Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ID Vault: Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

ID Vault: Windows

Model: 900104
SKU: 8550445
UPC: 858499001127
Keyloggers, phishing scams and pharming Web sites would love to get their hands on your user names, passwords and PINs. Stop these identity thieves in their tracks with ID Vault, an intelligent, easy-to-use device that plugs into your computer's USB port. Your user names and passwords remain encrypted on a microchip, away from the prying eyes of hackers and online criminals. Use this smart security device for any online account that requires a user name and password to sign in. In less than 10 minutes, you'll be started on the road to increased Internet security that monitors more than 7,000 financial sites and 500 top shopping sites online. ID Vault keeps your information private by automatically signing you in to your favorite Web sites, so lurking keyloggers can't track your keystrokes to pick up your sign-in information. In addition, ID Vault holds user name/password combinations for up to 100 different online accounts and information for up to 25 credit cards for thorough protection. It's all backed by a $1,000,000 guarantee against online identity theft and fraud. With protection this powerful and simple, you have no excuse not to safeguard yourself with ID Vault.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 21
)
Customer Reviews for ID Vault: Windows
Review 1 for ID Vault: Windows

Works great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Laura15
from California
on 12/08/2008
What's great about it: Remembers my passwords, logs me into financial sites, protects my identity
Wonderful product. Very easy to use. Protects my passwords.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ID Vault: Windows

No need to remember paawords

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: grillman41
from Canton, OH
on 06/10/2008
What's great about it: was easy to set up and use
What's not so great: sometimes have to unplug and then plug back in to get it working again......nothing major though
I love the product.....nice to have one place for all my logins and passwords and not have to search around for them and not have to try to remember them....alot more secure too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ID Vault: Windows

Great product, glad I got it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sharkfan
on 05/02/2008
What's great about it: Easy to use, stores all my login info securely, logs on sites fast
What's not so great: Setting up accounts could be easier
I really like the product. Logs me on to my bank securely and then onto lots of shopping sites as well. Works fast and well. Much better then saving logon info on the hard drive. Bought one for my wife as well and she likes it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ID Vault: Windows

Great So Far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 04/30/2008
What's great about it: Easy XP Install and Account Set-Up
What's not so great: Had to add shopping site to "allow cookies" in IE, but no big deal.
Just purchased yesterday. I own a small business and pay almost everything both business and personal online and trying to keep track of all the login info was driving me nuts. It only takes a few seconds to add any account from business taxes to banking. The only issue I have had so far is when I added Best Buy, I had to go into IE options and set up the site to allow cookies and problem solved.
I am running IE V7 and the install took some time, but had none of the problems some of the other reviewers have experienced. No problems with lock-up or anything else that would cause me concern. I still have several accounts to add, but find it easier to add them as I need to access the account.
I really like the credit card feature as well. A real time saver, not to mention the security for all the information.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ID Vault: Windows

clumsy but safe

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: scooterOH
on 04/27/2008
What's great about it: protection is a plus
What's not so great: pages take time to load
For the added protection it is a good buy. prevents keystrokes from being seen. Has numerous established links to fianacial companies, banks and businesses already.
The downside is each site has its own quirks the pages take longer to load, so if you want to do something quick it will take a minute or too longer than before...worth the added security though
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ID Vault: Windows

I can't live without it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GolfNut58
from Middleburg Hts., Ohio
on 04/18/2008
What's great about it: Remembers all my usernames and passwords, I don't have to type anymore. Easy to use.
What's not so great: Have to take it out of my laptop when I carry it around.
At first I was nervous to try this product because of some of the negative reviews, but I'm glad I did! I use it on a Windows XP laptop and haven't had any issues.
I used to always forget my passwords, but I loaded them all into ID Vault and I can log onto my accounts without typing. and I don't have to worry about forgetting my various passwords anymore. I like that you don't type so people can't steal your passwords.
I know it protects me from all kinds of identity theft, but I use it all the time because I don't have to type in my usernames and passwords anymore. It just makes it easier for me to log on to my accounts. I'm just lazy I guess.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ID Vault: Windows

exceeded my expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: eileens
from Maine
on 03/27/2008
What's great about it: makes me more feel safer when I'm online
What's not so great: took more time than I thought it was goint to get it all set up
Although it took me a couple of hours to get my ID Vault set up, it was totally worth it. Once each of my accounts was added, it made it so much easier for me to keep track of everything. I used to only check on my different financial accounts once and a while, but now it's so easy - I just click on the account name in my ID Vault menu and wait a few seconds and I'm looking at my personal information! I feel much more secure and informed now. Plus, I can save all my other online accounts at stores, news sites and everything. With the way everything is moving online now, you really need ID Vault to keep track of it all. I would recommend ID Vault to anyone who wants to save time and feel more secure with their online access.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ID Vault: Windows

Love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: alchemy23
on 03/24/2008
What's great about it: Stores all of my online accounts and opens them for me
What's not so great: Have to have software installed on any computer you want to use it with
I spent a lot of time reviewing other similar products like iron key, and robo forms, but decided to go with the ID Vault, and I'm gald I did!
I've been using ID Vault for the last few weeks, and now I can't even imagine accessing one of my accounts without it. I don't have to remember anything other than the PIN number. When I want to open an account, all I have to do is enter the PIN, and ID Vault does everything for me. No more forgotten usernames or passwords ;-)
And I feel much better about accessing my accounts online now that I use the ID Vault. It uses a special secure internet browser to open bank accounts, so you know that you are safe when you want to look at your bank account.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ID Vault: Windows

ID Vault

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
on 03/24/2008
What's great about it: Logs you into your financial accounts thru a secured browser.
What's not so great: You start to forget you passwords, because you don't type them in anymore
Co-Worker previously owned ID Vault and recommended the product. Was able to install the software on mutiple computers and had no major issues finding and adding my online accounts. I would recommend the product to friends and family.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ID Vault: Windows

gift essential

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tannerman
from Green Bay, Wisconson
on 03/24/2008
What's great about it: easy to set up, easier to us
What's not so great: had to reference the quick guide for 2 issues that were not obvious during set up
first i started using the proudct, then i got my wife hooked, and now we have bought ID Vualts for both our parents. for us it is all about the security of knowing that our account details are not visible on our PC. for our parents, the main benefit is that they no longer have to try to remember all their password and account names. My father even set it up by himself and had it working in 10 minutes. this is a great product for all consumers who do any buying or banking on line. Yea!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ID Vault: Windows

Not what I expected!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Jewels6078
from Louisville, KY
on 03/24/2008
What's great about it: No problem with install
What's not so great: Crashed my PC
I read reviews here and other forums before I installed this on my PC after receiving it as a gift.
For 6 months I didn't touch it and then 2 weeks ago I decided "oh, what the heck - let's give it a try!" So, carefully following the instructions to the letter I installed it on my computer.
Big, big mistake!
Three days after installing it, my PC crashed. After explaining that I have XP Pro and Internet Explorer 7 and the issues I was having after the install, through several online chats with my PC manufacturer and this product's customer service all I got was "it's not our product", "try this", "do this, did you do that?, check this" until I was ready to scream!.
Other issues I had included the desktop changing and all my files (Favorites, Documents, Pictures etc.) were hidden. My two year old PC was also giving a code which indicated that my hard drive was failing or had failed! What!!
After a few failed attempts to do system restore (per PC Tech support) I finally had to resort to a full system recovery. I haven't had a problem since - and I DID NOT reinstall ID Vault!
This is my experience with what sounded like a good product and one I certainly won't put on my PC again. I guess I have a $50 keychain now!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ID Vault: Windows

Well worth the money spent

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SonnyB
from Gilroy CA
on 03/20/2008
What's great about it: I think it is a great idea. I like the convenience of not having to remember all my account usernames and passwords.
What's not so great: Not much. I did have to contact customer support at times.
I have been using for a few months now. I have really gotton used to the convenience of it. I can take it to my work, plug in to my work computer and log into all my bank and other sites without having to remember my passwords or carrying the list of my passwords everywhere.
All in all money well spent. I would definitely recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ID Vault: Windows

Solid Security

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bsavio
on 03/19/2008
What's great about it: Protects my online accounts
What's not so great: Takes some time to set up
Initial set up can be a bit tricky -- I had to contact technical support to set up one of my accounts (they were quite helpful). Once ID Vault is set up it works great! Signing in to my accounts is a breeze and it stopped me from entering my password into a phishing site.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ID Vault: Windows

Horrible Product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Yorknew
on 03/02/2008
What's great about it: Worked for 5 days
What's not so great: destroys your computer
Stay away from this JUNK. I have never had problems with my computer until I installed their software. It worked for about 5 days then it crashed my computer. The tech service is a joke. They answered me once via email then no more responses after multiple emails. Don't waste your money. This product has created more headaches and problems with my computer than I could have ever imagined a hacker would. Stay away from it for your own sanity.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ID Vault: Windows

You'll be sorry

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: AconsumerReport
on 03/02/2008
What's great about it: looks cool
What's not so great: please read review
I have used IDVAULT for 10 months. I’ve had more trouble with this thing, very buggy and updates are worse! I’ve had it lock up Internet Explorer many times and just outright crash my system. Product support is bad, no phone number, email only, I had one very helpful response “see FAQ” thank you very much! Did you know when you purchase this product you are automatically placed on their “Non-Stop Protection plan”? Your first year is free (because you bought the thing) then they will automatically charge your card $39.95 each year, as they put it so there is “Uninterrupted access to the ID Vault Trusted Network of more than 7,500 financial and shopping sites”, bless their hearts. If you don’t renew you now have a piece of plastic you can use for a key chain, you will not be able to login to any Financial Accounts using ID Vault but and I quote “You will, however, still be able to use ID Vault to access your non-financial accounts, such as email accounts. And, of course, you can always access your financial accounts the standard way, without ID Vault, but you will be at much greater risk of online identity theft and fraud”. You know what, I’m going to take my chances!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ID Vault: Windows

Lousey product

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bighorn
from AZ
on 02/28/2008
What's great about it: None
What's not so great: Does not work, bad tech service.
A four letter word discribes this product, "JUNK". The CD that came with the product did not work. I had to download the install software from their web site. The product only works when it feels like it and questions and concerns to the company tech service are only answered after several days. They now want to send me a new product to try, and admit they have tech problems. If you want to raise your blood pressure, and frustration level with your computer, install this product and stand by for trouble.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ID Vault: Windows

IDVault - worth a look

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: OmaTech
from Omaha, NE
on 02/14/2008
What's great about it: Logs you into your Banking, E-Mail, Retirement, and Medical accounts securely.
What's not so great: Some issues with XP, I used at least two XP machines and had different results.
Purchased the IDVault along with a SimpleTech external drive because it was 1/2 the price when purchased with drive. Figured, why not. The biggest issue I encountered happened with a fresh install of XP (SP2). Needed to upgrade my Win2000 install w/XP so I ordered a CD from MS only to have repeated issues with a DLL or two. It drove me nuts! Finally able to get it to work and it seems to work just fine. I try to use it anytime I need to access my accounts online, even e-mail and it recognized many of the credit cards out there. If you find yourself having to have an automated system call your home to verify your identity, this eliminates that process.
Now.. issues.. I installed the software on an existing XP install and it would not run at all. What gives? Where's the quality assurance from Microsoft?
I contacted the IDVault support group and they walked me through manually adding the libraries that I needed. The support group is good and they must be aware of the issues since the solution came rather quickly.
I still have a problem with the IDVault process that runs in the background on the second machine. It seems to want to chew up 99-100% of my processor. Talk about annoying!! This is resolved by deleting/ending the process through Task Manager. If you do this when your machine boots up, you'll be fine. When you plug in the IDVault after killing off the process, you will have to run to the Start-All Programs-run IDVault to restart the program.
Long and the short, I would purchase this product again but I hope MS gets their act together soon. They seem to be having update issues (quality control problem).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ID Vault: Windows

ID Vault

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: JRBVA
from Northern VA
on 12/31/2007
What's great about it: Evidently works on some sites
What's not so great: Does not work on many "trusted" sites
Installed on a Vista-based dual core processor system. While the concept is very reasonable, my experience is that only about 50% of the "trusted" (in ID Vault's financial or shopping database) sites work. Based on this, not worth the effort.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ID Vault: Windows

Great Idea

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: timesync
on 10/30/2007
What's great about it: Excellent storage of sensitive information
What's not so great: Not all websites preprogrammed
This usb device will store sensitive information such as passwords and credit card information on the device and not on your hard drive. Once you begin to use it, you will feel exposed when you sign in to any financial site without it! It is cheap insurance to protect yourself in the online world.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ID Vault: Windows

very handy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sunflower71
on 10/15/2007
What's great about it: one pin for all accounts and still save
What's not so great: need to re-subscribe once per year
I really like the Id Vault. It's so handy that it remembers all my account links and passwords. It makes things so much easier because I tend to forget how to log on to all those rarely used accounts for bill payments. The only downside, you have to re-subscribe once a year.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>