Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Model: KX-TH1212B
SKU: 8774418
UPC: 037988479696
Answer cell calls from any handset with this expandable cordless phone with Bluetooth link to cell capability. This model meets our Professional Series criteriaShop all products in our Small Business Center Learn more about the Panasonic DECT. (Flash demo)
Average Customer Rating:
3.053 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 38 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
15
55% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
21 out of 38
)
Customer Reviews for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link
Review 1 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Worst Panasonic Product Ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: eajlaw
from memphis
on 07/02/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Range
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: voice caller id
What's not so great: continuously recurring dropped calls
The worst Panasonic product I have ever owned. Bought because concept of answering cellphone from house phone was appealing. Phone constantly dropped calls from beginning. Thought it might relate to bluetooth function and disengaged it. No, still dropped calls. Believe this is a problem known to Panasonic when phone placed on market, since manual specifically refers to this problem and says to disconnect and reconnect base unit. Disconnecting and reconnecting does not affect frequency or lack thereof of dropped calls. Panasonic tech support (when you finally get someone) was of no help, with same instruction as manual to disconnect each time call dropped; but, with no information about how to avoid dropped calls. HELLO, with constant dropped calls why have a phone? After trying to allow time to try various alternatives and trying to resolve with tech support, it was too late to return phone; so, they've been junked. CONSTANT DROPPED CALLS RENDER THIS PHONE TOTALLY USELESS.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Great phone and the BT works

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: IShore
from New Jersey
on 07/29/2008
What's great about it: One phone for home and cell, DECT,
What's not so great: None noted on this unit
Well, I had to return the orginal because of some issues. They are cleared as it was a defecitive unit. Thank you BEST BUY.
But, I still had the issue with the phone hanging up in the middle of a call. This happened only when my computer was on...... then I remembered that my computer has Bluetooth. So I turned it off and guess what folks, I am one happy camper today.
The phone works with no issues.
I suggest if you want an all in one, landline and cell this is the phone for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

KX-TH1211 (and KX-TH1212) really perform very well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Goody2013
from New Jersey
on 06/23/2008
What's great about it: DECT clear wireless transmission; Link-to-Cell convergence solution; EZ Bluetooth connecton to cell; 300-foot + range!
What's not so great: None noted: will update if any experienced...
This product was purchased specifically because the DECT standard (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DECT) assures clearest possible transmission from the base unit to the handsets (up to 6 handsets) and between handsets (as intercom). But weighing just as significantly in my buying decision is the inclusion of 'Link to cell feature' allowing up to two cell phones to be connected while also allowing connection to the VOIP landline offered by my cable internet provider.
|
While one can check for their cell phone's inclusion in the 'Compatible cell phones' portion of the Technical Specs section of the product's Internet site page, my AT&T Tilt was not included but indeed works fine. (In fact, the Panasonic phone identifies my bluetooth cell phone as the 'HTC 8900' which is indeed the manufacturer's family id for the phone model sold by AT&T Wireless.)
|
Contrary to the reviewer who found experiences of dropped connections, I have had none. Sensitive to requirements of radio wave based performance, I did heed suggestions 'For best performance.' (pg. 9 of Operating Instruction manual.) Also, the FAQs include a suggested remedy which must be read carefully as it is the loose (or not fully inserted) plug of the base unit that will cause disconnects: 'FAQ #3. [IF] handset displays "No link to base. Reconnect AC adaptor." --Disconnect the AC adaptor from the unit, wait for a minute, then reconnect. The plug [of the base unit] may have become loose over time, or not be fully inserted. If that does not work, try reregistering the handset, another handset may have deregistered this handset.'
|
My home environment has never experienced strong cell performance. So, placing the cell in a best possible reception area and using the Link-to-Cell Convergence Solution is a significant improvement. That I can both dial and receive cell calls at my handsets is great.
Other best-liked features include all listed in the "Feature highlights" of the manual, pg 3 (available to view/download at http://panasonic.com/help by entering model kx-th1212B or entering: http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-electronics/support/Phones-Fax/Telephones/Bluetooth-174;-Enabled-Systems/model.KX-TH1212B) .
|
Goody2013
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Didn't work for me either

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Will101
from Berkeley, CA
on 11/18/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Range
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Wonderful concept
What's not so great: Doesn't work - calls dropped all the time
Like most of the other reviewers here, I was aware of problems but crossed my fingers because the idea for this phone system is so cool. It worked great for a week, then the handsets kept losing contact with the base in the middle of calls. I'm disappointed because the idea is superb - when it worked for that week, I loved it. But then every time I was on the phone, the handset "lost contact" and hung up on whomever I was speaking to (both using landline and cell line). I took all the precautions the instructions recommended - setting the base away from all other electronics by 15 feet, for example. I might try a different brand; I'm disappointed though, I generally like Panasonic and wish this worked.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Product Review

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Pedro123
on 10/10/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works great. No Problems.
What's not so great: None yet!
This product works great. My wife and I love it. We both have Sprint cell phones, one is a Samsung Instinct and the other a Palm Treo Centro. No problems with dropped calls or anything. I highly recommend this to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Good for low reception areas

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Herdnerfer
from Saint Louis, MO
on 09/15/2008
What's great about it: Bluetooth communicates well
What's not so great: i bought it when it was $40 more
I use this phone at home to get me and my wife's cell phones and are home phone all through one handset. It works perfectly, the different ring tones lets us know who it is for and our cell phones sync to the base before we even walk into the house. I even recommended it to my parents for their lake house, as they have no landline and only get good cell reception in one small area. Now they can leave their cell in that one small area and take the cordless handset where ever they go, even out to the lake while they are fishing. i have experienced no dropped call issues in my 3 months of having the phone so far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Good purchase

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: nick111
on 09/11/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: bluetooh connection, forward cell calls to home phone
What's not so great: no text
Feature packed, performs great when you find a good base location. Every one seems to have problems with dropped calls. The manual clearly mentions to keep the base away from computers. Once you find a location the phone works GREAT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

A home cell phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Partytime
from Chicago
on 08/05/2008
What's great about it: turn your bluetooth cell phone into a home land line
What's not so great: cannot text message from the phone
Good phone with good coverage around the house with your bluetooth cell phone. Used with the iphone and it worked like a charm!!!! If you want to leave your cell phone in one are and get the calls forwarded to you home land line... this is the way to go... PAO!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Great Phone For the Small Home Office

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Entrepreneur
from Buffalo, NY
on 05/23/2008
What's great about it: Ease of operation, Many features, Great Styling, Easy to read directions
What's not so great: Only two BT connections
Phone is a great phone for the small home office. Easy to use and sets up quickly. Panasonic has always made a superior product, and this product indeed is one of their superior products.
If you used Panasonic phones in the past as I have, you will not be disappointed!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

A good system

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: brunoshaw
from sarasota, fl
on 05/17/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, good price
What's not so great: Lacks digital answering machine
Setup is straight forward and simple. Just follow the included directions. Phone book is stored on the base so you only need to enter each entry once no matter how many handsets you use. I have not had any dropped calls, yet. Automatic discovery works about 80% of the time. When you return and your cell phone is not detected by the base then just press the manual button on the base for the respective cell phone and you will be linked.
I can send text messages from either of my cell phones (LG Rumor; Treo 755p) will linked to the base unit. Volume is good. Clarity is good.
If you suffer from dropped calls or misconnects then you have some type of wireless interference. Keep the base unit away from computers. If I'm on a cell call and use the microwave at the same time I experience a lot of static. Again, problems with connections, etc explained in other reviews seem to be caused by wireless signals. I keep my cell phones about 10 feet from the base but I can remain bluetooth connected any where in my small house.
This unit uses your phone company's voice mail for it's answering system. This product really needs it's own digital answering machine. I have a seperate answering machine hooked into my landline.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Works well when it does

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bbgun
from NJ
on 08/02/2008
What's great about it: Bluetooth. Clear at long range.
What's not so great: Drops calls all the time. Bluetooth link unreliable.
I was happy for about a day. Hooked up my wife's razor and my blackberry. No more running around the house looking for the ringing cell phone. Then I started getting the 'No link to base' problem. Connection dropped three times in the span of 5 mins constitutes 'does not work' to me. I used somewhat different expletives at the time. My blackberry would not connect from the next day on. Tried reregistering but no luck. My wife’s razor sort of stayed connected but sometimes the Panasonic would not ring on the incoming call. The cell, however, still thought that it was connected so you could not even answer the call there. Never happens with the Bluetooth headset so doubt it’s the razor’s problem.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

PANOSONIS PHONE TRASH

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from AKRON OHIO
on 07/28/2008
What's great about it: iF WORKED WOULD BE GOOD
What's not so great: DOESN'T WORK
I HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AS EVERYONE ELSE. iCALLED TECH SUPPORT THEY SAID UNUSUAL PROBLEM. yA RIGHT. I EXCHANGED THE PHONE AND HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. iF YOU LIKE FRUSTRATION AND DISCONNECTS BUY IT I RECOMEND TRASH IT
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Relieved

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CaptainDave
from Cleveland, Oh
on 02/03/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It works like they say. I found it to be very user friendly.
What's not so great: It doesn't do dishes!
After reading some of the negative reviews, I was pretty skeptical about getting it. I've had it almost a month now and it operates as it was designed to do. I found it very easy to set up as I went step by step with it through the book. I paired it up with a LG VX9800. Only 1 time it did not pair up when I got home, so I had to deregister my cell phone from the unit and reregister it. It has worked fine ever since. I am kinda shocked it would work so well since I have the base unit about 5' away from a 21' computer screen and a 32' TV screen and about 10' away from bluetooth on my computer, plus my cell phone is getting old. When I shut my cell phone off, I have trouble getting it to reconnect to my cell service. The last time it shut off and I restarted it, I was by the base station and my service connected right up. I am not sure if being by the base station had anything to do with it, but it hasn't reconnected that quick for me in 9 months---like I said, it's getting outdated. The sound on the handset is very clear and I have not experienced any dropped calls. When talking on the handset in cellular mode, I found it not as clear, but would rather talk on it than my cell. I also like the voice caller ID on the individual handsets as I don't have to squint to know who's calling when I don't have my glasses on. I have not used some of the other features it has so I can't comment on them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Only Bluetooth Link Phone that has ever worked!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mitch1138
from New London, PA
on 01/16/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Range, re-pairs as it should, easy re-link and clear status lights, phones share configuration data
What's not so great: Boxy base station with no phone
I have purchased over 5 bluetooth link phones (Panasonic, VTech, ATT, etc.) and have returned most. This is the only one that will automagically re-pair when the phone comes in range (iPhone). The phone won't re-pair about 5% of the time, but repairing is as easy as pressing one button. The phones work fine, this is not high on my list. If you populate the address book, it is shared between all the wireliess handsets - yeh. Very happy with this and will keep it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Once we got it working it was great!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lauriela
from Kings Park, NY
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Range
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: You dont have to use your cell in the house!
What's not so great: Nothing yet
If you are having trouble pairing and keeping both cell phones paired contact Panasonic! They will walk you through it! If you are getting dropped from the base or the cell wont reconnect call Panasonic! Having a great experience! Before I called I was ready to throw the phones out but I knew there had to be something wrong. There are some codes and some settings not in the book and that would have been helpful!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

O stars

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BruceK
from Vernon Hills, IL
on 12/26/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Range
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The idea of it is great.
What's not so great: It doesn't work consistently.
The idea of this product is great. And it does work to a point. However, it continously drops calls for no reason. Very frustating - do not buy this product. The XlLink BT works.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Not quite up to par

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: strattok
from Michigan
on 12/23/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Drop calls. Can not answer calls
At first I was able to answer incoming cell calls. Now I can no longer answer any incoming cell calls.
Many times the bluetooth does not connect to the cell phone.
Sometimes a cell call will come in and not ring the Panasonic phone, but the bluetooth says it is connected.
I would not recommend this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

Contrary to Many Others...MINE WORKS GREAT!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: SmokedTurkey
from Highlands Ranch, CO
on 09/18/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Works as advertised, Connects automatically when home, Handset speakerphones, Voice Caller ID is fun
What's not so great: Cheap looking buttons
I was very concerned about all the negative reviews, but had to try it as my cell phone is my work phone and my home office has iffy cell coverage. Has worked great so far.
Automatically connects when I come home. Different ringer for my cell phone calls. Speakerphone is handy. No dropped calls yet. Live in a multistory house and one handset is upstairs whle I keep the base in my office downstairs.
I connected my BB Pearl with no issues.
Voice quality seems to be ok. No echoing or complaints from callers.
Handset size is better than most other cordless phones which are just way to small nowadays.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

worked great for a while. . . now, useless

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: liz98
on 09/13/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Range
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing now
What's not so great: base lost blue tooth connectivity ability, now its completely non-functional
Initially, this was a great product. My husband and I could use the cordless phones instead of our cell phones (which had weak signals). After 3 months, the base no longer allowed connectivity via bluetooth so this system is non-functional and completely useless to me. Apparently this is a recurring problem with the device. Do not waste your money.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Panasonic DECT 6.0 Expandable Cordless Phone with Bluetooth Link

No Problems...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: How007
from Melbourne, Fl
on 05/14/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Works as advertised
What's not so great: nothing
After doing much research, I chose to step out and try this system. I use an iPhone, and my wife uses a Samsung Blackjack II. We bought this setup about 6 weeks ago. We've since elected to cancel our landline, (through "un-bundling" we're saving 90.00 per month), and now are using some of the 6000 rollover minutes we've accumulated through at&t. I can say I was pleasantly surprised by how easy the pairing process is, and stand firmly behind the system's reliability. We've since added two expansion phones, again very easy- I cannot stress the convenience of walking into your house putting your cell phone on it's charger, and not even thinking about missing a call. This being said, I would imagine this as a technology of the future. How many of us just bundled our needs into one package and blindlessly pay the bill every month. This is an extremely convenient option for those who get good cell reception at their home, and want to take full advantage of their plan. I have not had one missed/dropped call. I would recommend reading the instructions, I usually don't! It's not complicated, so simple my mother can do it (she's tech challenged, and in her sixties...). Also, we have a wireless network (802.11 b/g/n), use bluetooth computer hardware (keyboard/mice), have several sources of possible interference, and with the dect 6.0 have enjoyed pristine conversations... If you buy, you'll want to turn on all your fam/friends!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>