Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Model: DVPNC800H/B
SKU: 8730705
UPC: 027242735439
Enjoy watching your favorite standard DVD movies on your HDTV using this 5-disc DVD player that features upconversion to HD-compliant 720p/1080i/1080p resolutions. Dolby Digital and DTS decoders and virtual surround sound support deliver a lush audioscape.
Average Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 24 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
67% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
16 out of 24
)
Customer Reviews for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion
Review 1 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Great DVD Player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gypsyjanet
from Chicago, IL
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
This is a great 5-disc player. I guess I could've gone Blu Ray, but I saw the same movie in the store being played in a regular DVD player, and a Blu Ray, and couldn't really tell a difference, so I went with this one. I have no complaints at all about this player. It does everything it's supposed to do. The blue light comes on when the HDMI is recognized. I would definitely recommend this player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Worst Purchase Ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Ron36854
from Valley, AL
on 12/20/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up and use
What's not so great: Stopped reading the DVD after just two weeks of use, only watched about 6 movies
The DVD player was very easy to set up and use. When it worked it played well and had a good picture. But about after two weeks of use, 6 movies, it stopped reading the DVD. Tried multiple DVD's to make sure it was not a damaged DVD, but to no avail, it had stopped reading DVD's. Best Buy people were great in giving me a full refund and just turned around and bougt a Blu Ray player from them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

biggest bang for your buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sr
from mobile, ala
on 11/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything.
What's not so great: dunno
I noted on the spec's for this item that it says zoom is not available. This is an error. I bought this last week, and, indeed, there is a zoom function available, 2x and 4x zoom and you can toggle around the screen while it's playing. This dvd player seems to be exactly the same as the one just like it, that i bought four or five years ago - for aprox the same price. I would highly recommend this player. I note that some say that you cannot shuttle songs between different discs (but you can within one disc) this is easily remedied by making your own music cd with your songs in the order you wish. You can select the repeat cd and hear them over and over.
This is a very good product, it plays very well with the digital or optical audio output thru my 6.1 surround system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Not Flawless

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MovieMeniac
from Roseville
on 10/06/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: Short life
I bought this unit as a Home Theater setup and I had the GEEK squad come set it up for me. The first month or so everything was super....Great Sound, Great Picture. Then after the second month went by we started experiencing periodic sound loss while watching movies but it was so quick that we belived it was a disc problem ? But it started happening more and more as time wore on..Not too annoying but annoying enough to say the least. Now when I play CD,s it will start off fine for about 1 disc.....then it,s volume starts to deteriorate a bit.....after a few minutes it goes silent ? Disc still playing but nothing coming out. Its been about 2 years or perhaps a bit longer but it is going to get replaced now. I will probably buy the exact same unit as it is priced alot lower than what I originally paid....299.00 is what I originally paid and it now sells for 129.00
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Nothing Compares

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rustyus
from Central PA
on 06/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 5 DVDs in at once!!
What's not so great: No time to end of movie counter.
We have 2 kids, and not having to change a DVD for hours, or even days, is the best. Sony makes some great DVD players for the price. We had one of the first Sony DVD players and abused it everyday ($300 and that lasted 9+ years).
Set up is great. HDMI is great. Just push which disc you want and TV and audio receiver comes on automatically. The changer is now 8 months old and with all of the abuse it gets........no problems yet (knock on wood)!
If the 5 disc DVD changer should happen to stop working I would definitely have to get another one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Good player, One Really Bad Feature

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: DemandBetter
from New York, NY
on 05/09/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good picture
What's not so great: No way to disable automatic disc skip
This is a really solid dvd player with one really bad drawback. There is no way to disable the automatic disc skip, which makes it very difficult to use it for both dvds and cds. For example, if you want to use it as a cd player, and the cd comes to an end, it will automatically move to the next disc. If the next disc is a dvd, you will soon hear a movie trailer blasting out of your speakers. This is particularly bad for people like me who use my cd player to go to sleep to. It will continue to move to the next disc until you stop it with the remote (no way to adjust this, trust me, I tried). Also, the sound levels for cds and dvds are markedly different, so it involves constant adjusting of the volume. In the end, great if you just want to use it for dvds, not so good if you want to use it for both. Unfortunately, it is pretty much the only 5-disc player on the market.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Good Buy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: TUCKER147
from NEW JERSEY
on 04/19/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quality for the price.
What's not so great: Not a very attractive on-screen display menu or front panal display screen.
Clearly, it"s a sony. Therefore it's going to perform to the highest standards in it's class. So far there are only a few things, minor issues that is displeasing- 1.) The on-screen menu has some clever options but "looks" out dated in format. 2.) The front of the devices' LED display is pretty basic; you can't depend on this DVD player to glammer up your entertainment center. 3.) The remote control does'nt have an A & B playback button, even as it supports A B playback. However, if those minor issues does'nt borther you- well you're in for a perfect deal. Thanks for reading.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Disposable

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: luckyx16
from Pekin, Il
on 04/05/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture and upconversion are ok for price
What's not so great: It breaks approximately 18 months after using.
This is a typical disposable multi-disc DVD player. For the price you cannot expect it to last forever, but I would hope it would last a couple of years. A year and a half max life is at best, not good.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

sony dvd quits working

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ERF14
from Pittsburgh
on 03/12/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: when the player is new it has a great picture
What's not so great: quits working 13 - 15 months this is the 3rd player same result
I have purchased 3 of these players they only last about 13 - 14 months I thought the first one was fluke.
3 is enough for me changing brands
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Nice changer with upconvert!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: majorgeek
from O'Fallon IL
on 01/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: 5-disc access, easy setup
What's not so great: Upconverting is so-so
This DVD player was a good value overall, but I'm not sure the picture quality is quite as good as my Yamaha single DVD player (also with upconverting).
For the price, access to 5 discs and pretty good picture quality overall it is a good player, and I've always felt Sony was a good brand. If you are not ready to pull the trigger on a blu-ray (and don't want to replace your entire DVD collection) you will be happy with this changer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Very capable upconverting DVD player.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SA2112
from Chandler, AZ
on 01/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great standard DVD upconversion, quiet,slim
What's not so great: Nothing really.
I've been using this Sony 5 disc changer for a few weeks and I really like it.
I have a Sony 52" XBR LCD mated to a Dish Network HD receiver/DVR (VIP 722 with a 750 GB external hard drive) but never got around to adding a decent DVD player. My old DVD player was capable of only 480i output. I didn't want to drop the coin on the Panasonic DMP-BD55K which is the best BR-DVD out there now because I think they are still a bit over-priced not to mention the cost of BR DVD movies.
This Sony delivers... it does just what its advertising says it will do.It's quiet, has a slim height so it fits nicely into the confines of my A-V cabinet and does a terrific job at upconversion of standard definition DVDs. I watched Training Day and LOTR immediately and upconverted via this machine it was GREAT!
Bottom line: I'd buy this machine again at more than the $124.00 I paid for it without hesitation. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars in all categories is I felt the user interface could have been a bit better and it is just a tic slow on loading DVDs, but considering the price of this unit, no probs here.
I was amused at the complaints about its audio CD features, specifically the one that read " no shuffling CDs - that's what I bought it for".
Its a DVD player that upconverts standard def DVDs to near HD quality and, of course, plays audio CDs nicely for less than $125... seems there is no pleasing some people.
If you want a CD player, BUY ONE designed to do that... or pay a LOT more than the cost of this baby to play your audio CDs, upconvert your standard def DVDS in the way you want as well as this model can.
This player is great... and suitable for people with realistic expectations based on its LOW cost.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: happydude34
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/23/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good Picture
What's not so great: Nothing
This is a Sony and if you by a Sony, you'll know it's good. I love the HD upconversion and BRAVIA sync. Buy it if you want an awesome DVD/CD player.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Nice product, but...

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GoPackGo
from Edgerton, WI
on 12/22/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I've generally been happy with Sony products. For the most part this one is no exception.
What's not so great: No shuffling or programming amongst multiple CD's. Dissappointing! Bought it 4 that reason. I will return it.
Nt havin that feature defeats purpose of a changer
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

5 Disk

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SONYowner1
from Green Bay
on 12/07/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good for series applications
What's not so great: drive and laser
I have had this sony player and just like clockwork I have had to replace the drive motor and have the lazer repaired during the last year, the picture quality is good when all components are working but with all the mechanical repairs this is not a good value espcially when the warrantee expires. Sorry Best Buy this is not a Good Buy you might as well say good bye to this one.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Another winner

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: cb1274
from Fishers, IN
on 12/03/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality, 5 disc capacity
What's not so great: Load time a little slow
I really love this 5 disc changer. I've owned it for almost a year now and is the second Sony 5 disc changer I've owned. I was happy with the one before and this is no exception. The upconversion quality is second to none if you are still not ready for Blu Ray. Movies look great. Having the five disc changer is great if you are going to watch a movie with a bonus feature disc or a season of the Sopranos. I highly recommend any Sony products. You may pay a little more, but the quality seems to be the best I've seen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Won't Random Play

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: BCaudio
from Los Angeles, CA
on 11/22/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Set up
What's not so great: Random play of all 5 discs
I was looking for a 5 disc CD/DVD player to be able to load 5 CDs in and random play between all of the discs. This player won't do that. It only shuffles songs one disc at a time. Other than that it's a great unit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Excellent quality for this price range

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jeff1976
from Fraser, MI
on 11/12/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good value for the price
What's not so great: Overall size of the unit, associated with most multi disk changers
Very good picture quality for this price. This DVD player was fully functioning within minutes
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Finally a real DVD player

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Stebes
from San Francsico, CA
on 10/21/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Set Up
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Clean interface, 5 disks is a great feature, HDMI, good remote
What's not so great: Kind of big overall in its depth but its a 5 disk so you have to compensate
I absolutly LOVE this DVD player. I will agree with the previous reviewer that only being able to play a single disk seems impossible as it automatically cycles through to the next disk. Otherwise, its a fantastic player with great digital output over HDMI and 1080P upscale. Its VERY quiet compared to other players I have had. I would highly recommend this player to anyone looking for a new DVD player that hopefully will last (always get a warranty from BB on DVD players as they are not built like they used to) for a long while.
The interface is also very clean and easy to read. Instructions were strait forward, remote works great and is easy to use. This DVD player integrated with my Samsung TV remote easily as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Can't play just 1 CD

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: MultiDVDGuy
on 10/16/2008
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Set Up
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Slim, lots of features, just not one critical one
What's not so great: Always plays all CDs; can't just play one CD, unless you use shuffle.
Sounds good, lots of features, but can't play just 1 CD, unless you want to shuffle the songs. Bad if you want to listen to 1 CD & go off to sleep.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony 5-Disc DVD Player with HD Upconversion

Great DVD player for the price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Ritman
on 07/07/2008
What's great about it: Simple to use, good picture, and it's sony
What's not so great: 1 year warranty, stopped working shortly after 1 year.
Myabe I just got a lemon because mine stopped working about 14 months after I bought it. Still it is a great DVD player and I will probably buy another one, this time with the Best Buy warranty!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>