Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Model: A921
SKU: 9123539
UPC: 895034001006
This MagicJack USB phone jack allows you to make and receive calls to anywhere in the United States and Canada for free using your high-speed Internet connection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.483 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 234
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 234 reviews
5 stars
102
4 stars
45
3 stars
13
2 stars
12
1 star
62
67% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
156 out of 234
)
Customer Reviews for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver
Review 1 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver
  • Featured

NEVER PAY A MONTHLY PHONE BILL AGAIN!

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nealpatel711
on 11/13/2008
What's great about it: Easy to set up, free calls to US from India also and very good price
The Banner says "NEVER PAY A MONTHLY PHONE BILL AGAIN!".
Yes .. its true that after purchasing this instrument you can call any phone in USA and CANADA for free ... you just have to pay $40 for first time and $20 from the second year.... its call quality is fantastic and no one cal say that you are using this ... it has no comparison with your landline ........
I would recommend this to a friend!
+46points
216out of 386found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Great extra phone line for small business/personal

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: mets09
from NJ
on 06/09/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: inexpensive and sound quality is great
What's not so great: certain calls in Alaska or Hawaii sometimes don't go through because it requires a special service
Great product and easy setup. Be careful on upsells and pay attention to what you click but once you get past that it is fantastic. I recommend for most users
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: INGUE
on 02/15/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Nothing
What's not so great: Connection, renewal, costumer service. DO NOT BUY IT!!!
Worst product I ever bought. Connection is very bad. After exactly a year you can not renew it. There is no costumer service at all, only a live chat which is ridiculous; it is like talking to an automatic machine and will never give you any answers just will tell you to wait to receive an email that will never come. Do not buy this product. Better use other systems. This is money thrown to the garbage. I do not understand how Best Buy even sells this. I was warned by other people before I bought it but did not believe it, now I do.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

I'm a believer...

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: flipgirl0411
from Houston, TX
on 02/02/2012
What's great about it: Easy set up, great value
What's not so great: None, so far.
I've had the original MagicJack for 2 years now and I just renewed for 2 more years. I sent another MagicJack to my sister in the Philippines and we can talk as long as we want, as often as we want FOR FREE. She can also call all friends and relatives in the US. The reception is great; just like talking to your next door neighbor. Easy setup and install. I am getting a MagicJack Plus for my mother-in-law coz the phone company is ripping her off.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

great product, terrible customer service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: customer1234565454
from New York, NY
on 01/24/2012
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: ease of use
What's not so great: Only last a year and then you cannot renew, horrible customer service!!
Product works as advertised. No problems with use of the product. Customer service on the other hand is absolutely terrible. It is impossible to renew your account online. Either the credit card doesn't work or the system doesn't process it. When you speak to customer service they transfer you to the top 10% of their staff and they still can't help. They take your information and NEVER get back to you. This happens on multiple occasion and the problem never gets resolved. Magicjack is setup so that you have to buy a new product every year!
Moral of the story, great product when it works but terrible customer service which is enough to turn me away from this product!! STAY AWAY!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Why is anyone paying a monthly phone bill?

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: RickFort
from Virginia
on 01/10/2012
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Take your home phone anywhere, no monthly bill.
The MagicJack is not prefect and it does not have crystal clear sound, but my $30/month land line was not that good either. Plus, when I travel, I my phone travels with me.
I recommend having a 10Mbps internet service, so that you can surf while using the phone.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Frustrated!!!!!!!!!!!!! DON'T BUY MAGIC JACKS

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Frustrated01
from Charlottesville VA
on 01/07/2012
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's not so great: cannot get calls in
This magic jack did not work on incoming calls. I have spent several days and several hours on chat with the representatives trying to get some help. You cannot get anyone on the phone accept for billing and they tell you they cannot help you! They have made me do this and that several times over. I can make calls in but cannot make calls out! They have sent it over to the engineers several times. And still nothing! I am even shocked that Best Buy sells their product. I have been a loyal customer for years of Best Buy. I had bought two of the magic jacks with two different numbers. Same issue! I lost $79 I asked for a refund and nothing! Don’t buy waste of money and time!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
14out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Spotty transmission and poor customer service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: JWinPS
from Palm Springs, CA
on 12/13/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Cheap
What's not so great: Erratic phone service, poor customer support, no transfer of unused service to magicJack plus, requires computer on 24/7
I purchased magicJack over one year ago. I never had good reception or service. First, is their exceeding annoying website that has the kid saying "Hi, this is Magic and this is Jack ..." That in itself should have been a tip off to me not to get the "service." But, wanting to save money and based on reviews [that are now suspect,] I decided to try it. From the beginning, I have had problems on any call exceeding a few minutes. After a while, I can hear the person on the other end, but they either cannot hear me at all or I come through broken up so that I need to redial. My computer and ISP are fine, they work with every other application. Rebooting magicJack, the pc, or the internet modem does not solve the problem. Second, I thought when I saw their new "no computer required" service I might give them a second chance. Perhaps the new service/system would be better. They give a partial credit for existing customers to upgrade. However, the unexpired portion of the service purchased on the computer required magicJack service does not transfer. I had purchased five years up front. So, the balance of the four years I have would be forfeited. When I tried their on line chat to get a bit more information [there is no way to contact them via email or phone] I was in an endless queue that never cleared up for 20 minutes. I started searching for another VOIP service. I found several. The one that I went with costs a bit more than magicJack, 24/7 support system in California, and a "if you're not satisfied at any time" refund of unused service that was purchased. The first time I sent them an email asking about the service, I got a response within 24 hours. I decided to go with them. I wanted to transfer my existing magicJack number to the new service. They initiated the transfer process. Then, YMAX, the parent company of magicJack and the central hub of the system, told them I needed to contact them to request the account number and pin to complete the transfer. I tried using on line magicJack support; there is no way to contact YMAX [no email, no phone #, no chat service.] This time the delay was "only" five minutes to get through. I got one representative who gave me the account number [it's not the same as the magicJack account number] but said the pin would be emailed to me. The email never came. I used the chat again [another five minute wait,] and got several different answers: The new provider does the transfer, or you have to pay a $35 transfer fee, or the pin is your online magicJack password, or ... you get the picture. None of these answers is correct. Essentially, their customer "service" reps know "jack" about the product. I let the new VOIP service know what I'd been going through. They said it's very common in their dealings with magicJack, i.e., it's hit or miss you'll get correct answers or help in transferring the number. While I will need to get a new number with the new VOIP service, it will be worth it to rid myself of this woefully inadequate service.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+24points
29out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Horrible Customer Support

Customer Rating
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Posted by: mikeeco
from Colorado Springs
on 12/05/2011
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Cheap calls
What's not so great: Support
I've had MagicJack for about three years. It's great when it works, but they frequently fail. I've had to replace mine and am in the process of helping my 84 year old mother-in-law to replace hers. Your only choice for tech support is chat through liveperson.net. You will probably wait in a queue for a long time. it's taken me hours to resolve problems. I wish they had a form on their website where you can just order a replacement. Once my subscription is up, I'll probably switch to nettalk.com where they actually have phone support.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Great Price will save you money!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Red78
from Spring, Tx
on 11/09/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: cheap
What's not so great: reception
The only issue we have is the reception is not that good all the time and we have had some dropped callls.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Great little gadget

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: pierfisher
from Surfside Beach
on 11/05/2011
What's great about it: Saving money not using a landline
What's not so great: faxing and changing voicemail
I have been using Majicjack for several years now. I even took it to Europe with me last year to make free phone calls back home. Worked like a champ. I call internationally for very little money and most calls are clear and static free. I am very happy with this product and now plan on buying the Majicjack plus so I will not have to leave my computer on to make calls.
I have two complaints:
1) faxing does not work well with majicjack
2) you cannot change the voicemail feature like turning it off or changing the number of rings before it picks up.
Other than that I really like it.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Poor Tech Support ruins the whole product.

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Washington, D.C.
on 08/31/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: The price.
What's not so great: Useless Tech Support Reps, lack of Tech Support via telephone.
I recently bought this as a gift for a friend. When he had trouble installing it and getting it registered, I assisted him. When I couldn't figure out the problem, I went to MagicJack.Com to check out the Tech Support options. Strike # 1: Tech Support is available ONLY via online chat. There is no option to talk to a Tech Support Rep on the phone.
So, I then endured a very frustrating experience as one rep after another attempted to solve the problem, but all failed to do so. When one rep's suggestions failed to resolve the issues, I would be transferred to another rep... but half the time, the transfer didn't connect and I'd have to start over again. That's Strike # 2.
All told, we tried to get it working on 2 different days, spending at least a couple hours each time. A total of at least a dozen Tech Support reps were talked to, but none could ever get the MagicJack working. Even their "best" reps that were "rated in the top 10% by their customers" were useless, even when they remotely linked into the computer so they could see what was going on. That was Strike # 3.
In the end, I had to cancel the service agreement and return the MagicJack for a full refund... minus the fee that was paid for device insurance, which is apparently non-refundable.
Bottom line: If you plug it in and it works right away, then you're good to go. But if you have any technical difficulties, may the Tech Gods help you, because the MagicJack Tech Support Reps are useless. I would recommend other options (such as Skype or Vonage) before I'll recommend MagicJack. :-(
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+23points
35out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Customer service is a dumpster fire

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: IHateHipsters
from Youngstown, OH
on 08/16/2011
Value for Price
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
2.0 out of 5
2.0
What's great about it: Cheap.
What's not so great: Everything else that one can think of.
This product is terrific if nothing goes wrong with the unit or your account. The moment you need help you might as well buy a new one and go through the registration process again. The customer service is useless. For a company that makes a device used for calling people it's sure interesting that they don't have a phone number to call. They may be a sophisticated fly by night operation, but they're still fly by night.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+15points
26out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Many Problems & POOR Customer Service

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: laurelvalley
from Leesburg, FL
on 06/06/2011
What's great about it: It is low cost.
What's not so great: It doesn't work well and has many problems.
I bought this product about 6 months ago and have been using it since then. So, this review is based on my long-term experience using the product. 1) I have to unplug and plug the Magicjack USB module into my computer about once or twice a week to reboot the Magicjack module and get it to work. Yes, that was a problem I didn't like but could live with because I only use that Magicjack line for a second as-needed phone. It would not have been acceptable if that was my primary phone line. 2) All Problem Resolution Service with Magicjack must be done through CHAT sessions. Each of my Chat sessions usually involves me being transferred to multiple layers of personnel and usually requires me to start the whole problem resolution process over with each one of them. My last Chat session, and I have had plenty of them, with Magicjack lasted more than 4 hours to correct a problem when my Magicjack would not allow me to make or receive calls for some reason. Even though my Magicjack had been working for the last six months, it stopped working and Magicjack's personnel finally had me load some software from a foreign country to get it working again. Then, Magicjack wanted me to load and run special VPN software each time I started Magicjack in the future. Not Acceptable!! If you decide to buy this product, you should be ready for future difficulties.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+29points
39out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Good Value for the money with some gotchas

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: cjk413
from Springfield, MA
on 05/01/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Performance
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Great value and ease of setting up.
What's not so great: quality degrades depending on net traffic, chat tech support only.
I purchased MJ for a separate home office line. For starters, for the money I don't think you can beat it. I got DSL 1.5 service and have it running on a dedicated P4 pc for routine file and printer sharing running win7. So my specs are bare bones and I'd say it performs well. Obviously if someone emails me a 10 meg attachment the quality starts to degrade but you see that on high end Cisco solutions as well. Once in a blue moon i pick up the hand set and don't get dial tone. Since it is a usb device, you want to keep as much traffic off the usb hub which is why I used an old pc specifically tucked under the desk to host MJ and it makes a huge difference. If you start moving the usb mouse around a taxing the pc you start to get some skipping in the audio. If I had a larger internet pipe and some stronger hardware, i'm sure it would be much better. My point is, for the cost, I can live with a couple gotachas. I think this is a great product that is working through some growing pains but seems to be getting better every day. I just hope they can manage to keep the cost down.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+40points
41out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

dont waste your $. too good to be true

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: rampartmantooth
from ne pa
on 04/22/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: nothing
What's not so great: cant actually use it
this thing is very selective with its calls. for example, i can call my GF on her cell ,but i cant call my work #. not a deal at all if they take your 40$ and it doesnt work right. i contacted them and they said : send back your UNUSED magicjak, or your used one for a partial refund - 20$. - what junk!! basically my work # was long distance, so im thinking the carrier - VERIZON- didnt want magic jack using its lines - i'm assuming.
plus - if u r a gamer like me, it will boot u off ur game if the phone rings.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
18out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Excellent Product - A Few Hints

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: joegames
from home
on 04/20/2011
What's great about it: Everything as long as you have it connected to a PC that is always on
What's not so great: Area code's and region's are limited
I am in IT professional and read review after review here, many of which made me skeptical about the performance of Magic Jack.
After my cell phone started getting iffy at my house, I figured, what the heck, lemme give Magic Jack a try. It was either that, or 39.00 per month for a phone via Time Warner Cable.
All of the negative reviews are related to one major consideration with Magic Jack. YOU MUST HAVE A PC RUNNING ALL THE TIME FOR THIS PRODUCT TO WORK.
Well, I have a PC attached to my flat screen TV for Netflix and other computer tasks as I use my TV as a computer monitor.
If you have a PC that you can leave on all the time, this product works FLAWLESSSLY.
I connected Magic Jack and it has never went off line.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+62points
62out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Love and Hate Relationship

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: chaubey
from Maryland
on 04/14/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Size
What's not so great: Everything else.
I bought it from BB because I wanted to get rid of our monthly bill of land line which is almost useless nowadays. We all have cell phones. This works perfectly until it has some free trial call time before registering it. After you are registered and got a phone number it might work might not. I am having trouble in receiving outside calls even from our cell phones. Magic jack website suck...You can keep it as extra line for your satisfaction but.....it useless in my opinion. If you depend on cell phones you will be in much better shape.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

AMAZING

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: wesjg
from Humboldt, Az
on 03/07/2011
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Performance
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: EVERYTHING!!!
What's not so great: NOTHING!
The folks that say this doesn't work must be employed by the competition. That being said MJ has NO competition, I have been using it for several years, I get NO pop up adds the only thing that pops up is the MJ dialer. If I had to find fault with the device or service it would be that occasionally your voice gets a little wavy IF I surf the net while talking. As soon as my cell contract is up I will cancel because if I need a phone while traveling I will use my MJ with my laptop. This is a great money saver!!!
I would recommend this to a friend!
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MagicJack - USB Phone Jack - Silver

Check before you buy!

Customer Rating
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Posted by: Mashman
from Austin
on 02/28/2011
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Ease of Use
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Performance
1.0 out of 5
1.0
What's great about it: Price
What's not so great: IT DOESN'T WORK!!!!!!!!
I telecommute from Austin, to a company in another state, and I have a seperate business line. I was using Vonage, and so I was paying about $400 a year for my business line.
I decided to try MagicJack - what a HUGE mistake. Only after I baught it did I find out how they do it for so cheap. They block many different long distance exchanges! I can't get any call's from the company I work for!!!! People try to call from my work, and they get a message about the number being out of service!
Even some local calls get blocked by MagicJack! Local calls don't go through, and people get a message about MJ customer not being available!
If you don't use long distance, or use your phone alot, it might be worth it to see if MJ works in your local area, but if you need reliable phone service - STAY CLEAR OF MAGICJACK!
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
18out of 32found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>