Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Model: HD-A3
SKU: 8494435
UPC: 022265001066
Enjoy stellar high-definition playback up to 720p/1080i resolution with this HD DVD player. Equipped with efficient video compression standards and advanced audio, this DVD player will take center stage in your home entertainment system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.253 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 95 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
82 out of 95
)
Customer Reviews for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output
Review 1 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Good HD Player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: acjte01
from Henderson, NV
on 03/14/2008
What's great about it: Nice up conversion but GREAT HD DVD Picture
What's not so great: Just a tad bit slow in start up
HD movies are awesome to watch and I have a Samsung Plasma, so the color and quality are GREAT! The upconversion is GOOD but watching HD movies is the way to go. Still far better quality than the regular DVD player that I have hooked up to the TV also. It is disappointing to see HD DVD lose the Hi-Def war.
I do not regret the purchase and we still have "Transformers", but probably not for long!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Best picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Clapton101
from Ft Smith, Ar
on 03/04/2008
What's great about it: excellent picture
What's not so great: none i can think of
I have had this player since 11/24 i bought it and hooked it up to my Hitachi 42" plasma, the picture is absolutley amazing, it sucks that they have lost in the format war, b/c hd dvd looks so great, pic and sound are awsome, i love the fact that you can hook the player up to the internet and update the firmware. Very consumer friendly. It also upconverts you standard definition dvd's and make them look great as well, not to the point oof High Def, but close on some. I would buy this dvd player again and again. I did have a little problem with it sticking on movies here and there but BB is replacing it no problem, and dont forsee it happening with another player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Great HD Picture!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pantherg
from Atlanta, GA
on 02/25/2008
What's great about it: Great HD picture/sound, now low price, exclusive movies
What's not so great: Dead End Technology, a bit slow to boot up
Bought this HD-DVD player on 1/26/08 for $119.99 and got price adjusted on 2/23/08 to lower $99.99. Picture is excellent on my Panasonic 50" 720P plasma. It's noticeably better than an upconverted DVD. Only took a week for 1.3 Firmware upgrade to come in the mail. Upgraded fine and I've had no problems playing any HD-DVD movies including Transformers, Disturbia, Elizabeth, Bourne Ultimatum and several others. Sad to see that they lost out to the overpriced Blue Ray group. But, there are hundreds of HD-DVD titles available to watch until Blue Ray becomes more affordable. Bottom line, it's a $99.99 upconverting DVD player that also plays HD-DVD's. Find businesses that sell used HD-DVD's for more affordable viewing.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Don't buy this!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: nihilan
on 02/21/2008
What's great about it: Great looking video.
What's not so great: Not supproted any longer, slow to load.
This is the technology that lost the format war. Don't buy!
While it works pretty well, and HD-DVD disks look great on a HDTV, you won't find any more discs made for this format in the future.
Blu-ray is the way to go.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Stay Away!!!!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Joerooster69
from Dallas, TX
on 02/20/2008
What's great about it: Great Pitcher Quality when it works!!!
What's not so great: Disk read errors!!!
I have not been able to make it through a single HDDVD without it messing up or locking up!!!! I constantly get disk read errors or rain wash and sometimes it even locks up and I have to unplug it to get it to work again, even with a brand new HDDVD stright out of the case. I am on my second one and it has the same problems that the first one had. When I talked to Toshiba about the problems that I have been having they act like I am the only one having these problems, witch in fact I have read hundreds of blogs from other people having the same problems that I am experiencing. They also have had the same problem with Toshiba's tech support. Run away as fast as you can from this HDDVD Player.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Very Nice for the Price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: UncleBubba
from Springfield, MO
on 02/18/2008
What's great about it: Plays HD-DVD, DVD, DVD-R, CD, CD-R, Upconverts
What's not so great: A Little Slow, HDMI cable needed for upconverting copy-protected content
This is a decent little player that does a lot of cool stuff. Picture quality is really nice. The difference isn't as noticeable as the VHS-DVD switch, but is still significant.
The only drawbacks are that it loads up a little bit slowly and that you need an HDMI cable to upconvert copy-protected works (i.e. any commercial DVD).
The slowness is understandable when you think about this player as being more akin to a specialized computer than a dvd player. The firmware needed to support so many formats and internet access, for example, require a little longer to load than a basic dvd player.
The copy-protection problem is annoying, but if you have burned DVDs (DVD recorder or PC burned home movies, etc.) those should upconvert just fine over a component cable. If you want to watch your old DVDs they'll play fine at 480p in this player with a component cable. If you want them upconverted (to 720p, 1080i, or 1080p) spring for an HDMI cable. The need for this depends largely on the TV you have.
PS: I wouldn't declare HD-DVD dead just yet. Blu-Ray has declared itself the victor due to its supposed superiority, but recalling the VHS vs Beta war, VHS won because it was cheaper, not because it was better (Beta was more advanced). Which format is cheaper? HD-DVD. I don't expect either format to go away any time soon. ("Format War" enthusiasts have been declaring HD-DVD dead since 2006, but here it is two years later, still holding on.)
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Enjoy high-definition at low cost

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: hvmai
from CA
on 02/18/2008
What's great about it: Good quality, Good price
What's not so great: None
Beautiful picture. Update the firmware easy. Can play regular DVD, DVD-R, MP3. We can buy all the HD-DVD movies available now with a good price. The "Blu" is still expensive wait until it go down. Temperary we can have HD-DVD with a great price. We can carry the HD-DVD movies around and play on the Notebook (Qosmio Note book family)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

nice for a betamax player

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: szk1
from las vegas
on 02/13/2008
What's great about it: outputs to hd,
What's not so great: very few studios backing it, lost the war
this player in it self isnt bad but if your wanting something that will be outdated right away then by all means go for it....but if your wanting something that will still be around next year and you can get new movies for then youd be a fool not to buy a bluray player
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

can't beat the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Hotnix45
from Riverview, FL
on 02/13/2008
What's great about it: great price, free movies
What's not so great: opens and loads discs slow
This is a pretty good dvd player. If you were thinking of buying an upconvert dvd player, i would recommend this dvd player instead.
It looks like Bluray has a strangle hold on the "format war" so unfortunately down the line you might end up having to go "Blu". If you want to avoid this, you might want to wait until a format wins completely for prices to drop before making your move.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

There always is a right price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TimaPhilaSophia
from San Diego, CA
on 02/13/2008
What's great about it: It's worth it, despite the news; it's already priced in
What's not so great: Contrarian; going against the tide
Dispel the myth that bluray is better; sure bluray stores more gigs per disc, but when did that ever matter? Most special edition DVDs that I own, has 2 or more discs in the box anyway. Movies are marketed as collectors items and include multiple discs. So if there is ever a situation where more storage is needed, a single box can hold 2 or more HD-DVDs.
The picture quality is excellent. I cannot say which HD-DVD or bluray looks better, I don't own both. But I'm positive that 99.9% (if not greater) of consumers cannot tell them apart. Except for the part that bluray makes your credit card company happier.
The price is right; the main goal I was shopping for was to buy an upconverting DVD player. This HD-DVD player upconverts my existing collection of standard DVDs and plays HD-DVDs. For the cost and considering the free HD-DVDs included and the mail-in offer, it pays for itself compared to any other upconverting DVD player.
Of course I would prefer HD-DVDs winning the war; it is the better consumer choice. Sadly the consumer doesn't always win, but you are a winner to buy this HD-DVD player. It adds value to your existing collection of standard DVDs and if HD-DVD wins over bluray, that's just gravy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

very good dvd and hddvd player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: phubar
on 02/12/2008
What's great about it: upconverts standard definition movies to hd format
What's not so great: does not do 1080p but its no biggie
if you have a 720p or 1080i hdtv this player will be perfect for you because it will upconvert your standard definition dvd's, aka old dvd movies, to HD format.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Ecellent buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ARCI
on 02/12/2008
What's great about it: great price; excellent picture
What's not so great: limited features
Highly recommend this player if you want to go HD DVD. Solid performance...but limited features. It will provide you with the basics.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Great player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: HDKING
from Flint, MI
on 02/11/2008
What's great about it: Excellent picture, ease of use
What's not so great: slow boot time
I bought this player after fence sitting for a long time on which HD format to buy.
I am very happy with the player. The picture quality through HDMI is spectacular. The difference between 1080i and 1080p is not really noticeable unless you sit really close to the screen anyway, so this player is all I needed.
Easy to hook up, easy to upgrade firmware and have only had one disc give me any problems at all.
Sadly it looks as if HD-DVD may lose the format war, but if it does I still have a great upconverting player for my bedroom TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

HD 100X BETTER THEN BLU_RAY!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: byrdster
from Oregon
on 02/11/2008
What's great about it: Great playback, beautiful picture!
What's not so great: 1080I
I love my HD player, I own both a HD player and a Blu-ray player and love my HD player 100X more! The updates come out quickly for my HD player, while blu ray has taken months at times to release the new updates, HD has them out before the new movies. Never had any issues with my HD player, better playback then blu-ray! I would recommend this to anyone looking to get a high def player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Why not buy it with such good price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ruiusa
from WA
on 02/11/2008
What's great about it: Good price with High definition capability
What's not so great: Limit titlement in the future.
I know the BlueRay will dominate the market soon. However, with the price, why not buy a HD player to play with HD movies, DVD and CD, then wait for BlueRay player reach to a reasonable price. I will continually use this HD player until Blue-Ray player price drop down to 150 bucks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Great hd player for price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: drewski108
from Eureka, CA
on 02/10/2008
What's great about it: great picture
What's not so great: a little slow to start up
This is my first HD player and I love it. I did have a few playback issues on some DVD’s, but after I updated the firmware, it has worked flawlessly. I got mine on sale for $200 with free movies and couldn’t be happier. My 55" Mitsubishi HDTV widescreen is a few years old and I had to get an hdmi to dvi cable, but it works great. My tv is only 1080i but I can't believe the picture! Even my old DVD’s being unconverted look great! This setup along with my 7.1 surround is awesome!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

HD at a great price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jekabs
from WA state
on 02/10/2008
What's great about it: beautiful 1080i picture
What's not so great: somewhat slow, no Dolby TrueHD pass-thru
I have both the A-3 and the Panasonic BD-30 Blu-Ray player. Picture quality on my 58 inch 1080p plasma is excellent with both, even though A-3 outputs 1080i vs BD-30's 1080p. The A-3 does not support pass-thru of Dolby TrueHD (A-35 does) to be decoded by my Onkyo 705 AV receiver, but it does have its own decoder built-in and sound quality is very good. Reaction time to commands is somewhat slow, but not terrible. Great price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Great entry-level HD-DVD player

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MikeG92024
from San Diego, CA
on 02/10/2008
What's great about it: Picture quality, ease of use, price, ethernet Internet access
What's not so great: Slow loading times, first one was defective, only displays 1080i instead of 1080p
I purchased the HD-A3 last November and am pleased with it. The first one that I purchased did have some issues with loading and playing HD-DVDs (freezes, stutters, load errors). After some troubleshooting and upgrading the firmware via the Ethernet connection, I brought it back to Best Buy. They gladly replaced it for me and it turns out it was just a defective unit (can't blame Best Buy for that). This second one works perfectly. I have had no serious issues with it at all. I have it hooked up via HDMI and digital optical audio out and the picture and sound quality are amazing. My HDTV is only 720p, so the fact that it only does 1080i is not a factor. Though I have read similar reports of people hooking up to a 1080p HDTV reporting no issues either. If this is a big deal for you, I would recommend the next model up, the HD-A30. It's identical to this model but has 1080p capability.
In closing, I would recommend this player to anyone looking for a low-price entry in the world of HDTV. Even if Blu-ray does win the format war as some have predicted, HD-DVDs will still be around for quite a while and some titles are only available on HD-DVD. Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

High Quality Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sawyer
from Orlando, FL
on 02/10/2008
What's great about it: Responsive, Great colors
What's not so great: Slow boot up
I have been using dvd players since they first came on the market. This is my first High Definition DVD player and i could not be more impressed or pleased with the quality. HD DVD's are a little pricey but so worth it, the quality is amazing. THis player also upconverts your old dvd's to near hd quality. Awesome, I will definetly buy Toshiba again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba HD DVD High-Definition DVD Player with with 1080i Output

Our 2nd Toshiba HD-DVD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GlennP
from San Diego, CA
on 02/10/2008
What's great about it: Fantastic picture & sound
What's not so great: slow to start up and shut down
We bought the Toshiba HD-A20 last year and just bought the HD-A3 for our bedroom TV. Both of these offer a fantastic picture and sound with either a HD-DVD or standard DVD. The only down side is the time it takes to start up or shut down. It starts & shut down like a computer; it takes time to process.
Even if the HD DVD format does not pan out, you still have a DVD player that works exceptionally well with standard format DVDS, and at a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>