Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Model: SB260-100
SKU: 8548832
UPC: 852619001448
The Slingbox SOLO makes it easy for you to watch and control your favorite TV source from anywhere in the world on a Windows PC, Mac, mobile phone or tablet. Enjoy your DVR, digital cable, satellite receiver or DVD player in standard-definition quality. With the Slingbox SOLO you can watch your favorite TV shows and sporting events from anywhere, anytime.
Average Customer Rating:
3.698 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 129 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
28
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
26
74% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
96 out of 129
)
Customer Reviews for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
Review 1 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Works Great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KMPitt
from Sammamish, WA
on 12/27/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, can watch on computer or phone
This works really well. We can watch live TV or recorded shows on either a computer or my Android phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Great product for my particular need.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: samsoul
from Akron,oh
on 10/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup and use.
What's not so great: No problems setting up or using
The slingbox is a great product that sets up easily and works well.Make sure that you have good intenet access.It seems to be the key.It does exactly what it claims to do and does it well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Neat concept that works as promised.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Clinton Twp.,, MI
on 10/13/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I's great being able to watch all your recorded DVR stuff anywhere!
What's not so great: If you Internet connection sucks ... so does the picture quality.
My only complaint about using my Slingbox has nothing to do with the box itself ... it's jus that if your Internet connection isn't fast enough the picture lags and it buffers way too much. But I will love it! Setup was easy and quick. 'Try it ... you'll like it'.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Works pretty well.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DaveyH
from Jackson, Mi
on 09/20/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice having my TV stations available on the go.
What's not so great: Have to use standard def on tv instead of HD
slingbox seems to work very well with all my devices, pc, ipad, and iphone. Unfortunately, you have to purchase app for both the ipad and the iphone at $30 each which drives a reasonable deal into a little pricey deal. Other than fact slingbox solo requires standard def setting on TV (can purchase special cable for HD I think) and having to purchases two different apps I have no complaints. Hook up was easy and no problems thus far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

I love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tawill
from San Antonio, TX
on 09/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good price, It cost 100 in a Special Price
I bought this product once month ago, and the equipment is excelent!!!. Just now I'm away from home and I can watch and control my Tv. Please check the web site for more info.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Using it on my iPhone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Austria
on 09/12/2012
I bought it when it was priced at 99.99. The app requires a 30.00 one time charge. Overall, it works great! Great while I'm at work or when I'm not at home. I have Comcast with an hd receiver.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Nice unit, but continues to not work.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: onegunn
from phoenix, az
on 09/03/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: The idea
What's not so great: unreliable
It seems to not work whenever i leave town, which is why i bought it. The first time was because of the wrong setup, and someone turned off my tv at home. Right now I am not at home and its not working again!!!!
You need to call tech support to really set it up..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Great for travel

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Melloone
from new york, ny
on 08/30/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: watch tv
What's not so great: things can always be better
I love it i was able to watch tv when i go away aslong as the internet connection is fast. I was able to watch over my business at the same time. recommended.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Great way to watch your favorite shows when away!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: travelmaniac
from Charlotte, NC
on 08/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent value for your money.
What's not so great: No HDMI Connection available
It is a great product for your money. You get to watch your favorites channels and shows when away from home. I travel a lot to South America where it is hard to get the channels I am accustomed to back at home. Since I bought the Slingbox solo I have the chance to watch all the channels I like and now I hardly ever miss my favorite sport events. Unfortunately the internet connection speed in some South America locations is very slow and that affects the video quality, but nothing I can do about that. The product is great because it is the only expense you'll have. Slingbox does not charge subscription fees or anything like that which is great! I only wish it had an HDMI connection in the back, not so much to improve the quality of video, but mainly because it is a cleaner and easier connection than using 5 wires as is the case with the Composite video set-up. That's the only reason why I gave it a 4 on features. Great product and value overall!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Does not work as advertised

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Haddi
from Columbia, MS
on 08/18/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Nothing because I can't get it to work.
What's not so great: It doesn't work.
It would be good if it worked as advertised. The picture and audio just skips and is totally unwatchable. I have the required upload speed on my home DSL.
The store salesman misled me and now I am overseas with a useless piece of equipment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-16points
2out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

I love it!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CrysisComplex
from Calumet City
on 08/18/2012
  • Top 100 Contributor
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Does everything its suppose to do.
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
I always seen the Slingbox at best buy and always thought it was cool. I just never picked up one til I had a smartphone and a tablet. I can't believe how much I like this thing. I live alone so its perfect for people like that because it changes the channel on whatever cable box it's hooked up on.
What really made me love this is that I use my iPad 3 as a secondary TV for my bedroom sometimes. When I want to watch TV on the go, I can do so on my Android smartphone. (being a lucky customer with a grandfather in unlimited data plan) This thing is so good if you love to travel. If you miss the channels that's not available in whatever state/hotel your in, you can always watch what back in your hometown.
Here is the best part of all, NO MONTHLY FEE to use the Sling player or Sling box. Sign up and just use it! The apps are expensive though but its worth it for a one time deal. I'm glad they did this. I recommend this product. Even better when you can get it on sale for $99 at Best buy which I did, so always look for deals.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Sweet!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: madmelvin
from Montgomery, AL
on 08/08/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to install, easy to use.
What's not so great: I can't think of anything that's NOT great about my Slingbox
I read about the Slingbox some time ago and the opportunity (excuse!) to buy one presented itself. I hate working in my home office without a little "noise level" and my iPod wasn't cutting it anymore. Besides, I enjoy listening to live news, repeat episodes of Deadliest Catch and a couple of other shows. I could get just the news on an XM Radio, but that was another $13 bucks a month that I couldn't honestly justify. I also didn't want to buy another TV and pay the cable company for an extra digital cable box (along with the cost of wiring my office for cable).
So-o-o-o I snagged a Slingbox SOLO on sale at BestBuy. My TV is in another room -- far apart from my network router -- so I had to spring for the Netgear-equivalent of the SlingLink (which was apparently discontinued or out of stock). Installation of the Slingbox/Netgear combination itself wasn't hard at all. What was a bit tricky was figuring out where to plug in the Slingbox cables to my TV/Cable Box/DVD Player. But, if you like puzzles as I do, you'll figure it out with a little patience. Then all that's left is to download a small app to your computer from the Slingbox website and you're off to the races.
The whole sha-bang cost me less than $250 and I consider it money well spent with NO ongoing monthly costs. I think I'm even able to view my TV using an iPhone/iPad/Touch, from just about anywhere with an Internet connection, but I'm happy with my set-up just as it is.
How cool is this!! I LOVE my Slingbox.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Very good tool for when you travel.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mmags41
from Fairfield, CA
on 07/27/2012
What's great about it: Easy use
What's not so great: Fee for ipad or iphone user
Got a good price, would not pay more for the other box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Good but could be better.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TAB66
from Fresno, CA
on 07/25/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: As advertised, you can watch your own TV anywhere.
What's not so great: Video quality not so good. Best on a small screen.
If all you want to do is watch your stuff on your laptop while you're away, this is a great product. If you want to watch your stuff in another room on a good size TV, then you will be disappointed with the video quality. If that is important to you, then get the HD version.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Works if you have ALL the equipment you need

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Schnauzer7
from Huntsville, AL
on 07/25/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: can access my cable channels while away
What's not so great: limited to being in proximity to DVR and router or else you spend another boatload of money on Slinglink
The product is OK and would even be better if I had known ahead of time the requirements to set it up. Unfortunately my DVR is not close to my router which made set up a pain in the neck. It required me to purchase s Slinglink to link the Solo to the router because the Solo HAS to be next to the DVR. It uses IR to change the cable box channels. Wish it all had been easier. I only recommend for the capability it brings but beware of the hassle it might cause.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Nice to watch my home TV at work

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: duramaxden
from Oklahoma City, Ok
on 07/25/2012
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Great to use on my U Verse DVR. I can use remote control also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Worth The Money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mrseeu2
from Champaign, IL.
on 07/11/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Being able to watch cable tv anywhere you go
What's not so great: Some difficulty setting up internet access with my router
I really like this product. It's not perfect but its worth the small draw backs to be able to watch cable tv anywhere you go. I love watching the game, while I wait on my girlfriend while she shops. It's also nice to pop it out at work if there is breaking news or your local team is playing. Some locations I get the buffing, which is annoying, but to be able to watch cable anywhere, I can deal with that. I put it on my iphone and my tablet. It's worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

WOW! Such a deal!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pilot30
from Michigan
on 06/21/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price on daily deal of the day was great. Ease of setup.
What's not so great: Not sure how it could be any better.
I had no experience with this product and didn't know anyone to check with for first hand experience.
I knew what it was supposed to do. Didn't know if it worked well or at all or, if you had to be an expert to make it work.
I read the reviews and some of them are extremely negative. I put off buying to do more research. However when it came up again on the deal fo the day, I took a chance. What a shock! It setup in no time - a few minutes. It configures easily and quickly.
I had a question for Sling and the support was instant and effective.
Don't know about the others but my experience was all positive from price to ease of set up, support and free shipping. I had a need for a product like this and put off buying it due to lousy reviews that may be totally bogus, certainly unjustified.
I recommend it however I only use it for tv in remote locations. Can't comment on the other applications.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

The best thing out there

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Spe215
from Philadelphia, pa
on 06/20/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Nothing
I have had sling box for about a year and all I can say is that it is excellent , I have it on my iPad and now I dnt mind being away from home shopping or whatever. If u want the best Internet connecttion away from home buy a mobile hotspot like the one from clear and you will never have any problems, it's like having a tv with cable anywhere you go. So anybody that has some concerns about buying it or if u have it and are having problems buy this product and get a hotspot and you will love it. And the 30 app is only a one time thing, if you sync your iPad to your iTunes account then the app will be on your iTunes account and then sync your phone to your iTunes account, you can have the app on your phone as well at no extra cost, I hope this was helpful and trust me you will love it. I have the nfl Sunday ticket on my iPad, guys trust me get it and you don't need all those to go apps that cable tv offers because u have your cable with you all ready, get it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Easy Setup!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: patrader1
from Philadelphia, PA
on 06/14/2012
What's great about it: You can watch your home TV including DVR recordings from anywhere in the world, wirelessly on computer & smartphone.
What's not so great: I saw reviews that stated diodes burn out after about a year. We'll see...
I love this Slingbox Solo! It delivers all my content to my computer flawlessly. I can watch all the services that I subscribe to at home, including shows and movies that I recorded on my DVR. The picture quality is excellent. No need to pay up for anything better than the SOLO. Do you really need content delivered in HD when your on the go? There is also an iPhone app (additional cost) so you can have it all delivered to your smartphone. Love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>