Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Model: NS-PDP50HD-09
SKU: 8796387
UPC: 600603116735
This huge 50" plasma HDTV features a true high-definition 1080p resolution and delivers sharp, clear images. It also features a built-in memory card that supports Secure Digital, MultiMediaCard and xD-Picture card formats and lets you view digital photos on the big screen. <class="gs_iv">Geek Squad Installation Videos© See how our highly trained Geek Squad Installers can help you get the most out of your home theater.1299.99
Average Customer Rating:
4.775 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
38 out of 40
)
Customer Reviews for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV
Review 1 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

1080P 50" Plasma for $1099! Awesome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: airnmol
from Ottawa,IL
on 04/04/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great picture, no motion blur, great price!!
What's not so great: No white wash or pixel orbiter, but w/ warranty who cares??
We were afraid of buying this at first just cuz of the name brand idea, and some lack of features, mainly burnin. But after deciding to buy the 4 year warranty which covers everything, including burn in or other issue, they would come to the house and fix or replace. The part i like is if that tv is no longer available to repace, they will give you a comparable tv, not by price but it has to be another 1080p tv even if that means sony, lg or samsung. Which would me an even better one. The tv is great, picture, i don't use speakers have surround sound, i would never expect a flat panel to have great sound w/ the lack of speaker size. With the warranty you don't need to worry about burnin, being this tv doesn't have any feature to fix or prevent. That's the only downfall, also had to up the contrast, brightness, and vividness, great picture.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Price meets the Quality

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PWHX
from Lincoln, NE
on 02/27/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It is Samsung display
What's not so great: none
I had this tv about 3 month now, i just find out today this tv is using samsung display...so i guess i paid the great price for this tv since it is samsung....this tv bring me great pic and sound when i play with my ps3 or xbox360. if you want save money and get good quality tv, this is it...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Worth every dollar$$

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Astorga
from Northridge, CA
on 02/14/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The money I paid for this set
What's not so great: Nothing
This is such a great TV!! First off dont let this price fool you like it almost did to me. I thought the more you pay the better. Thank God I was wrong. Of course I wish I could afford a $5000 Pioneer but I honestly can't. The picture is great!! I bought a blue ray player as well and the movies seem so real. Such a clear picture and the detail is phenomenal. I watch all the Laker games through HD and the picture is superb. Best deal i ever got. If your like me and want a great TV at a great price then stop your search!!! Cause your answer is right in front of your eyes.
I have not run into any problems with my set. Easy to set up and easy to understand. Remote is easy to follow and has enough HDMI inputs for all your needs. Great TV for first time flat screen buyer. The sound is ok but quite honestly if you want great sound then NO TV out there will give you great sound like surround sound will so why worry about that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great Tv for the Price!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PaulyIzGod
from Tampa, FL
on 02/08/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Picture quality is great, very simple setup, simple remote.
What's not so great: lack of menu controls, sound is decent but still not great.
This tv's picture quality is great. Tried it with over the air antenna and the high def looked great. Conected it to the Verizon Fios the picture looked even better especialy in HD. I had a minor set back when I purchased this tv the first one had an internal problem. About a half hour after I purchased it the tv had about a 100 vertical lines on it. Took the tv back to the store they checked it out and replaced it and the second tv is great. The menus are simplistic, and lack features, the sound is average, but again the picture quality is by far better than lcd and compares to name brand tv's.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

out of this world

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tominbama
from dothan al
on 02/07/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: picture
What's not so great: none
i bought this to replace my dlp that bit the dust and this one is out of this world coulc not ask for more for the price
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BensonGuy
from Benson, NC
on 01/28/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Wonderful Picture
What's not so great: Gets kinda hot, Built in Speakers not so great
This is a great TV and you can't beat the price. The picture is fantastic. The internal speakers are wimpy but, like me, most people will likely connect it to a surround sound system where it looks and sounds great. I love this TV and am very happy with the purchase (the wife gave it to me for Christmas).
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

So far so good

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Notyabuzinez
from Los Angeles, Ca
on 12/23/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Simple to operate and understand
What's not so great: Sound is average
This is my first experience with HD Plasma. At first I was sceptical butthe TV did show as a great value for the price. I had learned that the brand is a LG product that is labled for the retailer. The difference in price and the similarities in picture quality convinced me to consider it an option. Once I gathered all my info and compared it to then others, I decided to jump in and give it a try. To date the unit has lived up to the expectaions as a value and quality equal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great Buy Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KDave04
from Dayton,OH
on 12/22/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Picture Quality, The HD quality is excellent
What's not so great: The speakers could be better
I have this TV mounted over my fireplace and it looks great. It adds umph to the room. Great sleek design and the picture quality is equal to the high end TV's
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great value; exceeds expectations

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: OldGeorge
from Louisburg, NC
on 12/16/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture is excellent, even on rabbit ears at 30 miles away from station.
What's not so great: Documentation is sketchy; could use more explanation as to purpose of options.
I was wanting a more name brand set, but found this one to be made by LG. I have a cellphone by them that has been unbelievable. I don't have a HD satellite yet, but the picture is really good. The settings on the "User" option for brightness, contrast, etc are critical to getting a good picture. As to image retention, at first I was getting image retention very easily. That upset me, but after doing a strict regimen of running at low picture settings for about 60 hours, I don't have any obvious retention. I used the downloadable, free burn-in DVD from www.eaprogramming.com. I downloaded the .nrg version for Nero. I experimented with an antenna since my DirecTV is not in HD yet, and got an awesome picture even if the rabbit ears are many years old (before digital anything). I am at least 30 miles from the main TV channels here. This is a great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

5

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PHAROAH
from Chicago, il
on 12/11/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Excellent Picture and Price
What's not so great: No split screen feature (minor concern)
Just got it today, no need to be concerned with the unheard of brand. Excellent price, picture and sound. I did extensive research, there's no other product that is 50'' with 1080p resolution at a better value. The real questions are how long will the product work and how difficult will it be to repair it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Insignia 50" 1080p great on the 2nd time around

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Kansas City, KS
on 12/08/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great price, awesome picture
What's not so great: Heavy, program set up not intuitive, sound is lousy
My intentions were to purchase a Pioneer HDTV, but the Insignia 50" 1080p price readily derailed that plan. I purchased the TV the day before Thanksgiving. Went through set-up and TV continually turned off for no apparent reason. Sleep timer was deactivated at on-set. Took TV back 2 days after Thanksgiving and acquired a second TV. No problem with 2nd Insignia 50". The picture is crisp and clear (with cable), however the sound is lousy. Otherwise, this TV is very underated for a house-brand (LG) TV. I plan to purchase another Insignia 50" 1080p very soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Awesome T.V.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: odiep51
from MN
on 12/08/2008
What's great about it: Great Picture, ease of use, many input sources
What's not so great: nothing
I went to Best Buy with full intentions of buying a Sony Bravia but after seeing this tv sitting next to it for a about a thousand dollars less and a picture that was better than the Sony as far as I could tell I went for it. I was a leary about going with the off brand but so far so good. I did buy the extended warranty for ease of mind. I would recommend this tv to any one. Being a plasma if you are going to wall mount it I would go with the top of the line wall mount kit due to the heavy glass screen.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great! Had it for a week so far.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: EctronicsManiac
from Utah
on 12/08/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: no blurring during fast motion, picture quality, no glare at all, many inputs, swivel stand, contrast ratio
What's not so great: so far nothing
I have been watching NBA and NFL, lots of fast paced action and the picture quality has been life-like. No pixelation or blurring during high speed or quick moving scenes. I really like the different "zoom" or viewing options that enable you to remove the horizontal black lines on movi\es. The remote is very simple and logical. The remote doesn't light up, but hasn't been a problem for me. 3 HDMI inputs, 2 component, 2 composite, 1 usb, and media card slot as well as pc connection with composite and digital audio out..XBOX looks great!! I do not regret this decision, no reason to purchase the high end brands if this machine continues a long term performance as it is. I sit about 8' away from my 50" and it is PERFECT viewing in my opinion at this close of a distance. GO PLASMA ALL THE WAY!!!!! LCD can't touch plasma quality. I have a Samsung 720P LCD that is 26" had it for a couple of years and serves as my computer monitor. Love it, but it can't compare to plasma. I have Logitech's PC speakers (5.1 system) hooked up to my audio out on the tv via a composite to single RCA audio conversion cable and these Logitech speakers do the job nicely at much less than what you pay for a sound system built for TVs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Very Nice TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ajsinva
from nova
on 12/01/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture Quality is awesome
What's not so great: No "TV as center channel" option
The TV is awesome. I have been doing a lot of researching and found this model. Not top of the line but the price is fantastic. I would recommend this unit to anyone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Good Plasma for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: raggie600
from Bakersfield
on 11/28/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Pleasantly surprised with the richness of colors and detail is awesom.
What's not so great: So far very impressed with TV and recommend it for all of us watching our pennys now.
We bought this 50" Plasma 1080p on line after exhaustive searches in stores and online. Was waiting for a good deal on display model sale but saw this one and couldn't resist. Got it home and plugged it in and watched a blue ray movie and was totally blown away with the home theater experience. Had guests over for thanksgiving and football, parades and blue ray movies were enjoyed tremendously. This TV is the best plasma out there for the size and price and I recommend it whole heartedly. Good luck on your quest.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Happy purchaser

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ClayB
from Solomons, MD
on 11/17/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price and easy to set up
What's not so great: No card reader.
After reading about the sound I was hesitant about buying this TV how ever after setting it up the sound was as good as my old 36" tube set. I am able to get many digital channels without a box. If the set continues to work as it does now I am happy. I watched the football games on Sunday and it was as described. I am one happy camper.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Impressive .. Won't ever go back to Mitsu

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: grinder79
from Edmond, OK
on 11/09/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything for the price.
What's not so great: None
Bought this TV after my Mitsubishi DLP was gonna be 800+ to repair. I've got to say, I won't ever be going to back to a "higher end" TV after purchasing this set. Sure, you can argue for the Pioneer, Samsung, Mitsubishi, and so on are better TV's but for most of us this TV will exceed our expectations. Give this insigna TV a shot and you won't regret it .. this is by far the best TV I've owned and I didn't have to break the bank to get it. As far as the sound goes, the TV speakers are OK but not the greatest, and if you don't already have a home theater system to use, then buy one when you get this TV ... you'll be able to afford it now!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Good pic bad sound

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ZenG
from CA.
on 10/22/2008
Picture Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Sound
This is a good TV; plasma certianly has overall richer, deeper colors and without being washed out at different viewing angles which is quite impressive on this set. However the sound lacks in a big way; the design I prefer is with side mounted speakers rather than bottom which the majority of flat panel sets seems to have. This design is along the bottom rather than underneath, which seems ok, but the speakers on this set are far below par for my taste; very hollow and cheap sounding with hardly any bass. And features / choices for both picture and sound are minimal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Great Value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: crabho
from Chadds Ford, PA
on 10/20/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great TV for the Price
What's not so great: Not really any
We've been wanting a larger TV for about a year. We would periodically check the circulars to see if there was a good deal out there. We finally found this one. My husband had not seen it displayed anywhere, but after all the positive reviews, we decided to buy it. When we got it home and hooked it up, WE LOVED IT. It has a great picture, and football is WOW!! We had seen the reviews regarding the sound, but we don't mind the quality. For now, the sound quality is just fine. We will purchase a surround sound system for it in the future.
Again, what a great product for a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Insignia® 50" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / Plasma HDTV

Not so bad

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tutankamote
from Texas
on 10/14/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good picture quality, price for 1080p
What's not so great: None for the price
I don't regret buying this TV. It really looks pretty good ONLY when you have a HD source. I have an Xbox and satellite and the HD channels look beautiful.
Even my wife like it...
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>