Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Model: SRFM37W
SKU: 8692471
UPC: 027242733572
Jam to your favorite AM/FM radio stations and get current weather updates with this portable digital AM/FM radio that features 20 AM/FM station presets and weather band reception.
Average Customer Rating:
4.382 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 76 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
70 out of 76
)
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 81 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band
Review 1 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

This is a very good basic Am/FM radio.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GEarnieA
from Phoenix, AZ
on 08/15/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's one of the few carryall radios that provide AM/FM/weather
What's not so great: Reception can be a bit substandard, especially FM
As noted above, this is a good basic portable. It is one of the few small units that carry AM/FM/Weather. My wife uses it to listen to ball games in locations where the AM signal is better than the FM station.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2872322020
My Best Buy number: 2872322020
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Good for walking

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Billy
from Illinois
on 08/15/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Small
What's not so great: Poor reception
Small. Good for walks.Poor reception. Good channel settings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2648927879
My Best Buy number: 2648927879
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great for using while working outdoors/garage.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GuyLee
from San Antonio, TX
on 08/11/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Small and light weight
What's not so great: None
I have used Sony Walkmans for years and own three now. One on the deck, one in the garage, and one in the home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2147564926
My Best Buy number: 2147564926
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Easy to use, great quality, portable!! Perfect!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bianca
from Omaha Nebraska
on 08/06/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
What's great about it: Portable, lightweight easy to use. Can lock to desire station.
What's not so great: nothing
I needed a portable radio for walking and most of all for dental surgery to relax myself. I have anxiety and it helps me clear my mind. It's perfect! Light weight!! I love how you can lock it to the radio station you want it to stay on with ease.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0027602331
My Best Buy number: 0027602331
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great compact product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: computerguy
from Denver CO
on 07/31/2014
  • Verified Purchaser
  • My Best Buy™ Elite Plus Member
Love this radio. it is hard to find a good small AM FM radio and this fits the bill
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0600335687
My Best Buy number: 0600335687
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great for listen music on the go!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Akela03
from Denver, CO
on 07/30/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Small and good reception
What's not so great: Small screen
It is good, portable and can have it in the pocket!
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2112543437
My Best Buy number: 2112543437
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Good little Radio

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TheJudge
from Winthrop Harbor, IL
on 07/19/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Preset stations, ease of tuning
What's not so great: headset is uncomfortable, FM reception sensitive to headset wire orientation
This replaces an older unit of about the same size and weight but now with only a single battery (progress). Since it has no speaker, I'm surprised that Sony has not reduced the size and weight over the years, but I guess that shows that this type of product is a low priority for Sony and other suppliers. Still, it's a pretty good unit, especially in strong signal ares.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2102946439
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Not really a portable radio - It's a Walkman

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GrandmaSally
from San Gabriel, CA
on 07/12/2014
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Reception seemed fine
What's not so great: It's NOT a radio it's a Walkman
I searched for an am/fm "portable radio" with presets. This has all that BUT nowhere did it say it's a Walkman. Guess I should have figured it out when I saw the size. Opened the box (that was a challenge) and nope no speakers MUST USE headset. Not what I needed. So I will have to return this, too bad, if I'd wanted a Walkman it probably would have been a good buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

This device exceeded my expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: farmerjoe
from California
on 07/04/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: reception is consistently good
What's not so great: So far nothing
This handy little device is Sony quality-- very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2402913674
My Best Buy number: 2402913674
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Purchase was just what I wanted

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Motherly
from Charlotte, NC
on 06/27/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Can't think of a thing
Walkman suits my need. Very functional. Sony may want to upgrade the headset to newer models or ear phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0576681399
My Best Buy number: 0576681399
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Durable but bad reception

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Jose
from Houston, TX
on 06/27/2014
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: It's hard rugged case is great.
What's not so great: The FM reception was horrible.
The grey and hard plastic was great. It gave the device a good feeling of durability. However, the FM reception for a locally transmitted broadcast was not great. Other wide range transmissions were fine but not the local one that I needed to hear. Other devices around me worked fine.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 0047332751
Mobile Submission: True
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

This is my 3rd walkman

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lynda
from Marysville, Mi
on 06/19/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: programed ststions & digital
I have 3 Walkman, 1 in Vegas and 1 new one here which I replaced
because the battery cover would no longer stay on. I like it because it is digital stations and I can program my favorite stations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2951565478
My Best Buy number: 2951565478
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Love this radio.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nick
from San Jose, Ca
on 06/16/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very good price. Small, easy to use, great reception, good sound and the headphones DO fit nicely.
What's not so great: Nothing. It exceeds my expectations.
I was looking for something small and light to accompany my morning walks. This radio is just what I needed. It has very good reception and pulls in most stations in the area. It fastens easily to a pocket flap and has a "lock" button to avoid inadvertent tuning adjustments. My exercise has become more enjoyable listening to Rush!
Nick
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0907993108
My Best Buy number: 0907993108
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

hard to find but you had just the thing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Patti
from Maryland
on 06/07/2014
What's great about it: just what my husband wanted
What's not so great: n/a
Had one just like it years agao and wanted to replace it., Was surprised that they still had them in the stores.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0397911095
My Best Buy number: 0397911095
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

awesome audio device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: seeker
from Cleveland OH
on 06/06/2014
What's great about it: I can hear it even over the lawnmower
What's not so great: bending over sometimes changes settings
Thesound is great I can't take it any whereI can mow the lawn without losing anything it fits nicely on my beltthe headphones stay on I love this machine
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2704355448
My Best Buy number: 2704355448
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Great for ballpark

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wwtbilly
from lafayette, la
on 06/06/2014
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellant size for pockets
What's not so great: No longer has TV (went digital I guess)
Great little radio. Has 3 sets of favorites (2 FM 1 AM) with five channels each. Battery seems to last forever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 0302019243
My Best Buy number: 0302019243
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Perfect small, light radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Olaff
from Suburban Chicago
on 05/31/2014
What's great about it: Small size and battery life
What's not so great: headphones
This radio is light and easily fits into my shirt pocket during exercise. The Best Buy price matching made this an excellent purchase but the included headphones were immediately replaced by smaller and lighter ones. I would buy this radio again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2705266095
My Best Buy number: 2705266095
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Disapointing

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Gibbles60
from Milwaukee
on 05/27/2014
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Can listen to ballgames anywhere
What's not so great: no station scanning, no button lock
Bought this to listen to ballgames on AM radio anywhere without dragging an old boom box out. Also has weather radio, but reception is very poor. Does not scan to find stations, so one must push the button repeatedly until station is found and recorded into presets. With no button lock I am constantly bumping buttons and accidentally changing bands or stations just about any time I move if I am wearing it. Not worth the 35 bucks I paid for it. I do however like being able to plug it into any of several portable speaker systems around the house. I have a lot of other Sony products that have never disappointed me, but this one is a loser.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
My Best Buy number: 2179345746
My Best Buy number: 2179345746
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

Purchased This For AM Radio Sports

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MisterBret
from Lomita, CA
on 05/25/2014
What's great about it: Reception On AM Stations
What's not so great: Reception On Some Local FM Stations
I purchased this portable radio because the Dodgers video is blacked out in LA, except for Time Warner, and many smartphone apps block out the audio broadcast. On this radio, I am able to listen to 570AM and I get all the games. The signal on most AM stations is strong and clear. Some local, major FM stations are strong and clear (like KTWV 94.7), but I was surprised that others were not, like 100.3
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2093753009
My Best Buy number: 2093753009
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - Portable Digital AM/FM Radio with Weather Band

great walkman

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: great1
from lake charles, la
on 05/24/2014
it is great for my office to distract from other noises
I would recommend this to a friend!
My Best Buy number: 2122020812
My Best Buy number: 2122020812
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>