Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Model: RF-AHD35
SKU: 8800639
UPC: 600603116131
Convert your internal 3.5" SATA hard drive to an external hard drive with this hard drive enclosure that features 2 USB 2.0 ports, an eSATA port and 2 built-in select media card slots for easy peripheral connectivity.
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
3
67% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 18
)
Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives
Review 1 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Good Multi-Purpose Enclosure

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: rgunn4
from Bakersfield, CA
on 01/17/2011
What's great about it: Fast eSATA port, half metal body, extra USB ports, stylish, and good price for what you are getting.
What's not so great: front ports only work through USB and the HDD seems to only work through the eSATA port.. Also half the body is plastic.
I just picked up my Rocketfish Enclosure and was pleasantly surprised. I had filled up all my usb ports on my computer so I needed an external drive that could plug into my firewire or esata ports. This enclosure was super simple to take apart to insert the 1TB drive I had and because half the body feels like some kind of metal I feel that it will do a good job of cooling my drive.
The extra USB ports and card reader function is what really put me over the top. I was confused at first to how they worked because I was hoping they would flow straight through the enclose's board and out through whatever port I was using (either esata or USB) but sadly they only go out the usb port.
From what I can tell so far (remember I just got this and still haven't played around with it too much. Going to put a call into Rocketfish later) the esata port is for the HDD only and the extras in front flow out the USB only. So if you are like me and were planning to just plug this into your esata port and still want to you use the front USB and card reader then you are out of luck. I don't mind it so much because it did give me once extra usb after all is said and done.
Overall I like the look, feel and simplicity of this enclosure and suggest you grab one if you are looking for an esata external drive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

I should have bought this instead of ready made.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sprocket999
from E. TN
on 12/04/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Good features, easy to assemble.
What's not so great: Looks could be more polished.
I bought this and a Seagate Barracuda-LP 2TB (Both sold at Best Buy) today to replace a Toshiba 2TB External Drive that had glitches right out of the box.
Assembled the Rocketfish with the Seagate drive in no time (the Rocketfish is easy to put together. You may need to insert tiny tool on each side through vents to release plastic tabs.) Both worked right out of the gate and relatively faster that the previous unit, no data measurements taken, just needed to move data. The backup button on front of the unit lights up for power and blinks for HDD activity. I like the blinking because it takes me a nano second to see the units active. I have to stare at a light that slowly dims and brightens for a few seconds to perceive the change.
So in the end I wound up paying more but in my opinion it is well worth it. Now not only do I have an external drive with both eSATA plus USB 2.0, I gained 2 front mounted USB ports, a card reader (5 types I think, I only use 2 types), button on front for backing up (with ‘Roxio Back On Track 3LE’ included in the box if you like) and a power button on the back.
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Seagate - Barracuda 2TB Internal Serial ATA Hard Drive for Desktops
3.9 out of 5(74)
 
 
 
 
 
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Died on me, twice.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Nutrius
from Silver Spring, MD
on 09/16/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It's a wonderful paperweight, door stop, or coaster for morning tea.
What's not so great: Doesn't turn on.
I bought this enclosure to house my WD 1tb external hard drive.
After assembling it, it would not turn on despite having every cord in and checking different outlets around the house. Somehow, as I was holding it, it started to smoke up and stink. The yellow light came on. So I connected it to my macbook pro and to my dismay, wouldn't recognize it whatsoever. Also, the power button on the rocketfish would have no effect when I pushed it- it always stayed on.
Thinking it was just a defective unit, I returned it to Best Buy the following day and got a new one. I put in my HD and tried again. Amazingly, it, like the first one, would not even turn on. So now I am furious and am just out of luck. I've had it with this.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:No
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Nice Enclosure works with 2TB Drives

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SoundDesignerMark
from Hollywood
on 09/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: eas of use and flexibility
What's not so great: needs more connections
This Rocketfish enclosure is great and works well with the 2TB Barracuda drive that I bought for it. I use this drive / enclosure combo as backup storage for my sound library. I've formatted it for MAC and It's stable on all systems that I work with, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit running Media Four MAC Drive, and a Harper Town running MAC OSX. An added bonus, are the two USB ports and multi card reader on the face of the drive enclosure. I've had no problems in dealing with this drive so I've got to give it high marks. I only wish it included Fire wire 400 and Fire wire 800, in addition to the eSATA port on the back of the enclosure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Running strong for a year with a 1.5TB Seagate

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: stroths
from Dallas, TX
on 09/15/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Nice looking, quite, well built
What's not so great: Must manually press power button after a power failure to start up
I bought this second hand, but still new to use with my 1.5TB Seagate SATA drive and it's been running great for about a year. It looks nice, the drive fit very secure in it and it's relatively quite and my drive does not feel hot at all. It was such a great deal, that I bought it originally for my 500GB WD drive, but decided to try my 1.5TB Seagate and it worked perfectly even though it "officially" doesn't support it according to the manual.
I use this on my SageTV media server which I have running on Windows 2003. My only complaint on this device is that it does not remember it's last power state when my power goes off. For some reason, it's not uncommon for the power to go off in my neighborhood and my UPS only lasts so long. When the power comes back on, the drive doesn't power up until I physically press the power button on the back. It's a pain because my motherboard has issues with boot order if this external SATA drive is missing (not powered up), so it requires manual intervention. I may end up doing some soldering to make it always in a powered up state providing it's plugged in.
Other than that complaint, I have been very happy with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Win 7?

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: wolffe69
from Yelm, WA
on 07/24/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it looks nice
What's not so great: it's more of a paperweight than a hard drive
SUPPOSEDLY this is going to work in Windows 7.
Not so much.
Sure Windows sees the enclosure and all it's bells and whistles, but REFUSES to see the hard drive inside (160GB)
Rocketfish's website lacks ANY drivers available online, and so there it sits. Collecting dust, and contemplating a return.
I'm at wits' end with this unit. I'll go out and BUY a eSATA card, and see if that makes it function, but if that's the case? Forget it, I'll buy an all-in-one external drive. It SHOULD work with JUST the USB plugged in, but it will not work AT ALL.
(By the way, I DID pull the drive back out, and hook it up internally inside the pc, and it was seen immediately)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Works like a charm.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zwimox
from Wichita, KS
on 03/17/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It was a breeze to install, just a few screws and connecting to the PC and we're done.
What's not so great: Limited HDD capacity, I would have liked to purchase a larger hard drive for backup storage.
Those that are complaining of this not supporting above 750GB, I too am saddened, however this being the cheapest at the time of my purchase it is all I have to work with. Now, for those that did not read the box or the contents therein before purchase, well I have no pity for you.
The design is clear cut and heat off put was minimal. I currently have a 320GB drive inside of mine for general use. If it were to allow for a larger HDD I would be more than happy to do so, however for the time being I'm stuck.
Overall I would say this was a purchase as expected, no awesome bells and whistles. I don't even use the card readers either.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

NOT Firewire compatible!!

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: tpilcher
from Madison, WI
on 02/15/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Appearance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Nice extra USB slots on front
What's not so great: NOT firewire compatible, despite reviews and 'specs'
NOTE: This product does NOT come w/ a firewire cable, nor does it have a firewire port.
The people talking about the 'included firewire' are either reviewing the wrong product, or going off script in their "review".
Since I was specifically looking for an HDD enclosure to hook a 1 TB drive to my PC via the firewire interface... and I bought THIS product from Best Buy based on the info on this page ... I'm not really happy right now.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

DOES NOT WORK WITH WD DRIVES

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: clairbearski
from esat stroudsburg pa
on 01/20/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Appearance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Absolutley nothing
What's not so great: does not work at all
I am suprised the best buy would sell such poor quality item
I have put 2 1 tb drives in the unit and it does not work the power supply light lights up but the unit will no turn on at all. I would reccomend tha no one even consider purchase od au a useless item. it and the wd drive i bought to install in ta are going back to best buy immediately
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
0out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Dose not work with window 7

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: shawn35
from venice
on 12/12/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: nothing much
What's not so great: taskbar freeze up alot along with other programs
Dose not work with windows 7..I get alot of windows taskbar freeze up
games also freeze up..I would have to ctrl+alt+del alot to fix it ,but would freeze up every min ..it would only be fix when I would remove the drivers
that came with it,I cant get to there website to see if theres any updates for this product.I will be takeing this back to bb..
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

UNIMPRESSED

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: dangilsdorf
from kcmo
on 12/10/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: features
What's not so great: crash issues with Windows 7
I got this to help resurect my WD SCORPIO BLUE 320 SATA hard drive after it crashed 24 days after purchase in my HP 700 series notebook. It did what I wanted it too, but it hickuped A LOT and would not let me transfer files...IT COULD be the hard drive was that bad, but oddly enough if you unplugged the device in the middle of internet or whatever the system perked right up and opened all the files I wanted, but with plugged in, it was really stupid and slow.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Great external case

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SPIRK
from San Angelo, TX
on 10/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quiet, cool, fast eSATA
What's not so great: Nothing yet
I originally purchased a manufactured external drive and had trouble with the eSATA constantly disconnecting. I returned it, without any trouble, and bought a WD 1TB drive and this enclosure. The hard drive itself is mounted solid inside the case with rubber pads to prevent any vibration. I already own the rocketfish 2.5" external case so I knew this one would be great quallity but I was surprised to find so many additional features. Everything works perfectly and the ports on the front of the enclosure act as additional drives and transfer just as fast as onboard ports. The drive powers up and down with the computer and goes to sleep only when you want it to. The case comes with an eSATA cable which is very rare. Perfect quality and function.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Easiest and Quickest to install enclosure kit.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: bgmikejr2009
from Virginia Beach, VA
on 09/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, had the drive back up and running in less than 10 minutes.
What's not so great: N/A
Bought this cause my western digital external 500GB enclosure went bad and the drive wouldn't work when plugged into my computer, I've had that drive since 2007 so I was bummed when it stopped working. Bought this kit and removed the drive from the western digital casing of the external drive and installed the drive in this kit in less than 10 minutes, just a few screws to take loose to get inside the case and then mounting the drive then securing with the screws with rubber gaskets around them, then re-secured the casing with the screws and plugged in and my drive was back up and running with no issues. I recommend this product to anyone who has issues like I did or if your just looking for an easy kit to put a drive in to make it external.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Good value for the money

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: John211221
from Rochester, MI
on 09/03/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: USB hub, eSATA, card reader, decent price
What's not so great: Little noisy
Bought this enclosure a little while ago, quite good. The info isn't right however, enclosure supports up to 1TB drives, not 750 GB. Have a 1TB drive plugged in right now. Works fine. Not a bad mistake of course, actually was a very nice surprise.
Is a very nice unit altogether, when I picked it up I was actually in a big hurry. Didn't bother to look at the specs outside of connection ability and support for my HDD. (Yes, I know-Terrible way to shop for electronics. I'm lucky I didn't regret it). Anyway, the USB hub and card reader were a pleasant surprise. The transfer speed has more to do with my HDDs. however I've had issues with enclosures in the past not giving me what eSATA is capable of. I was quite satisfied to see a average of 60 MB/s transfer speed with eSATA in this case.
The included eSATA, firewire, and USB 2.0 cords are long enough to position the drive how one would want it, and the AC adapter has more than enough length to position the drive.
The only real complaint I have is that the enclosure is a bit annoying on the sound side. It's not so much loud, as it produces a whining noise that you can detect if you have sensitive ears. It's not a big deal, but it can be incredibly annoying when you've got a dozen devices sitting around and you need to find what is causing that sound.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Works as promised, sleak and fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Emmitt22
from MI
on 03/29/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to hook up, simple to use, fast transfers very quiet.
What's not so great: Have to use 3 cables (power, USB and eSATA)
I bought this unit to fill 2 purposes: I had an extra 300gb SATA drive I wanted to use as a backup, plus the front USB hookups on my PC died, and I needed to replace them.
This enclosure was very well made. The plastic case is very sturdy and thick, though vented for cooling. I like how the hard drive mounts are mounted in rubber themselves to dampen any noise from vibrations. Good move, though it make sinstallation a little trickier (not by much tho).
My only complaint (and this may be a limitation of the technology, not this unit) is that the eSATA cable (which comes included, very nice) is not capable of transfering data from the USB ports and card reader, you have to use a USB cable (also included, nice) to enable these functions. Again, not a huge issue, but that makes a total of three cables to deal with (power, USB, eSATA).
It does seem a bit pricey, but considering that you get the enclosure, an eSATA cable, a USB cable, 2 more USB ports AND a card reader, it's well worth it.
For reference, if anyone wants a great auto-backup utility for free to use with this enclosure, google 'comodo backup', though the included roxio backup software is supposed to be very good..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

A godsend !!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scott1962
from Sudbury, MA
on 03/11/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Worked perfectly!
What's not so great: Not a thing
I highly recommend this product.
I had an iMac die a terrible death. I prayed that the hard disk was fine. I purchased the Rocketfish enclosure and installed the 3.5 hard disk from my iMac. I connected the drive to another computer and the hard disk appeared. It saved me.
The product worked perfectly, looks nice and was the best $70 I have spent in a long time.
I am now using the drive as my Mac's Time Machine drive and it is working great.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Did exactly what I wanted!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Hellion
from Columbus, Ohio
on 02/16/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, Card Reader, 2 usb ports
What's not so great: Pricey, but I am ecstatic!
My old computer crashed(cpu and motherboard fried) and I really wanted access to my data on my hard drive. This Enclosure was really easy to set up. I followed the directions, hooked it up, turned it on, and Vista recognized it right away. I opened up the folders and everything was there. It was super simple. Now, not only was I able to access my old data, but I have an external hard drive too!!! I didn't load the included software and drivers. I probably won't because everything is working, so I can't say anything about the software. Love IT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rocketfish™ Hard Drive Enclosure Kit for 3.5" SATA Hard Drives

Solid External Case

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Insp3321
from Oneida, TN
on 07/25/2008
What's great about it: Card reader, mostly aluminum case
What's not so great: None Yet
Purchased this enclosure while in GA to put a 500gb SATA drive into. I found that the enclosure could fill two of my needs at work, external backup storage and multi-card reader. Having experience with other external enclosures, I find that this one is solid in its construction and interior design. It may seen costly, but you get what you pay for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.