Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Model: J6480
SKU: 8702362
UPC: 883585506811
This high-speed printer is able to scan, fax and copy documents quickly and efficiently. Stay connected to your network thanks to both wireless 802.11b/g and Ethernet networking abilities. This model meets our Professional Series criteria Shop all products in our Small Business Center
Average Customer Rating:
4.203 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 74 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
86% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
64 out of 74
)
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax
Review 1 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Very happy after inital install

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jangotat
from Phila PA
on 04/05/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Features & price if you can get it sale.
What's not so great: Large footprint.
I got a new HP Pavillion and was distressed that my old, reliable, and much loved HP PSC 2210 was only driver supported by Vista 64. I'd totally lost all my desktop functions. :( I did a lot of reading and found this was the printer I wanted. I have read many reviews stating the difficultly setting the printer up, toner cost, and being a loud & slow printer. I installed the printer from the CD an hour ago or so ago and it couldn't have been easier. I used the CD and didn't need to do anything else. NOTE: I used the USB connection and not the wireless. Why? I don't believe you can achieve equal print quality compared to USB connection. I think the wireless connection may be the problems users are having. Also, I miss the old software packages from XP. I think they were easier to use & had more useful features. Overall, I happy about my purchase and am hoping for the same reliability of my previous all-in-one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Really fast printer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PJ3673
from Wyoming, MI
on 04/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super fast printing
What's not so great: Noisy
Wow. This printer is super fast. Prints great. I am using the USB cable as I do not have wireless. So, it works great with USB. Also prints great color and has a fairly decent photo editing program. It is very easy to set up comes with pictures to set it up!! :) And, it even COMES WITH THE USB CABLE!! I have never purchased a printer that comes with the cable. That was very convenient. It also comes with the phone cord and adapter.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Outstanding Printer For the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chuck315
from Staten Island, NY
on 03/30/2009
What's great about it: Features and Value for the Price and the Duplex Printing !!
What's not so great: Would be great if the copy process supported two sided originals
I don't usually write these reviews, though I do read others. For this machine I had to respond as I saw so many stating issues with this printer. There were none. Pulled it out of the box, installed the SW, plugged it in and I was printing. Could not have been easier. If folks have issue with the SW my guess is the interface is a tiny bit cluggy in that you need to be careful on the initial screen that you select the connection method you desire. I can see how it would be easy to accidentally select the wrong setting.
The duplex printing is incredible and will cut paper consumption in half. Also, the varied print setting will extend the life of your printer cartridges, also saving money. Also like the automatic feeder for copies, works very much like a more expensive business machine.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Consider yourself warned: Not worth the trouble!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: theballowes
from Bluffton, SC
on 03/22/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Not much unless you can get it to work.
What's not so great: Difficult to set up, broke within a few months
I have never had more trouble with an electronic device in my life! Now I am not a super computer whiz, but I have set up numerous computers and printers at home and at work since 1995. I would have returned this in a heartbeat if my husband hadn't cleaned out the garage and threw out the box! It took me at least 10 hours spread out over several days to get the wireless working. Then after a month or 2, it started printing crooked. I spent forever trying to get tech support - who did somehow get it fixed for the most part. However, it still prints slightly crooked. Then for some reason the printer stopped responding to the wireless. So I again tried to reinstall everythng. I could not get it to work, and folllowed exactly what I did to get it to work the last time. So I gave up and have to hook the laptop up by USB, and print out crooked copies! Also it is very noisy printer. I had read the reviews of others complaining about their problems with it, and thought it would not happen to me. I also thought the problems with installation was because the person was probably computer illiterate or not very bright. Wrong. It just depends on the computer you have at home whether you will have problems. If you don't believe me just google "HP Officejet J6480 cannot connect wireless ." So if you want, you can take a gamble and purchase this printer. I have one word of advice - SAVE THE BOX AND RECEIPT for at least 6 months! Good luck!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

The wireless is not reliable

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: madintn
from Greeneville, TN
on 03/20/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It scans and prints well thru the USB cable
What's not so great: The wireless connection is not reliable.
If you need a good combination machine, this one fits the bill if you want to use hardwired connections. If you want wireless connection, look elsewhere. Don't pay the extra money for the wireless because it does not work well. I have had to uninstall the software & then install it again seveal times to get it back into working order. I wasted another 3 hours on it today that should have been used in my business. To avoid wasting time again with their problem, I re-installed it again with USB only. I hope this contiues to work well for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

So far, so good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: luvdcaps
from Woodbridge, VA
on 03/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Needed an all in one, like HP products
What's not so great: Noisy, a little slow
This is my third HP all in one over a 15 year period. My last one was an Officejet 7310 and the scanner died so I couldn't scan, fax or make copies. Despite the problems I like the way these all in ones work and they are very easy to set up and use.
There are only 2 printer cartridges, which I prefer as well. If you use the fast/economical setting most of the time you'll stretch out the life of your ink usage considerably, but I'd recommend better quality for presentation, documents or correspondence. Being able to print on both sides without flipping over the paper is a big plus. I rarely print photos so that doesn't matter to me.
If you are not used to HP printers they can be quite noisy and this one is a bit slow to print, but for home use it gets the job done. I would not recommend this printer for business use.
What really sealed the deal for me though was that I got it on sale at very, very good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Outstanding Printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WT123
from Richmond, VA
on 03/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Setup, Ease of use
What's not so great: The color ink 75 ink cartridge appears to us a large amount of ink.
I had no problem setting up the printer with both of my desktop computers, one using Windows XP Professional and Vista 64 bit. The wireless set up presented no problems.
I purchased this printer to replace a HP 7960 Photosmart printer which I had used for several years, a Panasonic Fax machine and a HP 5300C Scanner.
I have printed approximately 200, 5X6" photographs, the printer used one 75XL ink cartridge and one 75 ink cartridge to print these photographs. The black 74XL cartridge that I installed at the time of purchase has used less than 1/10 of the ink.
I found that if I wanted to use a SD card in the printer that it was hard to select just a few photographs from the card to print This may be due to using the printer for less than a week. The photographs that I printed were outstanding.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

preliminary caution

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: RodB
from Austin TX
on 02/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: too early to tell, but seems like a full function (but see below) high quality printer at a good price
What's not so great: connectivity, installation software
I had considerable difficulty using the installation software on the CD. I had to download the (roughly) 125MB "new" driver software from the HP site to finally install. Plus it takes a long tome.
Biggest disappointment: despite its listing in the specs, the wireless and the ethernet connections DO NOT WORK with WIN2000.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Ink costs can BREAK the BANK

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: HCKNX
from Knoxville, TN
on 02/25/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Purchase price seemed good, easy set up
What's not so great: Ink cartridge output is incredibly reduced vs. older machines
If we had known how much more ink this unit required, we would have purchased a different machine by a different manufacturer. Have always used HP Inkjets but am now looking to buy something else to save future money. As it is, ink lasts less than 3 weeks....NUTS! And that is with using DRAFT or Fast Draft modes!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Excellent Printer with easy set-up

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bkinkead2
from Noblesville, In
on 02/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set-up with great quality
What's not so great: nothing
This printer was easy to set-up out of the box. I ran the cd and when prompted I hooked it into my network with a network cable. It found it right away, so I ran the CD on my laptop to set it up. It again found it right away, so I had my wife do the same thing. Print quality is excellent and ink cost half as much as I was paying before.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

GREAT 4 in 1! But, what's with the yo-yo pricing?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scrounger
from Sour Lake, Republic of Texas
on 02/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's a 4 in 1 unit and WIRELESS. Great value when the price is at $119.99 US.
What's not so great: Can't find a thing wrong with it. But, the price yo-yos around from reg to bargain.
Very easy to set up and get printing. Printing is very quiet. Two sided printing is dependable. The wireless feature is a great plus. The HP quality comes through in grand style with up front controls and back-light display. The included photo editing software disc works fine but is better suited for the novice user.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Absolutely love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zmaxwell
from Indiana
on 02/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very simple and easy to set up, looks good, not too big, wireless
What's not so great: Nothing thus far
I really love this all-in-one. My uncle and grandfather had bought 2 of HPs previous models (J4580) and asked me to set them up for them. I liked the printers so much I went out to get my own. I had the older model in my cart when I saw this one on sale. $200.00 down to $119.99? Sign me up. It has all the features of the $100 J4580 plus double sided printing and my personal favorite feature, wireless. Prints great, really quick. The auto-feed makes scanning/copying/faxing very easy. On a side-note, if it had not been marked down to just $120, I would have gone with the J4580. Its the same all-in-one without wireless and duel-sided printing. This is the best printer option for the money, no question.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Great buy for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: akafishmn
from Big Lake, MN
on 02/17/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super easy set up, sleek lookig, great price
What's not so great: n/a
This is the best deal out there for a wireless enabled printer. We aren't using this for business or photos - just school work, everday printing, faxing, etc. We have 4 laptops in the house and all can now print easily, without all the extra steps. Easy set up, easy to use - at $120 you could not do better!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Great printer, easy setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Raleigh, NC
on 02/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sleek look, easy to setup wireless connection
What's not so great: Output tray lets paper fall out
This printer installation was one of the easiest I've ever done. The unit has a very sleek professional look. I LOVE the wireless feature. Highly recommend this unit to anyone needing a powerful compact inexpensive unit at home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Great printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NapoleonVA
from VA
on 01/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, great connectivity
What's not so great: Ink cartridge life
It's great being able to print from anywhere in the house. Black ink cartridge life could be better. It comes with a 74 cartridge which is only good for 200 pages. Hopefully the 74XL will have a lot more life in it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

great printer,awesome networking capability

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fastcar1989
on 01/25/2009
What's great about it: features for the price
What's not so great: noise and speed
The printer was easy to install and works great on my network,6 computers
I installed using minimal software (advanced) and a static IP address and it works flawlessly. I setup the scanner,fax,copy and print features in <30 minutes
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

DEAD ON ARRIVAL, NO HELP FROM HP

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KeithInGreenbrier
from Greenbrier, AR
on 01/19/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing since it won't even power up.
What's not so great: It fails to start.
Apparently it is DEAD ON ARRIVAL. It fails to power up at all. I guess I got the sand while everyone else got the pearl...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Top Notch Printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: babbsaroni
from KC, MO
on 12/30/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Prints beautiful
What's not so great: Haven't found anything yet.
You can't go wrong buying the HP J6480 printer. I bought it today and had it connected to my wireless network in less than 30 minutes. My husband and I both have laptops and we just wanted to use one printer and this one foot the bill. It prints, scans and even has a fax. It does a beautiful job of printing very professional. I couldn't be happier. I was skeptical of getting it because of the reviews I read about the trouble with connecting it but decided to try it anyway. Well I am going on 70yrs now and if I can get it up and running in 30 minutes anyone can. By the way I did use the CD that came with the printer. Only advice I can give you is read the directions before installing. HP made me a very happy customer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Breeze to setup

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: copref
from Mesa, AZ
on 12/17/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: very easy to setup
What's not so great: documentation lacking
I am very impressed with this printer. It took me roughly 15-20 minutes to get this installed on my main computer which consisted of waiting for the files to copy from the CD. It has no physical connection to either computer (one wired to the modem with ethernet, the other a wifi laptop) yet it prints instantly as if it were a direct connect. The software instantly located the wireless modem and all I had to do was enter the web id key found on the bottom of the modem. Initially, I tried to print with the laptop and nothing.... Doh!!, I forgot to install the printer on that one as well. I downloaded the correct drivers for it from the web and viola, I was wirelessly printing and faxing from elsewhere in the house. The price was great $149 and the replacement ink is reasonable as well. Very nice product
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Officejet Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

A great solution for the small office

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: IslandJon
from Singer Island Fl
on 12/12/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great Value for the money-Excellent print quality
What's not so great: Not very speedy and gobbles up ink like crazy
Many years ago I bought HP's first model Desk Jet (Black ink only) for a wopping $500. Look at what you get nowadays for a fraction of the price!.
I use two laptops with Wi-Fi and setting up both was a snap. Each of my computers has two wireless systems one an internet connect card and the other is Wi-Fi. There are no conflicts between the two sustems on either computer. The printer is very quiet when placed on a solid surface. Actually, all I can hear is the little chime that announces that the print job is done. It does gulp down ink in large quanities but Hp cartridges are readily available.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>