Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Model: HR22
SKU: 8911449
UPC: 185463000481
Watch and record your favorite TV shows with this DIRECTV receiver that features 2 satellite tuners, so you can watch one show while recording another.
Average Customer Rating:
3.227 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 66 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 star
17
59% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
39 out of 66
)
Customer Reviews for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers
Review 1 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

DVR Troubleshooting

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dtvmike1652
from Barboursville
on 04/18/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Ease of use so simple and much better then Tivos
What's not so great: nothing great product
For those of you complaining about the brightness of the blue light here is something that could help you. On receiver front panel, simultaneously press and hold left and right arrow buttons to lower or raise brightness of light ring. Right and Left arrow buttons can be pressed a few times until light is completely off.
Hope this helps I know it did for me. Sometimes may have to hold for few seconds before it recognizes it but it does work
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Amazing piece of equiptment!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: altx0012
from Saint Paul, MN
on 03/13/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Not a thing!!!!
I don't get all the negative reviews about this product...I have two of them, and between friends and family, can account for a total of at least 12 boxes. Never had a problem with any of them. I wonder how many people did self installs that are experiencing all these "problems" :) As for the fees, if you don't want to pay them, THEN DON'T BUY THE BOX!!!!! Good lord, the box's are over 600.00 new to buy yourself, so DTV is very reasonable with their pricing. A fantastic box, IF you know what your're doing!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Good HD Receiver

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: sportfan97064
from Oregon
on 03/08/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, Easy to use, can network with other HD Receivers
What's not so great: Can not export shows to Ipods, or mp3 players
I do not like that you can not export to an Ipod, and it is not Tivo like, and once you buy it you, you do not own it Directv stills owns it
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Commercial Skip

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: GrotyRoper
from Albuquerque
on 02/27/2010
<<This HR22, like the HR21 in my living room, is very jerky with commercial skipping>>
The unit defaults to "Slip" mode when delivered. You can easily reprogram it to "Skip" mode, which makes it skip commercials just like a Tivo.
Keyword search [all]
30skip [on]
30slip [off]
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

better than HR21, still not TiVo

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: KT2T
from Lakeland, FL
on 02/24/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it doesn't crash like the HR21, shared programs over LAN, HD
What's not so great: closed architecture pales in features compared to TiVo
One thing I really miss about the DirecTV TiVo (a.k.a. DirecTiVo) units is the ultra-smooth commercial skipping in the TiVo. This HR22, like the HR21 in my living room, is very jerky with commercial skipping. Unlike the HR21, this unit doesn't need to be rebooted every other day. Strictly compared to the HR21, this HR22 is golden, but compared to the elder (SD) DirecTiVo it is pale. Until DirecTV offers a HD TiVo unit, you aren't going to get any better than this unit.
I will say 'Yes' to recommending this to a friend with the stipulation that the friend is already a DirecTV subscriber. Don't forget that this unit is $200 on LEASE, which means you have to return it to DirecTV when/if you cancel your service. For $200, you don't own it, it's just a lease. Oh yeah, it also comes with a two-year service agreement/extension.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

HD and DVR together!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tompap98
from Jacksonville, FL
on 01/15/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: HD picture, DVR
What's not so great: nothing
If you have DirecTv, this is the box to have. HD picture with the ability to record two programs at once. I now have one in the family room and one in the bedroom, so me and the wife can have everything recorded when we got out and can watch wherever we want.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Great DVR

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: FrozenBolt
from Eagle Pass, TX
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Quick, easy to use, good capacity.
What's not so great: Remote does not work well with intelligence sensor on LG Flat screens turned on.
Long time DirectTV customer. The newer DVR's remove the need for multiple coaxial lines. (BIG PLUS) and are keeping up the latest times. One down side is that the remote does not work well with the LG's energy saving intelli sensor turned on. (DVR & TV co-located) Also the ring on the DVR is very bright which does not work well in a small room.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Great product but not for the price and limitation

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: dgc1955
from Greeneville, TN
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: pause and play and record
What's not so great: price
Does a great job. This is my second one. Price is to high because if I drop Directv it doesn't work with anything else. That means I have spent that money for a product that I can't use. First one was free. Had to buy the second one. Should probably have gone with Tivo.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

It's Ok....

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: flair3366
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Picture
What's not so great: Overall Charges
Ok. I've read all these reviews, and it just seems like some people don't listen. First of all, they tell you that it is a LEASED receiver when you pay for it. Your told about the early termination fee. Which starts out at $450 and then drops $20 for every month you have it. Heres what I have never understood, Direct Tv charges you a lease fee of $6 a month, so why the $199. So for a 24 month commitment @ $6 month and the initial $ 199 price, your actually paying $283 for this. I have had Direct Tv for 10 years and have never had to return any of the boxes that have gone bad, and thats about 6 now. I usually get about 12 months out of a box, if I'm lucky, before they start having problems. Of course Direct Tv always offers to send out at new one for a $20 shipping fee. So if they go bad every 12 months, that another $40, so now were at $323.
BUT heres the good news. Now this only works if you've been a long term customer and paid your bill on time. The next time you have a problem and you call Customer Service, as soon as a live person answers, ask for the "Retention" dept. These people are authorized to do just about anything to keep you as a customer. Sometimes the Customer Service person acts like they don't know that department, but trust me, they do.
Heres another trick, If you near the end of your agreement, look on their website and see what new deals their offering for "new" customers. Then call them and ask for the same thing, tell them that you can disconnect and have it put in your spouses name. You'll get what you ask for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

HD DVR DIRECTV

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ccjpol
from agawam, ma
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Unable to receive HD service, could not get clear satellite view.
Unfortunately, purchased from Best Buy as XMas gift, then found out DirecTV could not install because they could not get a clear view of the particular satellite needed for HD. Warning, DirecTV charges you $49 to install if you do not purchase DVR from them, then tries to make you return the equipment to them as their property! Had to go with cable HD. I would recommend HD, great picture, but not from DirecTV.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

leased equipment with No warranty

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Rogerdelaramjet
from dallas,tx
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: heavy enough for a small boat anchor
What's not so great: Freezes all the time
box freezes all the time , lose recordings for starters, and that 199.00 that you paid which is supposed to be a pre-paid lease fee isn't honored for equipment replacement if you are past the 90 days, unless you purchase the monthly equipment protection plan. So buyer beware!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Works as advertised

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: DC10
from Wonder Lake, IL
on 01/05/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: 1080P picture
What's not so great: once in a while sound does not come on when turned on
Works good. Good picture. Every once in a while, the sound does not come on when turned on. In order to reset it, the box and the tv must be unplugged and plugged back in. Directv knew about this issue when I called customer support.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Excellent HD DVR

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Scottl
from Alpharetta, GA
on 12/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Solid unit, works great
What's not so great: nothing so far
I've had this DVR for over 6 months with no issues at all. I've seen a couple of reports about the $5.99 fee. That is similar to family cell plans that you can add another line for $9.99. So not too sure what the complaint is. I've been a DirecTV since 1998 and have loved their service. Their customer support for me has also been awesome. I did have a defective unit and they sent me a new one out without issue. Anyway back to the DVR, it has been great. One feature that I have really used is the iPhone app for DirecTV that allows me to record a show from anywhere. So when I am running late, I just pull out the phone, find the show and press record. I love their service!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Poor service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: dcbam85
on 12/27/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: HD recording capability
What's not so great: Directv's customer service
I have been a Directv customer for over 10 years only because of their NFL Sunday Ticket programming. My HD DVR unit has HDMI capability, which has not been working since August. When I called Directv they indicated that it was a software issue and would be fixed soon. Now it is end of December and still no fix. I asked them to replace the box since obviously the software issue must only be on my unit. They indicated they could not (even though I am paying $5.99 month for the protection plan). If you don't want special programming that Directv offers, go cable or another company who honors their commitments.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Worst company ever!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Tony821
from Tucson, AZ
on 12/17/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Everything
It is ridiculous that you have to pay $199 leasing fee to initially get a receiver. As many of these people have indicated in their reviews, I also have had problem with the programming guide and having to reboot it. What is outrageous is that the problem does not get fixed and DTV will charge you to cancel their service. The only people that gave this product (Directv) a 5 out of 5 and would recommend it to a friend are DTV employees creating fake accounts or you have a horrible friend. I waited for my contract to expire and went with another company that does not charge leasing fees to initially get a receiver. Please do your research before doing business with a company that has many hidden fees.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Love the Blu-ray

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: motnanaken
from Thompson Falls, MT
on 12/08/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Love being able to use the Netflix option.
What's not so great: Shows dust easily.
Set up and use was very easy right out of the box.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Watch Out For All The Hidden Charges And Contract

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Kibsaero
from Lafayette,La
on 11/30/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: HD good picture
What's not so great: Menu hard to use
If you have a direct tv service for years you will be charged two year contract. You dont buy the unit you lease it. If you breach the contract you have to return the unit,plus pay the remaining contract just like a cell phone. They also charge $10.00 per month HD service. Make sure you want the deal !! I would recommend but with caution!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Long-time Customer

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RichKY
from Kentucky
on 11/25/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Guide, DirecTV features
What's not so great: Upgrade price, response time
DirecTV is the industry leader, is innovative, and always looks for ways to improve the TV experience and this box incorporates all of the "extra" features they promote on their website. As for performance, the DVR and on-screen guide functions we have come to expect for TV watching are very intuitive. HD channels are the same number as their SD siblings and duplicates can be hidden (so if you're upgrading to HD you don't have to re-learn channel numbers). The box sometimes responds to the remote slowly and takes its time "thinking" after you press a button. Also (soap box moment) I think it's absurd that DTV charges so much to upgrade your box when THEY still own the equipment, lock you in for 2 years, AND charge a $10/mo fee for HD and $6/mo for DVR. Yet in the end it's still worth it when compared to cable and when you know chances are great you'll get new channels and options FIRST.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

HDTV DVR for Direct TV

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Cindy69
from Michigan
on 11/21/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to record my shows I miss
What's not so great: Can only record 2 shows, but you have to be watching the second show
Its a nice piece of equipment, but if it can record two show it should do just that and not have to be watching the second show.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DIRECTV HDTV Receiver with DVR for Current Subscribers

Good picture, thats about it

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: TheRollingCarShopdotcom
from Queen Creek, AZ
on 11/16/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Good picture
What's not so great: DVR functions, have to reset constantly
I read alot of reviews on this box, I was hoping that DTV had fixed the issues with it that alot of people complained about. I've owned (or rented, however you want to look at it) this box for not even 6 months now, initially everything was fine, but for the last few months I have to unplug to reset the box at least once a week because it freezes. Usually takes about 5 to 10 mintues to reboot. Also, bad communication between the box and remote. Box is often very slow to respond to the buttons I press. As for the DVR functions, its definetly no Tivo. Menu functions can be a pain to navigate, dual tuner gets easily confused when I want to record one thing and watch another live. The only good thing about this box is the picture, but anything in HD should have a good picture, so this box does not have a whole lot going for it. If you can be patient, wait for the HD Tivo for DTV, you won't be happy with this one down the road.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>