Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Model: DPAC120068
SKU: 8625561
UPC: 067638701402
Cool off on those sultry summer days using this portable air conditioner that cools rooms up to 500 sq. ft. Electronic temperature controls with 1° increments make it easy to cool your surroundings to suit your preferences.
Average Customer Rating:
2.826 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
5
52% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 23
)
Customer Reviews for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray
Review 1 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Meets Specs & Expectations

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: glantern
from Concord, California
on 06/30/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Energy efficient, remote control, quiet, automatic or manual settings, window kit fits patio doors
What's not so great: Water can easily spill when moving unit
We live in a 1,950 sq. ft. single story, single family house in northern California. We have a 3.5 ton central AC unit. There are only 2 of us; as you can imagine, it's somewhat wasteful to cool down the entire house when we're basically in just 2 or 3 rooms 90% of the time. Two summers ago, we purchased a single-hose portable AC unit, before I discovered the advantages of a dual-hose design. So last summer, we purchased this Danby unit to supplement our central AC and the single-hose portable AC unit.
The Danby is much more efficient and effective than the single-hose unit!
The temperature delta of our central AC is approx 23 degrees. For the single-hose unit, it is approx 14 degrees. The Danby's delta is approx 18 degrees.
We use the Danby primarily in our combo family room/kitchen, an 18x27 area of 486 sq. ft. It maintains 78 degrees easily. For example, yesterday, it was 106 in our backyard and the Danby worked flawlessly and continuously from noon to 2 am, without ever having to empty its reservoir.
It’s puzzling as to why so many people have had negative experiences. Does Danby have quality control problems or are people’s expectations mis-placed?
I hope this review helps someone contemplating this purchase or anyone who is tired of paying high utilities bills.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Terrible

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: cargorilla
from Richardson, TX
on 06/26/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: Air comes out of the top, not reliable
The first one I bought worked for about a week and stopped cooling. Best Buy replaced it with no problem (BB is GREAT!). The replacement unit (second one) now has stopped cooling after only about 24 hours.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Look No Further

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: QuadKen
from New Port Richey Florida
on 06/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: literally everything
What's not so great: I am stumped here...
First, let me tell you folks that I am a quadriplegic and that my body does not regulate temperature normally. Sometimes I crave cold and sometimes heat (I have 500 W of heat lamps above my bed to augment the central heatingI have experienced other similar units. Lucky for me, the last one was loaned out and never returned. Lucky because I then needed a replacement. This top-of-the-line Danbyhas been a godsend. It took about 15 minutes to set up (once unpackaged). My bedroom temperature gets up into the mid 80's. When I crank up my new central A/C to 68 my bedroom still runs about 80 (and I am cooling the rest of my frequently unoccupied home) in my quest to cool down my bedroom, I've even had a separate supply line and return put in for about an additional $1000.(that has shown only marginal improvement) But with this Danby portable my room quickly and quietly cools to my desired temperature 73.when I set the temperature to 76 the temperature quickly adjusts to 76. After a one-month, the water collection bucket has enough water in it to wipe up with a paper towel. As described in the manual, the moisture is expelled to the outdoors. The bottom-line here is that this simply is the very best. Read my review and temper some of the negative reviews with a bit of reality (you do need a place to put it, it uses electricity, and it will not cool a 1000 ft.² apartment. And I really do wonder about the unit that collects water in the bucket while unplugged from the wall). And you know what? When the unit is cooling the louvers open up automatically, and when it is not cooling, the louvers close. How cool is THAT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

IT WORKS

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mdmurrieta
from anaheim,ca
on 05/25/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: IT WORKS AND GETS MY VERY HOT,SMALL, UPSTAIRS LIVINGROOM COOL
What's not so great: IT IS NOT SO ENERGY EFFICEINT...IT DOESN'T COOL A LARGE AREA, WHICH IS WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. IT IS VERY BIG AND BULKY
IT WORKS AND GETS MY VERY HOT,SMALL, UPSTAIRS LIVINGROOM COOL. I T IS NOT SO ENERGY EFFICEINT...IT DOESN'T COOL A LARGE AREA, WHICH IS WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR. IT IS VERY BIG AND BULKY. I DON'T REGRET BUYING IT. I FEEL SO FAR I HAVE GOTTEN MY MONEYS WORTH IN THE LAST YEAR. MY APARTMENT ALONE GETS OVER 100 DURING THE SUMMER.
I WOULD RECOMMEND IT. IF YOU ARE WILLING TO SPEND THE MONEY AND ARE VERY DESPERATE IT WILL WORK AND IS BETTER THAN THE WINDOW AIR CONDITIONER.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

It is Just OK!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: TnBsMommy
from Green Bay, WI
on 11/04/2008
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
My husband and I purchased this ac unit for our bedroom in an apartment that has vertical windows as we were limited to what we could use.. When we first got the unit home and got it set up which was pretty easy except for the slider kit ( which we never ended up using). It cooled the bedroom within mins. My nephew who was 2 was scared by it because of the noise it made and how big and sci fi it looked. But he survived. All was well for the first week or so and then our container started to fill up and had to be emptied at least once every 24 hrs. and the temp never got below 78 degrees..Once the summer was over we turned it off took it out of the window emptied the bucket for the last time and thought we were done with it.. Until the day we moved and the movers got soaked!! It is still collecting water some how some way! Just very frustrating...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Not as powerful as it should be

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: drwilla
from Brooklyn, NY
on 10/17/2008
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It is portible
What's not so great: Does not cool large rooms
I purchased this item towards the end of this past summer. When I began using it, I notice that it was not cooling my entire bedroom and for this many BTU's that is unfortunate. The directions were confusing so I had to call the customer service line just to get a better understanding of how the machine works and what all the parts are for. Overall if you have a small area you want to cool and you want the covenience of having a portable AC then this is for you.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

how about "worst purchase ever"

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: myrealname
on 08/25/2008
What's great about it: none.
What's not so great: where do i start...
all i want and need to say is don't waste your time considering this product if you're looking for a cooliing unit. it has been a complete disappointment since the night i purchased it. Not only does it not cool down the living room in my apartment, not a large room at all, it has actually started to leak hot air from the exhaust hose recently. I purchased it not five weeks ago. For 12,000 BTU it should cool my whole apartment no problem, hasn't impressed me at all since i bought it. Not sure what they do at Danby but it isn't improving their technologies. Absolutely pathetic. First review I've ever taken the time to write but i can't let someone else waste their time and money on this thing. Enough said.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

It's O.K.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Cityboy
on 08/09/2008
What's great about it: Window accessory can be used on vertical windows and sliding door.
What's not so great: Won't cool whole room
I've been looking for the ideal unit for quite some time. I bought the two hose type because it is supposed to be more efficient than the single hose-type. The limitation I have is that all of my windows are the vertical opening sliding type so I cannot use the least expensive boxy units. So I bought this unit and vented it through my sliding patio door. The adjustable slider kit was more than enough to fit the door. I bought ¼” thick by ½” wide high density weatherstrip foam tape from Lowes and stuck it to the sides of the slider kit to get a snug fit. Security isn’t a issue because I already have a telescoping security bar lock and a keyed door frame lock (I had to drill another hole in the aluminum frame in accordance with the slider kit).
The unit is bulky and heavy but, it seems, most portables are.
I’m using the unit to cool a 400 square foot family room. The whole room cooling is mediocre at its best, but, if you’re in the path of the air flow, there is no problem. But, trying to bring the room temperature down to the 70’s when the outside temperature is 90 plus, is wishful thinking. I like the convenience of the remote and the oscillating vent. I, also, like the dehumidifier and it does suck moisture out of the air by the evidence of water in the tank, but, in the manual it says “the exhaust hoses do not have to be vented outdoors”. Why would I want to blow hot air back in the room?!? So, I just keep it vented outdoors.
Overall, it’s an O.K. unit and it is the ONLY unit I found that met my requirement of having a long enough slider-kit for my sliding door or windows. My final take is, “it’s better than nothing, I’ll keep her”.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Great purchase

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Speed18
from Ames, Ia
on 07/31/2008
What's great about it: It cools 560sq feet
What's not so great: Too big
We bought this unit for our living area. I really like the way it cools the area. We have had alot of hot days in the 90's and it is 72 degrees in the three rooms its doing.
I do run two fans to help it. I would recommend to someone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

find another A/C

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Macca
from Hudson Valley NY
on 07/21/2008
What's great about it: A fair dehumidifier
What's not so great: It doesn't cool-down a room
This whole complex theory of cooling merely thru condensation just doesn't work. I had the unit parked in an east window with an overhang, even in a north window. Doesn't matter if you fire up the unit before 9 am, it just doesn't sustain a cool temp. If the room is HOT, forget it, it'll blow warm air coming thru its intake pipe. The internal pump system quit after a week. Had approximately 400 square feet - its a 12,000 BTU A/C - no chance. Folks, stay away.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Disappointed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: GiphLag
from Boston, MA
on 07/09/2008
What's great about it: Well made, easy to maintain
What's not so great: loud, bulky, weak cooling, expensive
I've been researching portable air conditioners for a couple of weeks now and came across this unit at Best Buy. I had not heard of the brand before but thought the price was reasonable compared to other similar units and the features looked good. So I took it home.
The disappointments started pretty quickly. Firstly, the unit weighs a ton. My wife and I could barely get it up the stairs. This is not cool when it's already 85 degrees outside.
Secondly, once you're done trying to understand the possibly worst manual in the world and you assemble everything, the unit is enormous. It is deeper than my large dresser and looks like something out of a bad sci-fi movie with the 2 large hoses coming out of it's back.
I'm not sure why Danby touts the bucket-less design, when they clearly recommend adding the "optional" bucket for A/C use. I tried using the unit without this bucket at first, but the internal water compartment filled up within 2 nights of use, shutting the unit down permanently. We live in Boston and it's really not that humid up here, so I was surprised. The evaporating technology isn't working apparently.
Thirdly, the units cooling output is just weak. Like really pathetic. The website says 400-500 square feet can be cooled. Yea right. I have it sitting in my bedroom, which is maybe 150sq ft and it takes hours to even get it to 75 degrees. Not exactly nice and cool.
Forthly, the window kit is just a mess. They give you all these extensions but nowhere does it say that you actually have to cut the plastic bits to make it fit your window. They simply don't mention it at all. ANYWHERE.
Fifthly, the blue display reads well from a distance but is way too bright at night. The buttons to its left and right are tiny and poorly designed icons don't help. The same goes for the remote. Also, the remote is the master. So any changes you make on the unit itself, are then confusing the remote and if you use the remote but it's not in range, the a/c will not respond and not be in sync with the remote until the next command is sent from the remote and properly received. Sounds weird. I know.
I'm taking this thing back this weekend. If this is how good portable a/c's get, then the industry has a lot to improve on. Good luck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

NOT Portable

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bestbuyer666
from Louisville, KY
on 07/07/2008
This air conditioner is NOT portable. While it is technically possible to move it from one room into another and use it in the new room, doing so is so difficult there's no point in it. It would be easier to move a standard window unit from one room to another and use it.
The air conditioner has to vent out the window, which involves building an aparatus so the hoses can go out the window while still keeping the window sealed against loss of cold air. In order to use the air conditioner in a different room, you'd have to take the aparatus out of the window and then install it in the window in the other room. Way too time consuming.
The window aparatus you have to build is too short for the average window, so you have to put an extention on it to make it fit. Except that the extention provided makes it way too long for the average window, so you have to get a hacksaw and cut it down to size to fit. And this isn't mentioned anywhere in the instructions, they make it sound like it will fit any size window with only some minor adjustments, no special tools or sawing and grinding required on your part.
Also, the hoses are large and bulky and aren't long or flexible enough. The unit cools only about half as well as a 12,000 BTU window unit - you have to be right in front of it to feel any cold air. Of course, you could just turn it so it's facing you, except that the short and inflexible hoses won't allow you to do so.
Overally, I'd say this is a piece of garbage. And at approximately $400 when a 12,000 BTU window unit is approximately $250, it's also an overpriced piece of garbage.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Ok Unit

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Biz2012
on 07/07/2008
What's great about it: Digital remote, Various mode settings
What's not so great: Noisy, Bulky Hoses
Blows cold air but for it's size it should cool a bedroom in a shorter amount of time.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Dissapointed.

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: DENTDUR0
from NEW YORK, NY
on 06/29/2008
Two hoses makes the unit cumbersome and bulky. Hard to manuver around after install to position it at desired angle. Considering it's portability the power cord is short at approx 5' keeping in mind that you must vent the unit via window or sliding doors you may need an approved power extension cord to reach your outlet. Small icons on unit buttons. Air is only cold at immediate area where unit is placed. Does not cool My living room. 300 sq ft. Small vent opens when unit is turned on automaticly, likewise to shut down. Remote has a small but nice digital screen so you can see what settings are set at any moment with out walking up to unit. returning to store for exchange or refund.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Good Purchase for What I Needed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Binbiker
from Michigan
on 06/27/2008
What's great about it: Does what it says it does. Cools living room and ktichen area very good in apartment. I am happy with this purchase.
What's not so great: I was told it fits all vertical windows but as other reviewers stated, the alluminum window spacers have to be cut.
Does a good job in the heat and humidity climate that I am in. I am happy with it. This is exactly what I needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

cool cat

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: drinkmurlough
from san diego, ca
on 06/22/2008
What's great about it: It connects easily.
What's not so great: makes noise
It keeps my master bedroom nearly cold. It's a decent size. I wish it was a bit smaller, but setting up was a breeze and we didn't have to tear up any walls or change our windows.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Meets expectations

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: mike1986
from St. Louis, Mo
on 06/21/2008
What's great about it: Does cool the room size that it is stated for, portable, many good features
What's not so great: hose setup is bulky, it is difficult to move, hose fittings didn't fit our walkout door without modification
We use the Danby AC to cool off our kitchen and dining room (two large sized rooms) and it does ok. We have to vent the hoses out of our walkout on our deck and found that the adjustable door slider kit had to be cut with a saw to fit our walkout door opening. Once we got the slider kit to fit, then we were able to use the air conditioner. The hoses could be more flexible and longer to make it easier for set up. Also, sometimes in the evening, we need the Danby to cool down our bedroom and so we attach the slider kit to our window and the Danby does a good job of cooling down the room. Again, the hoses could be longer and more flexible but the Danby does the job once it is set up. Overall, we feel that it was a good purchase. It is better than sleeping in an 85 degree house with high humidity at night.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

So far, Very Happy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: scorcher
from Chicago
on 06/21/2008
What's great about it: nice design,cool air, water tank never needed to be emptied.
What's not so great: Make sure windows are at least 26" wide or you will have to cut metal plate for hoses
After using this unit for 4 weeks now I am very happy with it. For the price I think it is a good value. The worst I can say about it is the fan is a little noisy but it is a (white noise) and probably wont disturb your sleep.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

Stopped working after two weeks

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: PaulCD
from Delaware
on 06/09/2008
The unit was easy to install and move from room to room, and for the first two weeks it worked very well. It would cool down a room in less than ten minutes. Then one day it practically stopped cooling. It runs 24 hours/day and the room temperature is barely tolerable. I am exchanging it for a different unit, and if that one doesn't work then I am getting my money back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner - Euro Gray

not what i expected!!!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: jackie202
on 06/07/2008
What's great about it: blows cold air, WHEN YOU STAND RIGHT INFRONT OF IT!
What's not so great: everything...
i bought this port a/c the other day and hooked it up. after doing so i tured it on and let it run, and made the room about 76 degrees. then tured it off. then again today at 4 pm, i tured it on, and it sat at 90 degrees fro a while. even tho it had been set for 61 degrees. then it slowly went down. i turned it on at 4 pm...and the lowest it went was to 84 degrees..and finally decided im done with it at 8pm. i called bestbuy and the guy said to bring it back, that it sounds like theres something wrong with it. the only way you feel anything is when you walk right infront of it. i didnt spend 400 bucks for a defected item. im going back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>