Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Model: ICF-38
SKU: 8822884
UPC: 027242733596
This portable AM/FM radio allows you to listen to your favorite stations on the go. The LED tuning indicator allows you to look for the right station even in dim light.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
92% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 13
)
Customer Reviews for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black
Review 1 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

old school radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ruralroute11vicki
from Endicott, NY
on 03/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: ease of use, long battery life.. Nothing fancy, works good
What's not so great: nothing so far
Great old school radio. Good sound and reception. Batteries last.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Great little radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GaryInVA
from SW VA
on 02/03/2010
What's great about it: Does what a radio is supposed to do
What's not so great: No shortcomings I can see
I needed a small radio for my work desk that got good reception. A hard thing to find now a days without getting an added cd player. This radio has great reception, great sound, and is the perfect size for what I needed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Good value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rickd11
from Voorhees, NJ
on 01/28/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good value
Good value for the money. We use this radio in every room of the house.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

great little radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: yellowstar
from eliot me
on 01/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: gets good reception,
What's not so great: nothing
Nice little radio, portable, long cord, seems to work fine, recommended
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

It's the real thing.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: virtualernie
from Naples, FL
on 01/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything! It's a well designed, good old fashioned am/fm radio
What's not so great: Nothing
quality product, works as advertised. Well designed, it does the job with no muss or fuss.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

terrific little radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: patnimey
from utica,ny
on 12/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: compact and durable
What's not so great: sound not the best - but good for the price
Since this radio id for the barn, it's a great radio for the price and the cows are not too particular about sound quality :-)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

You Will Love This Radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WhiskeyDeltaBravo
from Texas
on 12/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Sound Fantastic AM/FM Reception
What's not so great: I can't find anything bad about this Radio
Works for Days and Days on four AA batteries. Easy to take anywhere you want to go and a nice fold down handle. Has a built in AC cord that tucks away easily in the Battery compartment. The analog tuner is a great time tested Old Fashioned feature that lets you tune in to far away stations that a Digital will just skip over. Both the AM and FM reception are just great and the LED tells you when you are peaked out on the frequency. You probably won't find another radio of this size that sounds as good as this one. The three inch speaker is perfect and sounds better than you would expect for radio of this size. It has a nice little switch that will allow you to cut or boost highs and the speaker has a punchy bottom to it. I bought Four of them and gave them out for Presents. I have a bunch of happy campers in my neck of the woods that just love their Ray-did-e-o.
Buy a dozen of em and you wont regret it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Awesome radio!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tac
from Fresno, CA
on 12/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: clear clean sound, easy to find station - battery portable!
What's not so great: that I did not buy one for every room!
Delivered very quickly. Great sound, good volume range, I bought one for a friend as gift and one for myself, while they were on sale. The sound is great! My friend is also VERY please with the sound quality, range of accessible stations. I think I might just buy a few more as gifts.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Read Description Carefully -- It's NOT Stereo

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Iamsuzie
from cleveland
on 11/23/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Reception
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nicely styled, operates on cord or battery
What's not so great: It's not stereo, which it should be for the price
When I read the product description, everything sounded great. The unit can be used both corded and with batteries, which was exactly what I was looking for. I failed to notice that nowhere in the description did it indicate the unit is in stereo. When it arrived just a few minutes ago, I plugged it in, stuck in my ear buds, and was very disappointed to hear mono sound. Back to Best Buy it goes! : (
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

great radio

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: simplyme989
from michigan
on 09/23/2009
What's great about it: small with great sound
GREAT LITTLE RADIO WITH GOOD SOUND. DOESNT TAKE UP A LOT OF SPACE AND EASY TO MOVE AROUND. USE IT DAILY IN MY KITCHEN. WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A COMPACT GOOD QUALITY RADIO.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Great little radio for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: fordwins
from Fremont N.H.
on 12/30/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Reception
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very good FM reception
What's not so great: Sound is good for the size of the radio
Great little radio for the price, has very good FM reception and fair AM reception, solid well made radio with a good sound for it's size, an other very good value from SONY.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Nice radio!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: 20toolate
from Lansing, MI
on 10/14/2008
Very easy to operate. Pulls in stations well on both AM and FM. Has a nice, rich sound to it. Plays beautifully! Nothing fancy here. Just good old fashioned quality!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Portable AM/FM Radio - Black

Excellent radio, good value

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SLiC
from Indianapolis
on 09/10/2008
What's great about it: nice sound, easy tuning
What's not so great: analog tuning
A very good price for one of the best small radios I listened to.
I prefer digital tuning, but the LED indicator makes it easy to tune this radio precisely.
I bought it to use at the office. I listen to a fairly strong local staion with no reception problems.
I use it on battery power, no free outlets in my office. Batteries have lasted 10 days so far, using the radio 4-8 hours per day.
If you are looking for a small radio, this is a very good choice.
SLic from Indy
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.