Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avital Remote Start System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Avital Remote Start System

Model: 4113L
SKU: 9008682
UPC: 093207060731
Start your car at the touch of a button and allow it to cool down or heat up before you go outside with this remote start system.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
83% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
10 out of 12
)
Customer Reviews for Avital Remote Start System
Review 1 for Avital Remote Start System

best starter ever made

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: theholydiver
from cincinnati ohio
on 02/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: cheap remote start with unlocking feature
What's not so great: no locking function for 200$ getting a lil steep
this unit works great the unit will even run rear defrost and unlock your doors it will not lock them hince the one button remote but great for the price watch out for the cars that need bypass's though that can get real expensive real fast.......
***** there was a recall on the antenna on this unit get it repaired otherwise your car may sit outside and start byitself all night.......**********
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Avital Remote Start System

i love it

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: daveswife
from pa
on 02/10/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: lots of cool tricks.
What's not so great: range is the only thing
i LOVE the vallet override. my dog stays warm while i run into the store with the keys. Its nice to come out to defrosted windows and a warm engine, and never get into a sweltering car in the summer. also i never have to worry about having left my stereo blasting and waking the neighbors, or having left the wipers on to break in the cold. none of that turns on till the key is inserted. i also like that on the sub zero weekend if i am not going anywhere, i can start it and forget it to keep the battery going trusting it will shut off after the programmed time. i enjoy owning this product.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Avital Remote Start System

SImple, Easy To Use Remote Start

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JCW05
from Charleston, SC
on 01/24/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy operation...one button!
What's not so great: Install should be done with experience...!
I bought this item for my 2001 Crown Victoria Police Interceptor and it works like a charm. I typically install emergency lights, etc so I have a pretty good knowledge of vehicle aftermarket electronics so I decided to do the install myself instead of BesyBuy...mainly due to the shop there being booked for the next two weeks. It was not all that hard to put in....but be prepared!! Have an accurate and up to date wiring breakdown of your vehicles ignition and light control wiring. Once you have that its easy to just splice the remote wires in.
It was somewhat time consuming...took me about 3 hours total so don't plan to rush through it. My car does not have SecuriLock or a coded key theft system so I did not need a bypass but almost all other newer model cars will. Be sure you buy this before you leave the store. The remote install instructions are fairly technical and if you do not have a background in electronics I recommend you let the pros put it in for you or you have the potential to really mess up your vehicle. The pit stop feature is nice if you want to take the key out but leave the car running for a quick hop inside.
I did not use the unlock or horn and light feature on my install but these are some great features that are built in. Overall...it works perfect so far,. Just what I wanted. A small remote that starts and stops the car with just a single button push! I would highly recommend this system if you are looking for a less expensive but reliable remote starter!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Avital Remote Start System

aVITAL 4113 Remote Start

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MarkD1234
from North Canton, OH
on 01/14/2009
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything...its remote start and small
What's not so great: N/A
2000 Land Rover Range Rover 4.6 HSE
negative ignition system, Key not needed to be sacrificed for this vehicle.
I purchased this because I wanted a remote start period...nothing more...My car has everything else I needed.
If your looking to add a WICKED SMALL key fob that controls remote start with a single elegant one button remote then this is the kit for you. personally I can find this for less than $100 however with the purchase at Best Buy you get free installation.
This is a DEI product (www.directed.com) and therefore you should trust the product that Best Buy is selling.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Avital Remote Start System

I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: KassBrand
from Asheville, NC
on 01/06/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: EVERYTHING!
This product sucks! My car just starts randomly whenver it wants to. I do not recomment this to anyone!!!!!!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Avital Remote Start System

Great deal on a good product

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: crumb3
on 01/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, good price
What's not so great: Range
I bought this for my girlfriend and she loves it! Her car is less than 10 years old so I was worried there might be a lot of extra required parts, but there were only two, and they weren't very expensive. They installed it with no problems and it works great so far! The only drawback is the range. We haven't been able to get it to work much past 100 feet, which is lame. We're still learning how long to hold the button down, so maybe it's our fault. But I'm pretty sure the range is just low. Other than that, no complaints! A seriously great buy for the money.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Avital Remote Start System

Great for the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mominme
from Maine
on 01/01/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: price included installation
What's not so great: nothing yet
Was just looking for a basic starter, for the money this is great so far. Got it on sale for 169.00, that price includes the installation. The other large chain was double the price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Avital Remote Start System

Works Great!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joe13h
from PA
on 12/10/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
This product is great if you have a certified tech install it for you. Most people try to do it themselves and most people fail even if you get it installed by a tech and something goes wrong with it they are reliable to fix it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Avital Remote Start System

Cheap, but with problems

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 2Ray4
on 12/08/2008
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Cheap, good just remote start system
What's not so great: Doesnt work correctly
I installed this product in my Gm truck. I have had nothing but problems and have been back to Bestbuy 3 times already. Sometimes it works well, but most of the time it sets the vehicle security off and then it will not even start with the key for a period of time. Was told this was a good product, usually Bestbuy doesnt let me down. This time they did big Time. Buy a better product.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Avital Remote Start System

Great Investment

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ohtobeme23
from Washington, DC
on 12/01/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing!
I almost didn't purchase this system because of ApeKay's review, but i went back to the store and asked to see the manual for this system. After Ape Kay said that the doors couldn't be unlocked remotely once the starter had been activated, I wasn't sure I wanted to deal with it because it's hard enough to load my little one into the car without fumbling with keys. Anyway, I read through the manual and it clearly gave instructions about pressing the button 1 second to start the system, then another 1-second push would unlock the doors and another 3-second push would turn the car back off. I had the system installed and it's been wonderful ever since. I definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a quick solution to the problem of having a cold car in the winter!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Avital Remote Start System

Basic Starter- Just ok...

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: ApeKay
from Hermantown, MN
on 11/05/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It starts my car...
What's not so great: It doesn't allow me to use the separate keyless entry and doesn't start automatically when it gets too cold!
The unit lacks features that i would expect from a basic car starter. I think that my keyless entry should work despite having a separate remote starter (Once the car is started by the car starter i can not unlock my doors with my keyless entry) and i also would think temperature control would be included. I live in Minnesota and some nights it gets COLD! Having a $200 i would think that the car should start up itself when the temperature gets before a certain temp...
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Avital Remote Start System

Great Product Excellent Installation

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: metzen
from Grand Rapids, MI
on 10/30/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Range
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The fact that I can start my car from my window in snowy conditions!
What's not so great: I haven't found anything bad with this at all.
No more scraping ice off my windshield!
Winter snow just slides off effortlessly!!!!
The technicians did an excellent job on my vehicle.
Great Value and Excellent price will keep me coming back.
Some details about the starter. One button and can be set to make your defrost activate for your rear window.
Courtesy lights light up but don't flash! I know there is another one out there that does this. Would highly recommend if you do not want to scrape or fight those cold mornings!! Also great for summertime to warm up your hot car.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.