Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Model: HTCT100
SKU: 8800979
UPC: 027242729605
This compact soundbar and subwoofer speaker system allows you to enjoy rich, detailed audio in everything you listen to while maintaining a low profile.
Average Customer Rating:
4.076 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(159 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 159 reviews
5 stars
84
4 stars
39
3 stars
12
2 stars
12
1 star
12
79% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
126 out of 159
)
Customer Reviews for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer
Review 1 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

No Need to Spend More!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JasonMK
from Pittsburgh, PA
on 07/30/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Super Duper Easy Set Up, Good Price, Looks, Two Cords, Quality Sound
What's not so great: You need to buy wiring depending on hookup
I normally do not spend time doing reviews but if you are looking for high quality sound, a great price, easy set up, no cords or wires, then this is for you. Mine was so simple to set up. I have a Wii, Comcast Cable Box, and PS3 going into my Vizio LCD. I connected the sound bar to the woofer, plugged in the woofer, and ran those red/white audio wires from the TV to the Woofer, DONE! I didn't need to adjust anything. To check quality, i put in The Dark Knight and played some PS3 and was blown away! I was hearing things on both I have never noticed before. The guy at best buy sold be on spending $100 more for the Boston based on how it sounded in the store. It seemed like there was no bass with the Sony. I did some more research, went back to Best Buy and figured why not try the Sony first for $100 less. I sure am glad that I did. The Bass was very good. It has a kinda surround feel but do not expect it too much more than that. Surround is still the best but if you do not want the set up, the cost, and the cords, then SONY is your brand. The only downfall is you need to buy whatever wires to connect everything. I could have gone the HDMI route but as before, I thought, why not try the cheaper way with the Audio in/out cords and it worked out perfectly. Just make sure you get the cords before leaving Best Buy. I had everything almost ready to go and realized in my living room, I needed the audio cord.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great Bang For The Buck

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GrantFox
from Toluca Lake, CA
on 07/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It's the great sound for a small space and also the HDMI connections.
What's not so great: I'll get back to you on that one.
I purchased the Samsung soundbar along with the Samsung 8000 series LED TV last weekend. I set the TV up myself but decided to wait on opening the box for the Samsung soundbar. I'm glad that I did because after reading various negative reviews regarding the product from Best Buy consumers, I decided to take it back and pick up the Sony soundbar instead. I think it was a wise choice. The system sounds great for a small space. And, it matched perfectly with the Sony Blu-ray player. This system isn't for a large room. It's created to accommodate a smaller setting. And, that it does... It's a great addition with several types of settings for your listening pleasure. HDMI connections will top off your purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great sound for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sinister04L
from Houston, TX
on 07/17/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Compact, good sound, HDMI hookups
What's not so great: Nothing really
This is a great product for the money! I have this in a small game room with a 40" Samsung LCD, PS3, Xbox 360, and HD DVR cable box. Not having to run a receiver and a bunch of speaker wires is great. Having HDMI hookups for my components is awesome. The sound is good and fills the room nicely. For the money this really can't be topped.
I have a nice 5.1 surround system in a large living room with a 60" LCD and Denon and Polk components. I'd never be able to run this Sony unit in that room with any success. I think that most of the people that are complaining about the sound of this unit are probably trying to do too much with it. It's not made to fill a large room with surround sound. It's purpose is to upgrade a tv's tiny speakers and add a little punch with the woofer. I think it pulls that off wonderfully.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great Deal,, I love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Exbaitman
from Charlotte, NC
on 07/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Built in HDMI Switch, Sound Quality
What's not so great: Remote is not universal (but thats just nit-picking)
I love this thing. I have it set up in my "Man Room" with my Computer, Blu-Ray and DVD hooked up through it. All three of them deliver great sound quality. I really don't miss having a complete surround sound system, as this "replicates" surround sound pretty well.
The sound bar has three speaker built in and can aim sound at different angles. You can hear very diustinct left-to-right (or vice versa) movement of sound, and voices come from the center speaker like a regular surround sound system and can be adjusted up and down. The only thing it cannot replicate (that I don't really miss) is sound behind your head moving from front to back.
With the horrible quality that the LCD TV speakers typically are because of the size restictions, this unit is a must for any LCD used as home theater.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Inconsistant Sound

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: 4thbboy
from RI
on 07/09/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Cheap, easy set up, small
What's not so great: Sound quality
I have this hooked up to a motorola cable box and a sony blu-ray. Cable is lound enough but when the blu ray is on it is now where near loud enough at full volume. I dont need to wake up the dead but I do like my movies to be at a theatre like level. Also when hooked up to the cable box the volume is all over the place. I changed the settings on the cable box volume stabalizer but the sound bar keeps ampling up the levels at will. For example, commercials are super loud and shows are at normal level. I always have my remote in my hand to adjust the volume.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

great system

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: canesfan8193
from Raleigh, NC
on 07/06/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: great sound, good price
What's not so great: nothing
this is a very good system. i really have nothing bad to say about it. i would recommend this to anyone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Sony did an AWESOME job!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 808Leo
from HI
on 07/02/2009
What's great about it: slim, loud, good bass
What's not so great: remote is bleh
i have this setup in my bedroom w/the samsung ln32a550 and ps3 via hdmi to the ct100
my bedroom keep in mind is a 12x16 foot room, last night i finally got around to setting up the ct100 and got my walls to shake at under 20.. learn to set up this sound bar right and its going to sound excellent. i would highly recommend this to a friend!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

awsome soundbar

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: dith
from sa.texas
on 06/25/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: slim look, sound,easy to conect
What's not so great: cant set up remote control tp work w/ no sony TV's, should have a wall backet
i bough this one last weekend for my samsing 1080p and a sony blueray and is awsome to have only 2 cable to run behind the wall instead of 4 0r even 5 sometimes, the sound is great for the size of the room and looks so good on the wall , it may need a wall bracket onstead the being hold by only two screws on the wall, the only bad thing is when it comes to the remote you can not set it up to control other that sony TV's and cable boxes even that it have the comand button for it, but in general is a great buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great surround sound option!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: jmeverett
from Tyler, TX
on 06/08/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Ease of set-up
What's not so great: Subwoofer has some distortion
Great product for price, much easier than running wires everywhere for true surround sound system. Great not having to use separate receiver for running audio to multiple components. Great for smaller rooms, would not recommend for large rooms, as power is limited.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

breaks the cardinal sin for home theater system

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Mrmeanie
from ny
on 05/29/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Power
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Unobtrusive, simple to operate
What's not so great: not very loud, doesnt simulate surround sound,subwoofer passes voices
I kept this for a couple of weeks before I returned it. I wasnt bad looking and it was simple to install and use. My biggest problem was that when watching movies the voices from the male actors came out of the subwoofer which was really distracting and somthing NO subwoofer should do. The reason it does this is because the speakers are way too small for them to produce anything close to midrange so the sub has to pickup that workload. Also this system was not loud at all I could keep it set at max volume and it never got too loud. I would stay away from this soundbar.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great Sound, Confusion of Connection to My HDTV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Derrick2009
from Houston
on 05/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Extremely Great Sound
What's not so great: Misleading Information on How to Connect to My HDTV
I bought this speaker system a week ago. It has a very great sound system for any moives, music, or watching online movies from a laptop. I enjoy the sound experience whenever I turn it on. I even won't want go to theatres when I experience its sound quality.
However, I spent three days and a night to connect this system to my HDTV according to its manual information, and it didn't work. I tried audio cable, coaxial cable, and HDMI cable. Both of them didn't work. Finally I brought both of my TV and the speaker system to Best Buy, and let a technician to connect them for me. The problem is: a coaxial cable should be used and SATELLITE should be selected (logically the TV should be chosen according to the manual. But it is not). I suggest the manual should be rewritten. Otherwise, it will again mislead other consumers. The connection is the one I most do not satisfy for this system.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

"Bang for the Buck" is a gross understatement...!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Slots
from SC
on 05/16/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: For the money, you will not beat it...
What's not so great: <Zero>
My need was for a compact/mid-range sound system for my 10'x20' bedroom at a realistic price point. I simply needed a system that I could pass video/audio from my Sony Blue Ray SD 350, Dell XPS studio tower and HD cable box through to my 40" Bravia LCD TV/monitor. If your requirements are similar to the above then this bad boy is all you. Set-up of the HDMI inputs from cable box, Blue Ray and PC was a breeze. My GeForce 9500GT doesn't support HDMI so it connected via VGA to my monitor and line-in port to the HTCT. You will only need to pick up a HDMI cable for HTCT to your monitor - the fiber optic cable for the monitor/HTCT is supplied. After I installed it and dialed it in, I was like - "you got to be kidding me". The pass through of HDMI is seamless and the audio is (may I be so bold), "comparable to Bose quality". I fully understand the gravity of comparing any audio device to Bose is risky but this Brut is in the same league. I first pushed "The Dark Knight" through my Sony Blue Ray at max output and honestly was in complete shock or dismay. Because of the reflecting bar speakers surround sound, very little audio escaped my room other than an occasional soft "bump" two rooms over. On top of that, you can get as close to the bar as you want with no noticeable change. I assure you need not spend a grand for the bedroom or a mid-sized room - this beast will do it for a quarter of the price. Sony got it right. Go get the HTCT100 at Best Buy today and enjoy the ride...!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Not Impressed!!!!!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: GeeGee01
from Houston, TX
on 05/16/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup and appearance is nice.
What's not so great: Not enough power from the subwoofer even when maxed out.
The sales guy at Best Buy said The Sony soundbar was one of their best sellers and he liked its compatibility with other products. To make a long story short, I bought it and ended up returning it the very next day. The setup was very easy, however the subwoofer did not produce enough sound even when maxed out. The TV by itself was louder than the Sony system. I researched it online and found some users recommended to turn off the drc under the amp menu. I did that, but it still did not help. Needless to say, I returned the Sony and for $200 dollars more, I bought a Bose Cinemate. I am very pleased with the Bose purchase. Everything I needed for its setup was already contained in the box, unlike the Sony.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

An excellent unit

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Moviegrinder
from Palm Springs,CA
on 05/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The unit delivers exactly what it was designed to do.
What's not so great: Sleep timer is buried in several menus
After returning another manufacturers system i continued to look for a system to augment or replace the sound from my flat panel TV. [Great picture but sounds likke a $1.98 transistor radio. ] I went back to Best Buy and reviewed this unit. Even with all of the racket and noise from other demos I was impressed with the sound. Purchased the unit and installed it in my bedroom. What a surprise! The system is a bonifide Small AVsystem.
HDMI Imputs, optical inputs, coax imput. The quality of the sound was great and the subwoofer has a lot of punch and the level is excellent. I have a 7.1 system in the bedroom as well but late at nite i really don't want to crank it up. The size of the sound bar and subwoofer are also great. The soundbar sits right in front of the set with no problem or you have the option to mount it on the wall. A great unit for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Awesome value for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: clarkccc3
from Warner Robins, GA
on 05/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price, decent sound, easy to set up, easy to use
What's not so great: Doesn't include the digital media port
I bought this item a couple of days ago from a local BestBuy store. It was a customer-returned item, so I was able to pick it up for $269. That was a 10% savings for me because someone else bought it and didn't like it.
I purchased it specifically for my bedroom. All of my "toys" are in the family room, but there are times when I just want to relax in the bedroom and watch the game. I have a 36" Toshiba LCD that I hung on the wall in the bedroom, and while the picture quality is awesome, the sound left a lot to be desired. After looking for a few months, I determined that this Sony was going to be my best bang for the buck.
A lot of the reviews on here state that sound quality / volume isn't that great. Well, first of all, this unit has both decent quality and volume. This unit obviously was not designed for a large room (hence its size); it's designed to fit well under a TV in the 36" range. With that being said, there are plenty of larger sound bars out there that have much beter sound quality (specifically, the ones designed by Yamaha). If you're looking for a bar for a larger application, such as your family room, one of those would probably be a better pick for you. Otherwise, this one made by Sony would probably work just fine.
Here are a few "great" items about it:
1) It's small, it's black, and it looks great mounted on the wall underneath a LCD or plazma.
2) The remote receiver is located inside the speaker, not the control unit / subwoofer. That means that you don't have to point the remote at the floor to change the volume or source. In a bedroom environment, this feature is an absolute must!
3) There are three HDMI inputs, and one HDMI output. Plus, there are digital inputs for audio if you want to control your sources with the TV, rather than the Sony unit.
4) It's relatively inexpensive, in comparison to other units.
Here are a few "not so great" items about it:
1) The subwoofer is not crisp. I don't think that's an issue that's specific to just this item, but rather all Sony products - I don't know that I've ever heard a Sony sub that even came close to some of the higher end products available in the box stores, such as those by JBL, Klipsh, or Yamaha. It still provides 10x more bass than any stand alone TV ever will.
2) It doesn't include the digital media dock for the digital media port. It would be nice to have it included, especially since it appears that Best Buy doesn't sell it. But, being that the unit is in the $75-$100 price range, I can understand why Sony doesn't include it - not everyone has an iPod, and there's no point in increasing the price by $100 for an item that not everyone will use.
3) It doesn't include an FM/AM tuner. Or Sirius or XM for that matter. The latter isn't as important to me, but I would have definitely used the FM/AM tuner had it been included. Luckily, I use a digital cable tuner in my bedroom, which gives me access to digital music channels for those times that I want to use it specifically for music.
4) The remote isn't programmable. This isn't a huge issue, especially if you use a digital cable tuner that does include a programmable remote, but for people who don't, they'll either need to pick up a programmable remote, or use multiple remotes to control their system.
All in all, this is an excellent unit for the price. Again, if you're using it for a small room application, such as a bedroom or a small living or family room, then you'll be pleased with your purchase. Otherwise, you should consider one of the larger, more expensive units.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Great sound for the price!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Boseton
from Boston, MA
on 05/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up with HDMI; Small footprint, sleek design
What's not so great: Remote only controls Sony products
I purchased this speaker system 2 days ago and within 15 minutes I had it up and running. I am not sure what the people are doing wrong that say there isn't enough power. I can't turn it past 22 (less than 1/2 way) due to the fear that the neighbors would complain. I bought it to complement my 42" LCD LG TV. I didn't want a full 5.1 system due to the wires and speaker placement not being easy. I looked around at everything from high end speakers with a separate receiver to the 3-2-1 systems that are out there. I didn't need a DVD since I have a Sony Playstation 3. This system for the money was much more than I expected. I never expected to get 'surround sound'. You can't with only one sound bar even if you buy one of the ones for over $1000! I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to upgrade their tv speakers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Started out fine...having an issue

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Chris2220
from Akron, OH
on 05/01/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Appearance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Power
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Great setup using HDMI
What's not so great: Sound not great
I've owned this now for 4 months and it started out decent, but the speakers can't handle much. At some point after watching a Blu-ray movie I have now noticed that I am getting a bad vibration from the sound bar like a speaker cone is blown or coil is partially fried. The sad part is I have NEVER had it up very loud. I think Sony has the right idea, but needs to improve quality.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Easy Hookup - WAY TO WEAK

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: TSC123
from Chicago, IL
on 04/28/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up with HDMI
What's not so great: Not Nearly Enough Power. At full volume I can barely hear it.
This system looks great and was easy to set up. However it is WAY too weak. At full volume my wife keeps saying "turn it up honey, I can't hear." I tried every audio setting, including turning off the DRC, still weak.
For a small bedroom this may be fine. However, if you are using this in a living room or basement area, you will not be happy. To be honest, the TV speakers in my 50" Panasonic Plazma TV put out clearer, louder sound than this "upgrade".
I returned this and bought a Sony Bravia 1000 Watt 5.1 System. I am not using the rear speakers, only the right, left and center channel...and it is 10 times better and only a $100 more.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Simple, affordable attractive sound option

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jbfins
from Arlington, VA
on 04/21/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, 3 HDMI inputs, very slim profile makes it easy to put almost anywhere in your entertainment center
What's not so great: still can't get sound from my TV and the soundbar at the same time
Purchased this unit to bolster the sound on my Samsung 40" LCD. I'm not a complete audiophile, but wanted to improve my home audio experience. This unit is a great value for someone looking for better TV sound who doesnt need audio perfection.
The 3 HDMI inputs make it a cinch to hook up Blu Ray, DVD, Satellite or Cable Box for better sound.
Overall, the sound on my TV has improved ten fold, with clear, crisp highs and enough bass to make me feel like I'm experiencing quality (and affordable) home theater.
The subwoofer provides nice power, and the overall asthetic of this model is terrific.
Make sure you get some HDMI cables beforehand, as the only wire included is an optical wire for your TV. If you have HDMI cables on hand and ready, you can have your entire setup completed within 5 minutes-simply plug and play.
I highly recommend this for anyone looking to avoid messy wires and speakers in their living room, and like other reviews, i'd recommend this soundbar for a bedroom or small to medium sized living room. In a larger room it will amply supplement your TV's audio, but won't blow you away.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony - BRAVIA 3.1-Ch. Home Theater Soundbar Speaker System with Subwoofer

Nice Inexpensive Soundbar

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DougStu
from Central NJ
on 04/11/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Appearance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Power
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price,Inputs,Size
What's not so great: Volume
I bought the soundbar about 8 months ago. I love it for my bedroom but would not recommend it for someone that wants volume in a living room or home theater room. It has a perfect amount of HDMI inputs. I have my PS3,360, and cable box hooked up to it. It is very sleek and attractive looking. The sound quality is pretty good but not amazing. If you live in an apartment or have grumpy neighbors this is perfect for a sound system. I wish Sony included the iPod adapter with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>