Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Model: BFGRGTX260896OCE
SKU: 8906437
UPC: 876758002470
This blazing-fast graphics card features PhysX technology, enabling lightning-quick frame rates and realistic physical motion for an incredible gameplay experience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 19 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
95% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
18 out of 19
)
Customer Reviews for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card
Review 1 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Works for me

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Zircon
from Syracuse, NY
on 03/25/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performs well under load
What's not so great: Bit pricey
This card is more than capable of delivering the performance I need to play all games currently in my library with more than acceptable results. It is only fair to acknowledge the fact that this card is only incrementally better than the 9800 GTX+ that it replaced (the card was fried due to overclocking, ooops) but if you're a geek like me, that little bit of performance gain is worth every penny. This card is quite large and draws a ton of power; make sure your case can hold it and that your power supply is of sufficent output.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Very good graphics card solution.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sgtkoolaid
from woodside,ny
on 03/03/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: its a very fast card.adjustable using riva tuner.e.g. overclocking, fan speed etc.
What's not so great: low default fan speed.(heat builds up)
this is a very nice card for its price. however dont get it confused for the 260 OC version that has 216 cores(~@610-625mhz). this version has 192 cores(@590Mhz). but dont worry there isn't that much difference in overall speed. i found that i had to boost the default speed of the fan settings using riva tuner to roughly 75-80% anything beyond that it sounds like a vacuum, also because the card will get hot. like others said, this card laughs at crysis, warhead,farcry 2 (@ 1680x1050, 6xAA all sliders maxxed, and not a bit of framerate lag, even during driving fast though thick jungle) with the 182.06 drivers(gave a 10% boost on alot of games including FEAR2, FALLOUT 3, farcry 2 etc) FEAR2 runs amazing, i mean maxxed on everything. id recommend anyone if they can, SLI this card. when i bought it at the store it was around $237 + tax each. this game runs Age of conan very well i was pulling a good 60-120 fps on average, despite having 25-40 players casting spells i.e. (necros, Tos's) , fighting, swinging in front of kheshetta this includes battle sieges(i.e. up to 100+ players fighting, seige weapons, and mammoths breaking down the tier 3 walls) (dx 10 surprisingly enough runs very well id say i averaged about 30-60 fps peaking to 70 fps occasionally) you wont be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Smokin' graphics for not too much $$$

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SecretAznMan
from Austin, TX
on 02/03/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Godly graphics, runs pretty cool, laughs at my games
What's not so great: Can get hot from time to time, dual slot, 10.5 in. long, installation
I've gone from an bfg 8800 gt OC to this baby and I'm truly impressed. The 8800 could handle Warhead at high settings with no AA and had barely any lag. When I put this bad boy in, HOLY SMOKES! Highest settings + 4xAA!. It basically laughs at me whenever I pop in a game like Crysis. I had to do an exchange because the first one I picked up, the bottom plastic plate was missing and as well as the SLI connector cover. Best Buy gladly exchanged it with no questions asked. I am thrilled to have made the purchase. Only cons that I can see with this card are: Pretty big card and installation can be a bit tricky. Heat can be a problem but that's only if you don't turn the fan up to at least 80%. You will be needing a pretty beefy PSU to handle this card. But once you get past the cons, you won't have a care in the world when you see what this card can do for your games.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Great video card!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from San Diego, CA
on 12/29/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Super performance
What's not so great: Card is huge, requires upgrade of power supply
I have a HP Pavilion m9160f, it comes with a decent stock video card (8600GT), but really can’t keep up with the latest games so after doing a little research, I decided on the 260 GTX. First off let me say that this card is HUGE! I was prepared for it to take up 2 slots and decided the fax/modem would have to go, but had no idea it would be this long. The dimensions are 10.5” (L) x 3.75” (W) x 1.5’ (H). 2 of the SATA connectors were in the way, but luckily my motherboard had 6 connectors so I was able to move 2 of them to the unused slots. The card requires 2 six-pin PCIe power connectors and a 525w power supply, so I bought the BFG 550w power supply to go with it. It took a few hours to arrange all the cables to get this monster to fit in there, but in the end the computer booted up just fine. I was able to play every game at max resolution and effects, including GTA IV with blazing speed. The card seems to run a little hot when under a full load, so you should make sure you have good ventilation on your CPU case. The BFG power supply I bought had a big fan at the bottom and does a good job keeping everything cool. For the price this card is definitely worth it, just make sure you have plenty of space and plan on spending some time re-arranging things to get it to fit.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Great for GTA 4

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: poisondave
from Dillwyn, VA
on 12/15/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Super Fast Graphics
What's not so great: This thing is HUGE
I purchased this card specifically to play Grand Theft Auto 4. I can now play at full resolution (1900x1200) with settings on high. Plenty of memory, could use more though. Card is a pain to install for smaller towers so make sure it fits first and make sure your psu is beefy enough to handle this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Going, going, gone.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TheBestBuyGuy
from Antioch, TN
on 12/08/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video/Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Dual head DVI, Phenominal graphics
What's not so great: Big card! Requires big case!
This card is a home run.
Very satisfied. Some of you might think this is a lot to spend on a card, but its not too much compared to the high, high-end ones. Still delivers outstanding graphics even on monitors 24in+.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Best of the Best Graphic Cards

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Denver Co.
on 12/02/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Blazing Fast
What's not so great: Size is big.
OMG..
Just purchased a Gateway FX6800 and BFG S260 Nvidia video card from Best Buy on the no intrest for 18 months. Got the two under $1,900 with a two year warranty. $100 a month for 18 months.. I replaced the ATI 4750 card with the S260 and this machine screams. Any and all games maxed out play with no problems. The computer and video card stayed real cool and very quiet during heavy game play.
I am so happy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Avoid nVidia 200 series until they fix heat issues

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Sabres
from Columbus, OH
on 12/01/2008
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Video/Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: When it worked, outstanding graphics.
What's not so great: Heat issues due to poor design and poor quality control
If anyone is considering the 200 series from nVidia, I would strongly recommend sticking with the 9000 or 8000 series until they fix the issues with heat and the design of the card. Having gone through 2 of the 260's and 2 of the 280's, the headaches aren't worth it to keep playing roulette with the vendor and hope you get a card that actually works as advertised.
When it did run, the graphics were outstanding. I could plow through any game at the highest graphical settings and it wouldn't even hiccup.
However, the con is, "when it worked". After a couple of days the cards consistently started having heat issues. Any sort of meaningful load on the card started causing it to overheat and shut down. Doing some research on this, I found this to be a fairly common complaint being stated about the 200 series of the nVidia cards.
Avoid the 200 series!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

best vid card ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from garden grove, CA
on 10/28/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: the best graphics i have ever seen on this.
What's not so great: nothing bad
i have this video card and i think it is the best one i have ever purchased
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Great Performance

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: molacho07
from Richland,WA
on 10/25/2008
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great performance
What's not so great: Price, really big
I bought two of these to run them in SLI. SO far i have used only one and i can play Crysis at 1650x 1050 at 8x AA and no lagging at all!!I can't wait to get my sli bridge connector to run it in sli!
I had a 8800gtx before and they are the same lenght but these one are 20% taller!! It almost touches the pipes for my cpu cooling fan!
I got it when they were 15% off ($50) and that was nice but it hink the price should go down more!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Amazing Card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: RTaylor
from Nampa, ID
on 09/25/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: I can play ANY game on maximum settings.
What's not so great: Make sure your power supply can handle it. Most OEM PSU's cannot.
I am outputting all of my games to a 32" LCD TV in 1080p using the HDMI adapter. Flawless graphics, always maxed settings. Can easily maintain 60+ FPS in games such as Assassin's Creed, Crysis, and Mass Effect. It is a little bit pricey, and the card is large, so be sure to measure your case to be sure it can accommodate this card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Good card but take note!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: LathropDave
from Lathrop, Missouri
on 09/14/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Very good quality
What's not so great: Power hookup documentation could have been better.
I am a computer technician and still had some difficulty getting this card installed and hooked up to the power supply.
To hook up the 2 - 4 pin connectors I had to splice in some wire so one of them would reach. You will also need at least one 6 pin power connector from your power supply or the card will not power on.
I also now have a bios error at boot up "error initializing pci express nic". I can press F1 to get around it but now my onboard NIC doesn't work so I had to install a 2nd NIC for networking. No resolution yet on this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Best card I have owned to date.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Gecko
from Chardon, OH
on 08/07/2008
What's great about it: Awsome Graphix. Runs quiet and cool.
What's not so great: HUGE card. Needed to buy another case for it to fit.
This has to be the best card I have every owned. I upgraded from a BFG 9600GT. When the price comes down I will buy another for the SLI.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

stomps em

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PXWolfhunter
from Chicago
on 07/20/2008
What's great about it: extremely fast
What's not so great: need a big pc case, cards 10.5inches long
this is my 3rd BFG card ive bought and shes a beauty. right out of the box ive doubled my scores and that coming from a 8800gts. i run mine in dual monitor with ease, play lots of ETQW and crysis with no issues. all settings maxed and holds steady 60fps or more in any game. rememebr you will need a nice big pc case to sit her in and a power supply with 2 6pin molex, takes atleast a 550watt for high end system.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Dang...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Allster
from SoCal
on 07/18/2008
What's great about it: Has amazing graphics, and FPS for all games is GREAT
What's not so great: Took me 2 hours to install? Not really a con...
This is the very first graphics card I have ever bought, I was worried I wouldn't know how to install it or if it would even fit in my computer. I have a normal, regular comp that wasn't meant for gaming until I got this baby. To my surprise my small computer had enough room for this baby (relief). All I needed was to buy power supply, and I did, install the power supply, and then install the card. It was rather easy, and don't worry if you think you won't figure it out. I did, and I'm sure you will too to enjoy your ausome new computer thanks to this AMAZING card.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Great Video Card!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: christoc
from St. Louis, MO
on 07/15/2008
What's great about it: Amazing frame rates, excellent driver support even on Vista 64
What's not so great: Price (it has come down though)
I bought this card based on feedback from a friend of mine at NVidia, amazing card. I've not had a single issue with it. I'll be going to Best Buy tomorrow though to get some money back on it as it has dropped $120 in price since I bought it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrDavis
from lakeland, fl
on 07/13/2008
What's great about it: Very fast card, runs great and cool.
What's not so great: Bulky.
I went from a 8800 gts 320mb to this and man what a Difference. Im running crysis at 1680 by 1050 and 8x aa and everything on high. I only get a few hiccups. Cod4 I run full all max with 90-175 fps. Awesome card and very stable with the heat. Just wish I would have waited another week to buy cause of price drop :(
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

The new series of nvidia is here

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Illuminati789
from yonkers ny
on 07/05/2008
What's great about it: the graphics, frame rates
What's not so great: the price
Nvidia has released the next generation of graphics cards. Even though I extremely disliked the price for this graphics card I think it was well worth it, only because I play the high end games like crysis. BELIEVE ME, if you are not a hard core gamer, an nvidia 8800 or 9800 will do just fine.
But I warn you, make sure your power supply can handle it. Otherwise great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BFG NVIDIA GeForce 260 GTX OC 896MB GDDR3 PCI Express Graphics Card

Unparalled power

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: mheyman
on 07/05/2008
What's great about it: Amazing graphics card
What's not so great: Pricey
Assuming the other components of you PC are up to date, this card is going to give you some killer frame rates. This card is the definition of power and like other nvidea cards, installation is easy.
If you have the money to invest in this card, do so. Nothing will run high end games like Crysis quite like this.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.