Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Cyborg - Keyboard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Cyborg - Keyboard

Model:
SKU: 8987563
UPC:
Witness the true power of Cyborg and take your gaming to the next level with the Cyborg Keyboard range. When performance is key, customization is vital, and losing is not an option, only Cyborg brings the power you crave.
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
71% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
12 out of 17
)
Customer Reviews for Cyborg - Keyboard
Review 1 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Great Keyboard

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Tweak1124
from Chicago
on 09/05/2012
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: Lighting, Specialized keys, Macro Keys, Touch Control, Extra USB/Mic/Headphone Ports
What's not so great: Touch Control at times, Needs more light choices
great keyboard. suprisingly found the best price at bestbuy (i usually shop at tigerdirect or xoxide). the touch contol for the volume i would rather have a knob or something a bit more quick/responsive. i wouldve preferred a lighting choice with more colors such as blue, purple, ect. another USB port woulve been great since my last keyboard had 2. great feel to the keys, nice bright illumination. 12 macro keys for gaming, all programmable. woudlve been a plus if all the keys were metal capped instead of only the gaming keys. overall, really reccomended, goes great with my RAT7
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Other Best Buy Products I Recommend
Mad Catz - Cyborg R.A.T. 7 Gaming Mouse - Black
4.0 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Best keyboard I have ever owned

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Batman1954
from Oklahoma
on 08/24/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: No blue lights...only red, green and amber. No big deal.
Perfect keyboard for regular typing and gaming. I love the big keys with the extra protective coating on them for longer life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Big Bad Keyboard

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Microman1977
from Laredo, TX
on 02/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Plenty of extra keys, multiple colored lights, USB plug
What's not so great: No blue light but that's just me
I got this keyboard unsure of how well it would perform because of all the features thrown in there. In my experience, when companies cram too many features in a product, it doesn't work well or breaks down easily. That is not the case here. It's solid. It offers keys on the sides to help with certain games. You can change the color and brightness of the light for the keys. Plus, it has a "Cyborg" setting that deactivates the Window key and lets you customize the lighting for popular keys used in games. Oh, and it allows you to connect speakers/headphones, a mic, and a USB device to it. Rawks! DO IT!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Pretty great keyboard

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Nelorzoul
from NY
on 08/11/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Metal capped keys (WASD, spacebar, arrow keys), Many different colors, 12 macro buttons
What's not so great: Doesn't have blue or purple colors, keys are scratched (a little over a year after buying), confusing macro setup
I've had this keyboard for about a year and a half to two years. Right now its suffering from severe wire damage (due to my own carelessness). Nonetheless I still love this keyboard and when I go to purchase my new keyboard it will be another Cyborg. I never used the macro buttons due to its complicated setup, but when you get to understand how it works I'm sure its very easy. About a year after purchasing it the keys (including metal capped keys) started to scratch off, but nothing too major considering how often I spend gaming. I recently purchased a Saitek Eclipse II, but that keyboard can NOT stand up to this one. Especially considering how my Eclipse II was defective; windows stopped recognizing it as a keyboard and I had to revert to my Cyborg - which although damaged, is still by far superior. Worth the 80 bucks for sure, it will definitely last year for a few years. Great purchase.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Great Gamming keyboard

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Billings, MT
on 07/31/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use as regualr keyboard and the programable keys (after a lil work) are easy to use
What's not so great: I still use my own wrist gel rest cuz the one that comes with is not the most confortable.
This is a great keyboard for us night gamers and workers. I play online at night and brought it to work as a joke one night and have had 5 people ask were I got it so my local best buy might want to restock hehe. After you read the guide for the programable keys your still cunfused but if you just test them out for like 5min on your own they are realy easy. Also although I love the mulitple colors for backlight I still wish they had blue and purple as well ( the only 2 colors I find to be not availible)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cyborg - Keyboard

awsome

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: canadian2x3
from Malone NY
on 06/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything
What's not so great: nothing
I have had this product for almost a year now. the keys although difficult to program at first do work great once you get the just of the thing. i do agree that it sucks you cant launch programs or urls but the thing never claimed you could. this is my first gaming keyboard and i never thought i would spend this much but i love it. the lights are nice and bright. the keys are responsive and its very adjustable to height and your comfort. if you are just buying it for the cyborg keys you better be patient but they do work great. I have a bunch of profile for different games .
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Very hard to Program

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: rot37
on 05/07/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: the back lights
What's not so great: hard to program the "c" key's, manual not helpfull and hard to understand
As a causal to hard gamer i bought this keyboard after my other one wore out. install on this keyboard is very easy, the only problem is the programing of the "c" keys. i unsuccessfully tried for a little over 1 week to get the programed, (for use with WOW), i check the wow boards and i check the saitek boards and tried Google. was not able to find a way to program the key's. the back lighting on this board is awesome. just wish it was easier to program.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Nice effect

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jirkroz
from loiusiana
on 05/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Backlighting, smooth key action, touch sensors
What's not so great: Programming the combi-keys.
Having have had this keyboard for a while now, I can honestly say that it's among the best I've used in a while now. The backlighting is sweet and customizable (in cyborg mode), the key action is really smooth, soft, and quiet to boot. The main gaming keys are metal, which is good for FPS guys that jam the keys quite often, and very little to no lag whatsoever between you and the screen. However, the programming software is quite difficult to figure out, and certainly doesn't hold your hand at all. However, the sheer power of the programming system rivals most I've seen, allowing for timing of keystrokes, which is perfect for games like World of Warcraft. Don't let the difficulty of the software daunt you, this is a fantastic keyboard, even for those that just type in the dark.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Major Disappointment

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Fritz32
on 04/19/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Tri-color backlighting. Nice design.
What's not so great: Included software does not work as promised
I bought this keyboard based on its 12 programmable "Cyborg Keys". The software that programs the programmable keys is very basic and doesn't come with any instructions. It also doesn't let you program them to launch programs or URLs, only key strokes. To make matters worse at one point the keys crashed my system. I would stay away from this product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Saitek Cyborg was disappointing

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: Othello59
from MN
on 03/08/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Impressive backlighting
What's not so great: Programmiing of gaming keys was difficult
I tried unsuccessfully for two weeks to program Cyborg gaming keys with multiple keystroke sequences for a game. I exchanged Cyborg for a MicroSoft SideWinder. I was able to get SideWinder to do all of the things I could not do with Cyborg within 5 minutes.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Mash the keys...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Skifferrr
from Ripon, CA
on 01/16/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: This keyboard looks amazing, great lighting, optional light colors, versitile.
What's not so great: The custimizable keys need to be entered through a program (Unlike origional G15). Keys need to be pushed down a lot.
Just bought this keyboard about an hour ago. Taking it back seeing as the keys arent very sensitive. Maybe I got a defective keyboard. Taking it back to get something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cyborg - Keyboard

l337 Gaming Keyboard

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MCas08
from Winter Park, Fl
on 01/08/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Programmable backlights, easy macro access(lots), easy media control
What's not so great: nothing
This keyboard is awesome! I did a fair amount of keyboard hunting and finally decided on this one. It was incredibly easy to set up, and after only 5 minutes of reading I had it working flawlessly with everything.
The capability to have certain areas of the keyboard lit up with different colors is very cool and makes locating certain hotkeys very easy.
My mic and headphones work flawlessly through the provided USB port on back of keyboard.
I am very happy with this product and would recommend this item to anyone in search of a highquality keyboard; especially gamers.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cyborg - Keyboard

NOT JUST FOR GAMERS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Rufus1204
from Mobile, AL
on 12/28/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Got it at a bargain price on sale before word got out. LIVES UP TO EXPECTATIONS!
What's not so great: Not compatable with Linux
My search for a new keyboard began with looking for an illuminated board. I am not a gamer, but do work as a Home Based teleworker spending many hours on the keyboard. When I came across the Saitek Cyborg I did some research and found mostly good reviews. I decided to take a shot that it would live up to the hype and after 3 weeks of use can give it a double thumbs-UP. It is a substantial unit, the keys are well labeled, the key action is great and the lighting is nothing short of user friendly and enjoyable. KUDOS to Saitek!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Outstanding Keyboard

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kromaethius
from Deadwood, SD
on 12/06/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy installation and configuration in Vista
What's not so great: Keys could "feel" more solid or firm in action.
I needed a fully functioning large keyboard that would have more than enough backlighting for me to write long chapters of my novels in the darkest of days or nights in my den. I am not a gamer, but I love the fully functioning and programmable keys on each side of the keyboard. I would like to see or feel slightly firmer key action though. It gives the feel that it is slightly flimsy, though it's certainly not.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cyborg - Keyboard

best keyboard ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Ant0ny213
from Antioch, CA
on 11/12/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: programmable LED lights, quick response
What's not so great: macro keys feel like they can fall off
ive had this keyboard for about a week now and it is, by far, the best keyboard i ever had because i recently owned a G15 and wasnt very happy about it only thing i liked about it was the LCD screen the cyborg had a quicker response than the G15
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Best keyboard ever!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sinisterj12
from Wichita, Ks
on 11/02/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The lighting and comfortablity of the keys
What's not so great: programing the special keys
This is by far the best keyboard i've ever had. Its so awesome and easy to use and worth the money. Only bad thing bout it was programming the keys.. but i've never done it before anywayz so its probably no harder than it is with any other keyboard.. its just my lack of knowlege on this issue. If your going to get a keyboard and thinking bout getting a different one DONT because the money you spend on this is way worth it. U can program diff parts of the keyboard with diff colors of lights and change brightness and adjust your volume and play your movies and everything from the keyboard. Its so AWESOME i dont see anyone writing a bad review for this keyboard.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cyborg - Keyboard

Another Keyboard?

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CastorTroy0007
from Westerville, OH
on 10/22/2008
This keyboard has actually been out for some time in different models. This is just the first one that Best Buy is getting. The keyboard is a moc of the popular G15 gaming keyboard. It allows for macros that are able to be used in game and out of games for applications. This is a great feature. They made the macro buttons tabs on both sides of the keyboard. This allows for quick access for ingame needs. The lighting up of the keys is nice. However, if you are a true gamer you really are not staring at your keyboard. So for the new gamers or if you are typing in the dark and need to remember where to put your fingers for the FPS or MMORPG that you are playing this is perfect. It expounds on the sections you need for those types of games. It is made of plastic. This meens that it gets to be the temperature of your body and if you play alot it has the potential of taking the paint off because of the hand sweat. Most people do not experience this though it is an option. The keys are easilly pressable and have a lot less resistance than a standard PC keyboard. This allows for faster movements and quicker response time on typing and ingame moments. These moments could be the seconds that you need in order to get away and pwn that guy that you can never seem to kill because he's "better" than you. All over this keyboard is a good buy and has a comfortable feel that rivals the G15.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.