Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

Model: RF-GPS3009
SKU: 8989295
UPC: 600603120701
Grab the wheel with both hands and steer yourself straight into the action with this wireless racing wheel for PlayStation 3. Savor the visceral excitement as you become a part of the game, barreling your way down the track with the steering wheel in hand. This professional-style wheel simulates the racecar environment for an unforgettable gaming experience. The wheel's 270-degree steering angle and realistic brake and accelerator pedals give you total control as you take the driver's seat and power your car toward the finish line. An authentically styled gearshift and F1-style racing paddles make it feel as though you are truly a professional racecar driver. The wheel's 2.4GHz wireless technology gives you freedom to place it in a position that most enhances the sense of being behind the wheel.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
58% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 12
)
Customer Reviews for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3
Review 1 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

Like it

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: scissor
from Tualatin, or
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Comfort
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: the leather on the wheel and the pedles are just right length for driveing
What's not so great: all the buttens on the left side of the wheel sence they do nothing
I found the racing wheel to be fun. I played it with the Nascar demo and need for speed shift. it made the game more fun because i felt like i was at the wheel unlike when I was just doing the PS3 remote
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

Good, But Needs Improvement

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Ldbryant55
from Charlotte, NC
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great feel, comfortable, and very realistic
What's not so great: Inability to program all PS3 control functions
I'm not bashing this wheel. I have had it for a few weeks and I use it every couple of days or so. My one caution to people considering it, is that you can map the wheel controls only to the PS3 X, triangle, square, circle, L1, L2, R1, R2, L3 and the directional pad buttons. This leaves out a very important control: the right thumb stick! Problem here is that this right thumb stick is the default accelerator/brake in some popular racing games, some of which do not allow the controls to be reprogrammed. I was excited to use the wheel with Midnight Club, but sadly, you can't because it uses the right thumb stick for gas/brake and you can't change that in this particular game. Just beware, if you're buying games to go with the wheel, you might want to rent the game first and confirm that it is compatible. I bought Gran Turismo 5 (because my other racing game didn't work with the wheel), and it works fine, so did Motorstorm. Still bummed about Midnight Club though...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

I DO NOT CONDONE THIS

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: zeropmn
from oklahoma city OK
on 08/12/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: GOOD DESIGN
What's not so great: OMFG!!! WTF!!!
i rated the specs 5 stars cause it rates for price durability comfort and design the only problem is the wheel after reading numerous forums and manuals and even speaking to a rocketfish tech at their support center the wheel did not work i bought this wheel to use for burnout paradise for my ps3 and i programmed every thing correctly and when i sat down to drive and crash away i hit the gas turned and drove in a straight line into a wall so i reprogrammed everything and the whell didnt turn the car on the screen i donot recommend this to my friends however it works for pc games and i do recommend it for those games i am returning mine and am getting an intecooler geltabz and a remote/chargestation. PSN zeropmn XBOX TurnupMallard
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

best wheel ever for 70 bucks

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jrod11
from las vegas
on 07/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: smooth grip and turns easily
What's not so great: nothing
when i read all the bad comments i thought aw man but when i bought it used i was like wow what a great product. i used it for f1 and its great. and it has suction cups so it sticks hard to any flat surface. its super easy to set up and the wireless is perfect because we don't trip anymore on wires. we went this morning and bought 2 and hooked them up. its great i loved it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

Good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: John8675
from Winter Haven, FL
on 07/21/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price and easy to set up.
What's not so great: Steering sensativity adjustment seems to have little effect.
Just got this and was not sure if I would have to call my bro-inlaw to come set it up, but it was easy and the instructions where good. I drove much better on Nascar then when I tried with the remote. All in all it was a great buy. Yes I could of paid twice as much for great one but for the money hard to go wrong.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

Best Racing Wheel Ever!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Paulie72
from San Rafael, CA
on 05/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Price and the Realistic Feeling of it!!!
What's not so great: It's All Good!!!
It's funny how some people dont seem to know how to operate a basic steering wheel. I bought it for NASCAR 2009 and love it!!! At first it seems like it isnt working correctly but an actual SPRINT or NATIONWIDE or TRUCK SERIES VEHICLE isn't easy to drive because of all the horsepower they have. A good example is a re-start after a CAUTION has occured. Only the best dont spin out when they get on it!!! So everyone who is crying about how hard it is to use go and spend the extra $75.00 and get your Logi-Tech Racing Wheel. I am sure BEST BUY will love to take your cash!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

Worst Accessory Ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: J0hnC14rk
from Buffalo, NY
on 05/03/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Comfort
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Best Buy returned it for me!
What's not so great: Using it.
This Rocketfish steering wheel is.....really really bad. I gave each category a rating of "1" simply by default; there should be lower ratings. I used the wheel in the Ferrari Challenge game and it brought my average lap time on the game's 'tutorial mode' up about one minute (from 1:20 to 2:15).
There is really no way to stay on a racetrack while using this wheel. A combination of lag via the wireless connection and the button/wheel sensitivity being set at what can only be described as 'all-or-nothing', make driving impossibly frustrating (and it made me look like an idiot in front of my girlfriend).
I'm shelling out some extra dough to check out one of the better wheels (perhaps Logitech). As always, Best Buy returned the wheel without any problems and the employees were helpful in selecting a new product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

I didn't like it

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: theTech9
from fwb
on 03/29/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Comfort
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: the price and feel
What's not so great: the gas pedal didn't work straight out of the box, functionality
the gas pedal didnt work straight out of the box. it takes a full crank of the wheel which is long, to make a successful turn. personally I didnt enjoy it like i thought i would. it doesn't improve the sharpness of a turn that a car can make. I rather spend my 80 dollars on something else.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

Realistic

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Joe3000
from Tacoma
on 02/05/2009
What's great about it: Good Feel
What's not so great: Sleep Mode too quick
This is one of the better wheels I have played with. It is very durable and realistic feeling and has good controls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

awesome wheel

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Cooper0
from n/a
on 01/28/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Design
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Comfort
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Feels like a real wheel
What's not so great: the pedals
I recently bought this racing wheel and despite other reviewers comments, I really like it. It feels like a racing wheel and has a great grip. Its durable, turns are easily made, its fun to have the pedals and the shifter along with the wheel. I have used other wheels and this one feels like those used for Rush...the arcade game. Too bad they don't have wheels like this for Mario Kart.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

agervating

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JoSH22
from somewhere, connecticut
on 01/08/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Comfort
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: looks cool
What's not so great: its not
i bought this steering wheel 2 days ago. its price is high so i thought it would be worth it. it was not. on the second time i used it, it shut off randomly in the middle of a race. i checked to see if the batteries werent loose and they werent so i unplugged it from the console and turned the steering wheel off then turned it back on. it started to work again but in the middle of my next race it shut off and i tried to unplug it and all that again but this time it wouldnt turn back on so now i returned it to bestbuy for my money back. never buy this product
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rocketfish™ Pro Wireless Racing Wheel for PlayStation 3

so so steering wheel

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: VQ35max6MT
from central new jersey
on 12/27/2008
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Design
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Comfort
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: lower price
What's not so great: cheaply made, too light moves a lot, steering sensitivity only somewhat adjustable
i bought this steering wheel because i didnt feel like spending 150 on the logitech..well i think the logitech is worth it. i want to buy it this one feels too cheap...not very realistic. the steering and gas pedals are almost like analog..turn the wheel half way and its almost all the way turned on the games, set the sensitivyt to th minimum and still the same result. it is only adjustable in 3 preset levels. pedals are very light and no footrest for your left foot to hold them down. they tend to move around when switching from gas to brake. buttons on the wheel are hard to push sometimes..u have to press hard for it to work. not so satisfied. will be returning to best buy for the logitech.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.