Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Model: MFC-490CW
SKU: 9039177
UPC: 012502620495
Print out your special photos and copy, scan and fax documents on this multifunction printer that features fast speed printing up to 33 ppm black and 27 ppm color.
Average Customer Rating:
4.013 out of 5
4.0
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 78 reviews
5 stars
49
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
14
77% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
60 out of 78
)
Customer Reviews for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax
Review 1 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Great deal for the money.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Dman0101
from Pasadena, TX
on 10/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: All in one that is wel worth the price.
What's not so great: The paper tray.
I am very happy with this printer, as it replaced a very bad Epson. All the features work great. The machine is quiet and prints fast, but does take about 30 seconds to get started if you haven't printed in a while.
My only complaint is the paper tray. It is an odd design and feels a little flimsy. You have to shove it underneath and against a lot of resistance, I almost feel like I am going to break it. Once you get the feel of it, it is not so bad.
All in all it is a good purchase, especially for $79.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

The great unknown

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: watnex
from middle Tennessee
on 10/02/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Footprint, quietness, speed
What's not so great: Printing a single envelope is cumbersome, color printing is a little washed out and needs adjusting
I'd never comsidered Brother before, always shopping the big three of HP, Canon and Epson, each providing some level of disappointment to me, poor construction, size or noise. I happened on Brother because of the small footprint and the more I looked, the more impressed I became. It's a quality, well thought out design with nice features, easy to use and does it's various jobs well. Scan and print quality are excellent, copies are quick and quiet. I haven't used the fax feature yet. If my own experience with this unit is any gauge, you'd do well to consider it. I wish I'd found it earlier.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Print Heads Are Shoddy

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Robert1976
from Siesta Key
on 10/01/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Has many features rolled into one.
What's not so great: Print heads are poorly made.
PRINT HEADS ARE CHEAP AND BREAK.
Mine stopped printing black. I replaced the ink cartridge and did 10 blank ink cleanings with no luck. I also upgraded the firmware as a last ditch attempt with no luck. If you search the internet, you'll see this model has recurring issues with the print heads breaking.
It's a shame as I've had it for less than a year. For the money, it would have been a great deal otherwise. I'm definitely going to go back to a printers that have the print heads built into the ink cartridges.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

What a terrific All-in-one

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: will001
from New Jersey
on 09/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Easy wireless setup. Great software. Fantastic features. Good quality printing. Scanner is great. Faxing ability is A+
What's not so great: I am so pleased with the MFC-490CW, there is nothing I can complain about.
The Brother MFC-490CW is fantastic. It has easy set up using the Set-up Wizard. The wizard found my router and asked for the password. The software installation disk didn't have Windows 7 64 bit software, so I was automatically directed to a Brother download page, where I downloaded the installation software. The Brother Control Center 3 application is excellent. I have two computers and 1 laptop hooked up to the MFC-490CW.
I can send and receive faxes from any computer, or send and receive faxes at the machine. I can send scanned images to any computer and I can print from any computer. I can make photo copies. and print at the machine or send the digital image to any computer.
This is exactly what I wanted. Total flexibility.
The print quality for letters is very good. The print quality for pictures is also very good. For pictures you need the right paper and then choose the "Best" setting. The Scanned images are crystal clear.
I like the large display on the machine and also the paper tray is a nice feature also.
Wireless is great. I like the fact that I can order non-oem ink cartridges on the internet, which is a big savings.
Bottomline: This is a fantastic All-in-one. This is a well thought out machine. I am so pleased with it. For $79.00 on sale, I highly recommend it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Wonderful choice

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Soheil
from Albany, NY
on 09/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Good quality for everyday use. Everything wireless
What's not so great: Nothing so far
I got this nice all-in-one when it was in the BestBuy Weekly Ad sale at very reasonable price. I haven't find a better one so far. Its quality is very good. I used to have different all-in-ones. This one scans colors correctly and sharply, with a reasonable default resolution which does not create a huge file. It also prints very good. Of course if you print pictures on regular plain papers, colors are faded; but with highest quality on glossy papers it is fine. Since it is an ink printer, paper you feed should be appropriate for it, otherwise ink will absorbs to the paper and fade. Regardless of brand, if you want to get a good print quality, you should use Ink-Jet or at least, Multi-Purpose papers. Generally you would not get a satisfactory print from an ink-jet printer on Copy Papers. All functions are accessible by wireless - like adjusting all different options, accessing menus, etc. Also you can scan directly from the machine, without running any software on the computer, it includes: setting scan resolution, file type and scanned file destination - all from the machine screen and you do not need to be at the computer. Wireless installation and setup may take a bit longer than other wired USB printers, but if you exactly follow the instruction, it would be a piece of cake. I saw some complains about its cheap material and paper jamming; I should say its material quality if not less, is the same as other brands. Since it is a compact multi-function device, its parts and components can not be bulky and if you really care, should handle it not harshly. It has a capacity of 50 plain papers in its paper feeder, adjustable for all different sizes, and if you don't exceed the capacity line, it doesn't jam at all. It is a very good option for home use, especially by wireless. It only consumes 4W when standby (as low as a night light), so you do not need to shut it down at all. It is always ready for print or scan. It does not loose its connection to the router at all.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Grat Product

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DomB
from Erie, Pa
on 09/18/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use
What's not so great: Geting print quality from a computer optimized
The unit was easy to install, set up and use, but unpacking the unit was a challenge. Brother's tech support was quite helpful on the one issue that I had. The copy, scan and fax functions operate quickly, but the print data transfer function is a little slow. The Brother tech rep indicated that this might be because the unit is connected via a wireless router and wied USB hub. Printing speed is quite accetable, however, once it begins.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

EXCELLENT FOR $79.99

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: FASV
from MIAMI
on 09/17/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: GOOD BRAND. CAN'T GO WRONG WITH THE SALE PRICE...
What's not so great: WIRELESS SET UP IS TIME CONSUMING( TWO HOURS BETWEEN UNPACKING AND PRINTING)
THIS BROTHER WIRELESS PRINTING IS REPLACING A NON WIRELESS BROTHER MFC-210-C. I READ MOSTLY GOOD REVIEWS AND WITH THE SALE PRICE SIMPLY CAN'T GO WRONG.WIRELESS SET-UP IS ALMOST ( I SAID ALMOST) SIMPLE. YOU MUST KNOW YOUR WIRELESS ROUTER PASSWORD AND SSID ID TO SET THE UNIT. IF YOU DON'T HAVE THE INFO DON'T EVEN TRY !!!. THE FIRST STEP IS TO CONNECT THE UNIT TO YOUR WIRELESS SYSTEM. AFTER THAT YOU HAVE TO INSTALL THE CD ROM IN YOUR COMPUTER. WITHOUT THE CD ROM INSTALLATION; PRINTING WIRELESSLY IS IMPOSSIBLE. BEWARE. FOLLOW THE STEPS TO THE DOT OR YOU WILL NOT HAVE WIRELESS PRINTING CAPABILITY.
IT TOOK ME ALMOST TWO HOURS AND I KNOW A LITTLE BIT ABOUT
COMPUTERS.
IS A VERY GOOD VALUE AND THE PRINTING QUALITY WIRELESSLY IS VERY GOOD.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

well worth the money

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: graham35
from chicago
on 09/09/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: easy set up works great.
What's not so great: nothing so far
Well worth the money. The wireless feature works well and it is easy to use.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Does everything you need it to do!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: rawritsme
from Riverside, CA
on 09/08/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Its a FAX, COPY, SCAN, PRINT, AND WIFI PRINTER
What's not so great: Its kind of hard to set up the WIFI
Its the best printer that I have bought. I had bought a Cannon printer which I couldn't ever find the way to send a fax. I got rid of it and got me this Brother one. It is wonderful. I can print out my pics and with the small LCD you can print out pics with ur SD card and witih out hooking up the computer. You can also pick the size you want. I just had a issue with trying to hook up the WIFI and the instruction manual didn't help with much. I just had someone else hook it up. But other than that it does everything!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Stay Away from this one

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: april210
from Frederick MD
on 08/26/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Speed
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: it does do nice prints and it is fairly fast
What's not so great: Poorly made, plastic breaks easily jams,can not open to add paper without a hassle,off button has not worked since1st da
made of plastic poorly done Worse purchase ever made
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Another good printer

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: kristi456
from Nashville
on 08/26/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Print quality
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: EASY SET UP
I dont know why people are having a hard time setting this up. Had the previous model of this printer for two years and worked perfect until my son spilled a soda all over it. So I went back to get the same one but the models had changed. I got it home set up and running on two laptops and one desktop in about 30 minutes. I set it up wired to the desktop and wireless thru the router on the laptops. Including a 64 bit with no problems so it is compatable. The guy that couldnt set it with the hp needs a repair.Sure it uses ink but all printers do. Who likes to buy ink? Nice machine. Wait till it ges on sale to help pay for ink.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Easily the worst printer I've ever owned

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: ekeith
from Cincinnati, OH
on 08/23/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Copy feature is easy to use
What's not so great: Everything else
I bought this printer based on reviews and now wish I hadn't. I honestly can't understand now how it's gotten such great reviews.
It goes through ink like nothing I've ever seen. And although you're supposed to be able to print in B&W when one color cartridge is empty, mine usually won't. (It's temperamental to say the least.)
It takes forever from the time a document is sent to the printer until it actually begins printing. It's unbelievable how slow it is. It prints fast enough once it starts, but you'll probably have forgotten what you were printing and why by the time the whole process is complete.
The paper tray seems extremely flimsy and, although I'm not at all hard on electronics and such, I'm shocked it hasn't broken yet. And you have to completely remove it to make sure the paper is in correctly, which, in addition to being inconvenient, concerns me given the flimsiness of the tray.
As several people have already mentioned, the paper jams easily. I think it may be at least in part because of the strange set-up and integrity of the paper tray.
If you ever have to uplug the printer, set aside several minutes before you plan on printing again. When it's plugged back in, it automatically goes into cleaning mode. There is absolutely no way to cancel this mode, and it takes quite some time to complete.
In short, it's just not a user-friendly or cost-effective printer at all.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Great printer!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: yankees7
from germantown,ny
on 08/23/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Wireless setup was easy and was a great price.
What's not so great: Nothing so far.
Bought about 4 months ago. I have had no problems using any of its functions. Nice not having to refill all ink cartridges at once to be able to print.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Offline

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: brother345
from Madsion,WI
on 08/20/2009
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Doesn't coby,print,fax, or scan
It was great for the first couple days, but then it kept saying it was offline and you had to restart the computer at least 2 times for it to print something you wanted.The copier doesn't work when you set it to the copy mode it just beps and doesn't let you copy anything. I will never buy another or use another brother printer again.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

sucks!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Aggravated
from New Baltimore MI
on 08/17/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: absolutely NOTHING!
What's not so great: EVERYTHING!
poor print quality, slow, printed pictures are awful, goes thru ALOT of ink in a very short time...wish I would have kept my HP!! thought because the BROTHER name has been around for a long long time it would be great...WRONG!!! this thing sucks!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Worst printer ever

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: 1001Rick
from OC CA
on 08/09/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: unreliable
paper jams all the time (if you keep the paper tray 100 % full it does seem to work better - still not good enough). Black ink printing is not good at all - requires multiple head cleanings.
If you have kids - this thing is completely a waste of money, unless you wish to unjam the paper for them/reload ink carts/or handle the "unable the print error 36" message. This all takes about 1 - 2 hours everyday - if you are a good dad. those problems appear 10 times daily.
experience has shown - print pages per minute equal 1 per 120 minutes.
Had this product for 4 months.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Good unit. Some issues.

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Sparticus
from Anytown, USA
on 08/04/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Nice all in one unit. Good quality prints. Good spped.
What's not so great: NOT compatable with Vista 64bit.
After numerous calls to HP and Brother, I've come to the conclusion that this unit is NOT compatable with my Vista 64bit machine in my office. It's not that big of a deal, since I have 2 laptops which it works fine with. I'm using those to print wirelessly, and they both work every time. It's just an inconvenience to have to leave the office and go to the laptops when I want to print something other than a picture. Other than that it's a nice unit. Easy to set up (wired or wireless). For a hundred bucks, it was worth it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Terrible customer service from Brother

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: brokenprinter
from Falls Church, VA
on 07/27/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Print quality
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Speed
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Brother DOES NOT provide Any Customer Service
Purchased printer - worked well 2 weeks -After it would not even power up, I called Brother Customer Service, I received nothing but problems. Claimed it was not covered" no matter what the problem was and they would not stand behind their guarantee. Told me to buy a new one if I wanted one to work. I will NEVER EVER buy another Brother product and would recommend noone else buy one. They are a nightmare to deal with and the printer still does not work.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Nice compact design

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: momcubed
from Burlington, WI
on 07/27/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: compact desktop unit, easy to set up, all features needed
What's not so great: uses too much ink, (or cartridges are just not very full)
The printer did everything I wanted it to, print, fax, copy. Bonus on the photo capture with the SD ports on front. My son has used this feature with no problem.
The only complaint is that I am constantly replacing one of the print cartridges. I mainly print black and white but for what ever reason, the yellow cartridge runs out quickly. I have it set to print fast/normal which uses less ink than normal or best yet, it seems that the ink runs out much quicker than on the HP I use to have.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother Wireless Multifunction Printer/ Copier/ Scanner/ Fax

Great Printer For The Price

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Chaigirl
from Colorado
on 07/24/2009
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Print quality
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Speed
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Price, Easy Setup, Functionaliy
What's not so great: N/A
We've owned this printer for about three months and we got a great printer for the price. We love the features the wireless capabilities, the copier, the fax and the scanning features. We love the fact you can scan in a document and choose which computer you want the document to be scanned and stored on. With the price we were unsure if this printer could deliver, it has and we're proud owners.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>