Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Model: RF-AHD25
SKU: 8774301
UPC: 600603116124
Convert your internal SATA hard drive into an external drive this hard drive enclosure kit that holds a " SATA hard drive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.387 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 31 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
97% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
30 out of 31
)
Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives
Review 1 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rbc94
from Buffalo, NY
on 01/16/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
needed an external drive for my laptop and already had an extra 2.5 inch sata drive. this enclosure workes great and looks good too. love that it has esata and usb! comes with a carrying case and was a snap to install the drive!
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Ruined a hard drive

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: DataLost
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
on 04/24/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Design, ease of use, price
What's not so great: Wrecked a hard drive; all data lost.
Bought this to recover data off my wife's SATA drive; instead, it wiped the drive and destroyed even the factory-installed recovery partition.
It was, however, fine w/ a second (newer) SATA drive. Great price & design - but be wary, it may destroy an existing drive's contents.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Great Enclosure

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: relidtm
from Orlando, FL
on 01/31/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Usb 1.0/2.0 as well as eSATA
What's not so great: hard to open the enclsoure
the enclosure worked great for me to recover my files from a failed laptop, with eSATA it was quick and fast recovery.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Gaming
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Solid Enclosure

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FLhd
from nola
on 01/21/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Build, extras
What's not so great: Cost.
Has esata, a big plus. Great build quality. Comes with cables. Interchangeable cover. Comes with vinyl case. Pricey.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Overpriced But A GREAT UNIT!!!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DJMATRIX
from NYC
on 10/06/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Durability, compatability
What's not so great: PRICE!!!!
I've had 2 of these for almost 2 years now. During the day I work in IT and DJ on the weekends. One I have a 500GB WD HD that I use to carry music for my gigs and the other I swap out various drives for work and have NEVER had a single issue with either. I go from Win 2000 to Win 7 and the drives are read with no issue (NTFS formatted). The speed is good using both the e-SATA and usb interfaces (7200rpm Drives) and the unit is very solid. Generally the power cord is not needed unless mounting on usb 1 port. I got them on sale when I bought them so my only complaint with them now that I'm looking to buy a couple more is that they are now $20 more each then what I paid for them. If the price would just come down, then these would be a must have for any tech.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Overpriced, but necessary

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: MDL1
from Laurel, MD
on 06/15/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it meets the need
What's not so great: price at Best Buy
Best Buy is the convenience store of PC Accessories, like going to 7-11 instead of to the supermarket. I could have gotten this much less at TigerDirect.com or even Amazon.com. But I needed it immediately. It meets the need. Nothing special. Did not like having to pay Best Buy's price.
Also, used the in-store pickup and I had to wait in line behind two people doing return transactions before I could pick up my order. I waited about 15 minutes for people to do their returns before I could be helped to pick up my order. The line for the in-store pickup and the returns should not be the same line at the store.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
10out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Product works as advertised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: CCubed
from PA
on 06/14/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It works
What's not so great: Price
Product worked as advertised. If you are new to laptop SATA drives, remember to pull off the connector from the drive before trying to connect to this unit. My laptop died and I needed the data from my drive and this was perfect. Data transfer as though it was an external USB drive, the only thing that I wish is that it was not as much work to put the drive in and take it out, but if you are just doing recovery this is not an issue.
For what you are doing, the price could have been cheaper, but if you are in a crunch, price is not the issue.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Good,Solid SATA enclosure

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mstroke
from East Brunswick,NJ
on 05/24/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Simple to use right out of the box
What's not so great: plastic top cover
I got this to mount a laptop hard drive out of my new laptop, it worked great right out of the box. Even came with a power supply if needed. Opened it right up mounted the drive, plugged it in and Voila!!! One external hard drive!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jim217
from Allendale, NJ
on 04/03/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is very sturdy
What's not so great: A little large
The Rocketfish is a VERY sturdy enclosure that is just a little heavy for its size, but that is probably why it is so sturdy. Eazy to install and I love the dual compatability feature with USB and lightning fast SATA. The only drawback is the power supply is needed when hooked up by the SATA connection. If you are looking for a REAL sturdy enclosure for an old laptop drive, this is the one. It is very fast in data transfer and it is clean in its appearance.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

better then paying someone to retrieve data

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Favabean
from santa barbara, ca
on 02/17/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: able to recover my old laptop files
What's not so great: the cost is a little high, i have 2 drives but hesitant to drop another $60 to have 2
This enclosure kit saved me! My laptop motherboard failed and I needed the data from the drives desperately. I picked one up and it was great; saw my files and transferred. My only gripe is that it kept disconnecting. I can't say if it's the drive, the enclosure, or my old computer that I transferred to. Each time I tried moving large folders it would error and disconnect from the computer. I may return for another but I overall I am pleased to not have to spend over $100 to retrieve my data from the repair shop.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Great way to still access your old hard drive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: prezschaefer
from Minot, ND
on 01/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, nice carrying case included
What's not so great: Wish it had other colors, as big a deal as that is!!
Turns your old laptop SATA hard drive into an external hard drive, that simple. No real need for the wall plugin, unless your system doesn't have the power capabilities for USB, but don't even think that is even a possibility. Didn't bother using the software, Windows 7 can automatically do my backup for me, otherwise no need for software. Has everything you need and more, extra case cover and a neat carrying case. I just wish it was in red to match my laptop!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Worked exactly as they said it would

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Mbutt4901
from Farmington Hills, MI
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
I needed to upgrade one of my employee's laptops to a larger disk QUICKLY. I first thought the price was a bit high but I needed it fast.
Worked perfectly and had the PC back to the employee in a couple of hours.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Worked first time...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Grumpy42
from Columbia, TN
on 01/09/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: High quality and easy to use...
What's not so great: Price
Called store and talked to computer sales guy and described what I was looking for, which was HDD external case that would allow me to swap out a drive in my daughter's laptop to a larger drive. This product provided the necessary mount to make this happen. I installed the new drive in the laptop and the original in this case, used Acronis Cloning Program and boot disk. Everything worked just as it was supposed too, only took less than thirty minutes to clone a 75gb drive to a 500gb drive. After copy was complete, tuned laptop off, unplugged original drive from USB port, removed boot disk, and started laptop up normally, ALL WAS WELL…..!!! Worked perfect….! Well worth the 80 miles, round trip, I had to drive to get this item….. I think this is a little pricey for what you get in hardware, compared to other IDE case, but, considering the results, it was worth every penny because it worked out of the box as designed….. I am now, again, a “HERO” with my family….
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

great 2.5" sata enclosure

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joemann797
from pomona, ca
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great features, powers of USB when connected to USB, includes sata port for faster transfer speeds
What's not so great: costs $59.99, a little pricey
I purchased this enclosure at best buy today to upgrade my laptop to a bigger internal hdd, and so I didn't have to toss my old smaller drive out.
This enclosure was a great option. It powers off USB when using it through a USB port, but seems the power adapter is for when using the esata. But either way, my computer doesn't have esata anyway so, it wasn't much of a problem, but I may consider getting an esata adapter to take advantage of the faster transfer speeds later, which it's still great to have esata anyway.
Either way, this is a great enclosure, though I did wish it was cheaper, but you get what you pay for!
Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Nice Enclosure

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rotoruda
from Fort Worth, TX
on 12/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Fast, and nice leather carry case
What's not so great: a/c power cord, wish it came with a USB power adapter (eSata)
This is a very nice unit. Only issue is you need a power outlet if you wan to use the eSata function.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Works ! Any OS Any Drive

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JC77
from Amarillo,TX
on 10/31/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works with all OS on DV5 esata
What's not so great: Price, but it works and has a lot of extras.
Bought a Nexstar and a seagate 500 GB, Windows 7 and Vista
rarely worked. XP and Linux worked Okay.
This Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure worked
with no problems on Windows 7, Vista, XP & Linux.
Has lots of extra cables and is easy to
put together. Now I have plenty of storage !
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Finally, a high-quality hard drive enclosure!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TexasShooter
from Houston, TX
on 10/25/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Excellent quality and workmanship
What's not so great: Nothing so far
Very well designed and constructed. Quality workmanship throughout, with no cheap metal or sharp edges. Great carrying case included.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drober24
from Knoxville, TN
on 10/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy file transfer
What's not so great: just a few minor things
The motherboard in my PC crashed a few days ago. To get all of my files off the computer, I was told to get one of these enclosures. I did. I took all of the files from my old Windows XP laptop and put them on my new Macbook. No compatibility issues, and was very quick. Some have complained about the $60 price tag. Well, for $60 I was able to transfer all of my data myself, and now I have what amounts to an extra external hard drive. Sounds like a bargain to me.
Only two flaws. First, the cover was quite difficult to remove. Second, I have been unable to delete any of the old unneeded files from the hard drive. Maybe this product can't do that, but I wish it could.
That aside, this product has been a lifesaver.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Nice enclosure (but maybe one design flaw)!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JimL
from Northern Virginia
on 10/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works well - eSATA is FAST!
What's not so great: Internal SATA connector seems poorly positioned
I've been looking for an external enclosure for 2.5" drives with both USB2 and eSATA, and got one of these. I've tested with a 320GB Seagate drive, and it works fine with both USB2 and eSATA.
Overall, it's a nice enclosure. The one potential issue that I saw was the internal SATA connector. It's one of the PCB-mounted right-angle ones, and it's mounted pretty well flush with the PCB. The problem is, at least with the 320GB drive I have, that the SATA connector on the drive is slightly "higher" than the SATA connector on the PCB. You can connect the drive to the PCB-mounted SATA connector, but you have to kind of lift the front-end of the drive in order to get the connectors to meet. In fact, after plugging the drive into the PCB-mounted connector, the front-end of the drive pops up a bit. Rocketfish includes four screws for holding the drive to the PCB, but I'm guessing that the overall design places some stress on both the PCB-mounted connector and on the drive connector. Hopefully it'll be ok :)...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rocketfish™ USB 2.0/eSATA Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 2.5" SATA Hard Drives

Rocketfish Sata 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure Kit RF-A

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: purdie
from Palmdale
on 09/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The ability to use eSATA on a portable drive for a low price
What's not so great: not easy to remove the cover
Very happy with this so far. I bought one to retrieve data from my old laptop hard drive after an upgrade and keep the old one as a portable/ backup drive. Installation was really simple and took just a few minutes with the clear directions. Rocketfish even includes a screwdriver in the kit, which is helpful. My computer recognized the new drive on the desktop and my laptop immediately and all of my old data was right there as it should have been. No need to reformat or mess around with drivers. The drive's on the big side for carrying around, but folks who need serious storage capacity (e.g. video/ photo/ graphics pros) probably won't mind and it even includes a nice padded nylon carrying case.
The product came with every single accessories especially e-sata cable, power supply, usb cable, screws to attach HD, manual, alternate black cover, pouch, cds, driver etc.
I did not have to use the included power supply on my laptop or desktop, I guess my USB ports had enough power to supply the drive.
I got this drive on ebay from best_buy_outlet for ony $11 with free shipping
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>