Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Model: HWF05XC7-2
SKU: 8635765
UPC: 688057346571
Beat the heat with this air conditioner that features an easy-to-install mounting kit and Ultra-Quiet operation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
74% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
17 out of 23
)
Customer Reviews for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White
Review 1 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

haier 5200 btu window unit

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: waitwut
from texas
on 09/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: took me 15 minutes to set up, great value, uses little electricity
What's not so great: some units make an awdul noise....but mine doesnt!
i got this window unit because my bedroom is enormous (20x15, 12' ceilings) and i only have one main ac vent going into it, so it was extremely warm all the time, even with the central ac running all the time. i got this on sale, hoping to cool the room a little bit. in the middle of texas heat it keeps my room at a comfy 78 degrees. a little warm for some, but just perfect for me. i run it around 20 hrs a day, and our electric bill for 2 weeks (new apt) was $30 for a 1200sq. ft. apt at 11 cents per kwh. it works very well! blows cold air all the time even in the 105 degree texas heat. a tip for those who have the noise problem...try tilting the unit forward just a little bit. this shouldnt affect the drainage, and may solve the noise problem....it could keep a smaller room cool very, very well for a very small price. get one!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Works well, costs little

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Fairfax, VA
on 08/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: small but powerful enough
What's not so great: has very basic features
This unit is installed in a 13' X 13' corner bedroom with south and west facing walls, and it has more cooling power than is needed. Even when the outside temperature was in the 90's, with the cool/warm knob at half position it kept the bedroom temperature at 72 without a problem.
According to the user guide, this air conditioner traps condensation and uses it to cool the pump motor. You can hear unusual noises, which I suppose is the noise of water splashing or sloshing, but it really isn't objectionable. Some users have complained of leaks to the inside, water or ice coming from interior vents. We've experienced none of that. It is critical that the unit be mounted with a slight amount of slope toward the outside of the house, and this may be what is wrong in their installations.
This unit has only basic features: on/off, low/high fan speed, and temperature control. The cooled air comes out of the front top at a shallow angle with a side to side adjustment, no up/down adjustment. There is no choice of drawing air from the outside, nor of any venting. However, the filter is easy to get to.
Overall, I score this as a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

replacement air conditioner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: galvatron
from Cincinnati,ohio
on 07/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: quiet than the piece of junk from sears
What's not so great: nothing yet
i bought this replacing the piece of garabge from sears.. the one from sears
the fan broke and the tech didn't know how to fix it, went to best buy
picked up this little unit puts out cold air
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Great Buy for $100 bucks!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GinaMommy
from Minnesota
on 06/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Price!
What's not so great: Sometimes takes a while to warm up...er, i mean 'cool down'
Great value for the price... $100 bucks for a unit that cools my entire 1 bedroom apartment. The humidity in MN is terrible (for me anyway)....and i just HAD to get an air conditioner...CHEAP! It works great, its does make a small splooshing noise, but nothing awful.. I would definatly reccomend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

good unit if you modify

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: evin
from Panama City, FL
on 06/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: cheap!
What's not so great: watery noises and ice
Yes this unit makes some noise and yes it has some issues with water and ice, but who went to the store and said " the cheapest one is the best product to get" NO, its the cheapest one to get. so stop whining and do something about it. as for the noise, the front filter cover panel has push in/out tabs to hold it in. Place some felt pads on the unit by the tab inlet with the panel open then close onto them. NO MORE NOISE, ITs Amazing (oooohhh). Now as for the drainage and ice issues. the unit doesn't drain very well due to a high pan lip in the back of the unit. Take the unit out and drill two small holes into the lower lip of the back panel on both bottom corners. this will allow the water to drain out and make the unit work more efficiently as well as prevent freeze up by keeping the condenser coil out of the water at the base of the pan. Besides the minor flaws, this is a great unit, the engineers just should have spent some more time with research and development
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

very noisy

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: lucyblue
from asheville, nc
on 05/23/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: easy to install and operate
What's not so great: not at all quiet as advertized
i should have read these reviews rather than taking the word of the company who makes it - this is NOT a quiet machine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Buy It Now

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Genaro
from Los Angeles, CA
on 04/22/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It cools very quickly and the noise isn't too bad
What's not so great: it may freeze up on you if you put it on low
I bought this air conditioner last summer and It kept me cool all summer and It will keep me cool this summer as well. Excellent product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Not the best buy ever!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: lostangelbearsr
from Happy (Bulleyville) , Tx
on 09/17/2008
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Small, should fit any window, very easily installed
What's not so great: Air circulates very slowly, can freeze up if turned to low, vents barely adjustable.
When I saw this a/c unit, I thought the air came out the front and the front panel would be adjustable, This is not the case the air comes out the top! Yeah almost straight up and the vent is only adjustable from left to right and right to left there is not up and down adjustmnt! My family and I are not happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Recommend Highly

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ratejr
from Houston, TX
on 09/10/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cools real nice.
What's not so great: No problem easy install.
Is a very good price for a quality product. Those are the things knowledgeable consumers look for. Cools a average size room like a 10' by 10' .
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

wonderful purchase

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ermljss
from Orlando, FL
on 08/14/2008
What's great about it: cools very quickly
What's not so great: none
I bought this unit not expecting it to work very well, however, the unit cools my room very quickly. The noise is not bad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Dont by this A/C

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: doughboy23
on 08/09/2008
What's great about it: Light weight
What's not so great: Loud
I bought this for my rm and it cooled it great took a lil while but it was good but it was loud. When it cooled down it spit water out the vents , if it was to cold it spit ice out the vents. After 5 hours it stopped cooling the room. I had to keep it on high to keep rm cooled. Do your self a favor spend the extra money and get a decent one. I bought the 5,000 btu Frigidaire in replace for 129.99 still not a good ivesment...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

great for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: esined
from rhode island
on 07/25/2008
What's great about it: keeps me cool
What's not so great: none
didnt expect much for the price but was suprised how well this air conditioner worked
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Not Bad for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: techpal
on 07/25/2008
I picked one of these up on sale yesterday morning. The current temperature where I live is 87 degrees Fahrenheit at the moment with 40% humidity. My apartment is a small 3 room unit (400 square feet). I'm saying all this because this little unit has my entire apartment cooled down to about 69 degrees Fahrenheit constant and very comfortable. For the money it is a great deal. The noise from this unit is tolerable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Perfect!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pjopie
from MA
on 07/21/2008
What's great about it: Quiet!!! Cools room fast.
What's not so great: None
Had this for a month now and can't beleive how quiet it is. I don't understand all the other cons for this unit being noisy, not at all!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Terrible!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Reebs
from CT
on 07/19/2008
What's great about it: None
What's not so great: Doesn't cool, noisy
We were looking for a small AC for a 100 sq. ft. room. This unit was the least expensive, and I can see why. It is incredibly loud and, after running for a full day, was not cooling the room AT ALL (even with the door closed). We're going back for a better unit.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

very disappointed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: pinaypie
on 07/10/2008
What's great about it: great price compared to the competition
What's not so great: too noisey, did not cool down the room.
I bought this AC thinking it was such a great purchase for the price. My son's room was about 120sq. ft. so the unit should've cool down the room in no time. After about an hour of the AC running, the room was not cooled and the room smelled like overly used batteries. I then turned the AC off for a good 15 minutes before giving it a second chance. The second time around, it gave a little more cool, but still had the noise and the smell to it. Unfortunately, running it overnight on max cool with the fan speed on high did not change a thing. Maybe I got the only broken unit out there. I returned it the next day and got a Frigidaire instead.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

A Good Purchase, overall

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Lelio
on 06/21/2008
What's great about it: Cheap & Cools the room as promised...and quickly!!!
What's not so great: The noise
Just bought this AC system (while on sale) and the price is highly competitive versus all others. This is also the first time I purchase this sort of house appliance.
Installation took about 15 minutes and is a no brainer.
Now the moment of truth: Lets switch it on.
The first thing you will notice is the noise it makes. Yes, it is a bit loud. Yes, you might get a tid bit annoyed by it. Don't expect you can go to sleep with this baby working (unless you wear ear plugs).
The second observation is in regards to it's cooling power. I installed it in a 12X14 room with windows and doors shut and was impressed at how fast it cools off the room. It takes about 45 minutes to an hour, depending on your settings (I'd recommend max. for the 45 min. benchmark).
Third and last note. After 45 minutes, it accumulates humidity off the air and the fan starts making a small splashing noise.
Overall, I'm satisfied with the purchase. It's cheap and delivers fast results. If you don't mind some noise, this is a good product for its value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

HEATWAVE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HOOPKing
from New York, NY
on 06/11/2008
What's great about it: Cool of a room very quickly- bbbrrrrrrrrrrr
What's not so great: A little noise but great price!!!!!!!!!!
I brought 3 of these for my childrens bedrooms. It cooled of the rooms fairly quickly especially during the heatwave we recently experienced.
We had to turn it down at night. The noise was very subtle for an AC at this price. I am thinking about getting a larger model for our family room.
It was just what I expected at this prices. Don't expect a super quiet AC for less than 200 dollars. The noise will not keep you up at night or is that disruptive.
KEEP COOL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Great Air Conditoner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: oldhouse100
from Bridgeton, NJ
on 06/09/2008
What's great about it: Cools down huge rooms fast
What's not so great: None
I bought one at 5000 BTU's two years ago which I still have and it works great. But I wanted one for my family-room and it works great. The cord it long which I really needed and it cools down my family-room in about one hour(this is a 18x14 room).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Haier - 5,200 BTU Window Air Conditioner - White

Not Great

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Nikola
from New Jersey
on 06/09/2008
What's great about it: Cooled off the room
What's not so great: Broke within hours
It cooled off a rather large room quickly, albeit noisily, but within an hour, something sounded like it broke, and then made rattleing noises non-stop. Will be returning it today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>