Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Model: Minikit Slim
SKU: 8988937
UPC:
Keep in touch with all of your friends and family with this portable Bluetooth speaker for most Bluetooth-enabled cell phones.
Average Customer Rating:
3.214 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
64% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
9 out of 14
)
Customer Reviews for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black
Review 1 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Horrible Sound Quality

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Brentag04
from Madison, WI
on 03/01/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up
What's not so great: Horrible sound
Purchased this unit from Best Buy for $99. Brought it home and upacked it. I easily connected it with my Blackberry Bold and all contacts uploaded easily. The look and feel of the unit was great and had a nice loud speaker. Thats where the good ends. I went to install it in my 2009 Altima and the visor clip snapped off. The clip is designed for very thin visors. My visor is thicker and the clip snapped out of the back. I was able to reassemble and get it half way mounted. I made a call and the person on the other end said there was lots of feedback and echo. Will be returning it today.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Very good product at reasonable price.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: BuffaloBob1475
from Bourbonnais, IL
on 01/17/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Compact size, battery life, voice quality, voice dialing
What's not so great: Cannot tell if the device is on by just looking at it.
Set up was easy except I could not update the software. However, it works fine without the update. Voice quality is very good and ability to voice dial from your cell phone's phonebook works remarkably well. To save power, no LED is lit when the device is on. To check, just push the big round button. If it is off, there will be no response. Battery life is very good, if you shut it off when you leave your vehicle. That is actually a good idea as the bluetooth range is so great that the speakerphone might answer your calls when you are inside your home! If you need to send digits after connecting (to control voicemail, for example) just rotate the dial until the appropriate digit sounds and then press the big button. When you get in the car, just turn the unit on and it automatically links to your bluetooth phone and syncs up the phonebook.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Update Your Firmware

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jasper53
from Austin, TX
on 06/30/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Call Quality With Apple iPhone 3G
What's not so great: No Power On Indicator
For those of you that purchased this product more that six months ago be sure to go and update the firmware (it is easy to do... look at the Parrot website). My unit had an older version of the firmware -- and it had a few issues. I upgraded the firmware and the call and connection quality went way up. I now really like the product. The only downside that I see is that it is difficult to tell if it is on or off. I think it sounds better than the Bluetooth in my wife's Lexus and costs a lot less than the option)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Don't waste your money

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: MLAFREN
from Atlanta, GA
on 05/02/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Usefulness
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Compatibility
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: It was an easy set up and looks nice.
What's not so great: Pretty much everything else.
-Sound quality to me is good, but everyone I talk to immediately knows they are on speaker and all can hear themselves and 90% of the time ask me to take them off the speaker because it is so annoying. This pretty much renders is useless.
-The charging cord is not long enough to reach to the visor, which is annoying. I have other mini-usb chargers I have tried to use interchangeably...but never get a good charge.
-It is a little confusing to use. Also, when I am on phone in range and not using it, the call waiting still rings through to it...even when you supress the call on your phone it still rings and rings and rings and rings on the speaker set which stinks.
-I have a hard time telling when it is on or off and what the battery life looks like. Seems a little more money spent on getting something with a digital face would be helpful to show you volume level, batt life, and if the unit is on or off.
-Pretty much a complete dissapointment, and I will now try investing in a different one or a better headset. So, this was a waste of $100.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

works great with iPhone 3GS, perfect sound !

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from South Kingstown, RI, USA
on 04/25/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Sound, features, battery, filter noice very well, software update easy on Mac
What's not so great: nothing !
I put it in my truck which is quite loud
People can hear me very well not even noticing I was in my truck
The volume is loud enough
Very easy to use
Easy to update software even on my macbook air using blutooth
Excellent product.
Parrot always bring excellet products with regular software updates.
And far better than the Supertooth 3 that I have also. The supertooth 3 is not good at all compared to the Parrot Minikit Slim
Definitely convinced !
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Great Alternative Handsfree Device

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jenadolph
from Central NJ
on 04/21/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use and very clear sound
What's not so great: no battery indicator
Absolutely love this device. I have purchased 2 of these as gifts for my husband and mother. It's very easy to set up, it recognizes the user's phone every time and has very clear sound. I've used it a few times myself and I think it works better than the one in my Acura! If I start dialing on my phone the Parrot automatically picks up the call which I think is great. The computer in my Acura does not do this and half the time I have to repeat myself to get it to recognize the number I want to dial. The Parrot understands who is in my address book on my blackberry and will ask which number I want to call... without even setting up voice commands, you say call whoever and it looks for all appropriate contacts. The only negative about this unit (per my mother) is that there is no batter indicator to let you know when it needs to be charged. The great thing about this unit is you can even use it for teleconference calls if you want it's a portable speaker for your phone you don't need to be in the car to use. We all love it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

not bad

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: pilot32
from amman-jordan
on 04/09/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's not so great: it stop working suddenly after 2 weeks
1st the price for it is expensive ...and after i bought it in 2 weeks...suddenly stop working with both lights on ...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

A Must Buy!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Plonka
from Myrtle Beach, SC
on 03/17/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Usefulness
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Compatibility
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: No wires, no hassle, look Ma , no hands!
What's not so great: Needs a light to show it's on.
I've had the Minikit Slim for a couple of weeks now and couldn't be happier. You don't need to be tech savy to operate it or set it up. There are no messy wires hanging anywhere and it clips securely to your visor with ease. The volume from the built in speaker can vary from time to time, i'm not sure if this is due to certain areas you're driving in , but you can easily adjust the volume manualy if you choose to. Once the Slimkit copies your phonebook info it may pronounce peoples names rather oddly, but you'll get used to it. My only gripe is that it needs a small power indicator to tell you that it's on. Other than that it's perfect and well worth the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Not so good!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Milo1015
from Springfield, PA
on 03/09/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: initial paring was very easy, nice look and feel
What's not so great: too much static noise, clip not sturdy, etc.
Bought this on 3/5 and am going to return after 4 days. Calls keep getting dropped. Won't pick up phone after I left the car unless I repaired it. If you put the visor down, it slowly slips off depending on the road (bumps, pot holes, etc.).
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Disappointed

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Shelar
from Salem, OR
on 03/06/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Quality
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Usefulness
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Compatibility
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: not much overall
What's not so great: Problems after only 3 weeks
I've had this product for only 3 weeks and already have problems. All of a sudden, it doesn't connect with my phone automatically, it doesn't turn itself off, it doesn't recognize some contacts in my phone book... and I am increasingly getting complaints from friends on the other end of the line that they are not hearing all my conversation. I have always heard it sounded like I was in a windstorm, but now it is cutting out too. I have tried everything to fix it, but think I will be taking it back.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Not compatable with Palm Pre

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: BB120
from New Orleans, LA
on 02/04/2010
Tried two of these because I thought the first one was broken. Although it is on the compatibility list on the Palm Pre website, it was not compatible with my Pre. It paired up just fine, but when the phone was more than 5 inches from the unit it would loose connectivity.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Great Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DKS
from LI NY
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Length/Talk Time
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Simple, easy to use.
What's not so great: N/A
Does what it says. Clear speach. Simple to use. Good standby battery life.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Good Bluetooth speakerphone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: adb401
from Chandler,az
on 06/07/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Length/Talk Time
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use,set up
What's not so great: User guide not complete
I bought the Parrot a week ago. Very easy set up with my two phones. After reading the user guide that came with the speakerphone, it did not list a few of the functions - Discreet mode,, who would you like to call, I went to the parrot web site (parrot.com) to find a more descriptive user guide with the missing commands.
Also it is very difficult to see if the Parrot Minikit Slim is on/off or in standby.
So far I am pleased with the Parrot Minikit Slim.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Parrot Minikit Slim Portable Bluetooth Speaker for Most Bluetooth-Enabled Cell Phones - Black

Sleek, stylish and very easy to use

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: GadgetNinja
from Waveland, MS
on 04/26/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Length/Talk Time
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very clear sound, easy to use buttons, voice commands, syncing of contacts
What's not so great: cheaply made wire harness, hard to tell if it's on or off
Despite the minor cons, the Parrot Minikit Slim is a great product and I was amazed by the clarity and technology built in. The price is just about right and it is way better than having a bluetooth earpiece stuck in my ear. This product is best for those not-so-conscious drivers who insist on having their cell phone stuck to their ear while driving :-( (Help us out and drive "safely," heh?)
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.