Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Model: 010-00575-0
SKU: 9037446
UPC: 753759084547
Navigate to all your various destinations with this convenient GPS receiver, featuring a 4.3" color touch screen for easy-to-see mapping and supporting hands-free calling with Bluetooth technology to help you stay in touch while on the road. This model meets our Professional Series criteria Shop all products in our Small Business Center
Average Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 42 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
76% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
32 out of 42
)
Customer Reviews for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS
Review 1 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Great device for the price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: latsmit
from atlanta, ga
on 07/22/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Big letters, color screen, and maps
I purchased this Gps (my first), with no pre-conceived notions, and I have been very impressed. My boyfriend loves it more than I do. The Msn Direct is well worth the investment, and I plan to renew. I did get my first 9 months for free, which was a big seller. Great device for price. Great features.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Decent unit, got it for a great price

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Nitrousbird
from Powell, OH
on 04/16/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Display is good, route much more quickly than older units
What's not so great: Like all newer Garmins, USB isn't built into the cradle anymore, meaning you have to make 2 attachments
It works. I wouldn't say it is anything special, and to me was a 255WT w/ Bluetooth (that I didn't need). I purchased as discontinuted item at a price far better than the 255WT's, and cheaper than it could be purchased anywhere else.
It navigates fairly well. Garmin has been slacking on doing good map updates. We live in a newer build area, but many of the places have been in business 2+ years and it knows nothing about them. Same as some places that have been around for many years it doesn't know (like the largest NAPA store in the Central Ohio region, it doesn't know about it, but knows much smaller and newer stores). It also thinks certain locations that were once there years ago still exisit today. But this is an issue with Garmin's maps, not the unit itself.
My only real complaint is the same I have with all the newer Garmins. My old Garmin 350 had a USB port on the unit, and the cradle had a port as well. This way, when I hooked it up to the cradle, I didn't have to make a connection for the USB every time I installed the unit. Because I always custom mount my cradles, this is an even bigger issue (seriously, having a unit stuck to your windshield with wires everywhere is tacky, plain and simple.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

GPS is the best I had

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: vellie
from Philadelphia, pa
on 04/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use without any problem
This GPS help me get where I need to go in no time I love this GPS every since I got it I been using it to the fullest .
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Great GPS for the price

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: tkvang
from mpls, MN
on 04/02/2010
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Durability
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: good features
What's not so great: a little slow to map location
not the fastest but pretty good for the price. register for MSN traffic and use the blue tooth with your wireless bluetooth device and you are set to go on the road.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Best GPS in the market

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Alamosa. Coloraso
on 03/10/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Very easy to use it
What's not so great: Can't use mapupdates the software in Garmin web couldn't be downloaded.
Very easy GPS ,great price.only there 's a probelm with mapupdates software.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

wonderful!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: myoungpouncy
on 03/10/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: it is easy to use - the price was great based on the features you get with it
What's not so great: short battery, the screen when it is pressed does not always move forward
The product is a very good useful tool - it has come in handy when looking for rest stops and hotels on the road -
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Fantastic GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kmb
from port orchard, wa
on 03/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: read my commnets
What's not so great: No negative comments
I purchased the Garmin 285W. I feel it is a fantastic GPS. I am extremely pleased with the unit.
For several months I have been researching and reading comments about a large verity of GPS units of all price ranges and manufactures. I selected the Garmin 285W. Then BB had a very good sale on the Garmin 285W. So I purchased the unit on line from BB. The unit arrived a few days earlier than project by BB.
In my reach I found it suggested updating the software and map. I have high speed cable internet, I first updated the software, this took about 15 minutes, next I purchased the life time map updated which I felt was a good idea. The map update took 20 minutes. The setup directions are simple, very clear to follow, I would say any 10 year old child could do the set up and updates.
Inside my home it takes 6 seconds for the unit to connect to the satellites. It finds the satellites before I back out of the garage.
I took the unit to my job. My office is in the middle of a brick building, I am on the 3rd floor, it took 10 seconds to find the satellites. The unit it accurate to less than 5 feet of my destinations. The turn by turn directions are right on the mark. The voice clarity is great and more than enough volume. This unit has many great features I am very pleased with the Garmin 285W.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

No complaints

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: F2cents
from Colorado Springs, CO
on 03/09/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, Bluetooth, Speed Limit and Speed displays
What's not so great: Painful download of map update
For the price, the 285WT does everything I need and more. Bluetooth is clear on both ends. Voice directions clear and timely. It has displayed some road quirks, nothing drastic and probably more related to Garmin software then the unit itself. Love having the speed limit displayed along with my actual speed. Would like less key strokes to be able to enter a location's address, but again, this is probably a Garmin software issue. Once you get to your destination, you can click on the auto symbol and automatically save that location to favorites. It also has the ability to provide trip costs based on gas prices, your average MPG, and the miles traveled. The free map update was painful. It took the better part of a day to update the firmware and map software. Way too slow. MSN Direct seems pretty cool, checking movie times, traffic alerts, weather, etc. I'm not too bummed about it going away in Jan 2012. I get to use it for free for 9 months so I have plenty of time to see if it's worth keeping. By 2012, I'll probably be looking to upgrade. For $109.00, I don't think I could have done better.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Very Impressive Garmin

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: csdqueen
from Spokane WA
on 02/23/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: The Garmin is so simply to use, I don't know how I managed without it!
Very easy to set up, manage, and use. The Garmin was on sale, and then even went down in cost. I called Best Buy and had the difference put back on my account.
The Garmin came already charged, and I don't know how I very lived without it! LOVE IT!!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Awesome GPS!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jen25
from Wading River
on 02/02/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Bluetooth is crystal clear, easy to use, love the bells & whistles
What's not so great: Phone book does not always load
Replaced an older Garmin GPS with the 285W and so happy I did. Easy to set up and use. The old unit took forever to load maps and find satellites, I was usually half way to my destination and it still had not loaded. This unit is quick, crystal clear graphics and amazing sound that is not garbled. Also love the way that it reroutes quickly. Great unit at a great price!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

My daughter loves it!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: k123123
from Newalla, Oklahoma
on 01/13/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: ease of use and blue tooth
I bought the Garmin nüvi 285W GPS for my daughter this past Christmas. She loves it and uses it everywhere she goes. She has not downloaded the updates yet, but plans to soon.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Excellent

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: gosha1988
from Dallas, TX
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, good work
What's not so great: Can't listen music through bluetooth
Bought this product as a present for my sister. Used a different before, she hated it, and it didn't work normal. Garmin nüvi 285W GPS works great, she loves it, and uses it a lot. So far, she didn't get lost, wherever she goes. Good product for a normal price.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Very pleased

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: jckcamp
from Boydton, VA
on 01/12/2010
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, love the speed limit indicator
What's not so great: I can not find a quick mute button, it takes a couple touches on the screen to get to the ute screen.
The GPS has been very good so far. I have only used it about 10 times so far but it has been very accurate and easy to figure out. I really like the speed limit indicator since there never seems to be a speed limit sign when you're wondering what it is. I was also impressed withits accuracy, it usually changes within 10 feet of the sign.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Best Buy 5 Stars - Garmin 2 Stars

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: smokesm442
from Anamosa, IA
on 12/18/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Durability
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's great about it: Great price, easy to use
What's not so great: Froze up, "side trips", MSN Direct availabilty, Garmin support
I spent some time reviewing quite a few GPS units from 3 different manufacturers and Best Buy offered a great one day deal on this one. It had the Bluetooth, speaks to you, POIs, MSN Direct, etc. I was looking for. Once I had it I found out that MSN Direct was no longer being offered after Jan 2012. It was also only available in one city in Iowa of which I was not from. After I registered the unit online per Garmins instructions I inquired about the free map update at Garmin online. I received an e-mail back asking me for my proof of purchase. Although they had the correct date for my registration they needed to submit my receipt copy to a manager to get my map update approved. I gave up on that as I had vacation coming up. I left to go on the trip to try my Garmin out and It froze up on me twice travelling down the interstate. Had to power cycle the unit to get it working again. Two times it tried to take me off the interstate I was travelling on to a primary highway and then back to the interstate. There was no detour in sight. This interstate had been there for some time. I tried calling Garmin but was on infinite hold. When I got to where I was going I e-mailed Garmin again. After a couple emails they told me I had to call them. Yeah right. Just to get put on infinite hold again? I emailed them and asked them to call me. No response. I returned the defective GPS and will look at a competitor's unit that is sold at Best Buy also. Very disappointed in Garmin's support.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

really nice gps

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Jru
from long island
on 12/10/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: The big screen and the features.bluetooth phone
What's not so great: more detail on the map screen,
Really nice nice Gps I paid 169.00 online for the money it is very good. Phone call come right through the gps when you are driving love it .
msn direct, and bluetooth, large screen,download map icons
should have more download options but I would recommend this GPS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

5 years and still working strong and fast

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: twistoffate420
from south jersey
on 12/05/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Price, memory, durable,
What's not so great: wont die so i can buy a new garmin!!!
I purchased a garmin close to this one 4-5 years ago and mine still runs strong and fast. I worked in the construction field so needless to say its took more than normal abuse, long hours, switching it from work truck to my car every day...definatly reccomend a gps case to protect it...the only thing that happened to mine after 5 years is i had to replace the power cord..{25.00}.. And it works great....I wish it would break already so i have an excuse to buy a new black gloss one, with the speed limit signs....
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Garmin nuvi 285W GPS

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: artemisp
from California
on 12/05/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to set up, great screen size for easy viewing
What's not so great: Haven't used it long enough to see any problems.
Set up was a breeze. The screen size is just right so you can easily read the map at a glance while driving, but the unit itself is small enough to tuck away out of sight when you're not in your car. When I first set it up, it had me going in the opposite direction of my destination once, and the speaker had an issue once as well. It hasn't happened since, so I am hoping that it was just getting warmed up. Overall, great product and no more printing out online directions!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

285W GPS

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Keljo
from Overland Park
on 12/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy to program
Easy to read. Program in a location and go. No more making the wrong turn and wondering where the heck you are.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Great GPS, Buy Lifetime map update

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Jon81
from Florida
on 11/18/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Durability
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice Price
What's not so great: out dated mapping
This is a great gps unit, but I would recommend getting the garmin lifetime map update for this item. I got my lifetime map update at Autonavdirect.com
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin nüvi 285W GPS

Major Improvement Over Older Models

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Michael1977
from Houston
on 08/26/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Durability
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Speed limit notifications, doppler radar, flight status
What's not so great: MSN subscription fee
I have owned a Garmin 660, 760, and a 780. I think the 285 is better than all three of my previous models. I like how ithe 285 displays your speed, arrival time, and the turn direction at the top left corner. It seems like the display is brighter than the other models and that makes it easier to see. The speaker sounds betterm and with the firmware upgrade the text to speech pronounces street names fine. The MSN is a good service. It does show traffic, doppler radar, news (which is worthless), gas prices, and flight status. I haven't tried the Bluetooth out yet. I didn't have good luck with people being able to hear me on my old devices so I am kind of hesitant to use it. Overall I think this is a great device. Some people have commented about fingerprints on the screen. I have yet to notice this, and it doesn't seem to be a problem.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>