Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews
Him

Customer Reviews for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Model: ST305004FDA2E1-RK
SKU: 9019279
UPC: 763649009567
Seagate FreeAgent Desktop 500 GB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail - USB 2.0 - 7200 rpm - 16 MB Buffer
Average Customer Rating:
3.955 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 67 reviews
5 stars
35
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
11
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
52 out of 67
)
Customer Reviews for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver
Review 21 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Nice hard Drive

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: MrPeebly
from Orlando
on 02/21/2010
What's great about it: Looks good
Easy to set up and install. reasonably quiet in operation. Looks good in either horizontal or vertical orientation
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

It crashed after after about 3 Days

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Kush66
from Redwood City, CA
on 02/13/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Nothing
I called Seagate for help. After I talked to the tech for about an hour or so he admitted the hard drive crashed. He said I did not register even though when I first installed I got a confirmation from the box. Interestingly the tech had all of my information. "Name, Address, Phone, etc"
Seagate did replace the box. If you what to buy a simillar device I can't recommend Seagate.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

My new external hard drive

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pacjac
from Pineville, LA
on 02/11/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Does what it says it will do
What's not so great: not really what I had in mind
I have only had this product for a few weeks, but so far so good. I really just needed extra space to store photos, not back-up my whole computer. It does let me specify exactly what I want to backup though, so that's nice. It does an automatic back-up every night, so ok. i really just wanted extra storage, but whatever. It seemed like all the external hard drives that Best Buy offered, all had the automatic back-up feature, so I'll deal with that.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Very fast for backups

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Drew42
from Ohio
on 02/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Very fast, lots of capacity
What's not so great: Needs "wall wart" to power, but probably why it works so well.
This drive is much faster than my other external drive which is powered only by USB. Still, it is more of a hassle to have to plug in the power cord as well as the USB when I want to do a backup.
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Works Well

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Dona27
from New York
on 01/30/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: memory space
What's not so great: nothing
Got it on sale for $75, not bad for a 500 GB external hard drive. Syncs easily, set up was simple enough. It works great, I mostly use it for typical files (word docs and pictures), music, and movies.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Buyer beware

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: berich81
from Beaver, PA
on 01/27/2010
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, installation easy
What's not so great: Does not hold up
I know that most people have reviewed this drive well, but I have to say that my experience has not be so good. I purchased this drive in September, and it died in January. The Geek Squad could not tell me why, they simply gave me a new drive, a different brand as well. I lost all my information and no one could explain why it broke. I took great care of this drive and was very upset when it broke. Before it broke, so you know, it shut off three times in a row and it was hard to get it going again. Beware, I hope you do not have the same problem I had.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

So far so good

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JoeG58
from Mesa, AZ
on 01/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Working as expected
What's not so great: no problems so far
It seems as though hard drives have gotten kind of quirky; some work well, and some die quickly, regardless of what brand you buy. This is the first Seagate drive I've had in a while, and I'm using it for periodic backups 3x a week. It set itself up quickly, and has performed as expected thus far.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Great Drive!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: sfollenius
from asheville, nc
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Works great as external Drive for Dish Network DVR
What's not so great: You have to use software to turn off light and sleep feature
Great Drive, I use it on a VIP722k Dish network Receiver. Added a ton of extra room for my shows, works great to play HD Video from the Drive as well. Be sure to turn off the sleep feature and also the light via software if you do not want it on all the time.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Don't remember

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Trennepohl
from Wagoner, OK
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Installation
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
What's not so great: EVERYTHING
This was priced at $79.00, plus s and h -- about $87.00 total. Did not work correctly from the time it was plugged in to my computer. From the first backup it did, my computer had a huge red icon, saying the backup failied. What was worse is that each time it would try to backup files, my computer would turn itself off, and I would get a message the next morning that my computer had RECOVERED FROM A SERIOUS ERROR!! I had a great deal of difficulty getting Seagate to respond to my asking for assistance. When I finally threatened to ship it back if I didn't get a phone # to call for telephone help, they gave me a #. After spending over 2 hrs. on the phone with one of their reps, having him set it up AGAIN from scratch, it worked for about 10 days -- at which point, the red icon showed up AGAIN saying the backup had failed, and my computer had shut itself down giving me the message AGAIN that my system had RECOVERED FROM A VERY SERIOUS ERROR! At that point I called Best Buy; you are sending me the return label for this piece of >>>>>! In addition, I consulted with several computer jocks who work on computers, and I have been told that they are not hearing ANYTHING GOOD about this piece of equipment!!
Guess that just about covers it! Thank you, Best Buy, for asking. I hope this will help you in your business with these people!
Vicki
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Excellent all around

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: CorkyB
from Benbrook, TX
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy Installation
What's not so great: No problems
The purchase went smoothly, and the equipment performed as advertized.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Sleek & Easy

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cmk
from NC
on 01/11/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to install, nice and slim, cool video editing software comes with it (Muvee), auto-backup was easy to setup
Just gave this as a Christmas present to my college daughter. Really easy to install, easy to setup automated backups, nice and thin so takes up little space (can store flat or on its side as it comes with a stand) and came with a cool video-editing program (Muvee).
The only thing I would suggest is that you unplug this while rebooting your computer and plug back in once up. This makes my boot-up go MUCH faster. And, if you dont want to use the auto-backup feature, make sure you turn it off so it's not eating up any of your CPU/computer speed.
GREAT for the price, keeping my fingers crossed it ends up being as reliable as my first impression...
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Good Stuff

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: TLD99
from Chicago
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Great value, easy to use. Would recommend to others.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Works fine, looks good with my iMac

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: IamMikeT
from Nashua, NH
on 01/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: works fine with Time Machine, good capacity, nice looking
What's not so great: loose bits rattling around
I bought two of these 500 GB based on price and in spite of other negative reviews. I figure people who had problems are about 100 times more likely to write a review, and between Seagate and Best Buy I wasn't too worried about it. Anyways they work fine and as a bonus I think they look great with the iMac. The only negative was one of the drives has a little bit of something that rattles around in the case. Probably a little scrap of plastic or something. After the warranty is out, I'll open it up and remove whatever it is. No big deal, but does suggest that maybe Seagate QC doesn't check for that, and/or doesn't check 100% of all drives?
p.s. I went back and got the 1 TB version of this drive a couple weeks later, and it's fine too.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Fair

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: PAPABEAR2441
from Colorado
on 01/08/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Fairly Simple to install
What's not so great: Really Slows System Down
I am please with product, but after installation I had no idea how much it would slow down my computer trying to continually back up everything. Once I spoke to a friend and took a great deal of copy info out of recording it did much better and I am basically pleased. At first it took almost two days to do a full back up and still failed to complete it all. It is now operating okay and I am pleased with it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Hardware working ok for data backup.

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: RichQ
from Sacramento, CA
on 01/07/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Installation
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Price was very good.
What's not so great: Data backup software very difficult to use.
Other reviews indicated Seagate's data backup software (included with the drive) was difficult to use and I agree 100%. I had previously been using Acronis True Image, which is very easy to use, for backups to a smaller external drive so I dumped the Seagate software and am using the Acronis for this new drive.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Works great, looks great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: ne1home
from Oklahoma
on 01/06/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, easy to use, good value
Out of the box, it's a piece of cake! Works just like promised, and the design is just a bonus!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

no problems whatsoever

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Andrea890
from Fountain Valley, CA
on 01/05/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: just plugged it in and followed prompts to start backup.
just plugged it in and followed prompts to start backup. did not need a manual or have to download any software. have Vista and did not have to do anything special. I was leary after reading other reviews on backup storage in general. Very happy with ease and performance. Highly recommend.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Love it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: coz143
from Little Rock, AR
on 01/04/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: nothing
Lost every thing on my work computer & begged my boss to get an external. He got me this one and it works great. Back up tons every day on it. I'm actually going to buy one for backing up all my music and picture files on my home computer.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Perfect

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: JCHUCKK
from Minneapolis
on 12/30/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything.
What's not so great: Nada
I have had no problems with it. Don't listen to any reviews saying it won't work with Windows 64 bit. I have had mine for over a year and am now running Windows 7 and there are 0 problems.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Seagate - FreeAgent 500 GB External USB 2.0 Hard Drive - Silver

Not Compatible with Vista????????

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SusanNM
from Maryland
on 12/29/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Installation
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: It works just as it should
What's not so great: Nothing!!!!
I have Vista so does my husband and daughter. It works on all 3 of our laptops. I have never seen a error pop up on any of them. I don't know why it didn't work for the person who wrote the terrible review on this product. I bought a 500gb almost a year ago. I do digital scrapbooking and imaging. I download 100's of things daily and have just recently filled it. I had to purchase another one and bought a 1tb. I bought the same product again. My grandchildren and myself have knocked the 500gb off of the coffee table on 3 occasions and it still works I lost NOTHING. This is what made be buy this product again. I had bought a 500gb (another product) a month prior to purchasing a seagate, it fell off of the table and I lost EVERYTHING.
I highly recommend this product!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>