Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Model: HPA-00001
SKU: 8595978
UPC: 882224519953
With built-in wireless connectivity, Zune-to-Zune sharing capability and 80GB* of storage, this sleek MP3 player lets you enjoy your favorite music and media on the go. The 3.2" high-resolution LCD provides crisp visuals for viewing movies and photos. View Demo 229.99
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 232 reviews
5 stars
145
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
18
1 star
14
85% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
197 out of 232
)
Customer Reviews for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black
Review 1 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Best hard drive mp3 player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IronsnakeMX
from Nuevo laredo
on 03/17/2009
What's great about it: The Sound Quality and the Screen
What's not so great: Scratches easily
The Zune is a very good alternative to the Ipod , it has better Sound Quality and bigger Screen, it also has a radio and comes with excellent earphones.
I am sorry to say this but honestly can´t believe the people that give this players poor ratings because of the software , Cmon guys if you can´t even install the software correctly it means that you are either a kid or you are an apple fan who wants to trash the zune.
For everyone out there who can install windows live , work on a word document or even turn on a computer and is not so Bias towards Ipods then this Player will be very easy to handle .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Horrible Software

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BOBOO
from USA
on 03/08/2009
What's great about it: Not an iPod
What's not so great: Soft ware, Battery Life
Installing the software was horrible. HORRIBLE.
Had to call support three times before I got it installed. Software worked for about a week then I had to remove and install it again. The battery life is not as great as it used to be either. I'm not sure if this thing is going to make it even three months.
I don't know who's in charge at microsoft, but they need to totally redesign this thing. Come-on Microsoft You Can Do It!!!
Bottom Line: Save Your Money Or Go With The POD
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

ZUNE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EBE95
from NEW YORK
on 02/25/2009
What's great about it: QUALITY
What's not so great: SCRATCHES EASILY
BOUGHT THE ZUNE FOR MY DAUGHTER 3 YEARS AGO LOVE WAY BETTER THAN THE IPOD TOUCH REGRET GETTING THE IPOD SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN MYSELF THE ZUNE ALSO
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

ZUNE

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: marilyn85
from Weidman MI
on 02/22/2009
What's great about it: Able to return it easily
What's not so great: Poor service
I bought a Zune Player and I'm sure it would have been a great MP3 player if I could have downloaded the software. I have been fighting with Zune since Christmas and I have nothing to show for it. I have asked several times for my money back and all I get it the tech support ideas that I have tried several times with no solution to there software problems. Best Buy helped as much as they could and was very helpful when I needed to choose a different product that worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

the ultimate music lover's mp3 player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ImASupernaut
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 02/12/2009
What's great about it: it does what an mp3 player is supposed to do
What's not so great: the battery life seems a bit short, a few small problems with the software
I found out about the Zune mp3 player from a friend who said she loved hers. I was hesitant about buying a new player after a sort of bad experience with my last one a few years ago but then I decided to buy one and the Zune seemed like the one to get. I've had mine for about 5 months now and I love it. For once, they made a product whose performance justified the amount of money and time you spent dealing with the product in the first place. I'm a big music fan and I love to listen to all kinds of music. I'm not the kind of person who wanted an mp3 player just so they could put a few good tunes on it then listen to it at the gym while on the treadmill. I wanted a portable music player that would store all my music and then some and be able to play my music anywhere whether it be through my car stereo, home theater, TV, or headphones. It seems like some people like to have a complicated piece of hardware to deal with almost like they believe that its complexity makes it superior. I just wanted something that was easy to use and did its job. Thats what I got when I bought my Zune.
The player itself is great. Yes, the big screen is a big plus. Yes, its sleek, looks cool, and fits in your pocket well. But you really begin to see the beauty of this device once you start using it. The touch pad works very well. The menus and sub-menus are very easy to navigate - you will rarely feel lost in a maze of menus. Its very easy to access your music and play it, as well as access your pictures, videos, and podcasts, too. You know when you're watching a futuristic movie and the character pulls out a really sleek looking device then hits a few buttons and does something really cool? And you wonder, "When are they gonna come out with something like that?" Mess around with a Zune for a couple of minutes and you'll know what I'm talking about.
The Zune software is a big plus. One thing that is really cool on both the player and the software is that it stores album art so when you're browsing through you're collection, on either your player or the software, you are able to visually identify the albums instead of just scrolling through text. Its a bit gimmicky at first but after the gimmick wears off, you realize that its there for a reason. It seems like the people who made this product wanted to put more of the focus on the actual music (and other media) and not just on the software itself. Like I said, this is a MUSIC LOVER'S mp3 player. Its nice to have a software that automatically does a few things for you to save you time but I don't like it when the software decides to start doing things on its own and you feel like you don't have control over it. The Zune software has the best of both worlds. You can adjust just about everything it does so that you maintain control over what it does automatically. You can set it up so that it auto-syncs your entire collection every time you plug it in or you can just do everything yourself, if thats what floats your boat.
Now for the negatives. There are only a few and they're not that bad. The burning software, for me at least, sort of has some issues. When I try and burn a CD using the Zune software burning component, it only burns a few tracks. It says that the CD is finished but if you play the CD only the first couple of tracks are on there. Personally, I could care less because I just use another burning program to burn the CDs. If this is the worst thing about the Zune, I'm fine with it. The software does take quite a while to install on to your computer but then again, once its on there, its on there so no big deal. I did think that it would be a little easier to put videos on the Zune, though. Apparently, the Zune only supports a few certain kinds of video formats and if you have a video thats not the correct format then you'll have to convert it with another program and thats another story altogether. Pictures work really well. I bought this thing for music so I really don't care if the videos are hard to deal with. If you want something that will play all your vids, you may want to consider another alternative. Another thing is the battery life. If I can remember correctly, this website boasts that the Zune player will continuously play back music for 30 hours with a single charge. When I first got mine, I noticed that the battery would die every two to three days. I only listened to it in the car. I only spent about an hour or two a day in my car. It didn't add up. Also, the battery life bar, located on the main screen of the player, didn't accurately indicate when my battery life was reaching its end. It showed that I had around three-fourths of a battery left and then it would die. So, I decided to put the customer service aspect to the test. I didn't have to call any numbers or talk to anyone. I simply filed a compaint through the Zune software and told them what was up and they told me to send it back and they'll give me a new one - a refurbished one, of course. I sent it back and they sent me a fresh one within a week. It looks perfectly new, same color and everything. The battery life seems to be better although I'm still not so sure about those 30 hours. But, the customer service was stellar. Another small note: The Zune accessories seem rather expensive. I haven't compared their prices to the prices of similar Ipod accessories but they still seem a bit overpriced.
I'm tired of buying a product and feeling like the people who made the product really didn't care if it would work right or if the consumer would enjoy it. The people at Microsoft who came up with this product seemed to put the consumer's interests first and the rest second, coming out with a really cool media player that doesn't seem like it was made by, well, Microsoft.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Good, but not great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: UptonEMT
from New Hampshire
on 02/05/2009
What's great about it: Nice big screen, scratch resistant, and it's NOT an iPod
What's not so great: Microsoft did not incorporate any PlaysForSure stuff, limited compatability, and it's NOT an iPod
When I bought this, I absolutely loved it. When running at the gym, it took a spill from the elliptical machine and had some incredibly hard hits on the way down. I was sure I had destroyed it. I picked it up, turned it back on, and never had any problems with it. The screen was fine, and my faith in my purchase was strengthened. I was also proud that I was stepping away from the iPod Empire, who seems to control everything and have people blindly following every product release. Recently, however, I've come to find some major flaws that's having me looking back at Apple. There are movies that allow for a "Digital Copy", such as Wanted and The Dark Knight. Those two allowed me to download a copy in Windows Media format, which I assumed would play on my device, both being Microsoft in origin. Unfortunately, the Zune software said that I purchased the video from a source it doesn't trust, and therefore would not allow me to sync it to my device. I later found out it's because Microsoft wanted to branch off from the PlaysForSure devices, which would have easily allowed me to sync these movies. Zune also does not allow for drive usage, like the iPod does. And the reason I put "it's NOT an iPod" in both the pros and cons is that yes, it's nice to step away from the blind sheep, but those sheep also make all the cool accessories, and it's a thousand times easier to find accessories for an iPod than a Zune. So maybe iPod wins on this, but it's still a nice and powerful little player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Microsoft is da best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jcdogman
from MA
on 01/21/2009
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
What's not so great: nothing
i just bought the 30GB about 5 months ago and i loved it. A few weeks later i saw this one and i just had to have it. so i sold my 30GB and bought this one and just when i thought it couldn't get better it did. I love all oft he stuff Microsoft gives you and the ease of downloading music and videos. the videos are really cheap only 2 bucks per episode of almost any show. I also love the podcast that they offer such as strong bad and Flight of the Concords which i love. huge screen never scratches and me and my friend always use them together. It is just a great player and i couldn't ask for any more.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Faulty Software Doesn't Help This Product At Alll

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NCstatefan7
from NC
on 01/14/2009
What's great about it: good sound only when it's working correctly(not very often)
What's not so great: almost everything
Well everything was great until all the software got really screwy and now half the music on my zune Is "Missing Or Cannot Be Played" and I'm very tempted to sell out and purchase an i-pod not to mention they have the worst if you can call it Customer Service.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

BEST MP3 PLAYER ON EARTH

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Syon16734
from Madison, WI
on 01/07/2009
What's great about it: Huge Scratch Resistant Screen, FM TUNER, Price, Earphones, Quality, Software.
What's not so great: I feel bad for all the ipod owners :)
I have had my 80GB Zune for almost a year and i am still amazed at the build quality and value that microsoft has put in to this mp3 player.
Here is a list of reasons that you should buy the Zune over the ipod:
1. The screen. It is amazing. Big, crystal clear and scratch resistant (I haven't been able to scratched it yet)
2. THE FM TUNER! This has to be one of my favorite things about the zune. While you are listening to the radio it tells you exactly what song you are listening to and if you like the song, you hit a button and the Zune remembers it so you can buy it the next time you sync with your pc. (how cool is that?!?)
3. Earphones. The earphones that come with this thing are AWSOME! The in-ear style makes them noise-canceling and the sound quality is amazing. I just bought a new pair of sony earphones (they were $60!!) and I cant really tell much difference between the two.
4. Build quality. i live and work on a farm and need a really tough mp3 player. Zune does it. i have dropped it on concrete a couple of times with no after affect. Amazing!
5. Built-in wireless. OMG this rocks. you can wirelessly download songs off the internet. You can play multi-player games (Texas hold'em and Checkers)with your friends. And you can wirelessly sync with your pc!
6. The free Games that come with the zune software are tons of fun. There's Checkers, Hexic, Space Battle, Sudoku, and Texas Hold'em. Using the wireless you can play the Checkers and Texas Hold'em multi-player!
7. The Software. I have read reviews saying the software is no good. i completely dis-agree. It is super-fast and bug-free. Unlike with Itunes the songs that you download are DRM-free. Basically you are free to do what ever you want with them (which makes sense seeing as you paid for them).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Buy it for the player, not the accessories

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DonnyM
from Billings, MT
on 12/10/2008
What's great about it: Easy to use, beautiful clear glass screen, good sound quality
What's not so great: No equalizer, softwear is SLOW.
The quality of this player rivals its more sucessful advisary. The sound is superb and the video is comparable to HiDef. I do wish that the player had some sort of equalizer. Whether it be a pre-set one or a manual or both, it needs something for different styles of music. Also, the computer software is slow. I've tried everything to speed it up from upgading the player to clearing up my computer and nothing seems to work. If you plan on constently changing your playlists then this might not be the player for you. Accessories are few, but if you don't mind not having a custom case with your initials bedazzeled into it this should be a problem. Otherwise, I highly recomend this player to anyone who stands by a Microsoft product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

better then i pod

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: G1084
from Houston,TX
on 12/03/2008
What's great about it: wi-fi fm tuner
What's not so great: nothing
the zune is easy to use i can hook up the zune to any car or home stereo
you can share music to other zune players and the music and video is all ways clear zune is better then any other mp3 so if your going to buy a mp3 any of the zunes well do
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Good device, Good Support

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WaWife20
from Washington
on 12/01/2008
What's great about it: Everything.
What's not so great: The Zune software could be improved.
I bought a Zune a year ago because, I just didn't want to get an Ipod because well, who doesn't have an Ipod? And I do like having a radio because although I don't listen to it much, I do listen to it. It's pretty easy to use and mine broke about a month ago and I filed a report through microsoft and they sent me a box to send it in and within 2 weeks I had a brand new Zune at no cost to me. So I can't really complain. It's a toss up between the Zune and the Ipod, Zune has a radio and the Ipod has more colors. =P But I can say that I will be a Zune owner for many years to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Go with an ipod

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Summerk
from Spokane,WA
on 11/29/2008
What's not so great: Freezes constantly, no recently added lists
I got this zune in August of 08 and definitely wished I had gone w the ipod. My zune freezes all the time in a middle of a song and wont turn back on until i plug it into the computer again. Also all your recently added music just goes in w the rest of your library so you have to search forever whereas the ipod has lists for you top 25 most played, all recently added, etc.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Love my Zune

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bikerchick44
from Richmond KY
on 11/28/2008
What's great about it: Easy to use, Long battery life
What's not so great: would like to have an equalizer
I have had 3 Zunes now. Not because they break but because I wanted to increase my music capacity. I have had my 80g for about 9 months now. I love it! I use it everyday! I have not had any problems. If you charge you battery to the fullest the first time and let the battery wear down completely it will last for hours. The software is very simple to use and microsoft has updates occasionaly. They just started offering games now. I really don't have anything to say on the negative side about Zune. I think it is a wonderful alternative if you don't want to purchase the Ipod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

iPod killed itself after this one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Morgantown, IN
on 11/23/2008
What's great about it: More codecs and userfriendly
What's not so great: Battery life expectancy
many people think the Zune is simply Microsoft's "iPod killer". Regardless if that was the companies aim or not, I would recommend anyone to pick this over iPod any day, and I'll tell you why: More codecs, bigger better screen, and yes, the radio. I personally love listening to the radio. But that's just me, and anything thats not an iPod has an FM Tuner. The screen is much more crisp when watching videos/movies. Especially if you own the 80Gb and have your seasons of tv shows and movies, you really want the best experience possible while watching it in your hand. It also has more codecs than the iPod. iPod only reads a handful of codecs such as AAC, WMA, ect. Whereas the Zune can read AAC, WMA, MP3, MP4, WAV, ect. With more codecs there's less hassle with trying to add music to your music player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Poor iPod Knockoff

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: macguru
on 11/07/2008
What's great about it: It's a music player
What's not so great: Pretty much everything else
Microsoft's attempt at an iPod killer here was rather poor... there's just not much to say about the Zune. It plays music and has a radio tuner. Who actually listens to the radio anymore? I know I don't.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Great product!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Morgie
from Woodhaven, MI
on 11/07/2008
What's great about it: It holds a lot of music
What's not so great: Battery dies
This product is really good to have. It holds all your music, you can take it anywhere, and because you can do that, you always have your music with you wherever you want to go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Greatest mp3 player to date

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: uglord
from el paso tx
on 11/06/2008
What's great about it: basic easy interface, nice design`
What's not so great: no mac support
this is by far one of the greatest mp3 players out there, nice and slim for a huge 120 gig drive, awesome bright colorful screen and great exclusive features such as buy from fm 10 out of 10 from me
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dante9000
from Lincoln, NE
on 11/04/2008
What's great about it: i Just love the website and that it is easy to find songs and find things on the zune.
What's not so great: could use a better battery life.
I love it, i have had mine for almost a year. and i feel that is it better the the ipods. i would say go get it and try it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Zune Zune MP3 Player with 80GB* Hard Drive - Black

Destroys Apple Ipod

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jschiess05
on 10/31/2008
What's great about it: Many features, great price, free software upgrades
What's not so great: None
This product is a great buy. Unlike Apple Ipod, Microsoft gives you free software upgrades. The Zune player also is very easy to use, it looks sleek in its design, and highly more tolerable to being dropped than the Ipod. The Zune is a great over all buy and I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>