Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Model: C4480
SKU: 8782908
UPC: 883585587995
This printer is equipped to scan, print and copy your documents and photos with ease. Enjoy fast and smooth printing with up to 30 ppm* in black and 23 ppm* in color and borderless printing up to 8.5" x 11" right from the built-in memory card slots.
Average Customer Rating:
3.95 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
2
75% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
30 out of 40
)
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer
Review 1 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Simple but effective

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: volleyguy1001
from El Cajon
on 12/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Its inexpensive and is easy to use...even for a non-tech type person
What's not so great: It does not include a USB cable and it prints a little slow
You cannot beat the price on this guy. I have gone through at least 3 printers in the past 2 years before I got this one. I have had this one for a year now with no problems. Sure its not gonna give you the sharpest pictures if thats what your printing but they are still decent quality. It isn't going to print 40 pages in a snap of a finger but thats not why you get this. This is a great, basic printer. I print about out a 5 page article about once, maybe twice a week and this thing does just fine.
I have used the scanner function once to just make a copy of something and I was pretty impressed with the quality.
The down side that really bugs me is that it doesn't come with a USB cord. I know that none of the printers come with one but it seems that the cable is an essential part to have if you want to print.....
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Great item, easy to use and clear print/scan

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ddwh57
from Lehigh Valley, Pa
on 07/20/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Ease to use
What's not so great: Slow print
Great item for the price. Prints nice, clear pictures and scans nicely. I thought the ink lasted quite well for our use.
I would recommend this for anyone looking for a good printer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Don't waste your time

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: brandip1015
from Fresno, Ca
on 07/08/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Looks great, easy to use
What's not so great: Incompatible with Vista
I purchased a new Toshiba laptop from Best Buy 3 months ago and was given this printer by a family member who upgraded to a wireless printer. I downloaded the driver from the website for the basic features for lack of time when I initially set it up. I received the install disc later and installed the full HP software suite onto my laptop.
That's when the problems began. I can saftely say that I have approximately 15 hours of Tech Support logged between HP and Toshiba to trouble shoot my system slow down after the install. I have also done one system recovery (on a brand new system). I finally gave up and have taken the computer into Geek Squad to have them install the printer. Between myself and Geek Squad the software has been reinstalled it seems like several dozen times. In the end the Senior Technician at Geek Squad has said that although HP claims this printer is compatible with Vista, it really isn't and that's what's been causing my system slow down. They have managed to get the software on my laptop so that I have a basic printer but all everything else is nearly impossible to use.
For the time I have spent worrying about this issue, time lost on homework, and the stress of countless ticket numbers with HP and Toshiba I would recommend passing on this printer. It looks pretty but comes with lots of headaches!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Ok printer

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Sarah05
on 06/11/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
You have to change the cartridges too often, print quality isn't that great
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Good, Basic Multi-function Printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JaneA
from New York, NY
on 06/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Nice printouts, reliable
What's not so great: Scanner defaults are annoying
I've had this printer for 9 months and, for a $100 printer, it works very well. The printouts are clear and readable. It has even handled printing on 3x5 index cards with no jamming. I've used the copier function a few times and it worked fine. (I haven't tried printing any photos or used photo paper, but that's not what this printer was designed for anyway.)
The speed is a little slow. It's fine if you're printing 10 pages of something, but if you're planning to print out the great American novel, invest in a faster printer (with a bigger paper tray.)
The only thing I find annoying is the scanner. It has *never* selected the size of the object being scanned correctly. If I put in an 8 1/2 x 11 sheet, it scans a rectangle in the middle of the page. Put a photo in the corner and it scans across the middle of it. If I turn the next photo sideways to match what it picked last time, it changes direction again. I don't have a lot of experience with scanners -- maybe this is normal -- but it is annoying. The area it auto-selects is easy to override, however, so it has become a minor annoyance.
All in all, I'm quite satisfied with this purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Prints great -- when it works!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from SLO, CA
on 05/01/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good price
What's not so great: Problems with print/scanning functions
Bought this in December, have used HP for years but this may be the last! Printer is great when it works. Scanning feature does not work most of the time, although I can get it to work with software other than HP's. Print function works most of the time, but I have uninstalled and reinstalled this thing so many times I could do it blindfolded. Contacted HP 4 times, 3 times customer service and once a Sr. Case Manager. All customer service will say is to uninstall and reinstall, which doesn't work. Case manager said he didn't know what to do! Customer service is in East India and leaves a lot to be desired. Not only would I not recommend this to a friend, I don't think I'd recommend it to my worst enemy!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Great All Around Printer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: plh2002
from Shelby Twp, MI
on 04/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very east to set up, easy to use.
What's not so great: So far there isn't anything not good with it.
Great all around printer. Photos come out bright and clear. No complaints at all with the printer. Great to have for scanning and quick copies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Not so great

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: AnnieMP
from dallas, tx
on 04/13/2009
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up
What's not so great: Isn't printing and it's brand new!
We've had the printer two weeks and have had ink-fading problems from the get-go. I have called HP and done the on-line tech thing. What a disaster. I read that HP has terrible customer service but was optimistic. Ha! Still haven't resolved the problem...
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Great Printer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: iGAT
on 03/08/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great quality, can do almost anything, easy to set up and use
What's not so great: No USB cord included, Fairly fast - could be faster
This printer is fantastic! Especially when we did a test photo, the photo was so brilliant in quality. It was perfect. Unfortunately, it didn't come with a USB cord but luckily we had one from the old printer. I'm pretty sure they sell cheap anyway. It took about ten minutes to set up everything (software and hardware) and it was incredibly easy to do. I'd definitely recommend this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Great printer for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: summerlover
from North Dokota
on 02/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Prints fast
What's not so great: Doesn't come with USB cord
I purchased this printer/scanner after much research on line. This printer/scanner is one of those items you either love it or you hate it... I love it...because it is just a basic printer and scanner. No fancy features other then you can put your memory card from your camera into it and scroll through the pictures and print them out. I have never tried that option.. but I have faith that will be good too. This is just a good printer/scanner that will probably last me for years to come. The print/scan quality is great!! I expected some problems getting it set up but to my surprise it was easy. I just followed the prompts and within 15 minutes I was good to print. In my research, I noticed that some people had some trouble getting the printer to just print one sheet of paper at a time. At first I had that problem also until I noticed that my paper was positioned to far into the machine... so after using the swing-out paper guard guide to see where the letter size paper should be I have never had any problems since then. One of the best printers... scanners I have ever used. It is fast... easy to set up and just a plain good printer/scanner for the price. If you want a cheap printer/scanner for your business you might want to look for one with a higher price tag and more options but it you want one for your kids to use or just a basic one for home.. this is the one to get.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Good Printer (sometimes)

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Independence, Mo.
on 02/14/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: print quality
What's not so great: sometimes fails
This is a good printer and I have one at work, but it is very unreliable and will not work sometimes. When I ask my computer to diagnois the problem it says offline. I do system restarts and unplug and re plug the thing and no luck.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Prints great photos

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: bessy
from Industry PA
on 02/11/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Prints great photos and cards
What's not so great: This printer will NOT print envelopes
I liked the the look of the printer and the features, to bad they all do not work. This printer prints beautiful photos and cards, general document come out great. However it will NOT print envelopes for cards or print shops. NO 10 is the only one it will print. Contacted tech support and they tried to help me ...however it was not successful. I really liked my old HP, unfortunately I was very disapointed with this product, all beacuse it will not print envelopes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Nickel and Dimed

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sure74
from Olympia, WA
on 02/06/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Neat Looks and Compact style
What's not so great: No USB Cord, tiny ink cartage
This printer requires a USB cord that was NOT included in the box. Luckly, I had saved the USB cord from my previous printer. The ink cartages they included with the set up are tiny Barbie sized ink wells!! I guess I should be happy they included them at all.
There were about 11 steps needed to set this printer up. I was easily able to follow the directions and it only took about 10 to 15 mins, including the time needed to take it out of the box and look around my house for an extra USB cord.
It prints beautifully, doesn't make too much noise and it's easy on the eyes.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

This printer is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jpeterson74
from Bronx, NY
on 01/30/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy to set up and it came with the USB cord.
What's not so great: Nothing
I had a Dell All-in-one printer and it clonked out in a little over a year and Dell wouldn't take it back...saying that warranty only lasted a year from purchase.... but they wanted me to purchase another one since I was a valued customer......so they said. I purchased the HP Photosmart yesterday and i love it. I will never buy another Dell printer again.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Anxious to review, but...

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Hawkman
from Arcadia, CA
on 01/05/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Print quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: No USB cable supplied to connect the printer to your computer
I'd love to write a review, but since the printer didn't include a USB cable for which to connect my computer, I can't even set it up. Best Buy wants $40-$50 for the cheapest USB A/B cable. Yeah right. I'll be right there. Not.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

great printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: anthony123
from Los angeles,ca
on 12/26/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: i got it for a good price, nd tight
What's not so great: it was a little confusing to step up but great printer
i would recomend everyone to get this printer or a higher version great choice!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

THE BEST PRINTER I HAVE EVER OWNED!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: justme
from chicago
on 12/26/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Low Cost of Ink!!!! Print Quality and Speed, Very Quiet, I Love It!
What's not so great: Nothing that I have found.
I ended up paying only $39.99 for this printer ($49.99 - $10.00 discount) and it is the best printer I have ever owned. I use it primarily for business so it is used a lot every day. It tops the last HP printer that I owned, which I paid nearly $400 for. I loved that printer too and was sad to see it go because I did not think I could find anything better. I was wrong! Not only is this printer better in every way, but I could not even replace the ink in my old printer for the $39.99 I paid for this new model. This printer is fast and the photos, documents, or whatever I am printing print fast, crisp, clear, and vivid! The response time is immediate when a print job is sent to the printer and scanning is easier and faster than ANY scanner I have ever used. Don't let the price fool you - you will not be disappointed in this All-In-One HP product. I'm sure the price is so low because it is being replaced by the latest and greatest. I'm so glad I got one now because I cannot see how it can be improved.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

4.5

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Judy5
from PA
on 12/26/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Using fast draft it is really fast. It's compact, especially when the paper feed tray is closed.. Easy installation.
What's not so great: It's a bit noisy, but so were my other HP's!
After I bought a new computer with Vista I could no longer use the other 2 HP's I have. I had had good experiences my other HP printers, but looked at the all in ones from HP, Dell, and Kodak, before settling on this one- it has lots of features, a low initial cost, and relatively low cost for the ink cartridges. It was very easy to install and I haven't had any problem with paper jamming so far. I have only printed black and white documents so I can't say how much ink it will use, so at this point that's not an issue either. I would definitely recommend this printer for the average person to use at home.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Is an OK printer but not a Quiet one

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: BNoteb
from Iowa
on 12/13/2008
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: prints good and quality pretty good......
What's not so great: is so noisy!!!!! not a quiet printer at all, I would not buy again.
This is an average printer, very noisy though. My HP printer from years ago is much quieter and prints faster.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart All-in-One Printer

Great little printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: techchallengedgirl
from Greenville, SC
on 11/30/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up, price on line saved $50!! great deal
What's not so great: don't know yet
I was a more than a little intiminated about buying my first printer, I did my best to compare all that had similar options, what options I did or did not need.
The HP C4480 turned out to be quite the smart printer, easy install (even I could do it), prints and copies great, photos print a little slower than liked, but I didn't purchase it for photo copies. The price was such a great deal, well worth the
price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>