Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Model: SRFM37W
SKU: 8692471
UPC: 027242733572
Jam to your favorite AM/FM radio stations and get current weather updates with this portable digital AM/FM radio that features 20 AM/FM station presets and weather band reception.
Average Customer Rating:
4.377 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(212 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 212 reviews
5 stars
125
4 stars
60
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
5
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
195 out of 212
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 147 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black
Review 1 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

better then insignia

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: gala12
from Santa Cruz, CA
on 07/31/2015
First I bought Insignia radio for my daughter, who is in the mountains right now with no internet. It was insufficient amount of channels for her, so I bought that one. She said it is getting more channels and reception is better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2842927309
My Best Buy number: 2842927309
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

nice portable radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mpgreen
on 07/31/2015
My wife is legally blind. Some ballparks provide "radios" with the team feed inside the park. Most don't so she needs a good portable radio to listen to the game to help her understand what she sees.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3452135429
My Best Buy number: 3452135429
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Provides entertainent while working or running.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Richie
on 07/28/2015
Have purchased Sony products for a long time. I find them to last. This radio is a replacement for a Sony product which is now 15 years old...a Walkman.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0786857508
My Best Buy number: 0786857508
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Very Nice Radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheProfessor
on 07/25/2015
A great portable radio at a very reasonable price. Quality is very high. I have been very happy with the performance of the radio.
Would recommend to everyone searching for portable AM/FM radio.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2221976638
My Best Buy number: 2221976638
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Excellent product!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bigtimelucky
on 07/24/2015
Could not have asked for better for what I was looking for!
The quality and size were exactly what I was looking for. An excellent price for a Sony product!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 3479595978
My Best Buy number: 3479595978
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Great radio for finding stations in the dark

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Pussycat
on 07/24/2015
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
It's not easy to find walkman-type radios these days, and most that I've found do not satisfy my desire to have a radio that I can tune to stations without looking. I have another little radio that I bought a year or two ago (also from Best Buy) and I've used it only a few times because it was difficult to program and you have to look at it to find the station you want. This more recently purchased Sony walkman is much easier to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2124993237
My Best Buy number: 2124993237
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

great workout radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: randy2
on 07/24/2015
all the main point are served, memory for station sets and hold switch, etc,etc
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2939308837
My Best Buy number: 2939308837
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Husband loves this radio! Perfect!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tarabrooke
on 07/24/2015
My husband loves this radio. It is perfec! Thanks!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0584961575
My Best Buy number: 0584961575
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

better that any other radio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mila
on 07/23/2015
It was a gift. I was told that it has a better reception that Insignia that I sent before. Seems like it popular between patients who has no access to internet and does not too many choices, but listen to radio.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2842927309
My Best Buy number: 2842927309
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

clips to my belt during workouts and yard work

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Peter
on 07/23/2015
I prefer listening to the radio when working out or doing yard work, this portable radio gives good quality and I can take it with no matter what I'm doing, clipped to my belt.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0107903464
My Best Buy number: 0107903464
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Disappointed

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: walker
on 07/19/2015
Best Buy price was great - $5 under Amazon plus free shipping.
I like having presets.
Overall disappointed. I live about 3/4mi from a radio station transmitter, both AM & FM. This radio cannot discriminate so that about half of my stations are blocked out. Local/dx switch does little good. When walking, I have to hold the radio and turn toward AM stations. My prior pocket radio was not like this, but broke recently.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 3478699776
By SonyListens07/21/2015
Hi walker, we always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. Please visit the link below for the steps to troubleshoot your issue:
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/42728/c/65,66/p/57784,60499,60504/. Dave Sonystyle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

What I was needing for a long while

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: donnie
on 07/18/2015
Needed a good radio to listen to while working. It needed to have good reception as I work in a cinderblock and brick building where stations come in very weak, if at all. This Walkman has the best reception of the many I have used in the past. I am very pleased so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2963122218
My Best Buy number: 2963122218
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

excellent quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: queen
on 07/18/2015
I bought this for my son and he is enjoying it. Has good quality sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2839367620
My Best Buy number: 2839367620
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Good radio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mongo
from Blaine
on 07/18/2015
The radio works good but I have not heard a weather report on it. Don't rely on it for a bad weather sensor. It could be smaller and lighter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0555428946
My Best Buy number: 0555428946
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Worth the extra money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: plk3
on 07/18/2015
This is a good radio for it's size. i bought it as a gift for a hiker who enjoys it on the trail. It has a weather channel. It is compact and not too heavy. However, it comes with bulky headphones . I purchased small headphones to use with it instead.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2993374472
My Best Buy number: 2993374472
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Great for outside doing yard work.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Snuffy
on 07/16/2015
Can't go wrong with this model.this is my 2nd one.I have had my first one for 10 yes.the on button is going bad.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2282623038
My Best Buy number: 2282623038
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

pre set channels work well

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tribune63
on 07/15/2015
radio is small and easy to carry. pre set is great to use.sometimes you have to turn the radio in different directions to pick up the signal
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2160077441
My Best Buy number: 2160077441
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Disappointed in Engineering and Quality Control

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: UncleDoug
on 07/09/2015
For I wanted to do the design is Great but was really disappointed in the engineering and quality control from Sony.
This is my 4th try, with all the tuner will show overmodulating across several frequencies for the close stations and the same for several transponders that have cropt up in the area. It is near impossible now to listen to FM stations over 30 miles. AM what I expected a lot better out doors than inside.
The Weather band transponder is less than 17 miles from me and to hear it, I have to turn the volume up over 1/2 way and it is a 1000 watts.
The tuner + - changes but only the same transponder comes thru even though there is another about 65 miles. The FM reception is probably the same for the weather.
The biggest disappointment was the cost to operate the 3rd radio..I listen an average of 2-6 hours a day.
I would expect a battery in a radio to last 2-3 months. In the 3rd radio store brand batteries lasted 4-5 days, tried rechargeable and they lasted 5 hours. Bought the best batteries Engergizer Lithium (20 yrs unopened and 9 times the operating life of the regular alkaline battery). This time the battery lasted 10 days. At a cost of $10.99 for 4 batteries, that radio will cost me over $100 a year to use.
Hope this 4th try the batteries will last longer, IF Not this radio is going back and I will be taking the Best Buy Card.
Sony needs to improve battery life, tuner seperation and AM and FM reception, add a plug for both the home and and auto.
IF they are able to resolve the battery life problem, then for good measure add an mp3 player to it.
The mp3 players with AM/FM radio look TOO Fragile compared to this radio.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
By SonyListens07/09/2015
Hi UncleDoug, We regret to hear that this unit failed to meet your expectations. We will be forwarding your concern to the proper department and take note of that for future improvements of our products. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for sharing us your review. - Jerome Sonystyle
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Fathers Day Gift

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Noles
on 07/08/2015
Got my dad this radio for a fathers day gift. he loves it and says that it works great. Price was the best I could find anywhere in town.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0960246043
My Best Buy number: 0960246043
By SonyListens07/08/2015
That's great Noles! You chose the best for your dad. We are glad he loves it and it works great for him. Thank you for trusting Sony! - Vincent Sonystyle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band - Black

Best portable on market

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mylittlegiant
on 07/07/2015
I have used the Sony Portable radio for the last ten years and when my grandson wanted the original one I had I purchased another one. I thought I'd try a different portable but returned it because of the inferior performance. I found that the Sony portable had much better and clearer reception even in the most difficult reception conditions, it has performed better than my bigger radio devices.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0100257298
My Best Buy number: 0100257298
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>