Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Model: PL-6302
SKU: 8648216
UPC: 708056063023
This lighted, wired controller for PlayStation 3 lets you perform your best during crucial gaming moments. Precision controls provide accurate, pinpoint movement that helps you succeed whenever the going gets tough. This controller features a lighted housing that illuminates nighttime gameplay and looks beautiful.
Average Customer Rating:
3.722 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
67% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 18
)
Customer Reviews for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3
Review 1 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Fun Controller

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MeQwnB
from San Diego, Ca.
on 01/20/2013
What's great about it: Lights up cool colors!
What's not so great: Not great to use with ALL games!
My son loves these cuz he's a color kid & likes that they light up cool colors. But he has mentioned to me that they are not good to use with ALL of his video games. Something to do with the knob features or something. Not sure which games he prefers to NOT use them to play tho. Sorry!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Great gaming

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bigjosepi
from 91017
on 09/07/2012
What's great about it: Button layout
Ive seen reviews complaining about button layout but if you go to the creators of these controllers website you'll find out that these are meant for hardcore gamers why do you think most gaming is held on xbox because of the button layout don't get me wrong I love ps3 more then xbox but overall these controllers are super good my kill death ratio is even more epic cause of the button layout :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Perfect for small hands

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: chrissi003
from Chicago
on 01/18/2012
What's great about it: Compact, great for kids
What's not so great: Reversed button layout, not wireless
I got 2 of these for my boyfriends 2 sons who are 6 and 9 years old for Christmas. Upon opening, one of the controllers we found didn't work. So after exchanging for another, the boys are pretty happy with them. The lights are pretty cool and the controllers are much easier for them to manipulate than the larger ones that come standard with the PS3. The only drawback is that the button layout is different so when they switch back to the regular controls it may be confusing. And it would be so much better if they were wireless! But for the money, not a bad deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Great controller for a while

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: YeMaGo
on 09/11/2011
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Durability
Bought this as a back-up controller since my sister took the Sony controller. It only lasted about 3 months. After that the parts of the controller started falling apart.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Game of the Year Edition Greatest Hits - PlayStation 3
4.7 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

It's ok

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TrentKinsey
from New Orleans
on 07/20/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
It's alright but it hurts my eyes at time so I don't use it too often.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Awesome controller

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheDudester
from Miami, FL
on 02/28/2011
What's great about it: Its durable, and feels solid. button/joystick layout is just like the 360. It has a great feel and weight to it
What's not so great: No Sixaxis
I love this controller. Its a must have for PS3 owners, especially for shooters. I bought this for killzone 2 and 3, and it plays so much better than the official sony dualshock, and thats due to the fact that the d-pad and joystick are reversed, so its similar to the 360 controller, which makes shooters much more enjoyable, and easier to play. I never bought a shooter for the ps3 (except killzone) because the sony dualshock made it difficult to play. But with this controller, shooters on ps3 are now much more fun! Its a Great controller! A must buy for all ps3 owners! Can't beat the price! 30 bucks! WOW! The only downside is that there's no sixaxis
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

They Glow when you play!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: InLove0607
from Naples, FL
on 01/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: They Glow Blue
What's not so great: Cable could be longer, only about 5 feet long
Needed a second controller for my new console. Since these were 1/2 the price of the PlayStation ones I decided to give them a try. The cable for it is only about 5 feet long, but other than that I have no complaints about it. They come in several colors and glow when they are turned on. Have not had a problem with them. Even went back and bought a second one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Great controller for low price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PS3Player53
from Romeoville,IL
on 01/20/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great price
What's not so great: Wired
Grea colors, worth the price, and high availability,
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Great for small hands

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from San Jose, CA
on 01/15/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great for small hands
What's not so great: Controls are slightly out of order from regular controller
I had to buy a wired controller when the wireless connection stopped working on my PS3. This was the only option under $30. Though the price is a little steep for the quality, the controller works pretty good and I ended up liking it well enough because it's so small and fit my hands. My husband, who has large hands didn't like it a bit and felt like it he kept hitting the wrong buttons (at least that's what reason he gave for not doing well in his game!). The lights are fun but can get distracting; the good news is you can turn them off. The vibration is pretty strong too. Scared me the first time I used it. A decent controller overall.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Cool look but misplaced buttons

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Pasetbo
from Tampa, FL
on 01/14/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Comfort
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Why in the world would you make an aftermarket Playstation controller and switch the position of the buttons and joystick on the left side of the device.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-23points
1out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

do yourself a favor and buy dualshock only

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: thelounge
from Gwinnett GA
on 08/24/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Comfort
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: looks cool
What's not so great: VERY short life span
DO NOT BUY AFTERMARKET CONTROLLERS. i have made this mistake many times over the years buying controller after controller. i just assumed that all controllers were like that. I was wrong. though aftermarket controllers may look appealing and usually have lower prices , they are mediocre compared to dualshock. dualshocks last longer and are more durable. it almost seems that the off brands are made to fail as i have a pile of broken aftermarket controllers at home. even if you do not abuse them, they will fail. Although dualshock controllers are more expensive, you will be doing yourself a favor by saving money in the long run.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
12out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

50/50

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: seth1989
from Lincoln, NE
on 04/24/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: fits great in hand, don't have to worry about always recharging, r2,l2 triggers are nice.
What's not so great: wierd handling on fps game (CoD modernwarfare 2)..lights a little too bright
Bought this controller due to the low price compared to the dualshock controller for the ps3.. when i first used this controller online with my custom sensativity (7) it felt as if it was way too fast.. moved the aimer analog just a little bit and crosshairs move alot..had it for a day or so now and i'm still not use to using it.. the good parts.. the r2/l2 trigger location is nice.. allows you to use both index, and middle fingers while having a good grip on the controller.. don't have to worry about the controller dying when you're in a game.. the light is nice for playing in a dark area / at night time. I'de have to say not for the fact my brother keeps breaking all the dual shock controllers i've bought (3).. I'de probably go with another one of those..atleast right now.. who knows maybe later on when i get used to the controller i may change my mind.. but right now im wishing i would've just bought the dual-shock.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Great Value, no rumble or motion sensing

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ZapCom
from Decatur, IL
on 02/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cheaper than Dual Shock, PC compatible, Lights are nice, Comfortable triggers
What's not so great: No rumble, no motion sensing, wired connection
I bought this because I wanted a controller I could quickly plug in on any PS3 and navigate the console's basic functions. This controller does that and more. I like the feel and it is more comfortable in you hands than the Dual Shock 3 and significantly lighter. The lack of motion control does make it not compatible with motion intensive games, but it is nice for the games that don't require motion. It is also PC compatible and even has the capability to map functions to the PS button. Overall, I feel like I got more than my money's worth from this unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Pretty darn good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Scottb30488
from Maryland
on 12/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It is a great Bargain I use it constantly with no problems
What's not so great: The buttons are slightly different than your traditional controller
The controller is a great deal. The R2 and L2 buttons are slightly futher back and square, triangle,X and circle buttons are smaller but are easy to get used too. Overall Its a good controller It might take you a hour or two of game play to get used to but its worth the money I would recommend it. I bought the blue glowing controller I have to say it is very very bright.
Looks cool too
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cisco831
from u dont care, Ca
on 03/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It fits in your hand comfortably, it doesnt run out of battery also it looks great
What's not so great: wired, no rumble action
This controller fots confortabli in your hand and it responses to your actons rapidly and accurately also the button adjustment is great also because they feel confortably to your fingers the down side is that its wired and it has no rumble action
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

This is a decent controller, despite other reviews

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: aArOnReZa
on 12/21/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Kids LOVE it, durable, inexpensive
What's not so great: Short cord, R2 and L2 buttons are in different location than "Sony" brand controllers
This is a decent controller, take other reviews with a grain of salt. I bought this so my 4 and 5 year old nephews could use it when they came over. I thought that they would fight over the cordless Dualshock controller; boy was I wrong. They fight over this Pelican "light up" controller even though it has a cord. The cord is a bit short, but I put some USB extensions that came with a couple of flash drives on there and it works perfectly. They don't mind the cord at all.
Although this will force itself in the controller 1 position if connected when the PS3 is turned on, you can avoid this by plugging it in after you turn on the PS3. With the latest version of PS3 you can always change the controller positions anyway, so this isn't a major problem. Another thing that takes a bit of getting used to is the R2 and the L2 buttons, they are a different style than the Sony branded controllers, but this is a very minor problem.
Overall this is a great purchase and I think that the buttons may even be more sturdy than the Sony Dualshock controller that costs $55. For 25 bucks you can't beat this controller. I plan to buy another one as soon as I can find one with blue lights.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Not Happy

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Brent021
from Moore, Oklahaoma
on 07/08/2008
What's great about it: Lights up
What's not so great: Not for all games
Does not work for all play station games like it says it does. It is alittle bulky also. Took it back and got the real controlerfor the PS3.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pelican Accessories - Afterglow Pro Controller for PlayStation 3

Not exactly as advertised

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: PS34Me
on 02/19/2008
What's great about it: Well made, good feel, lighted controller
What's not so great: No SIXAXIS or rumble
I bought this controller for my PS3 because the description on the website said it had rumble. When the controller arrived I found out it did not support SIXAXIS or rumble as there are no motors in it for the rumble.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.