with long exposures and movement, AVOID THIS PRODUCT!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Great stability but a heavy piece.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Yeltneb
from Suwanee, Ga
on 10/22/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Storage
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Stability
What's not so great: Weight
Very stable and durable. Well made. Head is very smooth, but not really fluid. I shoot video with my DSLR, and for the price the head is smooth enough for amateur work. It is quite heavy, so carrying it around a lot is noticeable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Great tripod

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: bob081248
from Port Charlotte, Fl.
on 09/21/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Storage
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice smooth operation and parts that lock solidly into place. Extra height comes in handy too.
What's not so great: A little pricy
I've had two cheep tripods in the past and they worked and lasted like cheep products. I finally broke down and bought a good one. It was a little more money than I thought it should be, but it works great and seems a lot more rugged than the others I've had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Good Value and Versatile

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: antwash
from Louisville, KY
on 08/25/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Storage
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Vesatility - dual function
What's not so great: I somehow lost a footing or two...
This is a great solution for those photographers needing the best of both worlds...
pro: It's a tripod and a monopod meaning less items to carry. It is strudy, and comes with two mounts. It's heavy duty and won't break after the first fall or tip over.
cons: I don't really like the footings. I don't know how, but I've lost part of one..but it still works well. No carrying handle but holding the secured tripod legs works okay.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Good step up from cheap tripods

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: delborrell
from Urbana, IL
on 08/10/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Storage
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Sturdy, precise, has built-in monopod, level, long legs, adjustable spikes
What's not so great: No vertical swivel when camera is mounted vertically.
I like the professional feel of this tripod. The adjustable spikes come in handy for shooting on both terrain and hard (but scratchable) surfaces. Good, durable piece of gear.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

don't buy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: zzztop
from montgomery
on 07/01/2011
What's great about it: I like the size
What's not so great: Tilt mechanism and leg lockdowns
I saw this tripod on display at the local Best Buy. I went back to buy it but while looking at it again, the tilt would not work. Discovered that the tilt handle would screw all the way out. Other reviewers have mentioned problems with the tilt mechanism and the leg lockdowns.
The lock downs on the legs are suspect. My current tripod had the same type lockdown and they failed. Thats why I was looking for another tripod. I like the size of the legs but previous experience with the leg lockdowns and the tilt mechanism are reasons I won't buy this tripod.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Great piece of equipment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: firethorn108
from Gretna, LA
on 02/02/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Storage
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is very sturdy and its easy to set up anf take down
Exactly what I wanted and expected. Great value for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sunpak - PlatinumPlus 72" Tripod/Monopod

Price value is great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KongNinja
from Sacramento
on 01/13/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Storage
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: solid, mono, easy to use, holds heavy cameras, hight, price,
What's not so great: has a little space between the plat and the connector. fixed with DYI wedge
I've been checking out a lot of top end tri pods and by far this tri pod is well worth the price. its solid and sturdy as hell. holds my dlsr with flash and battery grip just fine.
i put 4 stars on durability because the holder plate is plastic, its a tuff material plastic (the screw is metal) ... only con is the plate that connects to the tripod has a little play to it when shooting vertical. i fixed this by putting a piece of rubber between the two.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>