Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Model: SRFM37W
SKU: 8692471
UPC: 027242733572
Jam to your favorite AM/FM radio stations and get current weather updates with this portable digital AM/FM radio that features 20 AM/FM station presets and weather band reception.
Average Customer Rating:
4.435 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 46 reviews
5 stars
30
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
93% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
43 out of 46
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band
Review 1 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great for When Electricity Goes Off

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MCGal
from Seattle area
on 04/12/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Compact, easy to carry
What's not so great: Nothing
I bought this radio because it has the weather band, provides both AM and FM stations, and a way to get the news when the electricity goes out. I plan on taking it to Hawaii in the event of a tsunami warning.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1037822061
My Best Buy number: 1037822061
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Love the ease of selecting all my radio stations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Peanut
from Orland Park, IL
on 04/07/2014
What's great about it: Size just right, cost great
Being a senior who walks a lot this style phone was just the right size for my pocket. It's was also easy to set the many radio stations I like. Such progess for such a small radio.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2952492940
My Best Buy number: 2952492940
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Good radio, good value

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: F1racedriver
from Charlotte, NC
on 04/05/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cost, Headphones
Awesome little radio with good headphones. Easy to program & use. Very versatile.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2090748886
My Best Buy number: 2090748886
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Solid Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather B

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ADPE
from il
on 04/04/2014
What's great about it: everything
This is a very nice radio and has excellent reception. The instructions tell the technical reason why the reception is so good. Sure makes a difference. Use it all the time in the gym. It is also easy to operate. I purchased a cheaper radio before I bought this unit and took it back for the Sony. I am glad I did that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0062570640
My Best Buy number: 0062570640
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great portable radio and weather radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Louisthedad
from Rochester,Mn
on 04/04/2014
What's great about it: Portable easy to tune
What's not so great: The headphones are the old style so I usually replace within a week
I have bought many of these over the years but it would to great if they had better headphones .
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0766833447
My Best Buy number: 0766833447
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

I've bought 3-they must be good.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PD6464
from Palatine IL
on 03/30/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's just a simple light-weight radio.
What's not so great: The clip will break off-if you are not real careful.
I really like this radio-it's simple am-fm radio and that's
it. The reception is pretty good and I like that you can lock in
radio stations with preset buttons.
I do wish it had ear-buds instead of headphones.
The headphones are kinda bulky-but they sound good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 1027664930
My Best Buy number: 1027664930
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Nice radio for working out.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: panthers77
from Grand Ledge,Mi.
on 03/22/2014
What's great about it: Uses only one A battery.
What's not so great: It's all good.
You can preset 20 stations. There is also a clock. Great for walking and listening to the news instead of all music on your iPod.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0417881681
My Best Buy number: 0417881681
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

I use this when walking to listen to talk radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: onejimbob
from Jupiter, FL.
on 03/16/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound quality
What's not so great: Nothing at this time
Clips on easily, good sound, headphones are comfortable
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2001545399
My Best Buy number: 2001545399
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

SMALL SOUNDS GREAT VERY EASY TO USE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SANDYPONDMIKE
from syracuse ny
on 03/07/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
What's not so great: NOTHING
LOOKS COOL SOUNDS GREAT VERY EASY TO SET UP YOU CAN NOT TELL YOU HAVE IT ON . WOULD TELL ALL MY FRIENDS TO GET ONE
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0961381163
My Best Buy number: 0961381163
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great personal use radio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: 10chipper
from Williamsburg, VA
on 02/08/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: AM & FM presets, great reception
What's not so great: weather band reception
Small size makes the radio convenient for use when walking or jogging.
The reception has been very good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2700963463
My Best Buy number: 2700963463
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Nice portable radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TommiArt
from Germantown MD
on 01/18/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fits well in pocket
What's not so great: The AAA battery doesn't last very long
I quite like the size of this radio and the sound is good. The portable radio I had before was larger and didn't fit in an ordinary pocket. But the AAA battery doesn't last as long as the AA in my other radio.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2213970484
My Best Buy number: 2213970484
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great travel am/fm tuner

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: stan051
from Chicago, il
on 01/12/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Portable/small/
The portable tuner has good battery life and can pick up am/fm stations. Ideal for listening to a sports game.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0219443841
My Best Buy number: 0219443841
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Good FM sensitivity/selectivity, stereo separation

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: proghead59
from Austin, TX
on 01/01/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: FM sensitivity, selectivity, stereo separation, battery life, sound quality
What's not so great: No FM MPX stereo indicator beacon (minor omission). Battery door is fragile.
I have owned and used this unit extensively for 6 months now, mostly in the FM Stereo mode. One alkaline AAA Battery lasts at least a week (usually more) despite extended everyday listening. (Could probably get a full month with AAA Lithium). When replacing the battery, the clock and presets remain saved.
I especially appreciate the Lock feature which prevents accidental turn-on/off and accidental station change while I am working.
When traveling between Houston and Austin I can always pick up numerous FM stations, and even going out west to New Mexico recently I was always able to pick up multiple stations for the entire round trip. I use it mostly in DX mode, but the Local mode is handy if you are near an antenna farm; I have not yet tested its strong-signal-overload tolerance, but knowing Sony's history with FM MPX portable reception quality, it is likely good. The unit maintains full stereo separation on all but the weakest of FM signals, which is a priority for me. I can tolerate a little noise in a weak signal area, but I can't stand mono. (I hate receivers with mono auto-blend.)
The belt clip is very functional and very durable, and it is removable if I were to decide to mount the unit to a bike bracket. The front and side panels have coincident clearances so as to allow for a horizontal mounting strap across the front. The headphone jack has kept its strong grip despite heavy outdoor use, never giving me an intermittent connection.
If I were to change anything, it would be to add an icon to the display to confirm when an FM station has its stereo multiplexer turned on. Also, I would move the weather band selector button to another location; sometimes I accidentally hit it, and then I have to re-select the band that I was intending. And a button-triggerable backlight for the display would be handy.
Keep up the good work Sony !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great for workouts! Weather band handy!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Elrod767676
from Louisville KY
on 12/27/2013
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Weather band & great reception!
What's not so great: Nothing!
When a storm knocked my power out I would have had no way of knowing the warnings in my area if not for this gadget. The AM and FM get great reception. It exceeded my expectations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2378378491
My Best Buy number: 2378378491
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Not a bad little radio

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: TAR10
from Missouri
on 11/17/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Compact
What's not so great: Price
Not a bad little radio. I think it's a little overpriced but that's Sony for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0539920237
My Best Buy number: 0539920237
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

BETER THAN EXPECTED

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: REFFDKDLD
from BALTIMORE,MD
on 10/11/2013
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: GREAT BATTEREY LIFE
What's not so great: NOT MUCH
good product , serves me well, purchased other products similar that did not compare favorably to this, very satisfyied
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2699484734
My Best Buy number: 2699484734
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

My wife uses them at the gym

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Taskforce
from Simi Valley, CA
on 10/04/2013
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: sound
What's not so great: display could be larger, easier to read
My wife uses the radio at the gym to listen to T.V. stations. Sound is good. Sony makes good products
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2206954569
My Best Buy number: 2206954569
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

very good portable radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bunkin
on 09/20/2013
bought this radio to use at the drive in movies. worked great. plan on buying three more for the family to use the next time we go.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Fits all of my needs, great radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bobtailr
from Lakeside, CA
on 09/08/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy digital use
I purchased this radio primarily because of the digital design and not having to fidget with a dial. Great reception, very compact and sounds great. Love the added feature of weather receptions also. Great bang for your buck
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2210584011
My Best Buy number: 2210584011
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great buy!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Countrygal25
from Central PA
on 08/30/2013
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, only takes 1 AAA battery! Local stations are CLEAR!
What's not so great: Non local stations are very fuzzy
I bought this for my husband who works outside in noise. He's always said his time would go faster if he at least had some music to listen to. I found this and bought it and he was realllly happy about it. He is very judgemental and hesitates to say anything is really good but he did say this about this Sony portable radio! He uses his ear bud from his phone and can still work outside and hear other talk. GREAT investment!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>