Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Model: STM306404OTA3E1-RK
SKU: 8873383
UPC: 763649009215
With 640GB of storage space, this hard drive ensures that you'll have room on hand for your movies, music, data and more. Take a product tour.
Average Customer Rating:
3.786 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
10 out of 14
)
Customer Reviews for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black
Review 1 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Best Hard Drive I've Ever Owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: NeoJones0083
from Glen Burnie, MD
on 01/28/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Extremely easy to set up and comes with support programs
What's not so great: Higher price when not on sale, but totally worth it
I got mine on sale and only paid 80 bucks for it, which was amazing for a hard drive of this size. Thats normally the price for a 320GB drive. I was shocked after two disappointing hard drives of smaller size as to how easy to install this was and how in-tune it is with my computer. It only turns on when your computer turns on and comes with support progams on the hard drive. Very good buy. I definetely recommend for anyone who needs a hard drive of this caliber
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Will Cost You More In the Long Run

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jzelenda
from Lincoln
on 01/15/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Cheap
What's not so great: It breaks months down the road
I got this 7 months ago to back up my pictures and videos of my newborn son. Last week my computer stopped recognizing it, and it stopped working. I called Maxtor/Seagate and they confirmed it was indeed dead. It's under warranty and they're sending a new unit.
The catch: I can't get my family files off of the dead drive, and Maxtor/Seagate wants to charge me 1700$ to send in the dead drive and have them switch the files over!!! I was floored! For a storage drive this is terrible, and from what I read online, you need a back up for this back up. BUYER beware, it's cheap now, but it'll cost you when you need it the most.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Great external hard drive for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ronnie12
on 01/07/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The amount of space available for the price
I bought this external hard drive in november of 2008. The price was $89.99 and did not compare to any other external hard drive for the price and amount of space available. I use it for my computer and for my playstation 3. I am no where near filling the space available and it works perfectly fine and does more than what i need. The hard drive stores all my documents, music, and videos with no problem. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants a huge amount of space available for a good price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Works as expected..

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MagicMarker
from Lincoln Park, NJ
on 01/06/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to setup, quiet and a great value when on sale.
What's not so great: Bright LED
I needed another external hard drive for my new iMac's "Time Machine" back up. I typically buy iOmega, but this one was on sale and was a great price for the amount of storage.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Initial Defective

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: lenz32
from ca
on 01/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Price per meg, 16mb cache
What's not so great: defective right out of box
Reading the other reviews of this drive combined with the price/size ratio convinced me to buy it, especially at the sale price. I notice a previous review stating their drive was initially defective but I figured "how often can that happen"? Well, I got my answer. Drive spins up, you can hear the heads hit the stop to reset, then a grinding noise and it shuts down completely. I won't be replacing it with the same model. One defective out of 10 reviews can be bad luck. 2 means there's a quality control problem and since I'll be trusting MY DATA to it, I'll be looking elsewhere.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Inexpensive yet Spacious

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: john21
from honolulu, HI
on 01/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Spacious, Inexpensive
What's not so great: no encryption ang very big
i bought this on sale at bestbuy for $89.99 and so far everything is working perpectly. 640gb is no joke for a price of $90. other brand will cause you twice the price.
it also comes with built in software. no cd needed
don't just look at the brand. try it first and see it for yourself.
reviews actually are not enough to use as basis whether to buy or not to buy
i liked it a lot.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Great deal for a DVR.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: aurban
from Big Spring TX
on 12/28/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price was just right.
What's not so great: LED light constantly flashing.
I bought this external drive once I updated my Dish network VIP211 software to enable the DVR feature.Dish charges a one time 39.99 activation fee to enable the new DVR feature. Afterwards, you don't need to pay a monthly DVR subscription fee. Couldn't beat paying 89.99 for an external drive with 640 gigs. Its more like 595 gigs.The drive is really quiet and isn't too cumbersome. Holds about 67 hours of HD programming and 250 hours of SD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

What a waste!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: njgirljdh
from Essex County, NJ
on 12/13/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great price!
What's not so great: Only worked for me for about 15 mins.
I bought this hard drive because of the amount of storage space it has for the price. In the past, I've had a good experience with Maxtor hard drives. In fact, I still have the first one that I bought two years ago and it is still working. The only problem is, my old one doesn't have a lot of storage and being that I am a photographer, I was in desperate need of an update.
I ordered this product with high anticipations. As I began saving files on to the hard drive, I noticed that it kept shutting off. I tried unplugging it and plugging back in, I tried disconnecting and reconnecting it to my computer, and nothing worked. I had the product for a little under 15 mins and now I have to return it. What a waste and a disappointment.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Great External Drive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Debster460
from Western Massachusetts
on 10/16/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: East to Install...easy to use!
What's not so great: none
Great External drive....learned the hard way to back up my computer onto an external after a major hard drive crash. I now use windows xp backup program and manually move it to the Maxtor External...very easy and it works at a nice pace. Maxtor is a great name so I expect many years of use! Worth every penny!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Awesome drive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tertius
on 09/09/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Really affordable good quality
What's not so great: Software not amazing
I've been using DVDs to backup and it was really tedious, which led to my main drive in my desktop failing and me losing quite a bit of data.
I'm not backing up twice weekly, personal and professional work. And the drive has been great. I'd like to get a mirrored drive in the future to have greater assurance, but for now this drive is working really well.
I've been using proprietary software for backup so the software doesn't really bother me that much. It is basic software that you can expect to get with a drive, great for the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Large cap, Easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: MATTPA
from pa
on 09/09/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great size, Nice color and shape, Easy to use
What's not so great: None
So far this has been a great buy for me. I also have a Maxtor One Touch 2 and have had no problems with it either, which is what made me get this one. as far as price goes, I paid this price for my 200gig when I bought it, so this price was great. I have had problems with many other hard drives, but never with a Maxtor drive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

lost all

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: james42
on 08/17/2008
What's great about it: easy return
What's not so great: lost all data
Had for 25 days then lost everything. Returned. If it had waited a few more days I would not have been able to return.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Exceptional Performance

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MH12
from Philadelphia, PA
on 08/14/2008
What's great about it: Quiet, Fast, Large Capacity, Works Great on Macs and PC's
What's not so great: None found
I bought this at my local Best Buy and so far I'm very impressed. I was originally planning on getting the Western Digital My Book Essential, one of it's leading competitors. When I saw the Maxtor One Touch 4 I thought it looked more intriguing so I got that instead. Funny thing is, I thought it cost a little bit less and when I got to the register it was $150 plus sales tax. I was upset at the time, but after giving this hard drive a chance I have been impressed by it and I don't regret paying a little bit more for quality instead of buying a cheaper hard drive that'll break or perform lousy. Great product!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maxtor OneTouch 4 640GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Black

Best investment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: xtal
from Florida
on 07/20/2008
What's great about it: quiet, fast, sturdy, expands computer's capacity
What's not so great: haven't found any yet
It can either be an extra hard drive or dedicated as a back up drive. It is speedy, dependable, and easy to use. After installing it, I use it as both back up and hard drive storage for the many photos I need for my work. It's a great investment for easy to use computer support and carrying all my files from one location to another. Sleekness in design makes it perfect for packing when traveling. Packs well for traveling. Better than cyberspace back up because I don't need a modem to get to my files.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.