Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Model: DX-PDP42-09
SKU: 8795556
UPC: 600603116995
This 42" plasma HDTV delivers crisp, vibrant high-definition visuals with up to 720p resolution. The 20W speaker system supports SRS TruSurround XT sound to help recreate the experience of cinema-quality sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 70 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
64 out of 70
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV
Review 1 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Awesome!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nita55
from Tx
on 04/25/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price, quality, ease to use
this was an open box. The savings was amazing. It was so easy to set-up and use, The picture and sound is great! I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

cheap tv

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: kooky
from sf, ca
on 04/25/2009
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: cheap
What's not so great: picture quality, color, black levels, saturation, clarity
I don't like to shop for brand names, but at the same time, the old adage remains true: you get what you pay for. there is a reason why this tv costs hundreds less.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

very nice T.V.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dallas2
from Md.
on 04/17/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price, picture, swivel base, light weight
What's not so great: must use OSD for certain features
Needed a new t.v. to replace an old ,heavy crt. Found this Dynex by browsing BB website. Saw the t.v. and price ($599.00 ) and read all the reviews.As others mentioned, a bit reluctant at first. Went to store to compare. Was AMAZED at the picture compared to Brand name sets costing hundreds $$ more sitting right next to it. Spent 45 minutes looking at angles, colors, etc. Could not justify spending much more for just a t.v. I shop for " off brand " merchandise as much as possible. Why pay for a name? Very impressed and happy.No problem with sound as others complained.
Only 2 issues. History ( or lack thereof ) of quality and must use osd to mute speakers when using wireless headphones. No big deal though.
I hope it lasts for many yrs. as most T.V.'s do. BUY IT
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Bad Quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: NG246
from California
on 04/17/2009
Picture Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: na
What's not so great: Short life term
I purchased this 42” TV last November. Recently, the TV showed no picture. A technician came to fix it and replaced with 4 boards and there is still no picture. The technician said he will need to order two more boards. Basically I only enjoy this TV for 4 months and not sure if I will have any luck after he replaced two additional boards. It's very frustrating to go through the whole process. The quality of this TV is not desirable.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

WHAT HAPPENED??

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tabb
from Cordova, TN
on 04/09/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: GREAT PICTURE AND GREAT SURROUND SOUND!
What's not so great: ALL OF A SUDDEN--JUST STOPPED WORKING...
I purchased this tv from Best Buy in February of this year. It was on sale for $599 (great price). It shows the best picture and we love the surround sound. I also like that fact that we can get extra cable channels on it that we couldn't get before with our old big screen. We absolutely love it; with the exception of ONE THING...now it won't turn on. It worked fine all day yesterday; then last night...nothing. I am on hold (as we speak) with the Geek Squad trying to set up an appointment with them to get someone to come out and look at it. We thought that perhaps it was the remote (which is not really normal for the batteries to be low after only 2 months of use), so we changed the batteries...wasn't it. I tried turning it on with power button on the side of the tv...didn't work either. The strange thing about it all is that the RED standby light is still on at the bottom right corner of the tv...go figure. Someone from the Geek Sqaud just came back to the phone to let me know that a representative from New Tune Rapids would come out Monday to take a look at it. I'm not very happy to know that we will have to go 4 days without being able to watch our Dynex (thank goodness we have other tv's in our home). I'm a bit dissappointed being that I researched this tv and read what seems like thousand of reviews before making the decision to purchase it. I hope that Geek Squad can repair or if not, replace it with another one. I will post another review after the tech comes out on Monday.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Excellent Televison

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kev42
from Philly
on 04/08/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Size vs. Price
What's not so great: Pain getting home and in the winter
Bought this Television a month ago: excellent buy!!!! The best price and the bets size.. actually it is somewhat to big for my apartment. But screw it! Having company is now a pleasure; force yourself to go buy the HDMI cables; you'll appreciate the colors of Blue Ray's or DVD's to.
The only Problem I had; was I drive An Trans Am. I didn't know you couldn't lay it down. So I would recommend having a truck or someone with a truck.
I pray that your single; because even though I bought the TV; my girlfriend comesin and take over.It's simple just an beautiful Television...Don't worry about the name (brand) it's simply an good TV; best buy back's it up too.
Enjoy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Simply INCREDIBLE!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Fingerz
from New York, NY
on 04/08/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Besides the price, all of the available input ports!
What's not so great: That it doesn't speak!
This was a fascinating purchase, and great upgrade for my Home Theater! It was just a gateway for me to then purchase a Blu-Ray player, HDMI cable sets, new surround sound speakers, etc. Once you own an HDTV, at 42 inches or bigger, you can't help but upgrade your entire system to truely never have to leave the house, and certainly impress your date! If you're a true movie-buff, this is an excellent value for an HDTV. It's GREAT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

GREAT BUY!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jfarve76
from berwick
on 03/27/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture, easy set up awsome over the air tuner and QAM is great
What's not so great: Remote a little cheesy but the best remote of the budget tvs I have encountered
Bought this tv for 589.00...I see now its up to 699 and still a steal! I will be purchasing another for the bedroom as well. This does not look act or feel like a budget tv...So its 720p instead of 1080p how many stations are or will broadcast in 1080p anytime soon. Go to best buy and buy one before they stop selling them.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Pleasantly Surprised

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rudyc
from Tucson, AZ
on 03/11/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture quality; it swivels; exceptional value
What's not so great: Nothing, so far.
Pleasantly surprised w/picture quality. Great price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Don't be turned-off by the label

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DiamondJoeQ
from Minneapolis
on 03/08/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Value, Picture, Inputs, glossy case, swivel base!!
What's not so great: lack of long-term performance record
I swore I'd only buy another Sony or Mitsubishi TV. But since they won't dabble in plasma ... I saw no reason to wait. And no matter how much I looked, I just couldn't understand why to choose LCD over plasma. Even the highest-end LCDs don't produce a picture like a plasma. Both my research and "eyes" convinced me of that. After owning this for one month, I know I made a solid choice.
My decision came down to this TV, and the stalwart Panasonic, which was $300 more at the time I bought this. They were actually side-by-side in the store, and thorough viewing showed little difference to me. I took home the Dynex with the idea that there's be a 50-50 chance I'd return it for the Panasonic. What clinched it (in addition to the performance and price) was the swivel base. Seems like a minor deal. But the way my room is set-up, and the fact I put it on a credenza, makes that a huge deal. It is very slick. And came assembled out of the box.
The biggest question anyone would have about the TV is the brand name, and with good reason. There is little track record. And the fact is, nobody can tell you for sure what is inside the box. Since Dynex is a "re-badged" brand made for Best Buy, I would expect they have some "pull" to require the TV perform well. Because it is a Best Buy brand, it gave me more confidence. I've been told/read that the Dynex TVs are assembled from "older" or "surplus" components. So .... you could be getting very low-end parts, but there is also a chance they come from high-end plasmas. The way this TV performed in the store vs. other TVs, convinces me that this was a "good batch". For what it's worth, the OSD on mine is the same as I have seen on some Vizio LCDS. But I believe this TV has superior components to a Vizio, and that the OSD computer chip is all they have in common.
Anyways, the picture looks great. But like all HDTVs, you are at the mercy of the source. You'll be thrilled with the performance of well-encoded HD sources, less thrilled with older footage converted to HD, and disappointed with Standard Definition airings. This isn't the TVs fault, it's the same with any HDTV I've seen, including the elite sets. Many have commented on the sound being sub-par, but I think it is well above average for a TV. Even if you aren't using a separate sound system, you'll be fine with the sound.
Back to durability. One of the "knocks" I found while doing research, was that these TVs were made in China, and had much less stringent quality controls than the top-tier brands. May or may not be true. But if there was to be a manufacturing issue, you'd notice (or hear) it right out of the box. I ran mine hard for the first few weeks, to ease my worries about its durability. There's no way to know how it will perform as time goes by, but I have no concerns about this Dynex than I would with any other brand.
I have no reason to believe I would get more value out of another brand. This exceeded all my expectations. So keep the extra $250+, and use it for something else. Get a Blu-Ray player, or get the service plan if you want piece-of-mind. You'll still be ahead. And think twice about getting a LCD, especially when you can have superior plasma technology for less.
This is a great TV, at a great price. Bottom line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

OMG! It was well worth the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: smurff
from westmont,il
on 03/02/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: nothing as of yet
The picture is WONDERFUL! so much so that I have the 32in sharp that I am taking back tom to get the 32' Dynex the picture clarity is so wonderful it is well worth the money. If you are unsure of this purchase take it from me it's worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

I can't Complain....

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tony7702
from Costa Mesa,Ca
on 02/27/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Nothing
I have done my homework. I have read all reviews and told myself I would not settle for a Non-Name brand TV. Well Guess the economy got the better of me and I bought the no-name Dynex Plasma 720p.
I could not be more pleased... It has exceded all my expectations. It looks better than a 1080p LCD.
I suggest doing what I did. bought it for
599.00 + 25.00 ca recyc fee = 624.00
+ 7.75% TAX 48.36 = 672.36
672.36 + 4-YEAR gEEK squad Waranty 155.00 = 827.36 OUT THE DOOR
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

So far so good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rych
from Chicago, IL
on 02/27/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Nothing
Bought this TV for my Daughter and not one problem so far. Great value
for $550. The picture was better than the Samsung which was $200 more
No problem with burn. Great TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

longevity report

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: bc36607
from Mobile, AL
on 02/25/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: picture sound the works
What's not so great: plasma burned
Well I wanted to wait for my review not to say in hopes that it would happen but just incase, I wanted to warn people. I purchased this TV the first week of january. it has been lovely untill today, a month and a half later the screen has officially burned in. I could not be more upset.I have loved this t.v. and 2 weeks after I cant take it back the screen burns. I read reviews from others about the sound being weak on this tv. I couldn't disagree more. It has built in equalizers and at just level 20, I can fill up upstairs and down with indepth sound. It's wonderful for movie night. I had absolutely no complaints really just wish I could have this fixed. I babied this TV out of fear of this and it still happened!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Hard to beat

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ErikF
from State College, PA
on 02/25/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture, Parental controls, My wife can use it
What's not so great: Sound
First off, I love this TV! I have been looking around for a few months and then I found this one. With my job I go to many bars for deliveries and they all have HD's on the wall, so I used this to help pick one out for myself. I have seen the Dynex brand in bars before and thought they looked good. At Best Buy it was next to a $3,000 Sony and this TV was by far better in picture. Between that and the price (Open box for $550) I was sold. When I got it home and hooked it up, I loved it even more. The only problem I have is the HDMI and my cable box. When I go from an HD channel to regular, or use the channel guide the screen splits and looses color. But this is not the TV, it is the cable box being compatilble (DVI output) with the TV and something to do with copyright stuff HDMI uses. Using componet cables takes care of this problem, and it looks the same. For a first time HD owner, it can't be beat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Holy Moly...GREAT TV !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from NC
on 02/23/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Simple menu. Great Picture. Excellent price !
What's not so great: Nothing Yet.
After trying out 3 different name brand LCD's with no satisfaction, finally tried a plasma. I was blown away with the picture quality. Was not expecting such clarity from the cheapest brand I had tried to date. I am keeping the Dynex! Unless you are a name brand snob, the Dynex will fully satisfy your TV needs. Has all of the necessary features without being as complicated as some of the others I had experimented with. Try it, you'll like it !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

bang for the buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: chestblown
from grand rapids,mi
on 02/21/2009
What's great about it: great picture
What's not so great: speakers
i bought this tv about a week ago. we use this tv quite a bit and havent experienced image burn and when i use my xbox 360 or PS3 the picture is comparable to my LCD TV. the speakers are week but if your going to go this far to have a flat panel tv i think u should be ready to add a home theater system with it anyway. if you're looking for your 1rst panel tv or u want a great tv without spending an arm and a leg i would recommend this tv to just about anybody. great buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

tv

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rell22
from Boston,Ma
on 02/20/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing
I love this T.V. and I had found nothing wrong with it as of now and hope not too but I love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Best deal out there

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: romovid87
from Beaverton, OR
on 02/19/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price,Excellent Picture Quality,Better than a 1080p LCD , Very nice enclosure
What's not so great: Sound is not bat but could be improved
I love this TV! I bought a 32" Sony Bravia 720p and hated it, picture was horrible. I took that back, and for about the same price I found this beauty.
I was skeptical at first because it wasn't a Sony or Samsung brand but, I am confident I made the right decision choosing this TV. The picture quality is superior, and looks like a good quality build. There is a Dynex 42" LCD 1080p for about $100 more, but why would you buy that when the cheaper one has better picture quality and looks more attractive.
This Superior Dynex product has broken my loyalty to Sony
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

What A Sweet Deal!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jef851
from Central Pennsylvania
on 02/18/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture, great sound, easy to setup!
What's not so great: haven't found anything to complain about! Ok the box it came almost didn't fit in the car!
Got to tell you what as Super TV! It was about $150 less at BestBuy than competiting Stores or TV's in the same class. BUY THIS TV if you have a small budget like me. The picture is sweet and so is the sound. FYI when I read the product specs here on the BestBuy website the description says the TV is not "Digital cable Ready" ~ WRONG! This TV is Digital ready & has a Digital tuner built in so you're good to go! The first page of the instruction book tells you that! I set this TV up in less than 30 minutes, including unboxing it - be sure to read the unpacking instructions on the top of the packing carton. So easy to unpack! HD channels & Digital channels are crystal clear & crisp! BUY THIS TV!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>