Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Model: DX-PDP42-09
SKU: 8795556
UPC: 600603116995
This 42" plasma HDTV delivers crisp, vibrant high-definition visuals with up to 720p resolution. The 20W speaker system supports SRS TruSurround XT sound to help recreate the experience of cinema-quality sound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 70 reviews
5 stars
50
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
91% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
64 out of 70
)
Customer Reviews for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV
Review 41 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

I am very happy with this tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jnuno
from Sylmar, CA
on 01/20/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the picture and sound are very good
What's not so great: no real fine tune fitures
I bought this TV last week when it was on sale and i could not be happier. For the price ($549.99) it can't be beat. the picture is good on just default and after a little tuning with the limited controls it looks great. XBOX 360 games look great. Sound is even good. this TV is heads and shoulders above my old LCD 26" TV that i paid more for. At night or in the day the TV is clear and easy to watch.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

EXCELLENT PLASAMA

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GWING1
from VALLEY STREAM NY
on 01/18/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: UP AND RUNNING 10 MINUTES OUT OF THE BOX
What's not so great: NOTHING SO FAR
BOUGHT THIS TV A WEEK AGO ON SALE HAD BEEN LOOKING FOR A WHILE
FOR THE PRICE YOU CAN NOT DO BETTER
PICTURE IS AWSOME SOUND AND CONTROLS ARE VERY GOOD
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

First time flat screener

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NoEnglish
from mount vernon, ny
on 01/16/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: for the price it was a steal! I was going to get a 37 inch shrtp from the competetor but they fell short
What's not so great: from what I hear a HDMI cable should should have been standard
As a first time flat screen buyer i am thouroughly impressed at the picture quality and overall look ot the screen and colors display. WOW!! The smoked grey mirrored edges along with the fluid screen make this moded a no brainer, especially after looking at some of the prices of those so called high end models. as a matter of fact, if it weren't for the fact the walls of telivisions in besy buy weren't so filled, I would have missed this 42 inch gem :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tom37
from Antwerp,OH
on 01/16/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: What a good price
What's not so great: Nothing yet
We were going to buy a 32" for the bedroom but after looking at this we bought it. It has a great picture and very easy to get set-up. I've got a 46" Sony LCD 1080 in the living room and this TV seems to have a comparable picture and for a lot less money. They wanted $179 for the extended warr. which I thought was too much for a $549 TV so I didn't buy it.Take a truck to get it. We had to take it out of the box to get it in the car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Big bang for the buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Miike
from Seattle,Wa.
on 01/15/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: excellent sound picture and easy to set up
What's not so great: had to take tv out of box to get in my car
i was going to buy a 1080p lcd but the picture on this set was soooo much better!!
i have my dvd set to 1080i and seems to work fine
have not tried it with the ps3 v yet but my wife and i are in love
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Blown away by the picture.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Brown41
from Niles, IL
on 01/15/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price is redidulous for a TV of this quality.
What's not so great: Nothing yet
I have a 26" Dynex and the picture and overall quality got me to buy the 42" set. Very Happy!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Arkham
from Martinez, CA
on 01/14/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Insane price, Easty to Set up!
What's not so great: not sure yet, so far no complaints.
Went out and got this bad boy last night. Got it home with no problems. Its easy to get out of the box, and not as heavy as other models that i've carried for other people.
I connected everything very fast, turned it on and there was a beautiful new TV in my living room. The sound on this thing is better than I expected. They had a display model of it turned on at the store, so i knew the picture looked great.
A great buy for someone getting their first HDTV, or a Dorm or anything of that nature. I recomend getting the 4 year PSP that Best Buy offers, just in case its lesser known name brand gets the better of it and you need some repairs down the line. Hope you have fun shopping.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

good for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: JALENGT
from BULLVILLE NY
on 01/11/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: price ,size gloss black,inputs ,picture and sound
What's not so great: remote and basic menu and brand indenity
upgraded from olevia and what a diffrence. tv looks great ,price is good for 549.95 .may buy another .beatbuy has done an excellent job with this brand . ive owned olevia,insignia and dynex and this tv ranks up there with the best of them
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

BE CAREFUL

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MIKE726
from Farmington, MN
on 01/08/2009
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: PRICE
What's not so great: BROKE
i had this tv for 2 months and the picture went out!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

This is a great TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scottycs
from Charlotte, NC
on 12/12/2008
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: PRICE!! This is a great TV for the price
What's not so great: Case is somewhat dissappointing. Remote is OK. Slow to respond to remote.
Great Deal! This TV is the best bang for your buck out there, I got it on-sale for $599.99. Case and the remote are the only real complaints I have. TV can be slow to respond when tuning in HD stations.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: compmore
from mo
on 12/08/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: exellent picture,great price
What's not so great: sound a littile weak
we bought this tv at best buy on black friday for 599.00. I've been shopping around for a while and this was the best tv for the price.I wanted a plasma tv because the colors are more vivid.the picture looks better than the 1080p lcds I think.the sound is a little weak but I'm hooking up a surround sound system anyway.also the tuner is stronger when hooked up to external antana than the converter box I was using.Bottom line is we love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Amazing!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mdsniper7
from Florida
on 12/06/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything!
What's not so great: Nothing Maybe speaker look.
This is a amazing tv for the price I can't believe it. I traded in my samsung for this because it wasn't working right and I am glad I got this. I am so glad I bought a 2nd for my game room. just amazing
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great Deal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: enealio
from Saint Paul, MN
on 12/01/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, Picture Quality, Multiple Ports, Swivel Base
What's not so great: Super Shiny Surface Gets Dust Fast
We scoured the Black Friday fliers to find a new TV as our Sony Trinitron was on the out. We're not heavy gamers or sports fans, but a Wii is on our future wants and we love movies. As we often have friends over to watch movies and soon to play some multi-player games, we were looking for a large tv while still being affordable.
At first we were wary of the brand Dynex, however when you are at Best Buy, ask to compare the remote of a Dynex with a Samsung. They're virtually identical. I had also heard that Samsung makes Dynex for Best Buy. So you may be actually getting a name brand item for a house brand price.
The picture is great. We were looking at LCD screens too and the color warmth and black richness of this plasma was better than half of the LCD's there. Granted it's not 1080 but if you're like most people, you're upgrading from an older low res tv. I didn't see that big of a difference anyway between an LCD 1080 and this plasma 720.
There are two HDMI ports which are great. One for the DVD player and another for the future gaming system. Another great feature is the PC port. We stream Netflix and until the Blue Ray/Netflix combo players come down in price, we'll keep hooking up the laptop. On our old TV, we were using S-Video. The PC port blows that away. The images and text are so crisp. The Netflix videos look great on it too. In fact, the image is so sharp, we've been using it as a monitor for graphic design projects. Adobe products rock with this as your monitor.
I do agree that the sound isn't the best, but with a TV this size, you should be using some kind of external sound system anyway. It's a shame to have that rich of a picture without upgrading your sound too. That's like splurging on a nice car stereo but keeping the factory speakers. As for image burning, we haven't seen that happen but will be very cautious to make sure it doesn't occur.
Overall, this is a great TV for anyone looking to upgrade from an older TV to a flat panel. For what you get with this TV, the price is great. Easily $300-$500 cheaper than a comparable name brand TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Excellent TV for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Forg1ve
from Dover,NH
on 11/30/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good picture, a lot of hook ups, good price
What's not so great: to big to fit in my car
I went to best to buy a new tv and wanted to go as big for little money. This TV is the best choice out there. Plasma is the way to go. I have an xbox 360, and bought it for gaming on. People told me about burn ins or something when you game on it....but havnt had one. Havnt had one problem with it. The only one i had was my car was to small to fit the box in.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

No complaints!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Lucky428
from Poughkeepsie, NY
on 11/27/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy set up/ great price/ great picture!
What's not so great: nothing yet
My husband & I bought this TV nearly a month ago. We aren't really "UP" on the latest technology, but we did a bit of research on what's good, better and best. When we went to Best Buy we thought we'd be purchasing the 42" LCD w/ 1080p because that seemed to be "best" HOWEVER after comparing all the TV's on the demo wall, even some of the pricier LCD and Plasma screens, we liked the picture on the Plasma 720p. We even tried to convince ourselves that the lcd had the better picture....but the bottom line is the Plasma has it beat!! We got it home and couldn't be happier with it! We got our HD cable box the same day & we are still excited to turn it on weeks later.
As for the reviews on sound quality, maybe adjusting the settings would help. Ours came with the Dolby Digital default, but a friend showed us that in a smaller room (like ours) if you set the sound to Narrow it plays straight ahead to your seating area! It's perfect for us, but like I said....not big on all the latest gadgets...
I say life is too short to not buy an awesome tv priced under a grand...buy it!! :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV! Buy it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MDH12ax7
from Tulsa, Ok.
on 11/22/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great picture, great price!
What's not so great: what's not to love?
Don't worry about the brand name, this is a really nice TV. Some people worry about burn-in on the screen, I have yet to see it. My son and I play X-Box for hours and have had zero problems. I have owned mine for 4 months and am still very happy with it. I will buy a 50" or 52" of this brand soon as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ScottR
on 11/08/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great picture for the price
What's not so great: Poor sound quality (but fine with headphones or external sound system)
The only thing I use a TV for is to watch DVDs, and I'd been wanting to get a widescreen TV for a long time. When it came time to look, the two 42" models in my price range were this one and a 1080p LCD TV also from Dynex. I looked at them side by side in the store, and I chose the plasma one because even at a slightly lower resolution (all but indistinguishable to my own eyes at my normal viewing distance anyway), the picture quality is much better -- warmer colors, richer blacks, better off-axis viewing. (Probably a more expensive LCD TV could do better than this one does, but then again a more expensive plasma TV could do even better.) The speakers aren't very good, but I'm running this one to a set of Skullcandy Hesh headphones, so I don't care. I have it hooked up to a Philips DVP 5990 that upconverts my 480p DVDs to 720p (it will do 1080p too but I don't need it) and I'm very happy with the whole setup. I bought all these items from Best Buy and got a great low-end home theater system for less than eight hundred dollars!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Hottest TV to Date

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rubies
from Somerset, MA
on 10/29/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: User Friendly Stylish good looks Sharp Clean Picture
What's not so great: It,s a little heavy
I really enjoy my Dynex Flat- Panel HDTV. This is the nicest TV my Family and I have bought. Its the greatest and the Best Buy ever.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

no problems so far

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PatA
from East Lansing, MI
on 10/29/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price and picture quality
What's not so great: none so far
I bought this TV because it was on special for $600 at the time, making it hundreds less than other 42" plasma or LCD tvs. I read some reviews that the sound quality wasn't so great, but I don't have any complaints. I'm sure a $1500 tv would have a better contrast ratio or frame rate or something, but this is my first HDTV and its still light years better than standard definition on a 22" CRT (which is what I had before).
Bottom line, unless you've got a sharp enough eye for high def already, I doubt you'll notice any problem with the picture. Saving the extra $200 or $300 or $1000 by not getting the brand name was well worth it for me (and probably you too if this is you're first HDTV).
Three things worth noting. (1) there seems to be a 1 second or more lag for the audio to come on when switching between channels. This is longer than I'm used to, but certainly not even enough of a problem to bump it from 5 stars to 4. (2) I really like the "favorites" buttons on the remote that allow for 4 channels to be pre-programmed. (3) the service plan for this TV was an outrageous price ($150 or something like that) so go ahead and pass on it. I think because they're selling the TV so cheap they're trying to gouge you on the service plan (even moreso than other TVs). General online buying guides suggest paying 5-10% of the cost of the TV for a service plan is reasonable. Asking for 25% of the cost of the TV for the service plan is ridiculous.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Dynex® 42" Class / 720p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great product for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Paducah KY
on 10/21/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
My husband and I recently purchased this TV. We decided on this one over the 47 Insignia LCD and the 42 inch Samsung that Best Buy also offers after researching both products. We ended up getting the TV for $611 before taxes after I found a 10% coupon online. It is a great TV for the price. I believe it is compariable to other products such as RCA, Sony and even Samsung.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>