Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Model: LN55A950
SKU: 8949613
UPC: 036725228870
Learn more about Magnolia Premium Installation   Watch your movies in true 1080p high-definition on this stunning 55" flat-panel HDTV with an Ultra Clear Panel and Auto Motion Plus 120Hz technology. The WiseLink Pro USB 2.0 port provides access to InfoLink information. Built-In HDTV Tuner: Add HD-capable antenna to receive over-the-air high-definition broadcasts, where available. Optional set-top box required for high-definition cable or satellite programming. 55" measured diagonally 1080p display provides the highest quality progressive-scan picture possible from a high-definition source Have questions about this product?Ask Mr. Samsung, fellow shoppers and Best Buy staff. Share your answers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.969 out of 5
5.0
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 32 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
100% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
32 out of 32
)
Customer Reviews for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal
Review 1 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

An amazing piece of machinery. Beautuful picture.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ndeaguero
from Albuquerque
on 07/20/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The picture quality is amazin.
What's not so great: The sound can be redone for a louder effect.
This TV is amazing. It's fun to watch and is loads of entertainment for the boring afternoons. Pop in a coupld of blu-ray movies and your good to go for the night. Everyone in their homes should have this TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

This one has the real LED backlit screen

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HDiswhereitsat
from Ft. Lauderdale, FL
on 07/16/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Perfect color, easy to set up, worth the extra $$$
What's not so great: Delivery time. In short supply.
Don't be fooled by the new slimmer LED backlit. This is the only model that really delivers true black pixels for contrast. If your into sports, the colors just pop. Almost 3D. I know it's not the latest slim 1" TV but the extra inch allows the LED's to be directly behind the screen. That makes all the difference in the world. Samsung has a winner. I know it's expensive, but anything this nice will cost more. Great TV. Worth every penny. Make sure your cable provider uses the lastest HDMI cable box. I haven't hooked it up to a blue ray player yet, but with regular DVD it looks real good.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Best TV there is

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TeRRyP
from Ft. Worth TX
on 07/07/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture perfect
What's not so great: Little Thicker but suspose to be.
Perfect TV I also own the First generation LED tv they made the Samsung 750
this tv blows that 1 away. If your looking for a great picture and also has pretty good sound for a flatpanel buy this 1. Goes on sale alot lately also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Great tv

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nick14
from El Paso,TX
on 06/24/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy set up, reasonable price
What's not so great: nothin is wrong
when i bought the tv i took it home and it was very easy to set up. it has awesome picture and sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Best picture ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rodchair
from Manassas Virginia
on 05/03/2009
What's great about it: Outstanding picture quality
What's not so great: Absolutely nothing
After doing research on TVs for the past six months I narrowed my search to three TVs. The Samsung LN55A950, the new 55 inch LED and the Sony. After comparing the three side by side the A950 picture quality was without a doubt the best. The contrast of the TV is outrageous. The blacks are so deep it will blow your mind. Watching the Batman movies you can see three different shades of black in his costume. We bought a TV, a new stand for it and had the geek squad come in and do all the work putting it together. When they left everything was done for us and the TV was playing fine. Go out and get this television. You won't be disappointed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Best HDTV I have ever had.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jared08
from Spring, TX
on 04/28/2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Great lifelike contrast, Color reproduction, The frame has a nice style to it, Great features
What's not so great: Really expensive (But worth the money)
After going through 5 different HDTVs in the last two years (samsung ln3242h, LN40A550, LN40A650, LN46A650), I finally got it right with this one. I still have the 46 inch A650 in my bedroom and in comparison to that picture The A950 definitely has more POP and a clearer picture. Don't get me wrong the A650 is a great TV but to be honest, the A950 is in an entirely different league.
After comparing the A950 to Sony's XBR8 and the new Samsung Edgelit LED TV's, the A950 to me still produced an better overall picture (although not by much compared to the XBR8). Maybe its just me but I don't think the XBR8 is worth the $6,000 total Sony is asking for it. The interactive features on the A950 are great but will probably get little use from me.
If you have the money I definitely recommend this tv to anyone who is looking for an accurate life like picture (looks 3 dimensional or like your looking through a window). Now I just need to buy a bigger stand.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Buckle up!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: snoopa
from Aurora, IL
on 04/07/2009
What's great about it: A third dimension in the TV watching experience, you not see and hear it you can feel it too!!
What's not so great: None yet.
Amazing. The first time I saw this TV at the Magnolia center at BestBuy, I was speechless. The clarity, the sharpness, vivid colors coming from this LCD was just unreal. Later discovered the this TV is a a LED backlit LCD which makes contrast ratio sky rocket to a million. The blacks are the blackest i've ever seen. I've played blu-ray and non blu-ray, in both occasions you can feel people walking and and running out of the TV, just unreal. I have lots of daylight coming in from two large windows, I found no compromise in the picture viewing experience. The TV is about 90 lbs, I have it mounted on the wall. I would recommend this TV to anyone, the price tag is a bit hefty, but I have no regrets, its well worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

As Good As It Gets

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AggiePharmD
from China Spring, TX
on 03/13/2009
What's great about it: Amazing picture, blacks similar to plasma
What's not so great: Price tag
TV picture is great! HD is amazing and BluRay is even better. I would recommend this tv to anyone who can afford it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Best TV Picture EVER!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ed5150
from Chadds Ford, PA
on 03/02/2009
What's great about it: Amazing Depth of Picture, No Motion Blur, Great Color Natural Skin Tones, Life like Images
What's not so great: Nothing
I bought a Samsung PN63A760 Plasma because all the pros said the picture is more real and that plasma has deeper blacks. Plus I wanted a BIG TV. Took it home and was never real impressed with it. Always noticed burn in, Skin Tones very red, and a lot of motion blur. So I ordered the 55950 LCD. Best Buy is great because you can take back your TV with the cord remote and manual if your not happy with it. So while I was waiting for the 950 to arrive It was suggested that I would like the Sony XBR8 better. So low and behold I brought that home too. XBR was nice. Great colors, nice picture controls, but real expensive. Then came the 950! I had all three lined up in my media room. The 950 was hands down the best picture I have ever seen. Images jump off the screen at you. There is so much depth it feels somewhat 3-D. Skin tones are perfect, blacks are black and color spectacular. I have had no motion blur and recommend using the M series Monster cable. Expensive but there is a difference. I am running PS3 Blue Ray and Verizon Fios. Both are stunning. The TV looked great out of the box with no adjustments. Simple design lets the picture stand out and not the TV casing. There is very minor blooming around words on the screen when the background is black. I owned a 1st generation Samsung LED and blooming was a huge problem plus only 60htz.(took that TV Back) But it is so minor you probably wouldn't even noticed if I hadn't said it. I am running through Pioneer Elite Ice Receiver so I can't really comment about the audio. Buy this TV you will love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Samsung Was Best

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gkaz
from Glendale, Az.
on 02/20/2009
What's great about it: Multiple picture settings allowing you to adjust to bright, dark or anywhere in between.
What's not so great: Nothing yet
My wife and I went to purchase a new HD TV. We compared 2 Pioneer Kuro plasmas, a Panasonic plasma, the Sony LCD LED XBR8 and the Samsung LN55A950. We did this comparison after reading a review in Home Entertainment Magazine comparing these same TV's. We had the salesman play a couple of scenes from Pirates of the Caribbean on each TV so we could could see the same material on each TV and compare picture quality. Initially I was pretty much convined we would end up with one of the Kuros. But after the salesman showed us how to adjust the picture quality on each TV (e.g. Dynamic, Standard, or Movie mode along with the brightness settings and color adjustment) we both eliminated the plasma TV's and narrowed it down to the Sony and Samsung. We felt that we could adjust the picture quality much closer to our liking than with the plasmas. Since the Sony and Samsung were so close in quality it came down to price. We got the Samsung for over $2000 less than the Sony because of the Sony price guarantee (so much for Sony's price guarantee-it cost them a sale!)
I do want to mention that the Samsung was the the least favorite model in the Home Entertainment review. While in the store I duplicated a couple of the settings mentioned in the review (Movie mode with a brightness setting of 2). With those settings we felt the picture looked pretty bad so it was understandable why the Samsung was rated the lowest. When we adjusted the picture to our preference (which turned out to be Dynamic mode with a brightness setting of 7) my wife said she felt like she was in the picture. Bottom line: do not choose a TV based on other peoples preferences for settings. Set the TV's you are interested in to your preferences then choose the one you like best. Had we not done that we would not have even considered the Samsung.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

A Different TV From All Others

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kevthegreat
on 02/03/2009
What's great about it: Surreal images leap off the screen
What's not so great: Forward images leave background in the dust; extreme motion can get pixelated.
This is a great TV, almost too good- I'll explain. Forward images are so pervasive that the backgrounds seem to suffer. It is like the TV in Wonka's Chocolate Factory that shrank the boy; persons on the screen are so realistic and clear you can almost reach out and touch them but now you can also spot blue screen or digitized backgrounds from a mile away which can hinder your suspension of disbelief in a movie. This may get better as my brain acclimates to this unusual TV. We also had some pixelating problems watching Speed Racer as if the TV couldn't keep up with the race scenes (and yes the Motion-super-duper-whatsit was on.. I think the more fancy the name of the technology the less it actually works). But then we watched King Kong and that was amazing and no pixelating, so I guess Speed was just a little too fast!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Wonderful TV, beautiful picture. Great price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Daisy2009
from Minnetonka,MN
on 02/02/2009
What's great about it: Easy to set up. And very user friendly!!
We just love our new big screen TV. Just set it up in time for Superbowl. We have only watched a couple of DVD's on it and did notice it had way too much detail. But then realized that we had the TV set on "dynamic" mode which shows every detail. That's great for football games and sports. Switched to "movie mode" and it softned up the picture and it's just like sitting in the theater. I'm only mentioning this because I noticed another reviewer bring it up.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

AWESOME!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tim49833
from Melissa, Tx
on 01/25/2009
What's great about it: Picture quality it just amazing
What's not so great: Nothing so far, not even the price
I bought this TV at X-mas time. Paid under 4000 for it. Had it now for not quite a month. Well worth the money. If your bouncing between a 50, 52 and this 55 get the led 55. I sit 16' from my screen to my eye balls. This TV replaced my PIONEER 50" plasma (which is now in the bedroom) The picture quality is a huge improvement. Plus this TV really cut out the reflection I was getting with the plasma. I also bought the calibration, this will happen in FEB. I also recomend this as it will help the TV to last much longer. The other guy was correct, if you want to throw your money away go ahead and give Sony 6500 for their 55" LED you put these 2 side by side and Samsungs TV is much brighter and clearer. Love the ether net connection on the back and yes we use it, great for local weather.
Highly recomend this TV. You will be extremely happy. GET IT!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

BEST LED LCD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: PEACHYW
from WEST CHESTER,PA
on 01/20/2009
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
What's not so great: SCREEN TOO REFLECTIVE
THIS IS THE BEST LED TV ON THE MARKET HANDS DOWN.IF YOU WANT A GREAT TV FOR LESS THAN SONYS 6500.00 XBR8,THIS TV IS FOR YOU. YOU ABSOLUTELY WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Entertainment Hub!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MinnesotaTVguy
from Minneapolis, MN
on 01/16/2009
What's great about it: Picture, HDMI CEC and DLNA connectivity
What's not so great: software features could be tweaked
This TV should be re-categorized as an entertainment hub, not “just” a television. I agree fully with the previous writers that guests indeed will be talking about the images on this set, simply because it is dramatically sharper, cleaner colors, better blacks and all the other superlatives already written. I liken the first-time viewing experience to seeing an IMAX for the first time, or getting a new pair of glasses. It’s that memorable.
But none of the reviewers have commented on some features that may change your lifestyle. How do you connect your camcorder to your home theater when you want to watch your homemade video on a big screen? How do you get your digital music into your home theater system? This TV allows you to access photos, music and video files on your computer (any computer on your home network), simply by connecting an Ethernet from the TV to your network router. You then load a simple Samsung file share software on your pc(s), identify the folders you want to share to the TV, and then access what you want to see, hear or watch with a few clicks on the TV remote.
You can setup photo slide shows from the TV remote. Trust me, you will be extremely pleased with the resolution of your photos on this screen, markedly improved over any kind of pc-to-tv connection.
You can select songs and launch the music from your Samsung remote. And you can “drop” the music to your home theater from the TV via digital optical, so this is as good as it gets for audio quality on mp3’s. The ipod dock may have been the easiest “old” way to get your music playing, but this gives you access to the whole collection on your pc’s. This Samsung even shows the cover art if you have it on your pc. And when playing, the screen goes pure black, with a small Samsung icon sliding around. What a juke box!
And now, access your 1080 video files (up to 5 different files types) and play them full screen, just like a Bluray on this incredible screen. Video files on your pc from your camcorder or recorded via TV tuner card can be playing with just a few clicks on the Samsung remote, with the audio on your TV or going through your main system.
Nobody I know has found an easy way to get their digital media into their home theater. Samsung delivers a amazing solution with this incredible TV.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

OMG

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Crazycatk3
from Harrisburg, PA
on 01/13/2009
What's great about it: Movie Style Picture Quality
What's not so great: I want an even bigger one
The picture quality is impressive, so clear it looks like you can touch the actors on the screen. I have a better setup that the local movie theater. I would die for an even larger set. Geek Squad did a great job mounting it and hooking up all the HD/surround sound accessories. I even got an $800 discount before the holidays. Can't wait for the Super Bowl:)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Unbelievable picture

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: HCubed
from McAllen, TX
on 12/30/2008
What's great about it: Magnolia makes it easy
What's not so great: Holiday vacation ending so less time to watch TV
Magnolia and Geek Squad made it incredibly easy and did a great job installing the TV and other components. The picture is unbelievable. My guests say they feel that they are in the picture. This is a great TV and will be in the top sets for some time to come.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Excellent LCD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: electronic1000
from RI
on 12/18/2008
What's great about it: Picture Quality is Awsome
What's not so great: Nothing
I purchased this TV approximately four weeks ago and can't rave enough about the exceptional picture quality and performance. The clarity of the image of regular DVD's is much improved and Blu-Ray is phenomenal - it's like being on set!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

Unbelievable

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Desert13
from Santa Teresa, NM
on 12/10/2008
What's great about it: Picture quality is great!
What's not so great: Nothing
Bought the TV two weeks ago and rediscovered DVD movies. Picture quality on normal DVD movies has to be seen to be appreciated. Blu ray has no equal. Easy to hook up and program. Why go to the movies when you have this TV!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung 55" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV - Black/Charcoal

This TV is hard to describe

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SeanAM
from Aurora, Colorado
on 11/30/2008
What's great about it: Unbelievably clear picture
What's not so great: Price could be lower
I researched plasmas and LCD TV's for over 16 months before buying this TV. When I found this model, every review and tech article I found said this was the best choice for an LCD. I have huge living room windows and tons of light, but this TV works extremely well in bright conditions. We hooked this to our HD cable and the picture quality is astounding, it is almost freakishly clear, never seen a TV like it. We bought a BlueRay player and it and I was shocked, never watched anything so lifelike on a TV before. Watched a few Football games on Thanksgiving and can tell you that if your a sports fan, this TV will intensify the experience, you will love it. The TV is pricey, but it's worth every single penny. One recommendation, if you buy it, get the Monster M series 120HZ cables, it makes a difference for sure.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>