Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Model: VCG84512SPPB
SKU: 8968067
UPC: 751492380315
Give your computer a boost with this powerful 512MB graphics card, featuring NVIDIA Forceware drivers, PureVideo HD technology and dual 400MHz RAMDACS for high-speed performance, lush colors and dazzling detail.
Average Customer Rating:
3.882 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 17
)
Customer Reviews for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card
Review 1 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Not Bad for price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JJconsumer
on 02/15/2011
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: None
I bought my graphics card for my dell dimension 3000. for a PCI video card it did its job. great for dual monitor operation and moderate gaming. it probably won't be an ideal choice for WoW or any other high graphics games.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Expert
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Multimedia (music, movies, photos)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Great GFX for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Napa, CA
on 01/28/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: price and functionality
What's not so great: The fan
First of all, THIS IS NOT A GAMING CARD!! (for 2010 or 2011 games) I use it for games, but not games with insane graphics like call of duty black ops or anything like that, it works great with windows, and with some old games like Americas Army, Tomb Raider anniversary or legend, basically 2007 and below games, but overall it's a great product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Upgrader
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Great video card for the price !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ILUVRC
from Coeur D Alene ID.
on 01/23/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Performance and price.
What's not so great: For $50.00 how can you go wrong.
I got a second hand computer to run RealFlight G5.5 and Phoenix 3.0 Flight training simulators during the winter. I did not want to spend alot of money and to my suprise this video card works great without having to reduce the graphics quality in the sims. Installation was hassle free and took about 10 minutes including installing the drivers. I did have to reduce the video apeture in the system BIOS to the minimum 128mb for best performance. Running Intel Dual Core 2.6ghz with 2gb system ram. If you only have a PCI slot for video, this card is a great value.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:Yes
Level of Expertise:Average
Primary reason for building/modifying PC:Hobbiest
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Great All Purpose Card and Inexpensive Too

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Queensporsche
from Seattle
on 12/24/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very easy Installation and great price
What's not so great: Will probably not play higher end games.
I accidentally fried my old Radeon 9250 256mb graphics card and needed to buy a cheap alternative. I never did like ATI's interface on my computer and always had problems. After shopping around within my budget I went to Best Buy. There, the friendly computer experts helped me to go online and order this card because they do not have any PCI cards in stock on their shelves.
Ordering online at BestBuy was a snap. The product was ordered on December 21st and arrived on December 23rd, just as promised. I opened the box and read the instructions, which I highly recommend doing. Before installing the card, you must make sure that you go into your BIOS program and change the graphics card setting to PCI.
Installation was very easy. My only difficulty was the fact that my PCI slots are just about exactly far enough away from the openings in back of the computer with no room to spare, so it was a tight fit. Once it was in I simply turned on the computer, popped in the provided Installation Disk, clicked on "install drivers" and voila, it was done.
After restarting the computer the graphics came up beautifully with 1080p (1920x1080) native resolution. I immediately tested it by watching a download of "Avatar" and the video quality was extroardinary with no choppy images or lag time in playing the video at all like there were previously. I also tested streaming video from Hulu and I no longer have to use the lowest video setting to watch shows. I did not disable my onboard graphics until after this one was already up and running, and did not notice a difference after doing so, so I do not know if it is necessary.
I tried playing a few easy games and it ran them beautifully. However, this card is not for high end gaming. It would not run a game I downloaded called Heroes of Iron 3, but I later discovered that game required a Ge Force 8800 and 2 gb of ram. I will test it on other games later and possibly update this review.
In conclusion, the entire buying experience of purchasing this Graphics Card through Best Buy was about as good as it could possibly be. The card works perfectly for my usage, which is watching streaming video and light game play. You could also easily run 2 monitors with this card. If you only have PCI slots in your older computer (Mine is a 7 year old Gateway) I would recommend this card in a snap. It is a vast improvement over the Radeon 9250 I previously used. Less than 30 minutes from opening the box to everything working perfectly.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Build or modify your own PC:No
Level of Expertise:Newbie
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Very Good Product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: AtomAnt
from California
on 08/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: I can now play the games that my integrated video card wouldnt support-- :D
What's not so great: Its not the ultimate gaming graphics card.
I opened the box and installed the GeForce 8400 GS into the PCI slot of my HP Pavillion a847c Desktop with ease. After troubleshooting a blank screen at start-up, I found out I had to disable my integrated video card through the device manager and set the display settings in BIOS to PCI. Then after installation, I downloaded the latest drivers for the card, and PRESTO! IT WORKS GREAT! Sure its not the ultimate card for games, but its WAY better than I expected for a standard PCI card. I can max all the settings in Warcraft III: Frozen Throne, and it runs fine. I also can now play HoN with great effects. Haven't tried some of the more graphics-demanding games yet, but for the price and considering its PCI, I am very pleased. GL HF!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Great card and good price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BeetleBryan
from Winston-Salem, NC
on 08/03/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Decent price, excellent resolution support.
What's not so great: I don't like that PCI cards are harder to find and more expensive than the same card in PCI-E
A solid card with plenty of power for the price. It took a few tries to get it installed because I had to disable the onboard card...once it was up and running it made my new monitor look amazing!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Not great for gaming

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: trev95
from Corpus Christi, Tx
on 06/27/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Video/Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Good if you don't play games
What's not so great: tight fit when installing, and horrible for games
I recently bought this graphics card to replace my old 9600 ati graphic card that wasn't doing so good anymore. Well to begin the installion of the card into my pci pus was tight and i surprised i didn't break something when i put it in. after that i was excited to play my rome total war game without any lagging at all but sadly it preformed worse that my ati raedon card. i am very disappointed in the product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-7points
6out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

This may not work on your Dell

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: jcanavera
from Missouri
on 06/05/2009
What's not so great: Quick start instructions are not clear
After 5 hours I gave up on the installation. My Dell 4550 uses an AGP card. I modified the startup settings to allow video from PCI, and even when proper drivers are loaded, the card only shows the first two initial screens when booting. After that point only black screen. After doing some searches I see that other Dell owners are reporting the same issue. I can only assume that it's an issue with an older bios and a newer device. I'll return it today and see what other solutions are out there.
My fair rating is based on unclear instructions regarding the sequence of steps prior to installation of the card and after installation of the card. Each set of instructions contradicts the other.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Great card at a Great Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Orlough
from WA
on 05/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Pretty easy to set up if you know what you're doing.
What's not so great: Not really anything.
Some of my friends we're telling me about World of Warcraft I knew it was nerdy and within a hour i was hooked. When i got home to try it the "Graphics Error Message" popped up so i go this.
Great card at a great price if you want to be casual gamer or high end take it it will take anything you throw at it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

WoW... yeah it dosen't work

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: SwopeZ
from ATL
on 05/26/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Video/Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Its Vista Compatible
What's not so great: Its cheap and it shows
I should of listened to the other reviewers. This is not a cord for gaming at all.
I purchased this card for simple fact that when I upgraded to WIN 7 my existing 128mb AGP Radeon card was not compatible. Since I have an older PC with AGP my choices were limited to PCI. The overall performance of this card is worse than the old card running in Windows generic vidoe card mode. As for gaming... well "game over man" It locks up constantly. So if you enjoy WoW you cannot with this card. The frame rates bounced from 19 to 2 with the video settings on low. A very inconsistent card.
I would suggest if you need a PCI video card look elsewhere. I am going to try a GeForce 9400GT version I found for nearly the same price online.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

slow frame rate

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: jwise80
from Vienna Ohio
on 03/26/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Video/Sound Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: it works
What's not so great: slow frame rates
very slow frames
should have just bought a new computer.
easy to install.
not worth the money
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

great graphics card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pcninja1
from somewhere out there
on 03/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: easy installation great with games
What's not so great: yet to find anything
i have a 5 year old computer that barely ran any games. i easily installed it (it took less than 20 minutes). when i rebooted with the drivers i went right for the sky and download the demo for the game crisis. it runs smoothly and the loading time was very short. i have never seen a better deal
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Great Upgrade

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cresiak
from Cincinnati Area
on 02/07/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed, Price, Ease of Installation
What's not so great: Nothing
My PCs motherboard fried on me several weeks ago and I was short on cash. I bought a refurbished 3.0 Dell Pentium 4 single processer PC with 1 gig of ram on ebay for $177.00 to tide me over for awhile. It only supports PCI so my choices were limited. I added this card for my video and I am back playing Left 4 Dead and Fallout 3 at Medium settings. If you need a PCI card, this thing is fantastic for games at a very reasonable price. I couldn't be happier with its performance and will probably put off buying a really powerfull machine for another year now. It saved me a lot of money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Do not purchase for Flight Simulator

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: valvegas
on 02/05/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Video/Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: Frame Rates
I purchased this card to replace a geforce 5200 FX (128 MB). It was specifically to boost performance for Flight Simulator 2004; I was advised by the salesperson that this would be the best option in my price range. I intended to purchase the ATI Radeon 2400 HD. I have the same card in my computer at work (same specs as home computer except for video card) and it runs Flight Simulator X just fine, so it should run FS2004 perfectly. I let the salesperson talk me into this card and the frame rates are now 1/4 of those I got with the 5200FX. I'm very disappointed and will be returning this video card tomorrow. As for video, etc. . , it works just fine. But it is definitely not for gaming.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Great video card

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pam30425
from Garfield, GA
on 11/25/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install
What's not so great: No problems
I installed in this in a Dell Dimension 8300 running Windows XP with no problems. I couldn't remove the original video card so I went into the system setup and disabled the old card so the computer wouldn't keep telling me it had found new hardware. Graphics look good on screen and installation was a breeze!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Best PCI video card ever.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SmackMan
from Wisconsin
on 10/07/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, 512MB PCI card, graphics, Dual monitor, DVI-VGA-Svideo
What's not so great: Nothing really just follow the driver installation instructions carefully.
Being stuck with only a PCI slot on my computer i was always starved of decent performance on a card. Now i can play most games and I can even play crysis on low settings fine. Thats pretty good for a 4 1/2 year old system with only PCI. I had to reinstall the drivers on the card because i jumped the gun and didn't read the instructions carefully lol. Also make sure you turn your onboard graphics to PCI instead in your motherboard bios or you get a black screen. If PCI is your only option don't hesitate buying the awesome card.
BTW it works flawlessly on my 42 inch LCD tv in dual monitor.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PNY Verto NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS 512MB GDDR2 PCI Graphics Card

Good if on a budget

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Grimsniper
from south carolina
on 09/28/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Video/Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Good quality, fits slim line desktops, runs most new games, and easy to install
What's not so great: not as powerful as some of the new cards
This is a perfect graphics card if you cannot afford the newest cards, but want a good picture and quality, it fits slim line desktops, too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.