Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Model: VMUTX2UTKI
SKU: 8976879
UPC: 836182002354
Stay in touch with your family and friends using this mobile phone that features stereo Bluetooth capability, an MP3 player and a 1.3MP camera.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 83 reviews
5 stars
54
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
6
81% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
67 out of 83
)
Customer Reviews for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange
Review 1 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Not bad but not good

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Sedatedbylife
from Grand Rapids, MI
on 10/30/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
OK, I've had Virgin mobile for 5 months now, so far not impressed with any of the phones i've bought. The UT Starcom ARC kept trying to activate the camera because of how the button was positioned and it kept freezing, So i got the LG Flare... it wasn't too bad, it just felt kinda cheap for me so I went to the Samsung Slash. That was the best of them all so far. I had no complaint except the LCD screen was the base line LCD and so it wasn't very sharp and text was huge. That one started getting flakey after 2 months. Then I went to the Mantra... great phone for the most part, same issue with the LCD screen as the Slash but started locking up randomly and sometimes wouldn't let do keypresses then would catch up and finally register ALL keypresses lol.
SO I read through all the reviews I could find on this phone. Some were fantastic, nothing bad at all to say (I don't trust those, no one buys a phone that they're 100% satisfied on or have zero problems with), so I kind of ignored those. I read through the bad and the so so reviews and decided to take a chance... I have had this phone for 12 hours and the touch keys are WAAAAY too sensitive as some have complained about. Sometimes my finger would barely get near it and it would think i was pushing it. but the strange thing is that other times, I would have to push my finger down in the recess to get it to register the keypress.
When web browsing, it slowed way down to the point it locked up. it keeps saying "network down" and I have to keep refreshing it to finally get it to load anything that runs off Java or their browser. For text messaging it did good. I have experienced the sudden restarts when in instant messaging also.
The only gripe I have with text messaging is that when you hit the "1" key to get your symbols, the first one that comes up is the question mark... now most people finish a sentence with a period. but this one you have to cycle through 3 symbols to get the period... for IM, EVERY time you sent a message, you would have to set it to T9 (which I prefer for text. Predictive text rocks for the most part) and that got annoying because the Slash and the Mantra AND the other UT Starcom phone remembered that setting and so there were no issues...
The screen is fantastic, definately the quality screen I like to see. HIgh resolution. All in all, the phone feels solid, the buttons have good feedback, screen is great, music playback is good. I just feel that that largest issue the web browsing and IM lockups and restarts and the touch buttons are too sensitive even on the lowest setting. I have a feeling they're heat sensitive. There were other times I'd have to push my finger into the recess to get it to register i'm pushing the button.
If you don't mind those quirks, then its a great phone. It is not for me though. I am returning it as soon as Best Buy opens today and exploring either the X-TC or the Messenger 2... or possibIy moving away from Virgin Mobile completely and transfering my #. I would have liked to see UT Starcomm just use standard push buttons as opposed to these tap sensitive ones. I'm not sure why the browser and IM had such a problem with locking up and random restarts.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Decent phone, looks great. Trashy touch buttons

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: riech804
from Richmond, VA
on 10/16/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Reception, memory, features
What's not so great: The buttons!
All the features seem to work fine for me on this phone. Good sound quality, camera, IM. It looks great and is easy to use.
ALL of this is overpowered by the stupid touch sensitive buttons on the front. They have gone off in my pocket and in the case. Way too sensitive, they shouldnt work at all while the phone is closed. Whats the purpose of closing the phone, then having a button that if it gets pressed unlocks it, thats what closing it means. I dont want it to unlock until I open the phone. And the buttong that unlocks it sticks out further than the rest of the buttons.
My recommendation is to go with another phone, I will once I find another that fits my needs.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Good from far but far from good

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: SAA
from Philadelphia, PA
on 10/06/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It's cheap, durable, and makes good phone calls
What's not so great: Software is busted, broken and buggy
When I first got this phone, back when it used to cost $100, I thought it was the best phone a person could possibly buy for that price. It plays MP3's, shoots video, has 3G, stereo Bluetooth.
Then the problems started.
The touch keys are EXTREMELY annoying, but over time I learned to deal with them. I've accidentally hung up on callers when I was grabbing the phone because even with the keypad locked, when the phone is ringing the touch keys automatically activate, and all you have to do is accidentally place your finger on one of them and you could instantly hang up (or answer) a call without intending to.
Java applications, specifically the Instant Messaging client, cause the phone to self-restart pretty much constantly. After about 2.5 minutes of having the IM app open, when you exit it or are about to send a message, the phone will self restart. This also happens when using the regular web browser.
When using Opera Mini to surf the web, after looking at a few pages, the phone completely freezes because it runs out of internal memory.
The battery life when doing anything other than making calls is pretty bad. It drops from a full charge to nothing real fast when using the web or listening to music. If all you need to do is make calls, there's no reason to get a music/web phone in the first place. A phone with 3G and a music player needs to have a more powerful battery.
After awhile, my phone started saying "Do you want to launch IM?" randomly when I had no new messages.
The phone completely crashes every now and then, forcing you to remove and reinstall the battery in order to get it working again.
This is the most unreliable device I have ever owned. The company crammed so many things into this phone at the lowest price possible that they completely overlooked the fact that it all doesn't work.
Every bad review the others have posted about this phone is true. Don't ignore bad reviews. This phone freezes and restarts so many times during the course of a day it's freaking ridiculous. If you're willing to put up with poorly engineered trash, then buy this phone, if not, get the Virgin Mobile LG Rumor2, which is the phone I got at the same Best Buy I got this phone at after I threw it at the ground out of frustration.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Absolutely worst phone ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: BEK
from Erie PA
on 10/02/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: horrible reception
Picked this up to replace the Virgin Slice I've had for a while. I can't really say how well this phone works with calls, e-mail, texting etc. because the only place I can consistently get reception if is I am outside. Sometimes (very rarely) it works inside if I am next to a window ... same for my car.
Not much use in having a cell phone that can't be used for lack of reception.
I know the issue is not with the signal strength itself because I never had similar issues with the Slice - I could get a decent signal on that phone even in my basement.
I'm looking forward to returning this waste of material to Best Buy as soon as possible.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Disappointing, but a necessary evil

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: CPF21225
from Baltimore
on 08/27/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Battery seems to last a while, camera's not bad
What's not so great: Hypersensitive shoulder buttons, NO VOICEMAIL ALERTS, nonintuitive texting, backlight, can't shut email alerts off, etc.
I'm very disappointed with this phone. Sadly, my Slice decided to deprogram itself one day, and I couldn't recover anything from it -so I stopped into Best Buy for a new Virgin Mobile phone. Unfortunately, the Slice was no longer available, leaving me to choose between the Shuttle and the x-Tc. I'd read some pretty awful reviews of the x-Tc, so I went with the Shuttle. Now I'm regretting it - my experience with the phone isn't worth the amount I paid for it.
For starters, the hypersensitive shoulder buttons drive me absolutely batty. On multiple occasions, they've caused me to erase my whole text message, when I simply wanted to backspace twice (if you "double-click", it erases everything). Nothing more annoying than having to retype an entire message, especially when I get to the second fault - a broken text entry system. Forget proper capitalization or punctuation, forget simple scrolling through words in T9, forget ever writing an email with the thing - unless you've got 15 minutes to spare. Or you don't mind sending messages like "where r u im on my way".
And whatever you do, don't set up the email client. You can't turn the client off - I've even deleted my email accounts and I still get "Do you want to launch e-mail?" alerts constantly.
Oh yeah - I forgot! This is a heartbreaker and a dealbreaker (too bad I already bought the thing) - I never get voicemail alerts! You know, when someone calls and leaves a message, and a little icon is supposed to light up to let you know? I don't get those, so I don't know when I have a voicemail. That might work for teenagers out after curfew - "I didn't know you called, Mom!" - but it's not so good for someone who uses his phone for business.
If you want good, I guess the camera is OK for a prepaid phone. I haven't tried to use the music functions. And it's pretty durable - it's survived a couple of drops.
I would NOT recommend getting this phone.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Stellar, just STELLAR

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JennySoCal
from SoCal
on 08/22/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Camera, Good Reception, Stylish, Compact, MicroCard, Touch Button
What's not so great: No Flash, Freezes
I will start with the Touch Buttons, they are a great feature on this phone. But some find this a hassle. You can access this by going on Menu>Tools&Settings>Others>Touch Key Settings. From there you can set it from Low-High and you can let it vibrate or turn the vibrations off. Even when its in my pocket and someone is calling me, it doesn't answer or hang up. From Menu>Tools&Settings, you can set the language to Spanish. Under the Tools&Settings, you can set the background and theres 4 defaults. I like two of them so its fine. But you can get more from the VirginXL OR you can take a photo and assign it there. You can also assign photos to your Caller ID and ScreenSaver. You must get a MicroCard SD, and I got a Kingston 4GB card from Frys for 5 bucks. It even included the adapter. You have to format it in the PC, which is easy. Put the card in the adapter than the USB Port, then it will make 3 folders, my pix my music my vids. Drag photos, vids, and music. I believe the max is 800 songs(?) at least for 4 GB, i believe... :D So even if you don't think this phones camera isn't good, you can put other photos in there. But this cameras phone is decent enough. The videos I take is kinda pixely but again, good enough. The photos have much better quality though. And there are different resolutions you can take on this phone ranging from 1280x960 to 160x120 and everything in between. ;) You cannot turn off the shutter sound, but there are 3 of them. The default snap shot, Say Cheese, and Ready 1 2 3. Hilarity shutter sounds :D Theres also a self timer, but I never used it. I DIDN'T like how there is no flash, but it has a reflective mirror. The ringtones they give you are alright and include Virgin Mobile in them, so you can get some at VirginXL for 2.50, i know not a bangin' price. There are 3 themes Neutral, Red, and Black. You can set the contrast, I like to set it at the Highest to save a bit of battery time. For texting, there are 3 ways you can text T9 Abc or 123. You can add new words. T9 is confusing at first, but it teaches you in the manual. For IM, there are Abc 123 and Predict. Predict is kinda confusing thats why I usually just use Abc. I can receive and send photos as well as videos. And it works. They have these Message Reminders but you can turn that off. If you text/email/im a lot, I urge you to get the Unlimited Pack for 20 bucks a month. But when you email you cannot attach images or view attached images. I DIDN'T like how you couldn't lock messages. And i had a few unread messages and I decided to clear the inbox(cause it was full, MAX:99), believing that the unread wouldn't be erased, but oh no they did get erased. ;( If you don't like the Message Tones, you can put it on Vibrate Mode and Msg Tones will just vibrate but the other sounds will play. I think if you use the phone quite often that it lasts for a whole day. Like if you text all day and night, you will need to charge before you go to sleep or whenever. When the slide is closed there is a keyguard and to unlock you would need to either A.) Hold ok, then push ok -or- B.) Slide it open. You can lock your phone by going to Security and psst YOUR security code is the last 4 digits :x and you can change that if you want. There are 8 tools : Calender, Alarm Clock, Tip Calc, Calc, World Clock, Stopwatch, Voice Command, and Memos. They are useful tools, but Voice Command is eh. You can enable bluetooth, but I chose not to. You can store up to 500 contacts and each contact you can put a Home Work Mobile Fax 2 emails to IM screename and sent it to a group. You can assign them a photo, txt tone, and a ringtone. You can download the Mini Opera Web Browser, oh get this for FREE. Technically not free because you have to purchase a data pack for 1.50 or more then spend some to use it too. :P Its not a full HTML browser. I haven't used the data pack, but you can use the Buddy Beacon Google Maps Check Email and so much more. The phone restarts/freezes after I exit out of Yahoo or AIM, but thats only because I kept IM'n haaah. This phone is so easy to use, and okay, i get it, its no 'iPhone' but i have to say its a great phone. I get great reception and its a bajillion steps up to my previous phone, the Marbl. Its a very handsome phone, might i add :D I take such good care of this phone and I have never once dropped it and I've been using it for almost 2 months, so I expect it to last a long time. The total cost after taxes and a 2 year warranty was $75. This phone is DEFINITELY worth your money and a good phone for a teenager like me. :D
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Great !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: brassa
from NH
on 08/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This is a great phone at a good price and has everything i need, great sound quality and service too!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

ITS WORTH THE MONEY

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: ARI7
from NJ
on 07/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: THE PHOTO QUALITY THE SCREEN, AND THE VIDEO QUALITY ARE CLEAR AND BIG I LOVE IT
What's not so great: IT HANGS UP ON YOUR CALLS AND SHUTS OFF THEN ON ALL THE TIME AND IT FREEZES
THE PHOTO QUALITY THE SCREEN, AND THE VIDEO QUALITY ARE CLEAR AND BIG I LOVE IT THE PHOTOS ARE BEAUTIFUL DEF BETTER THAN THE REST OF THE VIRGIN MOBILE PHONES IT HAS A GREAT PHONE LOCK IT LOCKS THE PHONE WHEN YOU CLOSE IT BUT THE VOICE COMMAND ISNT GREAT. YOU HAVE TO MAKE SURE YOUR STILL WHEN YOU TAKE A PHOTO AND PRESS THE OK BUTTON AND WAIT A SECOND IT CAN COME OUT BLURRY IF YOU DONT.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

good price for phone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: unknownslide
on 07/25/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good text and call, sd slot for music
What's not so great: scratches easily
easy to activate, can play music through sd slot..
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

So Far, So Good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BranIsTheName
from Maryland
on 07/25/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Music Player, Camera, Games, Sliding Mechanism, Screen, Touch Buttons
What's not so great: Nothing Really
I got this phone for my 16th birthday this week and I love it. I bought a 2GB card to hold music and videos. The music player is clear and a good quality, the camera I was most surprised with, it takes amazing pictures.. it doesn't even seem that they are pictures from a phone. It comes with losts of free trial games, five I believe. The screen is big, and I like the touch buttons. I also like the stylish sliding mechanism, the only thing I would recommend would be to get a two year warranty just in case for some reason a screw comes lose, or the sliding breaks the phone. The warranty is pretty cheap. Mine only cost about 15 dollars. Overall great phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

I hate this phone with a passion.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ForwardAssist
from Delaware
on 07/16/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It looks cool.
What's not so great: Where do I start?
This phone is the worst VM phone I've ever owned. It's so bad I've thought about switching carriers. There are so many software bugs it will drive you mad. It's literaly made me angry.
The touch sensitive buttons will answer the phone even when the phone is closed and the keypad is locked. I can't even remove the phone from my pocket when it's ringing because the touch keys will hang up. I have the sensitivity at it's lowest setting and the keypad locked.
When you have the keypad set to lock itself, it will continually lock itself after 3 seconds. If you do the key combo to unlock the phone you'll have 3 seconds to do something like turn on the speaker phone before the keypad locks itself again. Doesn't matter what settings you use.
The audio quality is not good at all, it's hard to tell what someone is saying unless you're in an ultra quiet room.
If the keypad is locked and you bump the touch buttons when you get a incoming voice or text message the phone will dial your VM box even when you have the keypad locked. Same with text messages.
If you get an incoming call, text, or vm, the phone will nag you every so many minutes. You can acknowledge the message 100 times and it will just keep coming back every so many minutes.
The phone will lock up. If you leave it on for a few days it will definately lock up and you'll have to remove the battery to shut it down.
Run, do not walk, away from this phone. Don't let the eye candy fool you.
Virgin Mobile has the best carrier rates, but the worst phones by a long mile. It doesn't make any sense what so ever to me. The customers buy their own phones, VM doesn't give them away. Providing decent phones wouldn't cost them a dime, they could even generate new income by doing so.
IMO VM should be flat out ashamed of it's shoddy phones. The last good one I owned was a Kyocera Slider, the original Slider that is, not the Sonic Slider. I"m about fed up with the lack of quality control with their phone's buggy firmware.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

email doesn't work

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: missabby
from Buffalo, NY
on 07/12/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: looks nice, inexpensive, nice features for VM
What's not so great: touch sensitive keys, e mail and IM doesn't work
I purchased and returned this phone twice from my local best buy store. The first time I bought it the Email and IM wasn't working. I kept getting strange communication errors that I never got with my two previous VM phones. I returned it hoping it was just a bad phone. The second phone wasn't any different. I called customers service numerous time (with horrible results) and they kept telling me I had to buy an internet package to get e mail. No thanks. email and im IS... i repeat... IS.. part of the texting package. I ended up returning that shuttle as well and went back to my Arc. I do miss the video aspect and it's a nice looking phone.
After a month of Virgin mobile calling me to update me on my help tickets, even though I told them I no longer have the phone...
they inform me there is a glitch in the email and IM software and they don't see an end to solve the problem.
VM has the best prepaid service... I just can't see spending 60+ dollars a month on a cell bill but their customer service and phone selection is sad. VM usa needs to be more like VM uk and offer non-toy phones.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Best Virgin mobile phone yet.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Danny25
from Sylmar, CA
on 07/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Big screen, 3g, price, keypad, music player, camera
I bought this phone after returing my xtc also from virgin because it always froze. It feels cheap, kind bulky and heavy. This phone has everything, good service, music player, camera, video rec, DOESN"T feel cheap, good size and looks.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: emt40ish
from Panama City Beach, FL
on 07/08/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: So far, everything
What's not so great: Nothing comes to mind
I used VM's Super Slice for almost 3 years and liked the phone alot. It was time to get a new battery so I decided to just get a new phone instead. After doing alot of research, I decided to get this phone. I am so happy I did. This phone puts my trusty Super Slice to shame in spades. The occasional problem with hitting adjacent keys on the SS is NO problem for me on this phone. It's comfortable in my hands and I like the heft it has to it. My calls are loud, crisp and clear and my callers say that's how they hear me. Access to VXL and the web is lightning fast compared to my old SS. I was truly amazed at how MUCH faster it is. It exceeded my expectations. I also purchased a 2gb Sandisk Minidisk and I'm able to create my own personalized graphics for wallpaper which is another feature I like that I can use. The mp3 player works well and sounds like the old transistor radios I grew up listening to....which really isnt a negative because I didn't expect more than that out of a CELLPHONE.
All in all, I am highly pleased with my purchase and would recommend this phone in a heartbeat.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Great phone!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SarahT1976
from Mesa, AZ.
on 06/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Has all the features one would want in a phone.
What's not so great: A little glitchy but to be expected.
The greatest part of getting my new phone was the Best Buy store I purchased it at. They matched the web price of $64.00 that Virgin Mobile was offering. I haven't had any problems thus far but I do realize that technology is not 100% and there is to be expected things like glitches etc. Overall I LOVE my phone!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

not the best

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Michigan
on 06/28/2009
What's great about it: color, features
What's not so great: the slide
I purchased the Shuttle in place of the Wildcard. And the Shuttle was good for about the first month i had it, then i was in the middle of setting a picture as my wallpaper when the phone turned off all by itself, i tried turning it back on, and it showed the 'Virgin Mobile' screen, and then shut off, and repeatdeldly did the same thing. I took the phone back to Best buy, where i purchased it, and had a warranty on it. I recieved another phone, and the same thing happened a the next day. This phone is not the one to buy
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

this rocks 100 percent :)

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: tobnate
from euless,tx
on 06/04/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: well don't really know yet
This phone has all the expectations and qualities you would want in a phone and if you chose phone you would make the right choice for now I am giving this phone a rating for a # 1.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

BEST VIRGIN MOBILE PHONE SO FAR!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: LedouxB
from Ocala, fl
on 05/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Can customize ringtones for calls and texting, MP3 player
What's not so great: Can't use MP3 songs for ringtones
I've had MANY VM phones. I recently got the woldcard for a gift. I wanted that phone, but once i got it, it was cheap, and the only good thing about it was being able to text on a full qwerty board. I recently purchased the shuttle. Its the best VM phone ive had so far.
I love being able to set ringtones for text messages and calls. I love having the MP3 player. I Love the Microsd card you can use in this phone. Its not cheap like most of the other phones from VM. It looks good, it handles good, it sounds good. The pictures come out great...even though theres no flash, you can record videos for 30secs. this is all around the best quality phone I've ever had from VM. I would recommend this to anyone who doesnt want a contract phone or who cant get a contract phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

Good first cell phone

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: viditech
from Denver, CO
on 05/17/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: not complex, features, battery life
What's not so great: not many accessories, music player
I bought this phone for myself and was good to begin with then decided to give it to my daughter as her first phone and she loves it. It is attractive and sturdy for a slider phone. The battery runs for a long time compared to a lot of other phones I've had. The camera works easy enough for anyone to use.
The two bad things about this phone were: 1) lack of accessories available out there made for this phone...hard to find even a usb cable for this. 2) the music player could have been designed better, all the songs show up as single titles and to group them you have to create playlists.
Other than those two bad points its a great phone for the first or second timer and Virgin is getting better out there.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Virgin Mobile Shuttle No-Contract Mobile Phone - Black/Fire Orange

a toy for kids

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 2wheels
from OC, CA
on 05/10/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Battery Life
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: gadgets
What's not so great: gadgets are pointless if the basic phone is poorly designed
It has a lot of features beyond being able to make phone calls, but considering it is a phone, being able talk to other people should be the most important thing. Unfortunately, voice quality is okay for a cell phone, but definitely not a replacement for a home phone; it is functional, but cheap sounding.
Signal strength is usually low; I even found a spot in an intn’l airport that it got NO signal.
The slide design is a definite step down from flip phones because the main screen is always exposed, hence likely to get scratched from just throwing it in a bag for transport. Also, the slide design means you can not see if you have any messages or even see what the time is unless you open it.
Everytime it is powered up it makes an extremely loud VM sound that I haven’t yet found a way to turn off. In addition to being very annoying, it drains the battery which does not last very long as it is.
I would not buy this phone again and would have returned it but saw no good alternates.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>