Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Best Buy Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Best Buy.

Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

Model: X1ASILVER
SKU: 9143544
UPC: 095673851974
Keep in touch with your friends and family using this cell phone that features a built-in digital camera, stereo Bluetooth capability and a full QWERTY keyboard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
78% of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
(
7 out of 9
)
Customer Reviews for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver
Review 1 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

good phone..not worth it though!

Customer Rating
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Posted by: aaron1300
from corydon, IN
on 04/04/2009
Value for Price
1.0 out of 5
1.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: QWERTY keyboard, touchscreen
What's not so great: everything else
ok so i bought this phone for my b-day thinking OMG xperia X1 so cool...well i was WRONG. don't get me wrong it is a amazing phone but, wondows mobile..not a BIG fan of. I had a few windows mobile phones and they were fine i got used to how they operated. With this the screen lags ocasionally and when it does its BAD. the phones QWETY keyboard is great and awsome to type on(main selling feature for me) The phone for me is constantly locking u and freexing. I came from the G1 which had awsome service and this ones service SUCKS! I used to have at least 1 bar at my local movies theater and now i have NONE! i had to miss half the movie walking around outside trying to get service to call my mom to tell her when to pick me up! This phone has standard windows mobile features nothing new really. Save your money on this and wait for something else. Im returning mine and its just not worth $800.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

Great phone!!!!

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: namB
from santa clara, CA
on 01/23/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
3.0 out of 5
3.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: Easy to use, panel function is great (despite not many available right now), gps, High res screen,..
What's not so great: Lack of motion sensor, sometime getting very slow, the front button is small, not fit for a big hand.
Initially, this is a great PDA for people who love going online, or business on the go. It has a high res screen that very clear, nice, and easy to read when surfing website. It has a-GPS with google map preload, In my opinion is not very useful. The CD come with wayfinder which is text to speech GPS, but very terrible to use, so suggest, do not install it. The best solution is pay 99 usd for Garmin GPS software, and it work like a Garmin GPS.
The panal function is great, I love the Facebook panel. Let you have more way to customize desktop than an iphone.
Unfortunately, it lack of motion sensor, so everytime you want to switch between portrait and landscape, it take a few step. The button on the front is very small, and the optical pad is sometime very annoying. The keyboard is easy to slide out, so sometime you will accidentally slide it out. Battery life is normal, similar to other phone.
Camera is great even with 3.2 MP. Auto focus, or touch focus is a great function to play with. The camera picture quality is very clear, and way better than to other phone with the same amount of pixels.
In conclusion, great phone for business, or people who travel often. Should go with Data plan to fully operate the phone, the other way, no internet will make this phone not a good deal.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

Very, very nice device

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Anonymous
from Virginia
on 01/04/2009
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Great custom interface, incredibly high quality hardware design, innovative design features.
What's not so great: Bad value. Just too expensive compared to things like HTC Fuze, which is almost as good .
This is a wonderful design, probably the single best design of this type of phone that currently exists. Incredibly high quality hardware, lots of metal, very obviously durable and gives you a sense of security using it.
The operating system is proprietary and an improved version of Windows Mobile for Smartphones. It's great. Very easy to use, with just enough fanciness to keep you engaged and appreciative of the processor's capabilities.
The keyboard is not the absolute best in the world. It's fine, and you get used to it, but it's not as good as the HTC Fuze or the old Moto Q9h Global when emailing and texting.
The call quality is very good. It sounds better than the vaunted Motorola Crystal Talk, and also exceeds the quality of the best Nokia devices like the E71-2. RF signal capture is *not* as good as the best Motorolas and Nokias. It's the equal of any HTC for signal quality, but if you're in a marginal signal area you will probably prefer to look at Motorola and Nokia.
The worst thing about it is the price. $800 is very pricey even if it is the best. The HTC Fuze full price is easily found in the $400-$500 range, and it is almost as good as the Xperia. When you add in the fact that there are other devices out there that have single items that are actually better than the Xperia, it becomes difficult to recommend it.
The *only* reason I would not recommend this phone to a friend is because of the price tag. The Xperia is probably the single best device out there, but it's simply not good enough to pay $800 for it. :-)
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

Nice phone, but could have been much better

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: Rockstat
from New York, NY
on 01/02/2009
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: It has a different approach to customization by the user
What's not so great: A little thick
This phone is a good phone if you look at it for overall performance. The phone to me was rather a little slow as compared to whats available nowadays. The camera is good but useless in the night with the flash. I like the customization that one can do to make this phone more personal. It runs windows which is good as everyone is familiar with the interface.
The phone is a little on the pricey side with no carrier supporting it and the reason why I returned mine was because mine bricked on me. I was trying to install an application just like the many others that I had installed but then eventually one made it crash. Not one but two phones.
I would still recommend this phone to a friend because of its features and capabilities. I am not gonna mention any coz its for you to see.
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

World best windows 6.1 smartphone

Customer Rating
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Posted by: pinoyuc
from chino hills ca
on 12/19/2008
Value for Price
2.0 out of 5
2.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: Gps,wireless internet even without sim card! ,googlemaps,facebook and sdp panels
What's not so great: Not a 5mp camera, memory card under the battery cover, speaker phone volume and usless pic flash at night
I recently purchase this phone last November 24, 2008 and this phone is great! What i love about this phone is the handwriting recognition if you don't wish to use the keyboard at times. It has 9 custom panels even a Facebook panel as well. The screen is top of the line its like HD, I downloaded a couple movies and there great! The bad thing about this phone is speaker volume and taking pictures at night, not a functional flash. Speaking of battery life i played with it constantly for like 8hrs to test the battery life and still have two bars left out of 10 bars. {note fully charge phone before playing with it}
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

Impresive Phone

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: nerve
from phila,pa
on 12/16/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: auto everything
What's not so great: battery life should be better for a sony.
Sony Ericsson dose another super phone. Supports almost every band. Its quick to use easy menu's takes only a few minutes to learn the hardest parts of the phone. I never seen touch as simple or as accurate as this and always on point even when showing its small keyboard on screen. Has a full slid keyboard for easy texting or for emailing.
but its not all good there are a few falls as in The camera my G900 from sony that was only 2 months older had a 5mp so why cant a super phone have one? why 3.2? and its not that great i think..windows 6.1...its a windows so it dose what windows dose best mess up a great phone but Sony did tweak it a bit to work better. i could go on forever for both sides but you need to check it out for yourself. It's worth getting
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

Great Phone \ BUT

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: AA1979
on 12/07/2008
Value for Price
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Features
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
3.0 out of 5
3.0
What's not so great: Dosnt support all the UMTS BWs
I have this phone, it is great but unfortunately it doesn’t support UMTS 1700 so it won’t work with t-mobile
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

Ultimate Device.

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: Joebu93
from Orlando, FL
on 11/21/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Battery Life
5.0 out of 5
5.0
What's great about it: User Interface, Productivity, Customization is amazing, Battery life, Camera, Wifi, GPS, All of it.
What's not so great: A little too pricy, but still worth it.
The X1 is better than the iphone because it is more fun AND you can still be productive with windows professional underneath the really cool customizable panels. You can have 9 different applications running at the same time. There are no device limitations and you can add all sorts of software for it. There is a reason its expensive, but its worth it.
The GPS is great, the wifi works with no issues and the 3.2mp camera lense is...Wow! Great pictures. The keypad is stainless steel or something. Strong durable device, does not feel flimsy at all.
Bottom line is this: the device is expensive and thats about the only negative, but this is also something your gonna keep for awhile. The positives far outweigh the initial hesitation I had spending the money on this device. I am glad I bought it and plan on keeping it for a couple of years. Go buy it! You'll love it!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Ericsson XPERIA Cell Phone (Unlocked) - Silver

great

Customer Rating
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Posted by: DarkDoom214
from FL
on 11/19/2008
Value for Price
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Features
5.0 out of 5
5.0
Ease of Use
4.0 out of 5
4.0
Battery Life
4.0 out of 5
4.0
What's great about it: touch screen, Qwerty keboard, camera
What's not so great: not that many phone book entries
great phone few problems but still great. i would have liked it to be a little cheaper than it is. but it is the GREATEST PHONE EVER!
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.