Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Model: DX-LCD42HD-09
SKU: 8719078
UPC: 600603116728
Enjoy your movies, games and TV shows in brilliant high-definition with this 42" flat-panel LCD HDTV. It features 2 HDMI inputs for easy integration into your home theater system as well as a PC input that lets you use your TV as a monitor for your computer. TV Calibration See what $10,000 in calibration equipment (and a heap of expertise) can do for your viewing experience.699.99
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 156 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
45
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
9
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
138 out of 156
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV
Review 1 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

A Best Buy or Poor Quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CJ2006
from Ventura, CA
on 02/16/2009
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Only 60Hz refresh rate and a Contrast ratio of 2000:1
Upon the purchase of this television under the recommendation from the sales person, I returned it immediately. This tv only has a refresh rate of 60Hz, when an object moves across the screen, it appears to have what is called "Ghosts" behind the object.
Very hard to set up due to the plugs in the rear of the tv was hard to reach. My son was watching Star Trek First Contact when I noticed one of the star ships disappeared in the background. This happened quite often. I ejected the dvd and played it in the living room.
When watching the same dvd, I was able to see the star ship on my 42" Sony. When I placed both televisions next to each other, my Sony has 100% more details in the picture and the sound quality is far superior than the Dynex.
Don't waste your time and money. There are a lot of LCD's out there in the same price range. I did not want to spend a lot of money for my son using it with his playstation but did not want a tv that would break down fast.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Best Generic TV, No!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: RJFITZE
from San Jose, CA
on 02/15/2009
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Low Price - But you get what you paid for
What's not so great: Very Complicated to Program, Poor Picture Quality etc....
I purchased this television and returned it the very next day!" This television has only 2,000:1 contrast and the picture fades in and out. I was not able to adjust the picture or volume control due to hitting the menu button and when I tried to hit the arrow button to adjust, the menu on the screen would disappear?
The time was defaulted to the year 1999 and I was not able to change it. The plugs are in hidden in the rear and are not easily accessible.
When a person wearing brown walked passed a brown sofa, they would fade into each other, one giant brown blob until the person moved out of the room. There is no detail in the picture. Yes, it is HD 1080p but my 26" Samsung in the bedroom is HD 720p and has a sharper image stabilizer.
I returned the Dynex and bought a 42" LG Plasma HDTV which has a contrast ratio of 20,000:1 and a dynamic contrast ratio of 1,000,000:1. Yes a little more money but superior in every category!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

I love this TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HappyGirl87
from Boise,Idaho
on 02/12/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
I bought this TV in November 08, and I have not had any problems with it at all. I was worried initially because I read a lot of reviews that had issues with sound, but I have none! I compared this TV to the new Sony Bravia, as they were sitting next to each other in the store, and saw absolutely no difference in the picture quality. My PS2 looks fantastic as do any of the football games I've watched. My next project is to hook up my laptop with the HDMI cord, I'm sure it'll look fantastic!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

great t.v. great buy

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: vicki25
from Syracuse NY
on 02/11/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great picture
What's not so great: none
I bought this t.v. about 6 months ago and have had no problems with it picture is great sound is good the first movie my kids and I watched on it was Mickeys twice upon a Christmas and Oh my when daisy and minnie skate it's like they're coming out at you {no lie} and blue ray oh my we watched Journey to the center of the Earth in 3D and I borrowed my sons ps3 so we could watch it on blue ray the 3D was so good we were all yelling but my youngest son actually ducked in his seat it was great if you can buy it you won't regret it!!! very satisfied customer
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

this is one of the best tv's ever

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: awags
from evansville,IN
on 02/11/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the picture is simply stunning
What's not so great: all lcd tv's have weak volume due to the speaker size. not that bad tho.
this is possibly one of the best tv's best buy has. i have looked and looked at tv's in their store. none of them can match this one. plus its a great value buy. it also is great for a first lcd tv. it is easy to hook up and set-up is a breeze.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Great buy for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: britteno
from New Hampshire
on 02/07/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture is decent with correct settings and great with HD
What's not so great: Unknown brand
I've had this TV for a couple of weeks now, and haven't had any problems yet. The picture quality on the lower, non HD, channels is not that great. You can make it a little better by adjusting the brightness and contrast. The picture in the HD range is excellent. DVDs look great as well. I used the component hookups for cable and an S video cable for the DVD player. The sound is fine, no complaints.
You get what you pay for...this isn't a $2000 tv so you can't compare it to $2000 tvs, but for $699 it's a decent set.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

NO NO NO NO NO

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MegJeff
from PA
on 02/05/2009
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: NOTHING
What's not so great: EVERYTHING
TV BROKE LESS THAN TWO MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE....BULB BLEW ON THE TV AND THE SCREEN HAS NOO PICTURE WHATSOEVER.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Good, not great

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: tmorrison
from Houston, TX
on 02/05/2009
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price for the size
What's not so great: Picture
I had a insignia 19" lcd 780p and the pic was great, just bought this dynex yesterday, 1080p, and the pic isnt half as good as the toshiba, and im playing blu-ray on the tv from my ps3 and i dont see a difference between it and a regular dvd, also all the video inputs and hdmi are in a hard to reach area on the back of the tv, they are a pain to get to. On the plus side, the price was fantastic, it is a very nice size tv, and it looks pretty sturdy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

best purcahse for 2009

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Dumfries, va
on 02/02/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: great pic , easy to use
What's not so great: remote ,
my 1st "big screen" tv , HD channels are amazing sound is not that good but i got my bose sound system hooked up so no problem, REMOTE is a joke do yourself a favor get a universal remote. thats it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Great budget TV rivals expensive brands

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JD78MS
from Memphis, TN
on 01/30/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality, price, and features
What's not so great: # of hdmi inputs
I bought this TV on sale for $597 the weekend after Black Friday. I looked at other budget LCD 1080p sets sold by others and after adjusting the modes on this TV in Bestby, I bought it immediately. Standard mode setting made blacks look washed out and gray, but soft mode made this TV appealing. Although the blacks are not as dark as higher price models, they are excellent and at home you will never know. This TV has a good menu interface, great features, and worked without a problem. I did take the first set back because of 1 dead pixel that was present from when I first turned the set on. The 2nd set is perfect and Bestbuy gave no problems on the return. Although other reviews note poor sounds or low wattage, the TV is in my bedroom and sound is plenty good. I have another high dollar LCD and this one compares well at 1/3 the price. My Sat TV remote was able to work this TV without a problem. At current price, this is a good buy and on sale it is even better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Run away from this turkey

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Dynexhater
from Chicago,IL
on 01/28/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Looked good while it lasted
What's not so great: Blew up within 30 days
Stay away from this thing -- went bad 30 days after I plugged into to wall. Then one week wait for technian to tell me it's not working. NOT WORTH THE DISCOUNT -- RUN AWAY FROM THIS TURKEY
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Great TV for the price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jalida
from Palm Springs, CA.
on 01/26/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture, great color, lots of hookups.
What's not so great: Terrible remote.
If you are looking for a television that has plenty of hookups (2 HDMI, 2 Components, 1 VGA, etc etc etc) in this price range then you need look no further. This really is a great television, with enough menu settings to keep the average person quite happy.
The website says that it has audio sound level balancing so that commercials don't come screaming through the speakers, however many commercials still come in substantially louder than the show I was watching. Not a bother for me as Im one of those people that sits on the sofa with remote in hand to mute the sound at the first sign of a commercial.
Speaking of remotes, be prepared to buy a universal remote (and try to find the remote code that works with the Dynex brand, Im currently using my Xbox 360 media remote for basic operations) because the remote that comes with this television is one of the worst, from sharp corners on the physical remote, to delayed channel changing when pressing the up or down button on the remote, to not getting any action from the remote unless it's pointing in a certain direction. Another $19.99 to $39.99 is to be expected for a *full* universal remote that can control all the options on the television.
I have yet to hook up our surround sound system as the sound that comes out of the television speakers has proven to be clean and plenty loud and I've yet to need to go above 50 on the sound level. Im sure though that I will eventually want to hook up the sound system to get that thumping bass back when watching dvd movies.
Overall, it's a really great television for the price tag and we shopped all the major retailers in our area like walmart, target, circuit city, even sams club, but best buy had the best price, and best image quality in the under $800.00 range.
I don't regret the purchase one bit, other than I watch a whole lot more television now than I ever did with out old analog 36" square television.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Phenomenal Picture AFTER Proper Calibration

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Shocka
from MN
on 01/25/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Picture, Easy to Calibrate
What's not so great: N/A
This television is great, no doubt about it. Although, the video settings out of the box are innacurate. To properly configure your television, see this link that someone made: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=15587936&postcount=664
I calibrated my tv with his settings, and the picture is absolutely stunning. I do not recommend using the built-in speakers or the included remote, as they are both weak, but really who cares? If you purchase this TV you should be using better audio and a better remote anyways.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Best value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tycoonmd
from Maryland
on 01/23/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 1080p picture is great
What's not so great: Be prepared to buy a good universal remote
I am very satisfied with my selection of this LCD. I looked at Samsung and LG but both brands are much more expensive. At this price point people shouldn't expect a ton of HDMI inputs or other inputs period. The picture is perfect and unless you place this LCD next to the expensive ones, like they do in the store, you will not notice a difference except that you will have more money available for accessories like a blu ray player. I love my private movie theater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Forget name brands, this is the TV!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 46liter
from Louisville,KY
on 01/17/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Cheap
What's not so great: nothing
We bought this TV on 1/4/09 & couldn't be more pleased. If you decide on this TV, pick up the HDMI cable while you're at it, it's worth the money.
The picture quality & sound are equal to the name brands at a $300-$450 savings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Amazingly Amazing

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: irishpirate1321
from East Glacier Park, Mt
on 01/14/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything About this TV rocks
What's not so great: remote feels cheap
at first i was a little skeptical about this tv, but i was viewing everything in 480p, then i got the HDMI cable and i was blow away by the picture quality, there was such a difference just with the cable, and after toying with the picture setings it is amazing, and for this price, you cannot beat it, the only thing that i have found that may pose as a personal problem is the remote feels cheap and flimsy, other than that it is amazing with my 360 and home theater system, great buy
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

The best Tv I have ever bought.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: duramaxdiesel2005
from Monroe,LA
on 01/14/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy to set up, extremely good price.
I have it in my bedroom awesome picture,awesome sound I am very satisfied..If you bought this LCD TV you will not be disappointed I grant you that... Thanks Best Buy..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Well worth it...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GreatPurchase
from TX
on 01/13/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great price with the features you want
What's not so great: Nothing that I can find so far...
I bought this TV about 2 weeks ago to replace a Sharp Aquos 42" 1080p that was stolen. I was a bit hesitant because of the lower price, but after getting it home and setup, I am completely happy with my purchase.
The HD channels look just as good as they did on the Sharp, and the blacks were actually very black. The non-reflective base and trim is very nice as you don't get any of the crazy reflections when the lights are off.
I wish it had 1 more HDMI port, but it's not that big of a deal. Overall, I'm happy that I bought this TV and Very Happy that I saved about $500 over similarly configured TVs. Get the 4yr warranty for $99 and you're all set.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Love It!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: kel007
from texas
on 01/10/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great tv at good price
What's not so great: sound- loud static at deep bass sounds
For the price it's awesome. We got it last year at Christmas. My son's bought it with their Christmas money and it is used mainly with the Xbox. To overcome the sound issue they bought a simple Bose sound system that has helped, but not completely removed the static sound. At lower settings (prefered by mom) it isn't a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex® 42" 1080p Flat-Panel LCD HDTV

Great TV for the Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NS2008
from Madison, WI
on 01/07/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good quality, good for gaming, PRICE!
What's not so great: Some trailing during sports and gameplay but not that bad
I am in a position where I will be graduating college in the next 5 months so I wanted a quality TV that didnt cost too much money. This was a great price for what I got, I looked into a lot of different options and in the end I found this to be the best one. I couldnt be happier with my purchase, sure there are better tv's out there but I don't have a ton of money to spend on one. If I had a lot of money I would buy a nicer tv but for the price I don't think there is a better tv. I would recommend this tv to anyone on a budget, it looks great with my PS3 and the service plan is only $99 for a 4 year plan.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>