Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

Model: Egc-00001
SKU: 9018582
UPC: 882224730600
SynopsisStrap yourself into the cockpit and get ready for the astonishing authenticity that only the Flight Simulator series can deliver. Flight Simulator X Gold Edition combines Flight Simulator X and the Flight Simulator X: Acceleration expansion pack for extended flight time in the boundless skies. Complete 80 challenging missions that will take you to far-flung corners of the globe as advanced DX10 graphics bring the world of flight to dazzling life before your eyes. Test your nerves, your reflexes and your judgment as you settle into the pilot's seat for an array of aerial adventures. Flight Simulator X Gold Edition invites you to embark on 20 new missions in locations as disparate as the Rockies and the Congo. Act as a heroic rescuer, engage in mind-blowing astronautic experiments or push your plane to the limits in intense racing action. As you soar high above the ground, the world below you teems with life, from bustling cities to minute airport operation details. Compete against your friends in fast-paced online racing challenges as you put your skills to the test and see if you have what it takes to achieve victory in the wild blue yonder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
88% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 8
)
Customer Reviews for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows
Review 1 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

Flight Simulator X Accelerator

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: duke7122
from Arlington, Tx
on 01/26/2010
Difficulty
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Customization
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: All the different planes
What's not so great: Not enough military planes
All 3 dvds installed easy but while I liked the big choppers and f-18 there aren't enough military planes like f-15 and f-16, could use a space shuttle or Air Force One or maybe they can be added through other sites. It hasn't asked for any updates, liked that part. I've had simulators since 5.0 diskettes.
Be sure your computer meets the requirements before you buy.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

Windows7-Review

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: Doug5
from San Francisco,CA.
on 01/23/2010
Difficulty
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Customization
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Graphics
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Fun
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Very real
What's not so great: Problems with Windows7
The program is very good except for being kicked out of it at times. Have a CH Yoke and the functionality of the controls is slow and sometimes it locks up, I/m not sure but I believe that I need a driver? Any suggestions but overall it is a fun program for us older folks.
Doug5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

Flight Sim-X, the best ever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mstewflyr
from Wisconsin
on 01/19/2010
Difficulty
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Customization
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: If you love flying, this is about as real as it gets without spending a fortune for an airplane
What's not so great: not enough accesories directly associated with this product, I think Best Buy would sell a lot more if they bundled it
This is my sixth version, MS continues to lead, now if they would only make a customizable version for Xbox360
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

Flight Simulator X

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: WLaP
from Largo, FL
on 11/29/2009
Difficulty
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Customization
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: What's not good about it
What's not so great: Nothing
I was a little concerned that this might not work with my new computer but it's working perfectly on my i7 quad core 2.93GHz. It also works perfectly with Windows 7. The graphics are crisp and clear on my LCD monitors. All in all, very pleased with the purchase.
I bought the Logitech X52 stick to go with it. I had a little problem finding the programming software on Logitech's site but it is there for Windows 7. It's a good match for the Microsoft Flight Simulator X. I would recommend both to anyone upgrading to Win7 and an i7 Quad Core Computer. I do have 12GB of RAM so this never chokes!!
I did find out that if you pull too many Gs in the FA-18 that the screen will black out for a few seconds (simulating what you would do to yourself in that situation). Great simulation for Aero-nuts!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

Ok Software, Horrible Installation

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: metallicamp
from Virginia
on 07/09/2009
Difficulty
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Customization
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Graphics
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Fun
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: The Program Itself is Fine
What's not so great: Trying to actually play the game after installation.
I first bought this game thinking that it would install and play great on my brand new HP Pavillion Elite Desktop. For Pete's Sake, the game only requires a single core processor and 1 gb of ram. My new desktop included a quad core 2.6 ghz processor, 8 gb of RAM on DDR3, a 512mb ATI Radeon 4350 and a Terrabyte of Hard drive space.
Ok, so I popped this into my CD tray and started the installation. The installation was fine, no problem. It was great until I clicked Finish for the installation. The application was nowhere to be seen. The only way I could start the (mediocre) file, was to go into the HDD file (hard drive), find the game file, and actually look for the activation application. Microsoft has failed me. I'm not sure whether it was Vista or the FSX, but either way, I know it isn't my brand new HP computer.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

As Real as it gets!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: KickYoButtAtFlying
from Orem, Utah
on 06/16/2009
Difficulty
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Customization
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What's great about it: You can fly anywhere in the world and simulate any failures you want.
What's not so great: Need super fast computer,
This is the best of the best flight simulator ever. This simulator puts X-plane to shame. Plug in any Xbox 360 controller (wired) to your computer, joystick or control yoke and your already pilot in command. Practice your carrier landings the same way the Navy would. Land a fully loaded Boeing 747-400 in Instrument Meterological Conditions. Or just fly for fun while enjoying the realistic weather with real life weather updates (internet required). Whether your a professional or novice pilot this is the simulator for you.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

Best Ever!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: terry1001
from Ks
on 10/30/2008
Difficulty
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Customization
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Graphics
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Fun
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: good price
What's not so great: takes a lot of space
This is awesome! FSX combining with FSX expansion is way cheaper! buying it seperate cost $60! Buy the FSX Gold Edition. I love it
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flight Simulator X Gold Edition - Windows

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: zanda
from N.C.
on 10/03/2008
What's great about it: veary realistic, beutiful scenery, just plain old great game
What's not so great: if there are any ive yet to find them
this is a game for real profeshinal aviators and kids alike it is a simulated style game where you can fly all over the world in all different types of planes from helecopters to oeing747's this game has it all.the online featur for the delux version is so cool you can be a pilot or atc (air traffic controll).to injoy thi game to its maximum potentle irecomend a joystick and head set with mic. for the joy stick i recomend the logitech attack 3 (you can read my review on it ) and a decent logitech headset (i have a review on one of these to) over all this is oe of the best games inthe world.
(i would check and make sure your pc can handle the gme before you purchase it its kina pricey but worth every last cent).
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.