Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Model: 40RV525R/U
SKU: 9034626
UPC: 022265002469
Equipped with DynaLight backlight control for deep, rich black levels and a CineSpeed LCD panel for 8 ms response time, this 40" flat-panel LCD HDTV presents your movies, games and TV shows in stunning 1080p high-definition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 124 reviews
5 stars
77
4 stars
22
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
7
81% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
101 out of 124
)
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV
Review 101 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Excellent HDTV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: deettocs
from McHenry,Illinois
on 01/11/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy setup, great picture,good price
What's not so great: Low sound
Overall a great HDTV product for the 750.00 I paid 1 week ago. 3 HDMI's are great. Had an odd problem with no sound on PS3 setup but got that resolved very quickly. 40 Lb's for a 40" TV I thought was great as well.
Very satisfied on this product. A little slow going between inputs.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Such a deal!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Schultz8
from Spring, TX
on 01/06/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The price was quite right
What's not so great: No complaints
I bought the Toshiba 40" online. Before picking it up I read the not so good review of the same product from the Old Tech Guy in Texas and I must admit it knocked me back on my heels. I got the set home, had a friend help me set it up quick and easy, and am taking a break from my primary purposes for the purchase: watching hockey on NHL Center Ice and also DVD movies.
For what I paid online--$749.99, plus the four year warranty for $99.99, and Texas sales tax the total came to $920.10. I even got five bucks knocked off the price from the Rewards Zone. When the sale went off, the 40" Toshiba plus the warranty (now $149.99 for the higher price) and the resultant sales tax would have cost me back another $220 or so.
For the price, I feel as though I've won the Texas Lotto. I had my heart set on a 46" big screen but the 40" Toshiba is more than adequate. The colors of the hockey uniforms, especially the close up camera shots, are spectacular. I suppose I could have gone for the Samsung 40" but I don't see the justification for spending the extra $250 plus.
The 40" Toshiba replaced a 32" Toshiba standard TV set I bought back in 2000 that was working as well yesterday as the day I took it out of the box. It was a real heavy sucker and I won't miss lugging that thing around. The 40" Toshiba 1080p barely weighs 40 pounds.
As for the technological critique from Old Tech Guy in Texas, for my money the Toshiba 40" 1080p flat panel can't be beaten. To each their own, I guess. There are no complaints from me. I'm elated to have this flat screen and to have purchased it at such a great price from Best Buy. Back to the Sabres-Senators game.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

2 Years & Finally bought a flat screen LCD TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tommy1959
from Saint Petersburg
on 01/03/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I read everyones reviews on here and decided to go with a 37 inch LCD Toshiba. My Best Buy Price 699.00 When i arrived @ BB a 40 inch Toshiba was on sale for 749.00. Guess what? Yes i am the proud owner of a 40 " Toshiba LCD model 40RV525U for 749.00 Easy setup Great Picture Audio is fine and tomorrow I will hook up my old 5.1 surround sound Grin :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great deal on a great TV!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Beemerman
from Elmira, NY
on 01/03/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great tuner, Great sound, Great TV
What's not so great: Nothing
Got this unit after returning a Samsung 32" 1080P that had the worst sound I think I have heard on a television in many years. The Toshiba was an "open box" unit that meant I got a significant discount on top of the sale price, and all that was wrong was a missing screw for the base, which they gladly replaced even though they had to take one from a display unit to do it. The picture is amazing, the sound at least twice as good as the Samsung, and the tuner picked up more than twice as many channels using the same antenna I used on the Samsung. I had to play with the controls for the sound and picture a little but it was well worth the effort, and I couldn't be happier with the tv, and the price. Thanks Best Buy!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

The greatest TV in the world

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: devopmp
from macomb
on 01/02/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: everything is great.. the quiality and everything
What's not so great: everything is the best
Its great!!! this tv was the best tht ever happened to me, it has the best quiality in the world and picture and sound
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

AWESOME TV!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Kylel012
from Tpa, Fl
on 01/02/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Everything
What's not so great: No side input HDMI
Got this as a gift for Christmas from my wife and mother-in-law. Love it!
I saw the add from BB a few days later and BEST BUY refunded the price difference. LOVE BB. I can not find any problems with this TV other than I wish they (Toshiba) had installed a side mount HDMI input. Best Buy is the place to go...
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

My first LCD and no complaints

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Tom5
from Southern Maine
on 01/01/2009
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture and sound. Low price for 1080p.
What's not so great: Nothing
This is my first HDTV, and I couldn't be happier. I bought it on black friday, and haven't had a problem yet. I've done a lot of research over the past couple years trying to find the best TV within my price range. Before I bought it, I compared it to a couple others, as anyone should do before a big purchase. I was undecided between this one and a 42" for $200 less, but an unknown brand. When I got to the store that Friday morning, it just so happened both TVs were displayed side-by-side. My mind was quickly made up. After getting it home, I switched out my digital cable box for an HD box, and hookup was a breeze. I also have a pre-release XBox 360 that looks absolutely fantastic on it. I did have some sound issues after hooking up my DVD player to it (I had to turn the volume up fairly loud to hear it) but after messing around with the DVD player settings, I discovered it was that and not the TV. I've always like Toshiba's products, and this is just another example why.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

The Perfect Budget HD TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jackal221
from Madisonville,LA
on 12/25/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Size for Price Ratio, Quality, nice response time, 3 hdmi ports, connect with ease to game systems
What's not so great: Weight, access to ports
I bought this set because i was looking for an affordable set. This set cost me about 750 at the time before christmas day. It came with directions on the box. It has 3 hdmi ports, an easy layed out remote. I have a first generation 360 with hd component cables worked like a charm, and the ps3 with hdmi worked with little lag at all. When i turned on the game mode, it looked better, sounded better, and performed better. It weighs 42 pounds with its stand. Right now i'm using a nightstand as an entertainment center. The whole layout is simple for that first time hd buyer. It had five modes: Preference, Sports, Movie, PC, and Game. It's all so easy. The sound quality is great, i don't know what other people are saying, boo-hoo. If you a tv that get the quality for price ratio right, get this toshiba.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Awesome TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: anonymousgamer
from Brownsville, TX
on 12/25/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great picture, great design and great price
What's not so great: haven't had a problem
First of all, I feel no regrets after buying this TV. The picture looks great and the price is fantastic on here and other stores.
I see some people are having problems with their 360 and the the TV through a HDMI connection. I have the same problem, and the problem is not with the TV. The new NXE update cause some TV's(the same problem exist in different brands of TV) to output no sound through HDMI. Microsoft is aware of this and is apparently working on the issue. Meanwhile, you have to either play with component cables or you can turn the Xbox 360 on without the hdd then attach it again after it's on. It's an annoying problem, but the blame lies with Microsoft not Toshiba.
You can either tolerate this inconvenience for a while or find a better TV for the price. And with those having this problem, ring up Microsoft and let them have it so they can speed this whole thing up.
http://www.engadget.com/2008/11/21/nxe-creating-hdmi-headaches-for-uk-xbox-360-owners/
http://www.joystiq.com/2008/12/02/microsoft-working-to-fix-nxe-audio-issues/
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Toshiba 40"

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: drag79stang
from New Richmond, Wi.
on 12/24/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Beautiful machine (now). First one had 'issues'
What's not so great: nothing I can think of. (so far)
We purchased one the day after 'black friday'. Took it home. The screen had issues. Blue flashes, looked like ..well, bad.
Brought it back, got a different one. All is good with the world. Beautiful tv.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Stunning TV!!!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Bird66
from Louisville, Ky
on 12/21/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: EVERYTHING
While standing in the store looking this TV over, knowing I was going to purchase it, I actually ended up standing next to a guy looking at a 37" Samsung going for about $200.00 more and it was only a 720 res, and was really stunned when I pointed this set out to him. He made up his mind to purchase the last one in stock, or so I thought.
I went back later that night only to find out another truck arrived, and I took it and a PS3 home and it only took me about 45 minutes to hook everything up. I cannot say enough for this TV, the picture w/my Directv HD receiver and the PS3 amazes me beyond words!! If you get the chance BUY this TV!!
I did look over the reviews here, and while the remote isn't back-lit, its buttons do glow in the dark, which I do like. The sound quality is better than I expected too! I can't say enough for this TV and how pleased I really am with my choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Impressed

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Notatecky
from North or Boston
on 12/20/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: HD Picture, TV sound, price
What's not so great: Sound for dvd
After extensive research, I decided on this tv because it was 40", 1080p and $750. I considered LG and Vizio for price, but this picture was superior. In the store this picture looked equal to the Samsung beside it. I read every review of the three TVs online. AVS forum swayed me to the Toshiba. This tv took minutes to set up. I haven't tweaked it at all and I am very impressed. Last night's Celtics game was amazing and today's Bruin's game is great. I can't wait for the Pat's tomorrow. The sound is good while watching TV but last night while watching the Dark Night it was difficult to hear characters speak. I need to do some research. I am writing this review to help anyone like me who is looking for a nice tv to watch sports and the occasional dvd. I don't play xbox or playstation and I don't have a blu-ray player. If you are an average guy and your wife has finally agreed to spending the money on a flat screen tv, this is the tv for you! I agree with the guys who say it is hard to imagine a better picture, especially at this price. Also, no issues with 8ms response time or pixelation while watching hockey game. I have a hard time believing it is a tv issue when someone complains about it. MOst likely a cable issue. Anyway, I hope this helps someone. If something changes, I'll update.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

BEST SIZE, BEST BRAND, AND BEST PRICE

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: STYLING777
from Siloam Springs, AR
on 12/18/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: GAMING MODE-PUSHING PS3 , XBOX 360, AND BLUE RAY MOVIES @ 1080P WIITH NO LAG TIME
What's not so great: WANNA BE PICKY I'M GOING TO ADD 5.1 OR 7.1 SURROUND SOUND TO MAKE IT LOUD
UNBELEIVABLE TOSHIBA KNOWS WHAT WE WANT A GAMING MODE CAUSING NO LAG TIME SMOOTH PICTURE. HAS A FREEZE BUTTON WHEN WATCHING DISH NETWORK OR CABLE. TOSHIBA LOGO LIGHTS UP COOL LOOKING AND YOU CAN TURN IT OFF. SET UP WAS DESIGNED TO BE EASY WHEN PROGRAMMING DISH AND HIGH DEF SYSTEMS. DYNALIGHT TECHNOLOGY IS SWEET REALLY BRINGS OUT THE PICTURE WHEN COMPARED TO OTHER TVS YOU CAN COMPARE AT BEST BUY IN STORE. 3 HDMI EOUNGH FOR GAMING SYSTEMS. 4O INCH NOT TO SMALL NOT TO BIG HAD NO PROBLEMS CONNECTION WITH DISH WAS VERY CLEAR. I'M ALSO RUNNING HD ANTENNA MOUNTED ON TOP OF HOUSE AND PICTURE IS AMAZING. EVERYTHING I ADDED TO THIS TV HAS LOOKED AWESOME AND YES IT HAS DIGITAL HOOK UP FOR SERIOUS UPDATED SURROUND SOUND CONNECTION AND GOT THE 4 YEAR GEED SQUAD FOR 4 YEARS ONLY 99.99. JUST BUY IT
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

I read a lot of reviews and picked Toshiba...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jOeJoE76
from Pearland, TX
on 12/17/2008
What's great about it: The picture is great and I hooked up my 5.1 suround sound and the experiance is fantastic. Many ports to plug in to!
What's not so great: When I sat down to watch it, I noticed that there were 5 glares of white spots "Hot Spots" ...
When I sat down to watch it, I noticed that there were 5 glares of white spots "Hot Spots" on black screen or dark screen. It is hard to notice uless the screen is completely black. My freinds told me to take it back and get a new one but it is not noticable unless the screen is black and your looking for it. It did get a little agravating the second day so I called Best Buy and they are setting up an appointment for Geek Squad to come over and fix.
It is covered under the 1 year manufactured warranty that came with the TV, sooo yeah, i don't have to box it up and take it back. I am releaved and really glad to have purched this TV.
I hooked up my X-Box 360 to it and is increadable.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Right Out Of Box

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Sparception
from Wilmington, DE
on 12/15/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, GREAT price, awesome picture
What's not so great: The Hdmi input jacks are hard to get to and see, the overall input locations are a little odd
Before I bought it, I compared it to models that were almost twice the amount and the difference wasn't far off. This TV however had deeper black levels than say the Samsung and LG, so those who don't like the strain on your eyes that brighter contrasts give, pick up something like this. I don't really know what people are talking about with the sound, but I had it on 10 and it was loud enough... I hooked up an HDMI cable to my PS3, and the change was unbelievable. Completely worth the experience and the price. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention, it is built very well feels very durable, and the gloss is a perfect black, not too flashy to make it look cheap, it looks like a TV worth more than bought for.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Excellent TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mickroo2
from Valley of the Sun, Arizona
on 12/13/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Exceptional picture, Great Price, Perfect size for bedroom
What's not so great: Nothing yet, extremely Happy with this LCD Television
Best early Christmas gift I have gotten. Sound is great ( read one review where it was stated speakers were on the back, must be a different model, ours are on the front) Wii looks fantastic on this set, have it hooded up to 1080 HD receiver and we couldnt be happier with it. Would be nice to have a back lit remote;however, minimal issue compared to the rest of the features. We compared alot of TV's before we chose the Toshiba, We made the right choice.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great Television!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Mabby03
from Indianapolis, IN
on 12/11/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Picture quality is amazing, great price, giant television!
What's not so great: Audio speakers on the rear of the television which is only a design flaw
Works great with my Wii! Instead of using an HDMI cable, I shelled out a few extra bucks and bought a colorstream cable. The difference in picture quality is amazing! Anyone who has no experience with electronics of all kinds, would know that the sound would be better if the speakers weren't on the backside of the television. When this happens it creates, what I call, the laptop effect. Anyone who's owned a laptop knows that most of them have the speakers on the bottom of the computer, which makes it annoying to listen to anything that you play. This has the same effect. The speakers, for some reason, are located on the rear of the television which makes the sound quality seem a bit muffled. However the sound itself is actually high-end quality sound, so there's really not much to be concerned about. All in all, great television!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great TV

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: SplitFairway
from Pittsburgh
on 12/09/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, Picture Quality, Easy to use menus, Options
What's not so great: Speakers, though a non issue with surround sound
Just bought this Toshiba two weeks ago. The price to picture quality/options is the best deal out there now especially with 1080p. I have had no problems with any of my HDMI connections(PS3, Cable, Surround). They all work flawlessly. I've also compared cheaper $10 HDMI cables to more expensive $100 cables and have found ZERO difference in quality. Great TV so far....Good job Toshiba
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Great tv

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: twd61
from Bloomington, IN
on 12/01/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very sharp & well-contrasted picture
What's not so great: Remote isn't backlit
Purchased this set recently and so far we are very pleased. The picture looks great with very deep blacks and great brightness.
The built-in speakers could be better but we're using a home theatre system for movies like most users do so it doesn't really matter. The speakers are fine for regular tv use ... I don't imagine they're too much different from most of the speakers built in to larger tvs these days.
Set looks attractive with glossy bezel. Remote works our other components fine but isn't backlit.
Connectivity is fine for our needs ... On-screen menu options are nice with favorites etc. easy to manage.
This is a great tv, especially at this price point.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Toshiba 40" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV

Watching Football on our new LCD

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Daniel09
on 11/30/2008
Picture Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Sound Quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great Price Point, Easy to set up, User Friendly Menu, Visual appeal, Picture + sound quality, Features
What's not so great: Nothing yet
Purchased this new TV today at Best Buy and Love it. We had been thinking about getting a new LCD for our living room and finally while watching football today decided to just do it. We researched online several different models and took them into our local best buy. We were actually looking at either a Samsung or a Sony both $100 to $200 dollars higher and the Toshiba caught our eye. It is a great price point with excellent quality. We were surprised at how easy it was to set up and liked the fact I could carry it in my myself. The sound quality was above what we could ask for and we liked all the features we have found. The half mute comes in handy during phone calls and the freeze option is great for sports and nature channels. We first hookd it up by a coax cable and then switched to AV jacks which made a huge difference. Looking to see how much better maybe a S Video cable and if it makes it even better we may just say forget upgrading our tv package to HD becuase the picture quality is so great. Haven't found anything negative about it yet. The remote doesn't have a backlight so i'm sure we'll use the one through our cable provider but can't complain about that. Best buy has great price points for the quality and we put it on our Best Buy credit card to get interest free financing which allowed me to get a TV and my girlfriend to get a new Digital SLR. Next we will be getting a better TV stand maybe with a built in mounting bracket and we dont wont it unstable on our old stand. The higher priced models do come with built in picture card readers and usb ports and such but for our needs this was perfect. Very excited to watch my sports channels and already put a war movie on to see the details. Great value!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 next>>